Claim Status
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 19 – 21 in the reply filed on June 1, 2026, is acknowledged.
Claims 1 – 18 and 22 – 31 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 1, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19 – 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20170173130; cited on IDS, hereinafter Yu) in view of Lee et al. (Type 1-polarized dendritic cells loaded with autologous tumor are a potent immunogen against chronic lymphocytic leukemia, Type 1-polarized dendritic cells loaded with autologous tumor are a potent immunogen against chronic lymphocytic leukemia. J Leukoc Biol. 2008 Jul;84(1):319-25; hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claims 19 – 21, Yu discloses isolating a population of dendritic cells (DC) (para. [0075]) having loaded thereon a peptide that has 100% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1 of the instant application (para. [0020], SEQ ID NO: 7, KIFGSLAFL). Yu does not explicitly disclose that the dendritic cells are “alpha”.
However, Lee discloses the motivation for using a type 1 alpha (α) DC, which was engineered to cross-present (Abstract) the antigens expressed by chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL) cells, is to induce antigen-specific, functional cytotoxic T lymphocyte (CTL) responses. Lee further discloses that the DCs are engineered to be “nonexhausted” (p. 322, Elevated, rather than “exhausted,”…) after maturation. Regarding claim 21, Yu discloses pharmaceutical compositions in various embodiments (para. [0094] – [0097]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the HER2 peptide of Yu with the ex vivo-generated α-DCs of Lee in order to treat HER2+ breast cancer. Doing so would improve the efficacy of the treatment, as nonexhausted α-DCs are potent inducers of antigen-specific T cells, according to Lee.
Conclusion
/WALTER JACKSON III/Examiner, Art Unit 1638
/Tracy Vivlemore/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1638