DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to the amendment filed 8/24/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/5/2026 complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the examiner considered the information disclosure statement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 36-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 36, the term “to the first component” (line 3) is vague, lacks proper antecedent basis, and renders he claim indefinite. it is unclear which specific component is being referred to as “the first component” based on claim 16.
Claim 37 has the same indefiniteness issue as claim 36 with respect to “to the first component” in line 3
Claims 38-39 are rejected as containing the deficiencies of claim 36 through their dependency from claim 36.
Claims 40-41 are rejected as containing the deficiencies of claim 37 through their dependency from claim 37.
Therefore, proper amendments are required in order to clarify the scopes of the claims and overcome the rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-18, 27 and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN213338219) in view of Liu (CN212302098) and Lin et al. (CN105700183A, English translation attached).
Regarding claim 16, Wang teaches an augmented reality glasses (figs.1-17; paragraph [n0026] “In this application, the wearable electronic device 10 can be an electronic device based on concepts such as Virtual Reality (VR), Augmented Reality (AR), Mixed Reality (MR), and Mediated Reality (MR)”), comprising (see Wang, figs.1-17):
an optical imaging system (paragraph [n0026]"wearable electronic device 10”), the optical imaging system comprising an image source assembly (paragraph [n0034] “image source 142”) and an optical assembly (paragraph [n0034] “first lens 143, and a second lens 144 assembled on the base 141”);
a spectacle frame (paragraph [n0030] “frame assembly 11”) supporting the optical imaging system (the device 10);
a temple (paragraph [n0029] “the temple assembly 12”);
a connection mechanism (paragraph [n0058] “Referring to Figure 10, the rotating shaft assembly 13 may include a first connector 131 and a second connector 132, with the second connector 132 being rotatably connected to the first connector 131”) connected to the spectacle frame (11) and the temple (12), and comprising:
a second component (131) connected to the spectacle frame (11) (paragraph [n0058] “The first connector 131 can be fixedly connected to the frame assembly 11”) ,
a third component (132) connected to the second component (131) and the temple (the 12; note: also see paragraph [n0058] “the second connector 132 can be fixedly connected to the temple assembly 12”), the third component (132) being capable of rotating up and down relative to the second component, and the temple being capable of rotating relative to the third component to be folded and unfolded (see paragraph [n0058] “the temple assembly 12 and the second connector 132 rotate from the first position to the second position relative to the frame assembly 11 and the first connector 131) and the above-mentioned folded state (e.g., the temple assembly 12 and the second connector 132 rotate from the second position to the first position relative to the frame assembly 11 and the first connector 131”);
a second shaft (third connector 133 has been referred to as a second shaft) connected to the second component (131) and the third component (132), wherein the second shaft is configured in one of the arrangements (paragraph [n0063] “Referring to Figures 12 and 10, the rotating shaft assembly 13 may also include a third connector 133, which can serve as a rotating shaft that rotates relative to the second connector 132 and the first connector 131”):
the second shaft (133) is fixed to the third component (132), and the second component (131) is fitted over the second shaft (133) through a circular hole (see Wang, fig.17, the second component 131 is fitted over the second shaft 133 through a circular hole), and
the second shaft (133) is fixed to the second component (131), and the third component (132) is fitted over the second shaft through a circular hole (see Wang, fig.17, the third component 132 is fitted over the second shaft 133 through a circular hole);
a data line extending from the spectacle frame to the temple (see fig.9, paragraph [n0053] and paragraph [n0054] “the wearable electronic device 10 may also include a touch screen (similar to a mobile phone touch screen) disposed on the temple assembly 12 and coupled to the control circuit 151, and the control commands may correspond to touch operations performed by the user on the touch screen, such as clicking, swiping, long pressing, etc.”; thus, Wang teaches a data line extending from the spectacle frame 11 to the temple 12);
a temple cover plate (see fig.2, the shell 122 and 121) provided on the temple to cover the data line in the temple (paragraph [n0021] “the temple assembly 12 can consist of an inner shell 121 and an outer shell 122, which can be assembled and connected by one or a combination of assembly methods such as adhesive bonding, snap-fit, and threaded connection. At this time, the outer shell 122 and the inner shell 121 can cooperate to form a storage cavity for housing the motherboard 15 and/or the battery 16.”, thus, Wang having the temple cover plate, the shell 122 and 121 provided on the temple 12 to cover the data line in the temple 12).
Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein a connector cover plate provided on the third component to cover the data line passing through the third component.
However, Liu teaches the analogous augmented reality glasses (see Liu, figs.1-15, abstract, “The utility model discloses a glasses leg assembly and a head-mounted device, the glasses leg assembly comprises a first rotating arm, a second rotating arm and a rotating shaft assembly, the rotating shaft assembly is used for rotatably connecting the first rotating arm and the second rotating arm, the rotating shaft assembly is connected with the first rotating arm, and the rotating shaft assembly can move along the length direction of the first rotating arm under the action of external force”), and further teaches wherein
a connector cover plate (see Liu, fig.12, 312 has been referred to as a connector cover plate; paragraph [0050] “312-Shielding part”) provided on the third component (see Liu, figs.1-15, the 300 has been referred to as the third component, paragraph [0050] “300-Spindle assembly”, see fig.12, the rotating connection par 310 is part of the 300) to cover the data line (paragraph [0086] wiring port 120) passing through the third component (Liu, the 300; paragraph [0087] “the shielding part 312 is used to shield the FPC 400 to prevent the temple assembly from being exposed and causing wear when folded”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/provide the apparatus of Wang to have the specific cover as taught by Liu for the purpose to prevent the temple assembly from being exposed and causing wear when folded (Liu, paragraph [0087]).
Although Wang does not explicitly disclose that wherein the third component being capable of rotating up and down relative to the second component, and the temple being capable of rotating relative to the third component to be folded and unfolded.
However, the limitations of “being capable of rotating up and down” and “being capable of rotating… to be folded and unfolded.” in the claim are product by process limitations, and don’t impart any requirement on the product itself other than what is already structurally claimed, See MPEP 2173.05(p) sec. II).
(note : The preceding claim is a product-by-process claim and even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method/process of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process; thus, it is expect the connection mechanism processes provided by combination Wang-Liu has same results as claimed. Since where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2113. thus, combination Wang-Liu teaches the same structure and the same function)
However, Lin teaches the analogous field of glasses (Lin, figs. 1-5, abstract, a temples and lens assembly hinge mechanism which comprises a first body and a second body), and further teaches wherein a third component (Lin, figs. 1-5, body 21) connected to the second component (Lin, figs. 1-4, body 12) and the temple (figs. 1-4, temple 2), the third component being capable of rotating up and down relative to the second component (12), and the temple (2) being capable of rotating relative to the third component (21) to be folded and unfolded (see Lin, paragraph [0039] “After the temple 2 is fully opened, the pivot end of the temple 2 can abut against the second end of the second body 21. The temple 2 can drive the second body 21 to rotate outward a certain range around the first pivot axis 122 from the fully opened position, and cause the second body 21 to further compress the compression spring 4”; paragraph [0045]“Based on the above embodiments, preferably, as shown in Figures 1 to 4, the temple 2 has a limiting groove 23 at the pivot end, and a second pivot shaft 22 is provided in the limiting groove 23. The second end of the second body 21 is pivotally connected to the second pivot shaft 22. After the temple 2 is fully opened, the second end of the second body 21 can abut against the inner wall of the limiting groove 23 at the pivot end of the temple 2”; thus, Lin teaches the intermediate connecting body disposed between the frame-side body and the temple and have two separate rotational connections, so the third component 21 connected to the second component 12) and the temple 2, the third component 21 being capable of rotating up and down relative to the second component 12, and the temple 2 being capable of rotating relative to the third component 21 to be folded and unfolded).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Wang to have the specific arrangement as taught by Lin for the purpose to improve adjustability of the glassed for different wearers, ensuring that the glasses can be firmly worn on the user's head and enhancing wearing comfort (Lin, paragraph [0042]).
Regarding claim 17, combination Wang-Liu-Lin discloses the invention as described in Claim 16 and Wang further teaches wherein the connection mechanism further comprises a disc elastic piece (paragraph [n0064] “the elastic element 134 can be a spring, disc spring”) sleeved on the second shaft (see figs.12, 17, elastic element 134 sleeved on the second shaft 133), and the disc elastic piece is configured to provide rotational damping to the third component, such that the third component is capable of being located in a first position, a second position and a third position (see paragraph [n0064] “It should be noted that the elastic element 134 can be a spring, disc spring, etc. In this embodiment, the elastic element 134 is a disc spring as an example for illustrative purposes. Furthermore, there can be multiple disc springs, which can be connected in series and/or in parallel to form an assembly, so as to adjust the deformation of the elastic element 134 and the elastic force it provides” and see described in paragraph [n0065]; thus, the disc elastic piece is configured to provide rotational damping to the third component, such that the third component is capable of being located in a first position, a second position and a third position).
Regarding claim 18, combination Wang-Liu-Lin discloses the invention as described in Claim 16 and Wang further teaches wherein the second shaft (133) is passed through the third component (132) and the second component (131), such that the third component (132) is capable of rotating about the second shaft (133).
Regarding claim 27, combination Wang-Liu discloses the invention as described in Claim 16 and Wang further teaches wherein the third component (131) has a limiting portion (see Wang, fig.12, third component 131 has a limiting portion 1312 and l313), the limiting portion is configured to interact with the spectacle frame (11) or the second component (132) when the third component rotates relative to the second component, to limit a rotation angle of the third component (see paragraph [n0058] “Referring to Figure 10, the rotating shaft assembly 13 may include a first connector 131 and a second connector 132, with the second connector 132 being rotatably connected to the first connector 131. The first connector 131 can be fixedly connected to the frame assembly 11, and the second connector 132 can be fixedly connected to the temple assembly 12, so that the temple assembly 12 is movably connected to the frame assembly 11 through the pivot assembly 13, thereby allowing the wearable electronic device 10 to switch between the above-mentioned open state (e.g., the temple assembly 12 and the second connector 132 rotate from the first position to the second position relative to the frame assembly 11 and the first connector 131) and the above-mentioned folded state (e.g., the temple assembly 12 and the second connector 132 rotate from the second position to the first position relative to the frame assembly 11 and the first connector 131”; thus, Wang teaches the third component 131 has a limiting portion 1312 and l313, the limiting portion is configured to interact with the spectacle frame 11 or the second component 132 when the third component 132 rotates relative to the second component 131, to limit a rotation angle of the third component 132).
Regarding claim 30, combination Wang-Liu discloses the invention as described in Claim 16 and Liu further teaches wherein the connector cover plate and the temple cover plate are in clearance fit with each other (see Liu, figs.1-2, having the connector cover plate 100 and the temple cover plate 200 are in clearance fit with each other). The motivation to combine Wang and Liu as provided in claim 9 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 31, combination Wang-Liu discloses the invention as described in Claim 16 and Liu further teaches wherein the connector cover plate is shorter than the temple cover plate (see Liu, fig.2, having a connector cover plate 100 is shorter than a temple cover plate 200). The motivation to combine Wang and Liu as provided in claim 9 is incorporated herein.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN213338219) in view of Liu (CN212302098) and Lin et al. (CN105700183A, English translation attached), and further in view of Chen (US20080074608, of record, see IDS dated 12/11/2023).
Regarding claim 21, combination Wang-Liu-Lin discloses the invention as described in Claim 16, Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein the third component is provided with a first tooth portion, and the second component is provided with a second tooth portion adapted to the first tooth portion.
However, Chen teaches the analogous glasses assembly (Chen,figs.2-7, abstract, a pair of eyeglasses comprise a temple, and a connecting member; the connecting member is pivoted to a connecting end of the temple; paragraph [0018] “Referring to FIGS. 2 to 7, a preferred embodiment of a pair of eyeglasses are provided, which can be ones for short-sighted persons, presbyopic glasses, sunglasses, sport eyeglasses or industrial eyeglasses”), and further teaches wherein the third component (see fig.2, paragraph [0022] “connecting end 11”) is provided with a first tooth portion (paragraph [0022] “the toothed parts 223 of the connecting member 2 fit on the notches 14 of the connecting end 11 for allowing the temple 1 to grip the connecting member 2”), and the second component (paragraph [0022] “the outer lateral wall portion of the coupling portion 22”) is provided with a second tooth portion (paragraph [0022] “the outer lateral wall portion of the coupling portion 22 has toothed parts 223 near to an edge thereof”) adapted to the first tooth portion (see Chen, fig.2, the third component 11 is provided with a first tooth portion 223, and the second component 22 is provided with a second tooth portion 223 adapted to the first tooth portion 223).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Wang to have the specific tooth as taught by Chen for the purpose to prevent from pivoting relative to the temple, and also to allow to pivot the rim upwards relative to the temple to a not-in-use position when wearing the eyeglasses (Chen, paragraph [0022] and paragraph [0009]).
Claims 22 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN213338219) in view of Liu (CN212302098) and Lin et al. (CN105700183A, English translation attached), and further in view of Yang et al. (US20210333571).
Regarding claim 22, combination Wang-Liu-Lin discloses the invention as described in Claim 16, Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein the third component comprises a frame-shaped structure comprising two side walls and a bottom wall, and the second component is arranged in the frame-shaped structure.
However, Yang teaches the analogous temple assembly (Yang, abstract, “A temple assembly for a pair of spectacles, including a spectacle temple body, a guide member, a first temple core, a second temple core, a first pivot; and a second pivot; wherein the second temple core is elastically connected with the spectacle temple body, the guide member is sleeved onto the first temple core, two connecting end of the first temple core is respectively pivotally connected to the second temple core and a pile head of a rim, the first pivot and the second pivot are disposed perpendicular to each other. When the spectacle temples are subjected to loads in two different directions from a horizontal direction and a vertical direction, the spectacles temple cause to produce an elastic bend of different directions at a front end and a rear end of the guide member, the user experience that the temples can be rotated 360 degrees is better”), and further teaches wherein the third component comprises a frame-shaped structure comprising two side walls and a bottom wall, and the second component is arranged in the frame-shaped structure (see Yang, fig.1, the third component 13 comprises a frame-shaped structure comprising two side walls and a bottom wall, and the second component 14 is arranged in the frame-shaped structure).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the apparatus of Wang to have the specific shaped structure as taught by Yang for the purpose of the aesthetics of the spectacle frames and the comfort of people (Yang, paragraph [0003]).
Regarding claim 25, combination Wang-Liu-Lin-Yang discloses the invention as described in Claim 22 and Yang further teaches wherein a gap is formed between the two side walls and the second component, when the third component rotates relative to the second component, the second component is capable of acting with the two side walls to limit the rotation angle of the third component (see Yang, figs.1-3, described in claim 22, and described in paragraph [0056] “a working state that the spectacle temple body 12 and the second temple core 15 installed in the receiving cavity 120 together rotates around the second pivot 17”; thus Yang having a gap is formed between the two side walls of the 13 and the second component 14, when the third component 13+17 rotates relative to the second component 14, the second component 14 is capable of acting with the two side walls to limit the rotation angle of the third component 13-17). The motivation to combine Wang and Yang as provided in claim 22 is incorporated herein.
Claims 23-24 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN213338219) in view of Liu (CN212302098), Lin et al. (CN105700183A, English translation attached) and Yang et al. (US20210333571), and further in view of Halpin et al. (US20160246059).
Regarding claim 23, combination Wang-Liu-Lin-Yang discloses the invention as described in Claim 22, Wang does not explicitly disclose teaches wherein the bottom wall is provided with a first tooth portion, and the second component is provided with a second tooth portion adapted to the first tooth portion.
However, Halpin teaches the analogous augmented reality glasses (Halpin, abstract, “The present invention provides an electronic eyewear viewing device including a display module having a microdisplay for viewing images”), and further teaches wherein the bottom wall (see Halpin, fig.4A, assembly cover 8 has been referred to as the bottom wall, paragraph [0046] “the housing/hinge assembly cover 8, which is secured to the bottom of housing 2”) is provided with a first tooth portion (fig.4A, teeth 6), and the second component (fig.4A, the worm wheel 3 has been referred to as the second component) is provided with a second tooth portion (see fig.4A, screw 1 has tooth) adapted to the first tooth portion (the teeth 6; paragraph [0046] “the thread or teeth of worm 6 can be rotatably mounted to corner shaped housing 2 about upright axis W perpendicular to lateral axis L within a hole or opening 6 a (FIG. 4A)”; thus, Halpin teaches wherein the bottom wall is provided with a first tooth portion, and the second component is provided with a second tooth portion adapted to the first tooth portion).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Wang to have the specific tooth as taught by Halpin for the purpose to provide an electronic eyewear viewing device that can have a slim elegant eyewear design relatively close to that of conventional corrective eyewear, while at the same time providing adjustability of an optical display module to facilitate viewing experience (Halpin, paragraph [0003]).
Regarding claim 24, combination Wang-Liu-Lin-Yang discloses the invention as described in Claim 22, Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein the bottom wall is provided with a protruding column located in the frame-shaped structure, the protruding column is passed through the second component, the protruding column acts as the second shaft.
However, Halpin teaches the analogous augmented reality glasses (Halpin, abstract, “The present invention provides an electronic eyewear viewing device including a display module having a microdisplay for viewing images”), and further teaches wherein the bottom wall is provided with a protruding column located in the frame-shaped structure, the protruding column is passed through the second component, the protruding column acts as the second shaft (see Halpin, fig.4A, and described in claim 23, the bottom wall 8 is provided with a protruding column 3 located in the frame-shaped structure--- the house 2, the protruding column 3 is passed through the second component, the protruding column acts as the second shaft).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Wang to have the specific structure as taught by Halpin for the purpose to provide an electronic eyewear viewing device that can have a slim elegant eyewear design relatively close to that of conventional corrective eyewear, while at the same time providing adjustability of an optical display module to facilitate viewing experience (Halpin, paragraph [0003]).
Regarding claim 26, combination Wang-Liu-Lin-Yang discloses the invention as described in Claim 25, Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein projections are provided in the gap, when the third component is rotated, the second component interferes with the projections to limit a rotation range of the third component.
However, Halpin teaches the analogous augmented reality glasses (Halpin, abstract, “The present invention provides an electronic eyewear viewing device including a display module having a microdisplay for viewing images”), and further teaches wherein projections are provided in the gap, when the third component is rotated, the second component interferes with the projections to limit a rotation range of the third component. (see Halpin, fig.4A, wherein projections --- pin 4--- are provided in the gap ---paragraph [0046] “The pin 4 can extend through an opening 4a in the side of cavity 2c”, when the third component 1 is rotated, the second component 3 interferes with the projections---pin 4 to limit a rotation range of the third component 2).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Wang to have the specific structure as taught by Halpin for the purpose to provide an electronic eyewear viewing device that can have a slim elegant eyewear design relatively close to that of conventional corrective eyewear, while at the same time providing adjustability of an optical display module to facilitate viewing experience (Halpin, paragraph [0003]).
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN213338219) in view of Liu (CN212302098) and Lin et al. (CN105700183A, English translation attached), and further in view of Yang (US20060055875, hereinafter called Yang’875).
Regarding claim 28, combination Wang-Liu-Lin discloses the invention as described in Claim 27, Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein an upper limiting surface and a lower limiting surface are formed on an upper side and a lower side, respectively, of an end of the spectacle frame facing the third component, the limiting portion on the third component includes an upper limiting portion and a lower limiting portion, the upper limiting surface of the spectacle frame and the upper limiting portion limit an angle of upward swing of the third component, and the lower limiting surface of spectacle frame and the lower limiting portion limit an angle of downward swing of the third component.
However, Yang’875 teaches the analogous glasses assembly (Yang’875, figs.1-8, abstract, “a pair of eyeglasses includes a lens unit and a pair of temples. The lens unit includes two opposite temple-connecting parts, each of which has a first engaging member that is formed with first teeth. Each of the temples is respectively pivoted to the temple-connecting parts so as to be rotatable relative to the lens unit about an axis”), and further teaches wherein an upper limiting surface and a lower limiting surface are formed on an upper side and a lower side, respectively, of an end of the spectacle frame facing the third component, the limiting portion on the third component includes an upper limiting portion and a lower limiting portion, the upper limiting surface of the spectacle frame and the upper limiting portion limit an angle of upward swing of the third component, and the lower limiting surface of the first component and the lower limiting portion limit an angle of downward swing of the third component (see Yang’875, figs.6 and 8, paragraph [0030] “To limit angle adjustment of the temples 5, the rear end of the first engaging member 233 is further formed with upper and lower protrusions 234, 235. The first teeth 238 are disposed between the upper and lower protrusions 234, 235. The front ends of the upper and lower connecting walls 33, 34 respectively have slant faces 331, 341 that are oblique relative to the radial directions. The second engaging member 35 is disposed between the slant faces 331, 341 of the front ends of the connecting walls 33, 34. In this manner, each of the temples 5 is rotatable relative to the lens unit 2 between an upper angular position, where the upper protrusion 234 abuts against the upper slant face 331, and a lower angular position, where the lower protrusion 235 abuts against the lower slant face 341, as best shown in FIG. 8. It should be noted herein that the angle-limiting structures of the connecting seats 3 and 5 the temple-connecting parts 23 can be switched”; thus, Yang’875 teaches wherein an upper limiting surface and a lower limiting surface are formed on an upper side and a lower side, respectively, of an end of the spectacle frame 2 facing the third component 23, the limiting portion on the third component 23 includes an upper limiting portion and a lower limiting portion, the upper limiting surface of the spectacle frame and the upper limiting portion limit an angle of upward swing of the third component 23, and the lower limiting surface of spectacle frame 2 and the lower limiting portion limit an angle of downward swing of the third component 23).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Wang to have the specific component as taught by Yang’875 for the purpose of one of the first and second engaging members is resilient so as to slightly deform in radial directions relative to the axis and so as to reduce the friction between the first and second teeth upon pivoting movement of the temples about the axis (Yang’875, paragraph [0011]).
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN213338219) in view of Liu (CN212302098) and Lin et al. (CN105700183A, English translation attached), and further in view of Wu (US20040145699).
Regarding claim 29, combination Wang-Liu-Lin discloses the invention as described in Claim 27, Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein one end of the third component is opposite to the spectacle frame, and a gap is formed therebetween, the one end of the third component is configured to interact with the spectacle frame when the third component rotates relative to the second component, to limit the rotation angle of the third component, the limiting portion is formed on the one end of the third component.
However, Wu teaches he analogous glasses assembly (Wu, abstract, “A pair of spectacles includes a rim, two angle adjusting devices each mounted on the rim, and two temples each mounted on a respective angle adjusting device. Each of the angle adjusting devices includes a connecting member formed with a locking pawl, and a pivot member pivotally mounted on the connecting member and formed with locking grooves ”), and further teaches wherein one end of the third component is opposite to the spectacle frame, and a gap is formed therebetween, the one end of the third component is configured to interact with the spectacle frame when the third component rotates relative to the second component, to limit the rotation angle of the third component, the limiting portion is formed on the one end of the third component (see Wu,figs.1-7, paragraph [0027] “The connecting member 11 of each of the two angle adjusting devices 1 has a bifurcated first end 110 formed with a longitudinally extended insertion slot 113 and a transversely extended circular pivot hole 116 communicating with the insertion slot 113. The first end of the connecting member 11 has a semi-circular side. The first end of the connecting member 11 is formed with a wedge-shaped flexible locking pawl 114 and two opposite limit plates 115, with the locking pawl 114 being located between the two opposite limit plates 115. Preferably, the locking pawl 114 of the connecting member 11 is extended into the insertion slot 113 and is separated from a peripheral wall of the insertion slot 113, and the two opposite limit plates 115 of the connecting member 11 is extended into the insertion slot 113 and is connected to the peripheral wall of the insertion slot 113”; paragraph [0009] “the present invention is to provide a pair of spectacles, wherein each of the two opposite limit plates of the connecting member is movable to abut an edge of the pivot member, thereby preventing the locking pawl of the connecting member from releasing from the locking grooves of the pivot member”; thus, Wu teaches wherein one end of the third component 31 is opposite to the spectacle frame 2, and a gap is formed therebetween, the one end of the third component 31 is configured to interact with the spectacle frame 2 when the third component rotates relative to the second component 11, to limit the rotation angle of the third component 31, the limiting portion is formed on the one end of the third component).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Wang to have the specific component as taught by Wu for the purpose of preventing the locking pawl of the connecting member from releasing from the locking grooves of the pivot member (Wu, paragraph [0009]).
Claims 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN213338219) in view of Liu (CN212302098) and Lin et al. (CN105700183A, English translation attached), and further in view of Jin et al. (CN111665636, English translation attached).
Regarding claim 36, combination Wang-Liu-Lin discloses the invention as described in Claim 16, Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein the connection mechanism further comprising a first shaft, the second component is rotatably connected to the first component by the first shaft, the spectacle frame and the first component are separate structures.
However, Jin teaches the analogous AR glasses (see Jin, figs.1-9, paragraph [0030] AR glasses 100, a frames 110 and a first structure 210), and further teaches wherein the connection mechanism (Jin, figs. 1-9, has been referred to as connection mechanism) further comprising a first shaft (figs.1-9, shaft 240), the second component (paragraph [0030] second structure 220) is rotatably connected to the first component (paragraph [0030] first structure 210) by the first shaft (240; paragraph [0037] “the first structure 210 can be rotatably connected to the first rotating shaft 240 with the axis of rotation as the axis of rotation”), the spectacle frame (Jin, fig. 1, frame 110) and the first component (fig. 2, 210) are separate structures (see Jin, figs. 1-2, the spectacle frame 110 and the first component 210 are separate structures).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Wang to have the specific position as taught by Jin for the purpose to provide a rotating connection component and AR glasses to solve the problem that AR glasses are difficult to adapt to different users (Jin, paragraph [0006]).
Regarding claim 37, combination Wang-Liu-Lin discloses the invention as described in Claim 16, Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein the connection mechanism further comprising a first shaft, the second component is rotatably connected to the first component by the first shaft, the spectacle frame and the first component are one piece.
However, Jin teaches the analogous AR glasses (see Jin, figs.1-9, paragraph [0030] AR glasses 100, a frames 110 and a first structure 210), and further teaches wherein the connection mechanism (Jin, figs. 1-9, has been referred to as connection mechanism) further comprising a first shaft (figs.1-9, shaft 240), the second component (paragraph [0030] second structure 220) is rotatably connected to the first component (paragraph [0030] first structure 210) by the first shaft (240; paragraph [0037] “the first structure 210 can be rotatably connected to the first rotating shaft 240 with the axis of rotation as the axis of rotation”), the spectacle frame (Jin, fig. 1, frame 110) and the first component (fig. 2, 210) are one piece (see Jin, figs. 1-2, paragraph [0036] “the first structure 210 can be fixedly connected to the frame 110 by means of adhesive, screws, clips, etc., or it can be integrally formed with the frame 110, as long as it can be fixedly connected to the frame 110”; thus, the spectacle frame 110 and the first component 210 are one piece).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Wang to have the specific position as taught by Jin for the purpose to provide a rotating connection component and AR glasses to solve the problem that AR glasses are difficult to adapt to different users (Jin, paragraph [0006]).
Claims 38-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN213338219) in view of Liu (CN212302098), Lin et al. (CN105700183A, English translation attached) and Jin et al. (CN111665636, English translation attached), and further in view of Oshima et al. (JP2008102454, English translation attached).
Regarding claim 38, combination Wang-Liu-Lin-Jin discloses the invention as described in Claim 36, Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein the connection mechanism further comprising a third shaft, the second shaft is located between the first shaft and the third shaft, the third component is rotatably connected to the temple by the third shaft.
However, Oshima teaches the analogous temple (Oshima, abstract, “to provide a temple for a spectacle frame which makes spectacles, when worn, feel less painful, and makes the worn spectacles hardly disengageable”), and further teaches wherein the connection mechanism (see Oshima, fig. 2, has been referred to as the connection mechanism) further comprising a third shaft (fig. 2, shaft 13), the second shaft (fig. 2, shaft 17) is located between the first shaft (fig. 2, shaft 16) and the third shaft (13), the third component (fig. 2, the first link 11) is rotatably connected to the temple (fig. 2, temple 6) by the third shaft (13; see Oshima, paragraph [0028] “ the third axis 13 is considered as the second link, the temple body 6 and the second link are connected in a sliding pair, and the modern 7 and the second link are connected in a rotating pair.”; paragraph [0029] “The rotation of the first link 11 in the direction shown in (1) in the diagram causes the modern 7 to rotate around the third axis 13 relative to the temple body 6, and the third axis 13 slides towards the front within the elongated hole 14.”; thus, Oshima teaches wherein the connection mechanism further comprising the third shaft 13 , the second shaft 17 is located between the first shaft 16 and the third shaft 13, the third component 11 is rotatably connected to the temple 6 by the third shaft 13).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Wang to have the specific position as taught by Oshima for the purpose to help to stabilize the glasses when they are worn on the face (Oshima, paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 39, combination Wang-Liu-Lin-Jin-Oshima discloses the invention as described in Claim 38 and Oshima further teaches wherein the temple (Oshima, fig. 2, temple 6) is capable of splaying outwards through the first shaft (16), the temple (6) is capable of swinging up and down through the second shaft (17), and the temple (6) is foldable through the third shaft (13).
Further, the limitations of “temple is capable of splaying…”, “is capable of swinging…”, “is foldable…” in the claim are product by process limitations, and don’t impart any requirement on the product itself other than what is already structurally claimed, See MPEP 2173.05(p) sec. II).
The motivation to combine Wang and Oshima as provided in claim 38 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 40, combination Wang-Liu-Lin-Jin discloses the invention as described in Claim 37, Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein the connection mechanism further comprising a third shaft, the second shaft is located between the first shaft and the third shaft, the third component is rotatably connected to the temple by the third shaft.
However, Oshima teaches the analogous temple (Oshima, abstract, “to provide a temple for a spectacle frame which makes spectacles, when worn, feel less painful, and makes the worn spectacles hardly disengageable”), and further teaches wherein the connection mechanism (see Oshima, fig. 2, has been referred to as the connection mechanism) further comprising a third shaft (fig. 2, shaft 13), the second shaft (fig. 2, shaft 17) is located between the first shaft (fig. 2, shaft 16) and the third shaft (13), the third component (fig. 2, the first link 11) is rotatably connected to the temple (fig. 2, temple 6) by the third shaft (13; see Oshima, paragraph [0028] “ the third axis 13 is considered as the second link, the temple body 6 and the second link are connected in a sliding pair, and the modern 7 and the second link are connected in a rotating pair.”; paragraph [0029] “The rotation of the first link 11 in the direction shown in (1) in the diagram causes the modern 7 to rotate around the third axis 13 relative to the temple body 6, and the third axis 13 slides towards the front within the elongated hole 14.”; thus, Oshima teaches wherein the connection mechanism further comprising a third shaft , the second shaft is located between the first shaft and the third shaft, the third component is rotatably connected to the temple by the third shaft.).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Wang to have the specific position as taught by Oshima for the purpose to help to stabilize the glasses when they are worn on the face (Oshima, paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 41, combination Wang-Liu-Lin-Jin-Oshima discloses the invention as described in Claim 40 and Oshima further teaches wherein the temple (Oshima, fig. 2, temple 6) is capable of splaying outwards through the first shaft (16), the temple (6) is capable of swinging up and down through the second shaft (17), and the temple (6) is foldable through the third shaft (13).
Further, the limitations of “temple is capable of splaying…”, “is capable of swinging…”, “is foldable…” in the claim are product by process limitations, and don’t impart any requirement on the product itself other than what is already structurally claimed, See MPEP 2173.05(p) sec. II).
The motivation to combine Wang and Oshima as provided in claim 40 is incorporated herein.
Response to amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references or portions of the reference being used in the current rejections.
Examiner's Note
Regarding the references, the Examiner cites particular figures, paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the reference(s), as applied to the claims above. Although the particular citations are representative teachings and are applied to specific limitations within the claims, other passages, internally cited references, and figures may also apply. In preparing a response, it is respectfully requested that the Applicant fully consider the references, in their entirety, as potentially disclosing or teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as fully consider the context of the passage as taught by the reference(s) or as disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KUEI-JEN L EDENFIELD/
Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872