DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 11, 22, and 29 are amended. Claim 25 is cancelled. Claim 31 is newly added. Claims 11-24 and 26-31 are currently pending and are under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-12, 14, 19-22,24, and 27-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dellock et al. (US 2021/0023979) in view of Bradely et al. (2021/0141217).
Regarding Claim 11, Dellock discloses a sensor device for a transportation device (Fig. 3), the sensor device comprising:
a sensing apparatus for sensing first electromagnetic radiation at least one first wavelength (Fig. 3, 22; para. [0034], “the radar system 18 is linked to radar sensor 22”); and
a covering device (14, Fig. 3, para. [0014], “…the illuminatable assembly is a decorative badge that identifies the vehicle”) for the sensing apparatus, the covering device containing a fluorescent portion with a fluorescent dye (claim 1 “ a color conversion layer that converts light emitted from the dielectric layer”,42, Fig, 4, para. [0047], “Boron-dipyrromethene (BODIPY) rylene dye is among the most efficient classes of fluorescent dyes.”) which has an absorption spectrum and an emission spectrum, wherein:
the fluorescent portion is transparent to the first electromagnetic radiation at the first wavelength (para. [0035], “ The illuminatable assembly 14 is, in the exemplary embodiment, constructed from materials that do not overly distort radar waves. This permits the radar sensors 22 to be tucked behind a portion of the illuminatable assembly 14”
the fluorescent portion is configured to emit, upon irradiation (claim 1: “ a dielectric layer that emits light, the dielectric layer”) with second electromagnetic radiation at a second wavelength in the absorption spectrum of the fluorescent dye, third electromagnetic radiation in the emission spectrum (claim 8. “wherein the dielectric layer is configured to emit green light, and the color conversion layer is configured to convert the green light such to white light.”, para. [0003], “…assembly further includes a color conversion layer that converts light emitted from the dielectric layer”; para. [0010], “…the color conversion layer is configured to convert the green light such to white light”; para. [0045], “…The color conversion layer 42 is atop the anode layer 38. An exemplary way to convert the green light to white is to filter the green light through a film coated with red rylene dye or purple rylene dye. The red rylene dye can convert the green light to a warm white light. The purple rylene dye can convert the green light to a cool white light”), and the first wavelength and the second wavelength are different (inherent and obvious).
Dellock is silent, but Bradley, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the covering device further comprises a heating layer which is transparent to the first electromagnetic radiation and to the third electromagnetic radiation, and the heating layer is configured to absorb a part of the second electromagnetic radiation in order to heat the covering device (Bradley, teaches an optical coating (and an apparatus/sensor window including the coating) for external sensor windows, including automotive lidar and camera systems. The coating is wavelength selective in that it selectively absorbs electromagnetic radiation in a chosen wavelength band (para. [0027]) (matched to the light source in order to generate heat, defogging or deicing the cover/apparatus). It also selectively transmits electromagnetic radiation in the sensing wavelength so that the underlying sensor continues to function without significant attenuation). Therefore, teaches a heating layer that is transparent to the (first) electromagnetic radiation while configure to absorb radiation(which can be selected to include or overlap with the second/ excitation wavelength) in order to covering device. Transparency to an additional emission wavelength(third radiation) is a routine and predictable extension of the same selective transmission design principle).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the covering device of Dellock by incorporating the wavelength selective absorptive heating coating of Bradley with great expectation of success in order to keep the sensor covers free of ice, snow and fog to ensure reliable operation. Any heating element placed in the optical path must remain transparent to the wavelength required by the sensing apparatus(first radiation), and when a fluorescent layer is present, also to the fluorescent emission (third radiation). So that it absorbs a portion of the second (excitation) wavelength allows the existing excitation source (or a nearby matched source) to perform a dual function of exciting the fluorescent dye and heating the cover:- precisely the dual wavelengths approach taught by Bradley.
Regarding Claim 12, modified Dellock discloses a sensor device for a transportation device (Dellock, Fig. 3) wherein: the sensing apparatus has an optical sensor and/or a radar sensor, and/or the sensing apparatus is configured to sense the first electromagnetic radiation when the first electromagnetic radiation propagates through the fluorescent portion in a direction of the sensing apparatus and is incident on the sensing apparatus (Dellock, Fig. 3, 18, radar).
Regarding Claim 14, modified Dellock discloses a sensor device for a transportation device (Dellock, Fig. 3) wherein: the first electromagnetic radiation is invisible, the first electromagnetic radiation contains infrared radiation and/or radar waves (Dellock, electromagnetic radiation invisible as a radar signal, para. [0013], [0019]), and/or the first wavelength is at least 800 nm and/or at most 5 pm.
Regarding Claim 19, modified Dellock discloses a sensor device for a transportation device (Fig. 3) wherein: the emission spectrum has a visible part and the fluorescent portion is configured to emit, upon irradiation of the fluorescent portion with the second electromagnetic radiation at the second wavelength, the third electromagnetic radiation in the visible part of the emission spectrum, the third electromagnetic radiation is visible fluorescence (Dellock, para. [0010], “color conversion layer is configured to convert the green light such to white light”), , the fluorescent dye of the fluorescent portion is extrinsic (para. [0045], [0047, extrinsic relative to substrate 26, Fig. 4), and/or the fluorescent dye of the fluorescent portion contains quantum dots (Dellock, para. [0005], [0040], [0043]).
Regarding Claim 20, modified Dellock discloses a sensor device for a transportation device (Fig. 3) comprising: an illumination apparatus arranged to irradiate the fluorescent portion with the second electromagnetic radiation (Dellock, para. [0014], [0044]).
Regarding Claim 21, modified Dellock discloses a sensor device for a transportation device (Fig. 3) wherein the illumination apparatus is arranged on a same side of the covering device as the sensing apparatus (Dellock, Fig. 3, Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 22, modified Dellock discloses a sensor device for a transportation device wherein: the covering device has a multilayered design (Dellock, Fig. 3, Fig. 4), and/or the covering device further comprises one or more of: a first antireflection layer for the first electromagnetic radiation, a carrier element for carrying the fluorescent portion (Dellock, substrate 26, Fig. 4), a second antireflection layer for the first electromagnetic radiation, or a protection layer (Dellock, 46, Fig. 4) on a surface of the covering device opposite the sensing apparatus.
Regarding Claim 24, modified Dellock discloses a sensor device (Dellock, Fig. 3) for a transportation device (Fig. 1) wherein the carrier element is embodied as a substrate layer(substrate 26, Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 27, modified Dellock silent to disclose the protection layer being hydrophobic. Bradley teaches the functional coating 18 being a hydrophobic coating (para. [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the protection layer disclosed in modified Dellock with the hydrophobic protection layer/coating as taught in Bradley with a reasonable expectation of success because it minimize water spotting, reduce fogging in varying temperatures, resist dirt/oil buildup, and simplify cleaning (para. [0046]).
Regarding Claim 28, modified Dellock discloses a transportation device (Dellock, Fig. 1) comprising the sensor device (Fig. 3) according to claim 11.
Regarding Claim 29, modified Dellock discloses transportation device (Dellock, Fig. 1)comprising the sensor device (Fig. 3) according to claim 28, wherein the transportation device is a vehicle (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 30, modified Dellock discloses a transportation device (Dellock, Fig. 1) wherein the sensor device is arranged in a region of an exterior of the transportation device (14, Fig. 1), such that the covering device is configured to transmit the third electromagnetic radiation into the surroundings of the transportation device (Fig. 3)
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Dellock et al. (US 2021/0023979).
Regarding Claims 16-18, modified Dellock discloses a fluorescent portion with a certain transmittance for the first electromagnetic radiation(Dellock, para. [0035], “ The illuminatable assembly 14 is, in the exemplary embodiment, constructed from materials that do not overly distort radar waves. This permits the radar sensors 22 to be tucked behind a portion of the illuminatable assembly 14”) and the fluorescent portion is configured as a layer of the covering device (Fig. 3) .
Modified Dellock discloses the claimed invention except a transmittance of the fluorescent portion for the first electromagnetic radiation is at least 90%, 95% , or 98% It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to the transmittance of the fluorescent portion for the first electromagnetic radiation to be at least 90%, 95% , or 98%, since applicant has not disclosed that making the transmittance of the fluorescent portion for the first electromagnetic radiation to be at least 90%, 95% , or 98% solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally as well with the transmittance of the fluorescent portion for the first electromagnetic radiation inherently disclosed in modified Dellock.
Claim(s) 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Dellock et al. (US 2021/0023979) in further view of Regalbuto et al. (US2022/0306048).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Dellock discloses a sensor device wherein the sensor device is a radar sensor (Dellock, radar sensor 22, fig. 3), but silent to explicitly discloses the optical sensor is a lidar sensor and/or a camera sensor. Regalbuto teaches a sensor device wherein the sensor device is a lidar sensor (para. [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the radar sensor disclosed in modified Dellock with the lidar sensor/camera sensor taught in Regalbuto with a reasonable expectation of success because it allows a superior precision, higher resolution, and detailed 3D mapping capabilities.
Regarding Claim 15, modified Dellock discloses a sensor device for a transportation device (Dellock, Fig. 3) wherein: the second electromagnetic radiation is invisible (electromagnetic radiation invisible as a radar signal, para. [0013], [0019]).
Modified Dellock is silent to explicitly discloses, but Regalbuto teaches a sensor device wherein the sensor device electromagnetic radiation with ultraviolet (UV) wavelength(i.e. that wavelength is at most 400 nm; para. [0043]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the radar sensor disclosed in modified Dellock with the UV irradiating sensor taught in Regalbuto with a reasonable expectation of success because it allows superior Sensitivity for Specific Detection, extreme temperature resilience, and energy efficiency.
Claim(s) 22-23 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Dellock et al. (US 2021/0023979) in further view of Del Monte (US 2012/0044395).
Regarding Claim 22, modified Dellock discloses a sensor device for a transportation device wherein: the covering device has a multilayered design (Dellock, Fig. 3, Fig. 4). Modified Dellock is silent, but Del Monte teaches a covering device further comprises: a first antireflection layer for the first electromagnetic radiation (52, Fig. 4, Fig. 5) and a second antireflection layer for the first electromagnetic radiation (50, Fig. 4, Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the covering device disclosed in modified Dellock with the antireflective layer taught in Del Monte with a reasonable expectation of success because it maximizes light transmission and reduces ghost images by minimizing fresnel reflection at material interfaces.
Regarding Claim 23, modified Dellock is silent, but Del Monte teaches a covering device wherein the antireflection layer (52, Fig. 4, Fig. 5)is formed on a surface of the covering device facing the sensing apparatus (PDE 34, Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 26, modified Dellock is silent, but Del Monte teaches a covering device wherein the second antireflection layer (Dellock, 50, Fig. 4, Fig. 5). Modified Dellock discloses the claimed invention except for the second antireflection layer is arranged on a side of the fluorescent portion opposite the sensing apparatus. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to arranging the second antireflection layer on a side of the fluorescent portion opposite the sensing apparatus, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dellock et al. (US 2021/0023979) in view of Bradely et al. (2021/0141217), and further view of Bushnell (US 2020/0260971).
Regarding Claim 31, modified Dellock is silent, but Bushnell in the same field of endeavor teaches an optical covering device further comprises a masking layer arrangement having one or more translucent or light- opaque first regions (54, Fig. 5), and having one or more transparent second regions ("rear housing portion 12RG or at least the parts of portion 12RG that are overlapped by the optical components of sensor 36H may be transparent...", para. [0039], Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the covering layer disclosed in modified Dellock with the masking layer arrangement having one or more translucent or light-opaque first regions and having one or more transparent second regions taught in Bushnell with a reasonable expectation of success because it help hide internal structures from view from the exterior of device as well as allow light to be emitted from the interior of device/allow light from the exterior of device to pass to the interior of device (Bushnell, para. [0039]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 08/28/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Assres H. Woldemaryam
Primary Examiner (Aeronautics and Astronautics)
Art Unit 3642
/ASSRES H WOLDEMARYAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642