DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
The following is a non-Final Office Action. In response to Examiner's communication of December 4, 2025, Applicant, on February 11, 2026, amended claim 1 and cancelled claim 12. Claims 1-11 are now pending in this application and have been rejected below.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s drawing amendments appear to have not been actually submitted as asserted by Applicant, and thus, the drawing amendments cannot be entered.
Applicant's amendments are not sufficient to overcome the 35 USC 101 rejections set forth in the previous action. Therefore, these rejections are maintained below.
Applicant's amendments are not sufficient to overcome the prior art rejections set forth in the previous action. Therefore, the 35 USC 103 rejections have been updated and maintained below.
Response to Arguments - 35 USC § 101
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 USC 101 rejections have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the claimed invention is patent eligible because, under prong 2 of Step 2A, the claims integrate any recited exception into a practical application by providing a technological improvement to supply chain management systems because the system uses a central hub to aggregate anonymized life cycle data across independent supply chains, enabling predictive modeling (via survival analysis incorporating market dynamics and historical trends) that forecasts part "death" and computes proactive redesigns (e.g., alternative parts/sources), which shifts from reactive to predictive risk mitigation, addressing technical challenges in globalized supply chains like data silos, obsolescence, and variability-improving accuracy, flexibility, and revenue protection, and additional elements (e.g., hub-based anonymization, dynamic learning algorithms adjusting weights based on outcomes, GUI simulations for redesign impacts) interact with the exception to achieve the improvement, not just "apply it" on a generic computer. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Pursuant to 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, in order to determine whether a claim is directed to an abstract idea, under Step 2A, we first (1) determine whether the claims recite limitations, individually or in combination, that fall within the enumerated subject matter groupings of abstract ideas (mathematical concepts, certain methods of organizing human activity, or mental processes), and (2) determine whether any additional elements beyond the recited abstract idea, individually and as an ordered combination, integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. 84 Fed. Reg. 52, 54-55. Next, if a claim (1) recites an abstract idea and (2) does not integrate that exception into a practical application, in order to determine whether the claim recites an “inventive concept,” under Step 2B, we then determine whether any of the additional elements beyond the recited abstract idea, individually and in combination, are significantly more than the abstract idea itself. 84 Fed. Reg. 56.
As noted above, under Prong 2 of Step 2A, we determine whether any of the additional elements beyond the recited abstract idea, individually and in combination, integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. However, for the reasons discussed above, other than the generic hub and GUI, the features referred to by Applicant of aggregate anonymized life cycle data across independent supply chains, enabling predictive modeling (via survival analysis incorporating market dynamics and historical trends) that forecasts part "death,” and computes proactive redesigns (e.g., alternative parts/sources), and similarly, anonymization, dynamic learning algorithms adjusting weights based on outcomes, and simulations for redesign impacts, are not additional elements beyond the recited abstract idea, but rather, these features are part of and directed to the recited abstract idea because these features referred to by Applicant recite a certain method of organizing human activity and recite mental processes.
Under Prong 1 of Step 2A, claim 1, and similarly claims 2-11, recites “supply chain predictive risk manager for managing a supply chain comprising a plurality of supply chain nodes, comprising: a managing … comprising a plurality of primary data regarding anonymized hardware and software product data from the plurality of supply chain nodes, and life cycle data for all parts employed at the plurality of supply chain nodes; an input to the managing … comprising current proprietary data regarding a product made at one of the plurality of supply chain nodes; a plurality of rules … capable, based on the primary data, of recognizing a predictive non-competitive part related risk embedded in the proprietary data, the plurality of rules calculating, based on accumulated part related risk data from at least providers of parts and from the primary data, a recommended redesign to address the predictive non-competitive part related risk before it arises, wherein the predictive non-competitive part related risk is based on a baseline survival curve identifying an average percentage of parts which will die at different time increments into the future, wherein the predictive non-competitive part related risk is further based on a next most important factor that is significantly related to the death rate, wherein the survival curve is adjusted based on the next most important factor; and an output …, wherein the non-competitive part related risk and the recommended redesign are presented.” Claims 1-11, in view of the claim limitations, recite the abstract idea of managing supply chain risk by collecting product data from supply chain nodes and life cycle of parts at supply chain nodes, generating rules for recognizing predictive non-competitive part risk based on a survival curve that is adjusted based on the next most importance factors, identifying an average percentage of parts which will die at time increments, and calculating a recommended redesign to address the part risk, and outputting a result of the recommended redesign to address the part risk.
Aside from the generic computer component of the generic central hub and GUI referred to by Applicant, each of the above limitations, including the limitations implicated by the features referred to by Applicant of aggregate anonymized life cycle data across independent supply chains, enabling predictive modeling (via survival analysis incorporating market dynamics and historical trends) that forecasts part "death" and computes proactive redesigns (e.g., alternative parts/sources) manage business interactions, fundamental economic practice, and sales activity of supply chain entities to manage risks in supply parts from supply chain nodes by collecting product data, including anonymized product data, from supply chain nodes and life cycle of parts at supply chain nodes, calculating predictive part risk based on a survival curve, and calculating a recommended redesign to address the part risk. Further, the alleged technical challenges in globalized supply chains like data silos, obsolescence, and variability and alleged improved accuracy, flexibility, and revenue protection in the above algorithm for calculating a recommended product redesign part risk are directed to business interactions, fundamental economic practice, and sales activity of supply chain entities to manage risks in supply parts from supply chain nodes. Thus, the claims and the features and alleged improvement referred to by Applicant, recite certain methods of organizing human activity.
In addition, as a whole, in view of the claim limitations, including the limitations implicated by the features referred to by Applicant of aggregate anonymized life cycle data across independent supply chains, enabling predictive modeling (via survival analysis incorporating market dynamics and historical trends) that forecasts part "death" and computes proactive redesigns (e.g., alternative parts/sources), but for the computer components and systems performing the claimed functions, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the recited collecting product data, including anonymized product data, from supply chain nodes and life cycle of parts at supply chain nodes, generating rules for recognizing predictive non-competitive part risk based on a survival curve that is adjusted based on the next most importance factors, identifying an average percentage of parts which will die at time increments, and calculating a recommended redesign to address the part risk, and outputting a result of the recommended redesign to address the part risk could all be reasonably interpreted as a human making observations of information regarding the supply chain and product life cycles, a human performing an evaluation and using judgment based on the observed information to generate rules and apply the rules recognize a risk and calculate a redesign to address the risk, and a human outputting the result manually and/or with a pen and paper; therefore, the claims recite mental processes. Therefore, the claims and the features and alleged improvement referred to by Applicant, recite mental processes.
Accordingly, since the claims, including the features and alleged improvement referred to by Applicant, recite a certain method of organizing human activity and mental processes, the claims recite an abstract idea under the first prong of Step 2A.
Specifically with respect to Applicant’s assertions that the claims improve by providing a technological improvement to supply chain management systems because the system uses a central hub to aggregate anonymized life cycle data across independent supply chains, enabling predictive modeling (via survival analysis incorporating market dynamics and historical trends) that forecasts part "death" and computes proactive redesigns (e.g., alternative parts/sources), and additional elements (e.g., hub-based anonymization, dynamic learning algorithms adjusting weights based on outcomes, GUI simulations for redesign impacts) interact with the exception to achieve the improvement, merely requiring that the claims use generic computer components, such as the generically recited “a managing central hub,” “stored in at least one memory,” “to a graphical user interface,” and “by a processor on the graphical user interface,” to implement the recited abstract idea does not make the claims directed to an improvement in computers or other technology or otherwise transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible invention. For the reasons discussed above, performing evaluations and using judgment to aggregate anonymized life cycle data across independent supply chains, perform predictive modeling (via survival analysis incorporating market dynamics and historical trends) that forecasts part "death,” and compute proactive redesigns are mental processes and a certain methods of organizing human activity, and thus, implementing this with a computer platform, memory, a graphical user interface, and processor amounts to nothing more than requiring that the abstract idea is implemented with generic computer components, which is not sufficient to integrate an abstract idea into a practical application nor sufficient to amount to significantly more than an abstract idea.
As noted in the MPEP, "an improvement in the abstract idea itself (e.g. a recited fundamental economic concept) is not an improvement in technology." MPEP 2106.05(a). Therefore, because these alleged improvements are directed to and part of the abstract idea itself, the claims do not recite an improvement in technology. See MPEP 2106.05(a).
Like in Electric Power Group, the claims are not focused on a specific improvement in computers, but on certain independently abstract ideas that simply use computers as tools. Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., et al., No. 2015-1778, slip op. at 8 (Fed. Cir. Aug. 1, 2016); MPEP 2106.05(a).
Under the second prong of Step 2A, the only additional elements beyond the recited abstract idea are the recitations of “a managing central hub,” “stored in at least one memory element associated with the managing central hub,” “to a graphical user interface,” and “by a processor on the graphical user interface” in claim 1; however, individually and when viewed as an ordered combination, and pursuant to the broadest reasonable interpretation, each of the additional elements are computing elements recited at high level of generality implementing the abstract idea on a computer (i.e. apply it), and thus, are no more than applying the abstract idea with generic computer components. In addition, these additional elements merely generally link the abstract idea to a field of use or environment, namely a generic computer platform environment with a generic user interface, which is not sufficient to integrate an abstract idea into a practical application.
Applicant argues that the claims add significantly more because the hub's anonymized aggregation, survival-based forecasting with multi-sourcing, and revenue-tied simulations are not well-understood, routine, or conventional (per Berkheimer, requiring evidence), and they represent an inventive combination for predictive analytics in supply chains, beyond generic computing. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As noted above, under Step 2B, we determine whether any of the additional elements beyond the recited abstract idea, individually and in combination, are significantly more than the abstract idea itself. However, for the reasons discussed above, other than the generic hub, the features referred to by Applicant of the anonymized aggregation, survival-based forecasting with multi-sourcing, revenue-tied simulations, and predictive analytics in supply chains are not additional elements beyond the recited abstract idea, but rather, these features are part of and directed to the recited abstract idea because these features referred to by Applicant recite a certain method of organizing human activity and recite mental processes.
Under Step 2B because, as noted above under Prong 2 of Step 2Athe only additional elements beyond the recited abstract idea are the recitations of “a managing central hub,” “stored in at least one memory element associated with the managing central hub,” “to a graphical user interface,” and “by a processor on the graphical user interface” in claim 1; however, individually and when viewed as an ordered combination, and pursuant to the broadest reasonable interpretation, each of the additional elements are computing elements recited at high level of generality implementing the abstract idea on a computer (i.e. apply it), and thus, are no more than applying the abstract idea with generic computer components; therefore, the additional elements are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than an abstract idea. Additionally, these recitations as an ordered combination, simply append the abstract idea to recitations of generic computer structure performing generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine, and conventional in the field as evinced by Applicant’s Specification at [0036] (describing the computer implemented engines and modules disclosed herein may include any number of tangibly-embodied software and/or hardware components having a transformative effect on at least a portion of a system and a computer program product in accordance with one embodiment comprises a tangible computer usable medium (e.g., standard RAM, an optical disc, a USB drive, or the like) having computer-readable program code embodied therein, wherein the computer-readable program code is adapted to be executed by a processor). Furthermore, as an ordered combination, these elements amount to generic computer components performing repetitive calculations, receiving or transmitting data over a network, which, as held by the courts, are well-understood, routine, and conventional. See MPEP 2106.05(d); July 2015 Update, p. 7.
Looking at these limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing additional that is sufficient to amount to significantly more than the recited abstract idea because they simply provide instructions to use a generic arrangement of generic computer components and recitations of generic computer structure that perform well-understood, routine, and conventional computer functions that are used to “apply” the recited abstract idea. Thus, the elements of the claims, considered both individually and as an ordered combination, are not sufficient to ensure that the claims as a whole amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Response to Arguments - Prior Art
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that the cited references, alone or in combination, do not teach or suggest each and every element of claim 1 as amended herein because the cited references do not teach or suggest the predictive non-competitive part related risk is based on a baseline survival curve identifying an average percentage of parts which will die at different time increments into the future, where the predictive non-competitive part related risk is further based on a next most important factor that is significantly related to the death rate, and where the survival curve is adjusted based on the next most important factor. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Bajaj, et al. (US 20200175630 A1), hereinafter Bajaj, discloses the argues feature of “wherein the predictive non-competitive part related risk is based on a baseline survival … parts which will die …” in paragraphs [0103]-[0104], the system may be configured to calculate a risk-in-supply chain (risk attribute) value, where a risk attribute value is based on a framework that analyzes various different risk categories of the supply chain, e.g., in FIG. 9 attributes 901-906, along with their respective descriptions 907, are assigned risk weight values 908 to calculate risk by a weighting algorithm (applied at platform 307 or one of its associated apps), wherein attributes include component lifecycle stages. Further, Bajaj discloses the argues feature of “wherein the predictive non-competitive part related risk is further based on a next most important factor that is significantly related to the death rate” in paragraphs [0103]-[0104], the system may be configured to calculate a risk-in-supply chain (risk attribute) value (i.e., related to the death rate), where a risk attribute value is based on a framework that analyzes various different risk categories of the supply chain, attributes 901-906 with their respective descriptions 907 are assigned risk weight values 908 to calculate risk, attributes may comprise defects per million and component life cycle stages (i.e., related to the death rate), wherein a total risk attribute score may be determined by multiplying a score in each category by the associated weight, e.g., six attributes: alternative sourcing 901, part change risk 902, part manufacturing risk 903, lead time 904, spend leverage 905 and strategic status 906 are weighted by a weighting algorithm (applied at platform 307 or one of its associated apps) at 36%, 19%, 9%, 19%, 19%, and 0% (i.e., next most important factor), [0075], the platform may “learn” from fail point data (i.e., related to the death rate), [0114], the foregoing aspects may require significant data-driven aspects including analytics in order to assess likelihood of failure (i.e., related to the death rate). Moreover, Bajaj discloses the argues feature of “wherein the survival [calculation] is adjusted based on the next most important factor” in paragraphs [0103], wherein attributes 901-906 with their respective descriptions 907 are assigned risk weight values 908 to calculate risk, wherein a total risk attribute score may be determined by multiplying a score in each category by the associated weight, [0104], attributes and weighting may be dependent upon data availability, i.e., algorithms and selected attributes may be modified based on availability, and the data selection, [0107], the weighting algorithm may be adjusted over time, e.g., if actual risk is repeatedly indicated as higher than a generated risk attribute score, the weighting algorithm shown in FIG. 11 may be adjusted, and/or the primary and secondary data that is used in the risk attribute score calculation may be modified. Therfore, Bajaj discloses “wherein the predictive non-competitive part related risk is based on a baseline survival … parts which will die …, wherein the predictive non-competitive part related risk is further based on a next most important factor that is significantly related to the death rate, wherein the survival [calculation] is adjusted based on the next most important factor.”
While Bajaj discloses wherein the predictive non-competitive part related risk is based on a baseline survival … parts which will die …, wherein the predictive non-competitive part related risk is further based on a next most important factor that is significantly related to the death rate, wherein the survival [calculation] is adjusted based on the next most important factor (as above) and suggests the predictive non-competitive part related risk is based on a baseline survival curve ([0075], the disclosure makes use of data to allow for risk management, based on the significant data, the platform may “learn” from data such as trend data fail point data), Bajaj does not appear to expressly disclose the remaining elements of these limitations. However, Brandstetter does teach these remaining elements as follows.
Brandstetter teaches “wherein the predictive non-competitive part related risk is based on a baseline survival curve identifying an average percentage of parts which will die at different time increments into the future” in paragraphs [0019]-[0020], in an analysis, curves 1080 for the vehicle and for individual parts and replacement parts, wherein the Weibull analysis produces a survival function for each part, and in a risk report, the analysis results to quantify expected part failures over a given time window, [0024]-[0025], in figs. 2A-2C, example part curves generated in the analysis shows conditional part survival probability curves, e.g., in fig, 2A, in one example, the likelihood of new part with survivability curve 124 surviving at least 9000 flight hours 126 is 44%, e.g., in fig. 2C, points 134, 136, 138, 140, 142, 144, 146, 148 indicate the likelihood of the LRU (the heat exchanger) failing in each corresponding aircraft in the next flight hours, [0027], in an example risk table 150 generated by plotting fleet aircraft on LRU curves, e.g., from FIG. 2C, BUNO 165897 is most likely to experience a heat exchanger failure within the next 100 flight hours with a 97% probability of failure, and the electric generator is likely to fail for this same aircraft within the next 100 flight hours with a 91% probability of failure. Further, Brandstetter teaches “wherein the survival curve is [generated] based on the next … factor” in paragraphs [0022], each query 104 may be customized for a specific part and failure mode for each particular part (i.e. based on next factors), [0019]-[0020], step 104 constructs a query to extract maintenance event data for part removal data for vehicle units, subunits and components for a whole fleet, step 106 collects part removal data periodically (e.g., weekly or monthly) applying the query, and Weibull analysis 108 generates Weibull curves 1080 for the vehicle and for individual parts and replacement parts (i.e. based on next factors), wherein the Weibull analysis produces a survival function for each part selected in the search query from step 104, and the fleet is mapped 1082 onto the Weibull curves to provide individual fleet rate for each vehicle and for individual parts in each vehicle as well, and in a risk report, the analysis results to quantify expected part failures over a given time window.
Bajaj and Brandstetter are analogous fields of invention because both address the problem of managing risks in supply chains. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the system of Bajaj the ability for the predictive non-competitive part related risk to be based on a baseline survival curve identifying an average percentage of parts which will die at different time increments into the future, as taught by Brandstetter, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the combination would produce the predictable results of the predictive non-competitive part related risk is based on a baseline survival curve identifying an average percentage of parts which will die at different time increments into the future, as claimed. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Baja with the aforementioned teachings of Brandstetter in order to produce the added benefit of improving reliability of products and inventory control. [0006], [0010].
Accordingly, in combination, contrary to Applicant’s assertions, the combined teachings of Bajaj and Brandstetter do indeed teach “wherein the predictive non-competitive part related risk is based on a baseline survival curve identifying an average percentage of parts which will die at different time increments into the future, wherein the predictive non-competitive part related risk is further based on a next most important factor that is significantly related to the death rate, wherein the survival curve is adjusted based on the next most important factor.”
Drawings
Applicant’s allege drawing amendments were submitted including a replacement sheet containing Fig. 5. However, this figure does not appear to have been submitted, and thus, the drawing amendments are not entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claim 1, and similarly claims 2-11, recites “supply chain predictive risk manager for managing a supply chain comprising a plurality of supply chain nodes, comprising: a managing … comprising a plurality of primary data regarding anonymized hardware and software product data from the plurality of supply chain nodes, and life cycle data for all parts employed at the plurality of supply chain nodes; an input to the managing … comprising current proprietary data regarding a product made at one of the plurality of supply chain nodes; a plurality of rules … capable, based on the primary data, of recognizing a predictive non-competitive part related risk embedded in the proprietary data, the plurality of rules calculating, based on accumulated part related risk data from at least providers of parts and from the primary data, a recommended redesign to address the predictive non-competitive part related risk before it arises, wherein the predictive non-competitive part related risk is based on a baseline survival curve identifying an average percentage of parts which will die at different time increments into the future, wherein the predictive non-competitive part related risk is further based on a next most important factor that is significantly related to the death rate, wherein the survival curve is adjusted based on the next most important factor; and an output …, wherein the non-competitive part related risk and the recommended redesign are presented.” Claims 1-11, in view of the claim limitations, recite the abstract idea of managing supply chain risk by collecting product data from supply chain nodes and life cycle of parts at supply chain nodes, generating rules for recognizing predictive non-competitive part risk based on a survival curve that is adjusted based on the next most importance factors, identifying an average percentage of parts which will die at time increments, and calculating a recommended redesign to address the part risk, and outputting a result of the recommended redesign to address the part risk.
Each of the above limitations manage business interactions, fundamental economic practice, and sales activity of supply chain entities to manage risks in supply parts from supply chain nodes based on the average percentage of parts which will die; thus, the claims recite certain methods of organizing human activity. In addition, as a whole, in view of the claim limitations, but for the computer components and systems performing the claimed functions, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the recited collecting product data from supply chain nodes and life cycle of parts at supply chain nodes, generating rules for recognizing predictive non-competitive part risk based on a survival curve that is adjusted based on the next most importance factors, identifying an average percentage of parts which will die at time increments, and calculating a recommended redesign to address the part risk, and outputting a result of the recommended redesign to address the part risk could all be reasonably interpreted as a human making observations of information regarding the supply chain and product life cycles, a human performing an evaluation and using judgment based on the observed information to generate rules and apply the rules recognize a risk and calculate a redesign to address the risk, and a human outputting the result manually and/or with a pen and paper; therefore, the claims recite mental processes. Further, with respect to the dependent claims, aside from the additional elements beyond the recited abstract idea addressed below under the second prong of Step 2A and 2B, the limitations of dependent claims 2-11 recite similar further abstract limitations to those discussed above that narrow the abstract idea recited in the independent claims because, aside from the computer components and systems performing the claimed functions the limitations of claims recite mental processes that can be practically performed mentally by observing, evaluating, and judging information mentally and/or with a pen and paper and recite a certain method of organizing human activity that manages business interactions. Accordingly, since the claims recite a certain method of organizing human activity and mental processes, the claims recite an abstract idea under the first prong of Step 2A.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application under the second prong of Step 2A. In particular, the claims recite the additional elements beyond the recited abstract idea of “a managing central hub,” “stored in at least one memory element associated with the managing central hub,” “to a graphical user interface,” and “by a processor on the graphical user interface” in claim 1; however, individually and when viewed as an ordered combination, and pursuant to the broadest reasonable interpretation, each of the additional elements are computing elements recited at high level of generality implementing the abstract idea on a computer (i.e. apply it), and thus, are no more than applying the abstract idea with generic computer components. Moreover, aside from the aforementioned additional elements, the remaining elements of dependent claims 2-11 do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because these claims merely recite further limitations that provide no more than simply narrowing the recited abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under Step 2B. As noted above, the aforementioned additional elements beyond the recited abstract idea, as an order combination, are no more than mere instructions to implement the idea using generic computer components (i.e. apply it), and further, generally link the abstract idea to a field of use, which is not sufficient to amount to significantly more than an abstract idea; therefore, the additional elements are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than an abstract idea. Additionally, these recitations as an ordered combination, simply append the abstract idea to recitations of generic computer structure performing generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine, and conventional in the field as evinced by Applicant’s Specification at [0036] (describing the computer implemented engines and modules disclosed herein may include any number of tangibly-embodied software and/or hardware components having a transformative effect on at least a portion of a system and a computer program product in accordance with one embodiment comprises a tangible computer usable medium (e.g., standard RAM, an optical disc, a USB drive, or the like) having computer-readable program code embodied therein, wherein the computer-readable program code is adapted to be executed by a processor). Furthermore, as an ordered combination, these elements amount to generic computer components performing repetitive calculations, receiving or transmitting data over a network, which, as held by the courts, are well-understood, routine, and conventional. See MPEP 2106.05(d); July 2015 Update, p. 7. Moreover, aside from the aforementioned additional elements, the remaining elements of dependent claims 2-11 do not transform the recited abstract idea into a patent eligible invention because these claims merely recite further limitations that provide no more than simply narrowing the recited abstract idea.
Looking at these limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing additional that is sufficient to amount to significantly more than the recited abstract idea because they simply provide instructions to use a generic arrangement of generic computer components and recitations of generic computer structure that perform well-understood, routine, and conventional computer functions that are used to “apply” the recited abstract idea. Thus, the elements of the claims, considered both individually and as an ordered combination, are not sufficient to ensure that the claims as a whole amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Since there are no limitations in these claims that transform the exception into a patent eligible application such that these claims amount to significantly more than the exception itself, claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bajaj, et al. (US 20200175630 A1), hereinafter Bajaj, in view of Brandstetter, et al. (US 20080154458 A1), hereinafter Brandstetter.
Regarding claim 1, Bajaj discloses a supply chain predictive risk manager for managing a supply chain comprising a plurality of supply chain nodes, comprising ([0010]-[0012]):
a managing central hub ([0058]-[0059], computer system 100 is configured as a supply chain management (SCM) processing system, wherein primary processing node 101 is configured to contain an SCM platform for processing data from other nodes (104, 107), wherein each node 104, 107 may be network nodes comprising network servers 105, 108 and terminals 106, 109, respectively, nodes 104, 107 may be configured as assembly nodes, part nodes, supplier nodes, manufacturer nodes and/or any other suitable supply chain node, and each of these nodes may be configured to collect, store, and process relevant supply chain-related data and transmit the SCM data to primary node 101 via network 112, [0069], a SCM operating platform 307 may reside at a primary node 101 and is configured to perform and/or control SCM data processing on data received from external nodes 104, 107 and other data sources 110, 111, and [0116], supply chain analytics engine 1703 within platform 307, as is shown in FIG. 14 may be, include, be included within, or be distinct from the supply chain analytics module 304 discussed above, wherein the analytics engine 1703 may include large volume data 1711 from other supply chains, wherein the large volume data may be, include, be included within, or be distinct from analytics data 322, discussed above) comprising a plurality of primary data regarding anonymized hardware and software product data from the plurality of supply chain nodes, and life cycle data for all parts employed at the plurality of supply chain nodes ([0011], the a supply chain management operating platform may include a plurality of data inputs capable of receiving primary hardware and software data from at least one third party data source and at least one supply chain node upon indication by at least one processor, [0121], analytics may review a variety of variables indicated by data from data store 1711, including but not limited to lead time, alternate parts, product and part lifecycle, supplier and reseller alignments, product and part risk, a recommended solution may stem from data gained from numerous similar and dissimilar products, the parts used to make those products, the suppliers from which those parts are obtained, the manpower and geography necessary to make those parts, and the like, all of which data resides in data store 1711, as disclosed herein, a subscriber to the SaaS system set forth herein may be enabled to access anonymized content in order to optimize a design in light of the supply chain based on the performance of several, dozens, or hundreds of other relevant supply chains, [0117], the wealth of data 1711 available to the disclosed algorithms 1707 may be subjected to comparative analytics 1709 (which may be anonymized));
an input to the managing central hub comprising current proprietary data regarding a product made at one of the plurality of supply chain nodes ([0011], the a supply chain management operating platform may include a plurality of data inputs capable of receiving primary hardware and software data from at least one third party data source and at least one supply chain node upon indication by at least one processor, [0058]-[0059], computer system 100 is configured as a supply chain management (SCM) processing system, wherein primary processing node 101 is configured to contain an SCM platform for processing data from other nodes (104, 107), wherein each node 104, 107 may be network nodes comprising network servers 105, 108 and terminals 106, 109, respectively, nodes 104, 107 may be configured as assembly nodes, part nodes, supplier nodes, manufacturer nodes and/or any other suitable supply chain node, and each of these nodes may be configured to collect, store, and process relevant supply chain-related data and transmit the SCM data to primary node 101 via network 112, [0073], data inputs for the one of more modules may be associated with the platform 307, and thus may obtain data that is made available by the platform, such as may be obtained from hardware or software outputs provided from nodes 104, 107 and/or sources 110, 111, and data may be received in platform modules for risk management 311, analytics 312, information visualization 313 and exception management 314, [0104], attributes and weighting may be dependent upon data availability, i.e., algorithms and selected attributes may be modified based on manual inputs, [0117]-[0119], output from analytics may be weighted, prioritized, ranked in accordance with the preferences input by the user, any data input by the user, such as current parts for aspects of a products design, may be subjected to the analytics 1709 in order to make a completeness assessment, once data is entered to data store 1711 by the user and preferences are entered by the user to the optimizer 1705, automated searching may be performed, the disclosed design for supply chain may integrate supply chain design with product design provided by optimizer 1705 based on the priorities input by the user to the disclosed algorithms, e.g., an input product design may be optimized using the disclosed analytic algorithms);
a plurality of rules stored in at least one memory element associated with the managing central hub ([0116], the analytics engine 1703 may include an optimizer 1705 that may perform the functionality described in the Figures below, including optimization of computing resources and networking related to SCM such as may be indicated by analysis by a rules engine 1707 that applies at least a comparator 1709 having therein comparative algorithms, such as those discussed below, to the large volume data 1711 from other supply chains) and capable, based on the primary data, of recognizing a predictive non-competitive part related risk embedded in the proprietary data, the plurality of rules calculating, based on accumulated part related risk data from at least providers of parts and from the primary data ([0105], the platform 307, and/or the individual app, may receive primary data and generate therefrom secondary data, such as calculation of the risk attribute score, [0103]-[0104], the system may be configured to calculate a risk-in-supply chain (risk attribute) value, where a risk attribute value is based on a framework that analyzes various different risk categories of the supply chain, e.g., in FIG. 9 attributes 901-906, along with their respective descriptions 907, are assigned risk weight values 908 to calculate risk by a weighting algorithm (applied at platform 307 or one of its associated apps), wherein attributes include component lifecycle stages), a recommended redesign to address the predictive non-competitive part related risk before it arises ([0087], a risk calculation, as discussed in more detail below with regard to FIGS. 9-12, may indicate that a particular part is a high risk part (such as because it is from a small, sole source, foreign supplier), consequently, the presently disclosed SCM platform 307, may derive secondary data from the combinations of the optimal procurement secondary data, the risk associated with the part, and the cost of the part, that a 28 day buffer should be ordered for the part at each of the next two 14 day procurement windows—thereby increasing the buffer for this key, high risk part using the learning algorithms of the platform 307, [0106], in FIG. 11, if an alternative sourcing category contains a high risk attribute score, a user may investigate the parts where the user requires purchase from only one manufacturer (“sourced parts”) which may be causing a high risk attribute score, the user may configure the system to enable or suggest other manufacturers as suppliers which will lower the risk attribute score by diversifying the supply base, a user may configure the system to communicate or order suppliers to lower lead times, it is understood by those skilled in the art that the risk attribute calculations disclosed herein may be applied to any aspect or attribute of a supply chain system including parts, suppliers, manufacturers, geography, and so forth, [0121], analytics are algorithmically applied, such as both based on pre-stored, user input, and/or learning algorithms, in order to provide the disclosed optimizations and may review a variety of variables indicated by data from data store 1711, including but not limited to lead time, alternate parts, product and part lifecycle, supplier and reseller alignments, product and part risk assessment, and the like, wherein each of the foregoing may be weighted or otherwise balanced in accordance with the user's input objectives, in order to provide a recommended solution of the supply chain for the user's input product based on all of the foregoing, and the disclosed analytics may provide optimized suppliers, parts, source and assembly locations), wherein the predictive non-competitive part related risk is based on a baseline survival … parts which will die … ([0103]-[0104], the system may be configured to calculate a risk-in-supply chain (risk attribute) value, where a risk attribute value is based on a framework that analyzes various different risk categories of the supply chain, e.g., in FIG. 9 attributes 901-906, along with their respective descriptions 907, are assigned risk weight values 908 to calculate risk by a weighting algorithm (applied at platform 307 or one of its associated apps), wherein attributes include component lifecycle stages), wherein the predictive non-competitive part related risk is further based on a next most important factor ([0103]-[0104], the system may be configured to calculate a risk-in-supply chain (risk attribute) value, where a risk attribute value is based on a framework that analyzes various different risk categories of the supply chain, attributes 901-906 with their respective descriptions 907 are assigned risk weight values 908 to calculate risk, wherein a total risk attribute score may be determined by multiplying a score in each category by the associated weight, e.g., six attributes: alternative sourcing 901, part change risk 902, part manufacturing risk 903, lead time 904, spend leverage 905 and strategic status 906 are weighted by a weighting algorithm (applied at platform 307 or one of its associated apps) at 36%, 19%, 9%, 19%, 19%, and 0%) that is significantly related to the death rate ([0104], attributes may comprise defects per million and component life cycle stages, [0075], the disclosure thus provides a SCM operating platform 307 suitable for receiving base data from the supply chain, and based on the significant data available to the platform, the platform may “learn” from certain of the data received, such as trend data fail point data, [0114], the foregoing aspects may require significant data-driven aspects including analytics in order to assess likelihood of failure), wherein the survival [calculation] is adjusted ([0104], attributes and weighting may be dependent upon data availability, i.e., algorithms and selected attributes may be modified based on availability, and the data selection, [0107], the weighting algorithm may be adjusted over time, e.g., if actual risk is repeatedly indicated as higher than a generated risk attribute score, the weighting algorithm shown in FIG. 11 may be adjusted, and/or the primary and secondary data that is used in the risk attribute score calculation may be modified) based on the next most important factor ([0103], wherein attributes 901-906 with their respective descriptions 907 are assigned risk weight values 908 to calculate risk, wherein a total risk attribute score may be determined by multiplying a score in each category by the associated weight); and
an output from the managing central hub to a graphical user interface, wherein the non-competitive part related risk and the recommended redesign are presented by a processor on the graphical user interface ([0120]-[0121], provided to the user by optimizer 1705 may be a compare and contrast of the user's original input design and its impact on the supply chain, as compared to the optimized design and optimized supply chain. Thereby, the user may be enabled to interact, such as through the graphical user interface shown and discussed herein and using known computing peripherals, with the comparison in order to assess whether the automated modifications made in accordance with the analytics have provided an improvement or a detriment to the original product design and supply chain in light of the user's objectives, wherein the disclosed analytics may provide optimized suppliers, parts, source and assembly locations, [0133], FIG. 17 illustrates design comparisons for supply chain performance of various designs for the same or a similar product. As illustrated and given particular user inputs, different design attributes—such as risk score, lead time, sourcing, supplier alignment, preferred suppliers, and part lifecycle—may be compared for each of different designs such that the user may make judgments regarding those different designs as to which will perform best in light of the prospective supply chain).
While Bajaj discloses wherein the predictive non-competitive part related risk is based on a baseline survival … parts which will die …, wherein the predictive non-competitive part related risk is further based on a next most important factor that is significantly related to the death rate, wherein the survival [calculation] is adjusted based on the next most important factor (as above) and suggests the predictive non-competitive part related risk is based on a baseline survival curve ([0075], the disclosure makes use of data to allow for risk management, based on the significant data, the platform may “learn” from data such as trend data fail point data), Bajaj does not appear to expressly disclose the remaining elements of the following limitation, which however, are taught by further teachings in Brandstetter.
Brandstetter teaches wherein the predictive non-competitive part related risk is based on a baseline survival curve identifying an average percentage of parts which will die at different time increments into the future ([0019]-[0020], in an analysis, curves 1080 for the vehicle and for individual parts and replacement parts, wherein the Weibull analysis produces a survival function for each part, and in a risk report, the analysis results to quantify expected part failures over a given time window, [0024]-[0025], in figs. 2A-2C, example part curves generated in the analysis shows conditional part survival probability curves, e.g., in fig, 2A, in one example, the likelihood of new part with survivability curve 124 surviving at least 9000 flight hours 126 is 44%, e.g., in fig. 2C, points 134, 136, 138, 140, 142, 144, 146, 148 indicate the likelihood of the LRU (the heat exchanger) failing in each corresponding aircraft in the next flight hours, [0027], in an example risk table 150 generated by plotting fleet aircraft on LRU curves, e.g., from FIG. 2C, BUNO 165897 is most likely to experience a heat exchanger failure within the next 100 flight hours with a 97% probability of failure, and the electric generator is likely to fail for this same aircraft within the next 100 flight hours with a 91% probability of failure), and
wherein the survival curve is [generated] based on the next … factor ([0022], each query 104 may be customized for a specific part and failure mode for each particular part (i.e. based on next factors), [0019]-[0020], step 104 constructs a query to extract maintenance event data for part removal data for vehicle units, subunits and components for a whole fleet, step 106 collects part removal data periodically (e.g., weekly or monthly) applying the query, and Weibull analysis 108 generates Weibull curves 1080 for the vehicle and for individual parts and replacement parts (i.e. based on next factors), wherein the Weibull analysis produces a survival function for each part selected in the search query from step 104, and the fleet is mapped 1082 onto the Weibull curves to provide individual fleet rate for each vehicle and for individual parts in each vehicle as well, and in a risk report, the analysis results to quantify expected part failures over a given time window).
Bajaj and Brandstetter are analogous fields of invention because both address the problem of managing risks in supply chains. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the system of Bajaj the ability for the predictive non-competitive part related risk to be based on a baseline survival curve identifying an average percentage of parts which will die at different time increments into the future, as taught by Brandstetter, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the combination would produce the predictable results of the predictive non-competitive part related risk is based on a baseline survival curve identifying an average percentage of parts which will die at different time increments into the future, as claimed. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Baja with the aforementioned teachings of Brandstetter in order to produce the added benefit of improving reliability of products and inventory control. [0006], [0010].
Regarding claim 2, the combined teachings of Bajaj and Brandstetter teaches the risk manager of claim 1 (as above). Further, Bajaj discloses wherein the predictive non-competitive part related risk comprises an end of life for the parts ([0121], analytics may review a variety of variables indicated by data from data store 1711, including but not limited to part lifecycle, product and part risk assessment, and the like, wherein each of the foregoing may be weighted or otherwise balanced in accordance with the user's input objectives, in order to provide a recommended solution of the supply chain for the user's input product based on all of the foregoing, [0133], FIG. 17 illustrates design comparisons for supply chain performance of various designs for the same or a similar product, as illustrated and given particular user inputs, different design attributes—such as part lifecycle—may be compared for each of different designs such that the user may make judgments regarding those different designs as to which will perform best in light of the prospective supply chain, [0103]-[0104], attributes are assigned risk weight values to calculate risk where a risk attribute value is based on a framework that analyzes various different risk categories of the supply chain, wherein additional attributes may comprise component life cycle stages).
Regarding claim 3, the combined teachings of Bajaj and Brandstetter teaches the risk manager of claim 1 (as above). Further, Bajaj discloses wherein the predictive non-competitive part related risk comprises a lack of availability for the parts ([0103]-[0104], attributes 901-906, along with their respective descriptions 907, are assigned risk weight values 908 to calculate risk, e.g., attributes 901-906, along with their respective descriptions 907, are assigned risk weight values 908 to calculate risk, wherein in fig 9, Examiner notes, alternative sourcing 901 is described 907 as assesses likelihood a part will cause a supply disruption as a result of there being no sourcing contingency).
Regarding claim 4, the combined teachings of Bajaj and Brandstetter teaches the risk manager of claim 1 (as above). Further, Bajaj discloses wherein the predictive non-competitive risk varies in accordance with a competitive arena of the one of the plurality of supply chain nodes ([0121], analytics may review a variety of variables indicated by data from data store 1711, to provide a recommended solution of the supply chain for the user's input product based on all of the foregoing and other factors, such as geographic effects, and this recommended solution may typically stem not only from the user's input data, but from data gained from geography necessary to make those parts, and the like, all of which data resides in data store 1711, [0102], part of the embodiments disclosed herein, the system is further enabled to process and calculate risk(s), and various other factors and related factors, wherein supply chain risks may emanate from geographic risk and attribute-based risk, among others, for geographic risks, manufacturing locations are registered within the system for parts purchased so that when an area becomes volatile because of socio-political, geographic, (macro-) economic, and/or weather-related disruption, related variables may be processed to determine an effect on, or risk to, a supply chain).
Regarding claim 5, the combined teachings of Bajaj and Brandstetter teaches the risk manager of claim 1 (as above). Further, Bajaj discloses wherein the predictive non-competitive risk varies in accordance with a geographic area of the one of the plurality of supply chain nodes ([0121], analytics may review a variety of variables indicated by data from data store 1711, to provide a recommended solution of the supply chain for the user's input product based on all of the foregoing and other factors, such as geographic effects, and this recommended solution may typically stem not only from the user's input data, but from data gained from geography necessary to make those parts, and the like, all of which data resides in data store 1711, [0102], part of the embodiments disclosed herein, the system is further enabled to process and calculate risk(s), and various other factors and related factors, wherein supply chain risks may emanate from geographic risk and attribute-based risk, among others, for geographic risks, manufacturing locations are registered within the system for parts purchased so that when an area becomes volatile because of socio-political, geographic, (macro-) economic, and/or weather-related disruption, related variables may be processed to determine an effect on, or risk to, a supply chain).
Regarding claim 6, the combined teachings of Bajaj and Brandstetter teaches the risk manager of claim 1 (as above). Further, Bajaj discloses wherein the predictive non-competitive risk varies in accordance with a geographic source point of the parts ([0121], analytics may review a variety of variables indicated by data from data store 1711, to provide a recommended solution of the supply chain for the user's input product based on all of the foregoing and other factors, such as geographic effects, and this recommended solution may typically stem not only from the user's input data, but from data gained from geography necessary to make those parts, and the like, all of which data resides in data store 1711, [0102], part of the embodiments disclosed herein, the system is further enabled to process and calculate risk(s), and various other factors and related factors, wherein supply chain risks may emanate from geographic risk and attribute-based risk, among others, for geographic risks, manufacturing locations are registered within the system for parts purchased so that when an area becomes volatile because of socio-political, geographic, (macro-) economic, and/or weather-related disruption, related variables may be processed to determine an effect on, or risk to, a supply chain).
Regarding claim 7, the combined teachings of Bajaj and Brandstetter teaches the risk manager of claim 1 (as above). Further, Bajaj discloses wherein the recommended redesign comprises alternate sources of ones of the parts ([0106], in FIG. 11, if an alternative sourcing category contains a high risk attribute score, a user may investigate the parts where the user requires purchase from only one manufacturer (“sourced parts”) which may be causing a high risk attribute score, the user may configure the system to enable or suggest other manufacturers as suppliers which will lower the risk attribute score by diversifying the supply base, a user may configure the system to communicate or order suppliers to lower lead times, [0121], these analytics may review a variety of variables indicated by data from data store 1711, including but not limited to lead time, alternate parts, product and part lifecycle, supplier and reseller alignments)
Regarding claim 8, the combined teachings of Bajaj and Brandstetter teaches the risk manager of claim 1 (as above). Further, Bajaj discloses wherein the recommended redesign comprises alternative ones of the parts ([0106], in FIG. 11, if an alternative sourcing category contains a high risk attribute score, a user may investigate the parts where the user requires purchase from only one manufacturer (“sourced parts”) which may be causing a high risk attribute score, the user may configure the system to enable or suggest other manufacturers as suppliers which will lower the risk attribute score by diversifying the supply base, a user may configure the system to communicate or order suppliers to lower lead times, and, it is understood by those skilled in the art that the risk attribute calculations disclosed herein may be applied to any aspect or attribute of a supply chain system including parts, [0104], fig. 9, attribute part change risk 902 is defined as assesses likelihood a part will cause a supply disruption as result of part transition activity, [0121], these analytics may review a variety of variables indicated by data from data store 1711, including but not limited to lead time, alternate parts, product, [0119], disclosed design for supply chain may integrate supply chain design with product design, as referenced above, such that product design may be tweaked or modified as necessary in order to both optimize the final designed product and optimize the supply chain used to create the final product).
Regarding claim 9, the combined teachings of Bajaj and Brandstetter teaches the risk manager of claim 1 (as above). Further, Bajaj discloses wherein the life cycle data is historic ([0071], the platform of FIG. 3A is configured to utilize extensive data across many primary and secondary nodes, …. the platform is that it is effective in identifying actual and potential opportunities of improvement, … based on analysis of extended historical data of similar or related supply chains, [0121], analytics may review a variety of variables indicated by data from data store 1711, including but not limited to … product and part lifecycle, …, in order to provide a recommended solution of the supply chain for the user's input product based on all of the foregoing and other factors, …. Moreover, this recommended solution may typically stem … from numerous similar and dissimilar products, …., the suppliers from which those parts are obtained, …, all of which data resides in data store 1711 [0116], the analytics engine 1703 may include an optimizer 1705 that may perform the functionality described in the Figures below, … therein comparative algorithms, such as those discussed below, to the large volume data 1711 from other supply chains, such as may include similar product verticals …, and to the supply chain of interest, [0118], once data is entered to data store 1711 by the user and preferences are entered by the user to the optimizer 1705, automated searching may be performed, such as using a comparative algorithm 1707 to the supply chains/part lists of similar product supply chains in the data store 1711, to assess the completeness of the design).
Regarding claim 10, the combined teachings of Bajaj and Brandstetter teaches the risk manager of claim 1 (as above). Further, Bajaj discloses wherein the life cycle data is predictive ([0103]-[0104], attributes 901-906, along with their respective descriptions 907, are assigned risk weight values 908 to calculate risk, wherein in fig 9, Examiner notes, alternative sourcing 901 is described 907 as assesses likelihood a part will cause a supply disruption as a result of there being no sourcing contingency and part change risk 902 is described as assesses likelihood a part will cause a supply disruption as result of part transition activity, and additional attributes may comprise component life cycle stages, [0004], supply chain risk, or the likelihood of supply chain disruptions, is emerging as a key challenge to SCM).
Regarding claim 11, the combined teachings of Bajaj and Brandstetter teaches the risk manager of claim 10 (as above). Further, Bajaj discloses wherein the prediction is based on similar parts ([0121], this recommended solution may typically stem not only from data gained from numerous similar and dissimilar products, the parts used to make those products, the suppliers from which those parts are obtained, the manpower and geography necessary to make those parts, and the like, all of which data resides in data store 1711).
Conclusion
CHARLES GUILIANO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3623
/CHARLES GUILIANO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3623