DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to papers filed 7/08/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II in the reply filed on 3/9/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 20, 42-58 are pending. Claims 1-19, 21-41 have been cancelled.
The following rejections are newly applied as necessitated by amendment.
The following action is final.
Withdrawn Objections and Rejections
The objection to the specification and the claims made in the previous office action are withdrawn based upon amendments to the claims and specification.
The 35 USC 112b, 35 USC 102, 35 USC 103 rejections made in the previous office action are withdrawn based upon amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20, 42-58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 20, 42-58 are indefinite over steps b to c of claim 20. In particular the sample comprises cells, particles or nuclei however in step c, the sample requires that cell, particular or nucleic to mix in the pooled sample. However, the split doesn’t require that the cells, particles or nucleic are split, rather that the sample is split. As such it is not clear if the claim is intending that the split sample has only particular cells, particles or nuclei.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20,42-46 and 49-50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Huallachain et al.(Communications Biology May 7, 2020 Vol 3 p 1-19 cited on IDS) in view of Ismagilov et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0144854 May 16, 2019).
With regard to claim 20, O’Huallachian et al. teaches a split and pool approach (p 3). O’Huallachian teaches adding cDNA with an annealed anchor (e.g. indexing sample). O’Huallachian teaches splitting into multiple compartments and then combining the cells back into a pool (p. 3). O’Huallachian et al. teaches that these steps can be repeated up to 4 times (figure 1 p. 3-4). However O’Huallachian et al. does not teach that switching the device to pooling and splitting steps into multiple compartments.
With regard to claim 42, O’Huallachian teaches a method of loading the samples onto a device in the splitting state (Figure 1 part C).
With regard to claims 43-44, O’Huallachian teaches a method of switching a device from a pooing state (e.g. a tube) to a plate (splitting) and then back again to collect the samples (figure 1).
With regard to claim 45, O’Huallachian teaches that the sample comprises cells and that cDNA is labeled (figure 1).
With regard to claim 46, O’Huallachian teaches ligation (p. 9).
With regard to claim 48, O’Huallachian teaches that the subunit is a nucleotide (figure 7a).
With regard to claim 49, O’Huallachian teaches splitting into at least 96 wells (figure 1).
With regard to claim 50, O’Huallachian teaches 50 ul (p. 15 last parpaghra).
With regard to claim 20, Ismagilov et al. teaches a methodology of split and pool barcoding wherein the samples are split and pooled based upon magnetic force into wells on the device (para 221). Therefore the device can pool samples and then split them on the device by turning on and off the magnetic force.
Therefore it would be prima facie obvious that one can use any of the finite number of devices to split and pool samples to barcode, including using a device that uses magnetics to pool and split as taught by Ismagilov et la.
Claim(s) 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Huallachain et al.(Communications Biology May 7, 2020 Vol 3 p 1-19) and Ismagilov et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0144854 May 16, 2019) as applied to claims 20,42-46,49-50 and in view of Shalek et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0093154 March 28, 2019).
O’Huallachian et al. and Ismagilov et al. teaches a split and pool approach. O’Huallachian teaches adding cDNA with an annealed anchor (e.g. indexing sample). O’Huallachian teaches splitting into multiple compartments and then combining the cells back into a pool (p. 3). The limitation of a “device that is capable of being switched back and forth” can be broadly interpreted as the whole system of O’Huallachian.
However, O’Huallachian et al. does and Ismagilov et al. do not teach a bioorthogonal addition reaction.
With regard to claim 47, Shalek et al. teaches a pool and switch method wherein the tags are labeled biorthogonal reaction (para 159).
Therefore it would be prima facie obvious at the time of the effective filling date to modify O’Huallachian et al. and Ismagilov et al. to use the linker reaction of Shalek et al. in order to provide a barcode that is covalently liked to the sample. Shalek et al. teaches that this linkage is performed using a bioorthongnal reaction (para 159) and as such teaches the method of one of the finite number of linkage methods to attach a tag. The ordinary artisan would have a reasonable expectation of one of the known attachment assays to link a tag onto the targets of interest in O’Huallachian and Ismagilov et al..
Claim(s) 51-52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Huallachain et al. (Communications Biology May 7, 2020 Vol 3 p 1-19) and Ismagilov et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0144854 May 16, 2019) as applied to claims 20,42-46,49-50 and in view of Gunderson et al. (US Patent Application 2018/0273933 September 27, 2018).
O’Huallachian et al. and Ismagilov et al. teaches a split and pool approach. O’Huallachian teaches adding cDNA with an annealed anchor (e.g. indexing sample). O’Huallachian teaches splitting into multiple compartments and then combining the cells back into a pool (p. 3). The limitation of a “device that is capable of being switched back and forth” can be broadly interpreted as the whole system of O’Huallachian.
However, O’Huallachian et al. does not teach a device connected by channels and a dam.
With regard to claim 51, Gunderson et al. teaches a multi compartment plate that are connected by channels (para 4-6, Figure 1, 60, 125). Gunderson et al. teaches that the plate can have a hydrogel which can be dissolved (para 21) and as such teach fluidically connected. Gunderson teaches that this hydrogel has wells and as such these depressions can be considered having a dam element that blocks the hydrogel between the wells.
With regard to claim 52, the hydrogel can comprise with capillary tubes (21 and 60), as the hydrogel is a flexible membrane it would be considered a flexible material.
Therefore it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts at the time of the effective filing date to modify the support membrane of O’Huallachian and Ismagilov et al. to use the support of Gunderson et al. The ordinary artisan would be motivated to use the device of Gunderson et al. as the device can be used to split and pool samples on one device.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHERINE D SALMON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682