DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
For the Restriction Requirement dated 10/22/2025, Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 4 and 9 in the reply filed on 12/15/2025 is acknowledged.
For the Restriction Requirement dated 4/24/2025, Applicant’s election with traverse of claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 7/16/2025 is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that the method cannot be practiced by another and materially different apparatus, because the method positively recites and requires performance of the method by all of the elements of the device claim. This is found persuasive. Claims 11-23 are rejoined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Harmar does not teach co-locating multiple pressure sensors or multiple pressures in the same place. Examiner respectfully disagrees because the claim does not require co-locating multiple pressure sensors or multiple pressures in the same place. Thus, the argument is more limited than claim scope.
All rejections stand.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “a segment of drill pipe comprising an elongate body extending from a box end continuously, without interruption by pipe joints, to a pin end” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 11 recite “a segment of drill pipe comprising an elongate body extending from a box end continuously, without interruption by pipe joints, to a pin end” that is unclear what it refers to. Instant drawing (fig. 3) appears to show multiple pipe joints (see the arrows in attached figure).
Claims 1 and 11 recites “a wellbore” multiple times that is confusing. Are they same wellbore or separate wellbore?
Claims 2, 4-10 and 12-23 are rejected as being respectively dependent on claims 1 and 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harmer et al. (20090294174 - Harmer).
Harmar discloses a tool and method, comprising:
Re claim 1 (as best understood by examiner, 112 issue):
a segment (see segment in rectangular in attached figure below) of drill pipe 22 comprising elongate body (28 - "tubing", fig. 1; para [0033]; not labeled in fig. 3 but drillstring 22 uses the same tubing 28) configured for loading into a drill string (See figs. 1 and 3; see how tubing 28 is a part of drillstring 22 and loaded thereto) extending from a box end continuously (i.e., the drill segment generally comprises box end/female thread and pin end/male thread to couple with the drill pipe), without interruption by pipe joins, to a pin end; and
a sensor array (42 - "multiple sensors", fig. 3; para [0034]) arranged on the body (See fig. 3), the sensor array comprising:
a first sensor (See rectangular in attached figure; see pair of sensors 42) arranged at a first sensor location on the body, the first sensor being oriented relative to the body and configured for sensing annular pressures in a wellbore (para [0037], ‘sensors 42 comprises pressure sensor’, fig, 5); and
a second sensor (See rectangular in attached figure; see pair of sensors 42 that is the second from the bottom) arranged at a second sensor location on the body, the second sensor location being spaced longitudinally along the body from the first sensor location by a first distance (See rectangular in attached figure), the second sensor being oriented relative to the body (See fig. 3) and configured for sensing annular pressures in a wellbore (para [0037], ‘sensors 42 comprises pressure sensor’, fig, 5).
Regarding Claim 2, a third sensor (See fig. 3; see pair of sensors 42 that are on the bottom) arranged at a third sensor location on the body (See fig. 3), the third sensor location being spaced longitudinally along the body from the second sensor location by a second distance and in a direction opposite the first sensor location (See fig. 3; para [0037], [0045]; see how middle (second) sensors 42 are in between top (third) sensors 42 and bottom (first) sensors 42), the third sensor being oriented relative to the body (See fig. 3) and configured for sensing annular pressures in a wellbore (See fig. 3; para [0037]-[0039]).
Re Claim 4, the first distance is not equal to the second distance (See fig.3; see how middle (second) sensors 42 are closer to bottom (first) sensors 42 than they are to top (third) sensors 42).
Re Claim 5, the first sensor comprises a first pair of sensors (See fig. 3; para [0039] [0040]; see how each sensor 42 comprises an internal and external sensor 42), the second sensor comprises a second pair of sensors (See fig. 3; para [0039]-[0040]; see how each sensor 42 comprises an internal and external sensor 42), and the third sensor comprises a third pair of sensors (See fig. 3; para [0039]-[0040]; see how each sensor 42 comprises an internal and external sensor 42), the pairs of sensors being arranged longitudinally relative to one another or circumferentially relative to one another at their respective sensor locations (See fig. 3; see how each sensor pair 42 is arranged on opposite sides of the circumference of drillstring 22).
Re Claim 6, the first sensor and the second sensor are configured for communicating a pressure sensor signal to a surface where drilling is being performed (See fig. 3; para [0034]; sensors 42 communicate with processor 44·at surface location 46).
Re Claim 7, the first and second sensor are configured for wireless communication (para [0034]; "wireless communication systems").
Re Claim 8, the first and second sensor are configured for communicating using a telemetry system (para [0039], [0050]-[0051]).
Re Claim 9, the telemetry system is a pulse flow telemetry system (para [0039], [0050]).
Re Claim 10, the telemetry system is an electromagnetic telemetry system (para [0019], [0050]).
Re Claim 11, monitoring wellbore characteristics (See figs. 3-11; para [0039]-[0040]; para [0032] refers to fig. 1 embodiment but refers to many of the same components), comprising:
receiving pressure sensor signals (para [0051]) from first (see pair of sensors 42 in the rectangular in the attached figure above) and second (see pair of sensors 42 in the rectangular in the attached figure) sensors arranged on and spaced longitudinally along an along string measurement tool (22 - "drillstring", fig. 3) comprising a segment (see segment in rectangular in the attached figure) of drill pipe 22 comprising elongate body (28 - "tubing", fig. 1; para [0033]; not labeled in fig. 3 but drillstring 22 uses the same tubing 28) extending from a box end continuously, without interruption by pipe joins, to a pin end (i.e., the drill segment generally comprises box end/female thread and pin end/male thread to couple with the drill pipe), the first and second sensor being spaced apart by a first distance (see the rectangular in the attached figure), the first and second sensor being oriented relative to the body (See fig. 3) and configured for sensing annular pressures in a wellbore (para [0037], ‘sensors 42 comprises pressure sensor’, fig, 5)
calculating a differential pressure signal based on the signals from the first and second sensors (para [0030], [0042] - "annular pressure loss differences between sensors");
displaying a differential pressure signal for a drilling operator (para [0041]-[0045] - "enables real-time pressure distributions to be viewed and interpreted at the surface on, for example, output device 64").
Re Claim 12, calculating an interval density signal based on the differential pressure signal (para [0035], [0042], [0044], [0046]; interval density of fluid is calculated using pressure signals from sensors 42).
Re Claim 13, displaying the interval density signal (para [0041]-[0046] - "enables real-time pressure distributions to be viewed and interpreted at the surface on, for example, output device 64"; See fig. 6).
Re Claim 14, receiving a pressure sensor signal from a third sensor (See fig. 3; see pair of sensors 42 that are on the bottom) arranged on and spaced longitudinally along the along string measurement tool (See fig. 3; para [0037], [0045]), the third sensor being spaced from the second sensor by a second distance and in an opposite direction as the first sensor (See fig. 3; para [0037], [0045]; see how middle (second) sensors 42 are in between top (third) sensors 42 and bottom (first) sensors 42).
Re Claim 15, calculating a differential pressure signal based on the signals from the third and first sensors (See fig. 3; para [0041]-[0046]; signals from all of sensors 42 are used by processor 42).
Re Claim 16, calculating a differential pressure signal based on the signals from the third and second sensors (See fig. 3; para [0041]-[0046]; signals from all of sensors 42 are used by processor 42).
Re Claim 17, calculating interval density signals based on the differential pressure signals between the third and first sensor and the third and second sensor (See fig. 3; para [0041]-[0046]; signals from all of sensors 42 are used by processor 42 to calculate densities).
Re Claim 20, receiving is performed by a telemetry system (para [0039], [0050] [0051l).
Re Claim 21, receiving multiresolution data including the pressure sensor signals from the first and second sensor (See fig. 3; para [0041]-[0046]; signals from sensors 42 are used by processor 44) and receiving a pressure sensor ·signal from a third sensor arranged on another along string measurement tool (para [0046]; algorithms, models and lookup tables are used from previous tools in order to achieve the desired output of the along string measuring tool).
Re Claim 22, performing a hierarchical analysis of the multiresolution data (para [0046]; algorithms, models and lookup tables are used from previous tools in order to achieve the desired output of the along string measuring tool).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Harmer in view of Turner et al. (20170122047 – Turner).
Harmer teaches the method of claim 11, but does not specifically teach the method further comprising denoising the pressure sensor signals or the differential pressure signal or both using at least one of a time-domain filter, a frequency-domain filter, and a combined time-frequency filter. Further, Turner teaches a method of monitoring wellbore characteristics (See figs. 1-2; para [0031], [0034]-[0035]) comprising denoising a pressure signal (See figs. 1-2; para [0033]-[0034]; sensor nodes 30 send signals to a wellsite computer) using a time-domain filter (para [0036], [0042]; processed over a period {of time)). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to use the denoising of the pressure signal like that of Turner on the pressure signal of Harmer in order to allow for cleaner readings to be displayed to an operator.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YONG-SUK (PHILIP) RO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676