DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, drawn to a composite, in the reply filed on 11/21/2025 is acknowledged. The examiner notes that claims 16, 17, and 20, are drawn to a method and should have been grouped with the non-elected invention of Group II. The examiner notes that placing a claim in the wrong group will not affect the propriety of a final requirement where the requirement is otherwise proper and the correct disposition erroneously grouped claim is clear (see MPEP 814).
Claims 16, 17, 20, , and 23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/21/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8, 10-14, 21, 22, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2007/024837A (herein referred to as “Mitsui”) in view of Louis et al (US 2020/0032053).
With regards to claim 1, Mitsui teaches a composite film having a thickness 30-500um (page 18, lines 23+) for printed circuit boards comprising a fiber layer impregnated with a fluoropolymer comprising tetrafluoroethylene (abstract; page 8, lines 21+) .Mitsui teaches the PTFE may comprise up to 10 mol.% of another fluorinated monomer selected from perfluoro(oxy)alkylvinylether (page 10, lines 24+). Mitsui further teaches the PTFE may comprise up to 10 mol.% of another fluorinated monomer selected from perfluoro(oxy)alkylvinylether (page 10, lines 24+). Additionally, Mitsui teaches the fiber fabric may comprise glass fibers (page 8, lines 8+).
Mitsui does not teach the claimed viscosity but does teach the functional group containing fluoropolymer should have a similar viscosity to the melt-processable fluoropolymer (page 11, lines 18+). Furthermore, Louis teaches a melt processible fluoropolymer (0116) wherein the polymer has a melt viscosity of at most 1.2x103 Pa*sec (0117) according to ASTM D3835. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was file to utilize a functional group containing fluoropolymer with a viscosity of at most 1.2x103 Pa*sec (0117) according to ASTM D3835 in the composition of Mitsui. The motivation for doing so would have been Mitsui teaches the functional group containing fluoropolymer should have a similar viscosity to the melt-processable fluoropolymer and Louis teaches melt processible fluoropolymers may have s a melt viscosity of at most 1.2x103 Pa*sec (0117) according to ASTM D3835.
With regards to claim 8, Mitsui teaches the fabric may comprise a woven fabric (page 8, lines 8+).
With regards to claims 10-14, Mitsui teaches the composite film preferably has a dielectric constant Dk at 20 GHz of less than 3.0,( page 4, lines 10+; page 19, lines 14+). While the test method utilized in Mitsui is different from that set forth in the claims, the examiner takes the position that the composite disclosed in Mitsui, given the dielectric constant teaching and compositional similarity with the claimed invention, will inherently meet the dielectric constant properties set forth in claims 11-14.
With regards to claim 21, Mitsui teaches the article comprising at least one composite film may further comprise a metal layer adhered onto at least one surface of the composite film (see examples).
With regards to claim 22, Mitsui teaches the component may be used for circuit boards, which is understood to read on the claimed ”mobile electronic device.”
With regards to claim 24, the examiner take the position that the claimed limitation “wherein the composite film is formed from a polymer powder comprising the polymer and wherein the polymer powder has a size D50 between 0.1 and 100um” is a product by process limitation. The courts have held that a product by produces claim does not distinguish a claimed product from a product taught in the prior art unless it can be shown that the claimed process inherently results in a materially different product No such showing has been made.
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2007/024837A (herein referred to as “Mitsui”) in view of Louis et al (US 2020/0032053), as applied to claims above, and further in view of applicant’s admissions.
Mitsui is relied upon as above but does not teach the glass fiber compositions of claims 6 and 7. However, applicant admits (0045) that glass fiber fabrics with the properties detailed in the preceding paragraphs (which include the compositional and property limitations of claims 6 and 7) are commercially available from CTG Taishan Fiberglass. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize glass fiber sheets meeting the compositional limitations of claim 6 and the properties set forth in claim 7 as applicant admits said sheets are commercially available from CTG Taishan Fiberglass and are known to be good for insulating substrates.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2007/024837A (herein referred to as “Mitsui”) in view of Louis et al (US 2020/0032053), as applied to claims above, and further in view of von Gentzkow et al (US 5,760,146).
Mitsui is relied upon as above but does not teach the fiber fabric (F) has an average area weight comprised between 10 and 100 g/m². However, von Gentzkow teaches glass fiber fabrics are predominantly used for the manufacture of prepregs for circuit board technology. In particular prepregs made of glass fiber fabric types with a surface density of 25 to 200 g/m.sup.2 are used for multilayer circuit boards (col 8, lines 15+). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize a glass fiber prepeg with a surface density of 25 to 200 g/m.sup.2 in the invention of Mitsui as such prepegs are typically used in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 9/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 9,458272 teaches the melt flow viscosity of melt processible fluoropolymers.
/KEVIN R KRUER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787