DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Furui (JP 2008046496A), of record by Applicant.
Regarding independent claim 1, Furui (‘496) teaches in figure 3 and the corresponding text, a polarizer, comprising: a polarizing film (5); and a protective layer (4), arranged on the polarizing film; wherein one side of the protective layer away from the polarizing film is provided with a concave-convex structure (no number) which comprises a plurality of concave-convex sub-surfaces of different shapes or sizes (no number but varies in size of curves).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Furui (‘496) teaches a dimming film (3) arranged on the side of the protective layer away from the polarizing film, and one side of the dimming film has the concave-convex structure.
Regarding dependent claim 3, Furui (‘496) teaches the dimming film comprises: a substrate layer; and a plurality of first diffusion particles dispersed within the substrate layer, wherein the dimming film comprises the concave-convex structure formed by some of first diffusion particles protruding from a surface of the dimming film on one side away from the protective layer.
Please note that while not shown in the figures, the reference teaches throughout that the dimming layer should be uneven (and not smooth) in order to improve the antiglare features of device.
Regarding dependent claim 4, Furui (‘496) teaches the dimming film comprises :a substrate layer; and a plurality of first diffusion particles (no number but large particles) dispersed within the substrate layer, wherein the dimming film comprises the concave-convex structure formed by some of first diffusion particles protruding from a surface of the dimming film on one side near the protective layer.
Regarding dependent claim 5, Furui (‘496) teaches the dimming film further comprises a plurality of second diffusion particles (smaller particles) dispersed within the substrate layer, wherein the second diffusion particles and the first diffusion particles protrude from the same side of the surface of the dimming film, and some of the first diffusion particles are located on the side on which the second diffusion particles are away from the concave-convex structure.
Regarding dependent claim 6, Furui (‘496) teaches a size of each of the first diffusion particles is greater than a size of each of the second diffusion particles.
Regarding dependent claim 7, Furui (‘496) teaches the substrate layer comprises an ultraviolet (UV) cured resin substrate, each of the first diffusion particles comprises polymethyl methacrylate particles, and each of the second diffusion particles comprises one of silicon dioxide particles, titanium dioxide particles, and zinc dioxide particles.
Regarding dependent claim 8, Furui (‘496) teaches a haze range of the polarizer is 20% to 70%. (see table 3)
Regarding dependent claim 9, Furui (‘496) teaches an angle between a normal of each of the concave-convex surfaces and a plane parallel to the protective layer ranges between 0 to 180 degrees.
Regarding independent claim 10, Furui (‘496) teaches throughout the text a method for preparing a polarizer, comprising :attaching a protective layer (4) on one side of a polarizing film (5); and preparing a concave-convex structure (no number), which comprises a plurality of concave-convex sub-surfaces of different shapes or sizes (no number but various sizes of curves), on one side of the protective layer away from the polarizing film.
Regarding dependent claim 11, Furui (‘496) teaches the step of preparing a concave-convex structure on one side of the protective layer away from the polarizing film further comprises: mixing a UV curable resin, a UV curable monomer, and a plurality of first diffusion particles in a solvent to form a dimming solution; coating the dimming solution on the side of the protective layer away from the polarizing film; curing the dimming solution to form a dimming film, and one side of the dimming film forms the concave-convex structure.
Regarding dependent claim 12, Furui (‘496) teaches the dimming solution further comprises a plurality of second diffusion particles, wherein a particle size of each of the second diffusion particles is smaller than that of each of the first diffusion particles, each of the second diffusion particles comprises a plurality of inorganic silica particles with a plurality of particle sizes ranging from 30 nanometers to 70 nanometers, and each of the first diffusion particles comprises a plurality of polymethyl methacrylate particles with a plurality of particle sizes ranging from 2 microns to 3 microns.
Regarding dependent claim 13, Furui (‘496) teaches a mass fraction of the first diffusion particles and the second diffusion particles in the dimming solution ranges from 2.5% to 20%, and a ratio of the first diffusion particles and the second diffusion particles is 7:3. (see “mass ratio” and table 3)
Regarding independent claim 14, Furui (‘496) teaches throughout the text and figure 3 a display panel (not shown), comprising a polarizer (no number), the polarizer comprising: a polarizing film (5); and a protective layer (4), arranged on the polarizing film and comprising a concave-convex structure (no number) with a plurality of irregular concave-convex sub-surfaces (no number but varies shapes and sizes can be seen).
Regarding dependent claim 15, Furui (‘496) teaches the polarizer further comprises a dimming film (3) arranged on the side of the protective layer away from the polarizing film, and one side of the dimming film has the concave-convex structure.
Regarding dependent claim 16, Furui (‘496) teaches the dimming film comprises: a substrate layer; and a plurality of first diffusion particles dispersed within the substrate layer, wherein the dimming film comprises the concave-convex structure formed by some of first diffusion particles protruding from a surface of the dimming film on one side away from the protective layer.
Please note that while not shown in the figures, the reference teaches throughout that the dimming layer should be uneven (and not smooth) in order to improve the antiglare features of device.
Regarding dependent claim 17, Furui (‘496) teaches the dimming film comprises: a substrate layer; and a plurality of first diffusion particles dispersed within the substrate layer, wherein the dimming film comprises the concave-convex structure formed by some of first diffusion particles protruding from a surface of the dimming film on one side near the protective layer.
Regarding dependent claim 18, Furui (‘496) teaches the dimming film further comprises a plurality of second diffusion particles dispersed within the substrate layer, wherein the second diffusion particles and the first diffusion particles protrude from the same side of the surface of the dimming film, and some of the first diffusion particles are located on the side on which the second diffusion particles are away from the concave-convex structure.
Regarding dependent claim 19, Furui (‘496) teaches a haze range of the polarizer is 20% to 70% (see table 3).
Regarding dependent claim 20, Furui (‘496) teaches an angle between a normal of each of the concave-convex surfaces and a plane parallel to the protective layer ranges between 0 to 180 degrees.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2005/0255291 and US 2007/0148482 teach the state of ty heart of the present invention.
Contact Information
JOSEPH L. WILLIAMS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/JOSEPH L WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875