DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a national stage application under 35 U.S.C. § 371 of International Application No. PCT/CN2022/100198, filed 06/21/2022, which claims the priority benefit of CHINA Application No. 202110688144.0, filed 06/21/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/11/2023, and 06/16/2025 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Status of the Application
Claims 1, and 4-19 are pending and currently under examination. Claims 2-3 been cancelled by applicant without prejudice or disclaimer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “Site(s)” in claim 7, lines 2, 3 and 5 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “Site(s)” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
This rejection may be overcome by clearly defining what constitutes a “site” as it pertains to claim 7.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 7 depends from claim 1 and recites “wherein for the mild chronic graft vs host disease…”. However, claim 1 does not introduce a mild chronic graft vs host disease. There is no mention of the severity types (mild, moderate, severe) chronic graft-versus-host disease in independent claim 1, from which claim 7 depends. This rejection may be overcome by amending the dependency of claim 7 from independent claim 1 to dependency on dependent claim 6. It is also noted that Claim 7 recites the values of score, ranging from <1 to 3, that do not correlate to the mild, moderate, severe GVHD rating given in the instant claim. Examiner suggests amending the claim to clearly indicate how the relationship of number of organs and scores are related in regards to the severity of GVHD.
Regarding claim 11, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 11 recites the broad recitation “1 mg to 50 mg”, and the claim also recites “preferably 5 mg to 30 mg, 5 mg to 25 mg, 5 mg to 20 mg, and 10 mg to 20 mg” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
This rejection may be overcome by amending the claim to clearly indicate what the daily dose of formula I is.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 8-9, 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zeiser (Ruxolitinib for Glucocorticoid-Refractory Acute Graft-versus-Host Disease).
Zeiser discloses “phase 3 trial comparing the efficacy and safety of oral ruxolitinib (10 mg twice daily) with the investigator’s choice of therapy from a list of nine commonly used options (control) in patients 12 years of age or older who had glucocorticoid-refractory acute GVHD after allogeneic stem-cell transplantation. The primary end point was overall response (complete response or partial response) at day 28.The key secondary end point was durable overall response at day 56.” (pg. 1800, methods)
Zeiser’s ruxolitinib satisfies the structural limitations of applicants formula I of the instant claims and further more Zeiser’s method of administering ruxolitinib (applicant’s formula I) in a 10 mg dose twice a day for 28 days followed by a consecutive second 28 day period to treat glucocorticoid-refractory acute graft-versus-host disease (GVHD) after allogeneic stem-cell transplantation anticipate the instant claims where a dose of 10 mg formula I is administered twice daily in 28 day cycles (560 mg per cycle) to treat GVHD which is caused by allogeneic stem cell transplantation and, is glucocorticoid-refractory. See also MPEP 2131.03.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, and 4-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeiser (Ruxolitinib for Glucocorticoid-Refractory Acute Graft-versus-Host Disease) in view of Xue (Ruxolitinib for chronic steroid-refractory graft versus host disease: a single center experience).
The instant claims are directed to a method of treating graft-versus-host disease (GVHD) in a patient by administering the compound of formula I in a daily dose range of 1-50 mg in a 28 day cycle wherein the GVHD is glucocorticoid refractory and/or dependent and includes classical and acute chronic overlap syndrome ranging in severity from mild to severe base on the number of organs affected.
Zeiser et al. teach “phase 3 trial comparing the efficacy and safety of oral ruxolitinib (10 mg twice daily) with the investigator’s choice of therapy from a list of nine commonly used options (control) in patients 12 years of age or older who had glucocorticoid-refractory acute GVHD after allogeneic stem-cell transplantation. The primary end point was overall response (complete response or partial response) at day 28.The key secondary end point was durable overall response at day 56.” (pg. 1800, methods). Zeiser also teaches glucocorticoid taper in which an increase in the methylprednisolone dose to >2 mg per kilogram of body weight per day [or equivalent >2.5 mg per kilogram per day of prednisone] or an inability to taper the dose to <0.5 mg per kilogram per day of methylprednisolone [or equivalent <0.6 mg per kilogram per day of prednisone] for a minimum of 7 days) (pg. 1801, patients section). Zeiser discloses a therapy for acute and chronic GVHD (pg. 1802, 2nd para., endpoints and assessments section). Zeiser also discloses the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) approved ruxolitinib for use in patients 12 years of age or older who had glucocorticoid-refractory acute GVHD (pg. 1807, discussion, 2nd para.).
However, Zeiser et al. fail to disclose GVHD acute and chronic overlap syndrome or specify mild, moderate and severe chronic graft-versus-host diseases.
Xue et al. teach patients were treated for GvHD according to institutional guidelines wherein first line treatment is prednisone at 1 mg/kg (pg. 2, section 2.1). Xue also teaches (pg. 2, introduction). Xue discloses treatment of chronic GVHD overlap with ruxolitinib as” Overall, 15 patients presented overlap features. Both overlap and progressive features point out for a worst prognosis of chronic GvHD. At time of ruxolitinib start, chronic GvHD was scored as moderate and severe in 9 (25 %) and 27 (75 %) cases, respectively, and thirty-three patients were receiving steroid. Cutaneous GvHD was the most common presentation (30/36, 83 %) and also the organ that showed most frequently the highest severity score (NIH 2014 score severe: 18/36, 50 %).” (pg. 3, section 3.1)
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to administer a method of treating GVHD in a patient by administering the compound of formula I (ruxolitinib) in a daily dose range of 1-50 mg in a 28 day cycle wherein the GVHD is glucocorticoid refractory and/or dependent chronic or dependent GVHD as disclosed by Zeiser and look towards Xue’s disclosure of ruxolitinib in treating GVHD including classical and acute chronic overlap syndrome ranging in severity from mild to severe base on the number of organs affected.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Zeiser’s teachings of methylprednisolone, prednisone and administering ruxolitinib in a twice daily 10 mg dose for the treatment of glucocorticoid-refractory acute GVHD including after allogeneic stem-cell transplantation with Xue’s disclosure of treating patients displaying overlap features of GVHD based on the (National Institutes of Health (NIH) 2014 score system) because a skilled artisan would have recognized it as obvious to try when ruxolitinib was already FDA approved ruxolitinib for use in patients 12 years of age or older who had glucocorticoid-refractory acute GVHD and would have therefore had a reasonable expectation of success in also treating classical and acute chronic overlap syndrome ranging in severity from mild to severe based on the number of organs affected by combining Zeiser and Xue’s methods of treating GVHD. See MPEP 2131.03, 2144.05(II), and 2144.06-07.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 4-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,447,154. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill following the patented claims to perform the method on a patient having graft vs host disease with hemophagocytic syndrome with a reasonable expectation of treatment.
Conclusion/Correspondence
All claims are rejected, no claims are allowed. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ERNESTO VALLE JR whose telephone number is (703)756-5356. The examiner can normally be reached 0730-1700 M-F EST, 1st Friday off.
/E.V./Examiner, Art Unit 1623
/ADAM C MILLIGAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1623