Priority
The claim to priority as a 371 filing of PCT/KR2022/015722, filed on October 17, 1022, which claims benefit to KR 10-202100159945, filed on November 19, 2021 is acknowledged in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on December 12, 2023 and May 28, 2026 have been considered by the Examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because reference “10” in Fig. 1-3, reference “100” in Fig 8-9, and reference “230” in Fig. 10 is missing an arrow pointing to the figure. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the heat-radiating fins are disposed in a zigzag manner” (claim 9); “he heat-radiating fin includes a column having a circular cross section” (claim 10); “the heat-radiating fin includes a column having a cross section of a rain drop shape” (claim 11); and “the heat-radiating fin includes a column having a diamond-shaped cross section” claim 12) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 7 and 9-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “may be disposed” in line 1 should be changed to “”is disposed” for positive recitation.
Claims 7 and 14 recites “the guide vane” and “at least one guide vane” recited in claim 6, line1 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether they are the same guide vane. Note: for the purpose of examination, it is presumed it is the same “at least one guide vane”.
Claims 9-13 recites “the heat radiating fin” and “a plurality of radiating fins” recited in claim 1, line 10 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether they are the same heat radiating fins. Note: for the purpose of examination, it is presumed it is the same “plurality of radiating fins”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (WO 2020/0322417) in view of Eckert et al. (US Pub. 2015/0090802) or Hayashi et al. (KR 0143540).
Regarding claim 1, Lim et al. discloses a fluid heater comprising: a main body (100, Fig. 1) including a partition wall part (110, Fig. 2, Par. 71) having a plate shape; a heating plate (230, Fig. 2; Par.70) positioned to face the other surface of the partition wall part (110); a circuit board (300, Fig. 2; Par. 70 and 81) disposed on one surface of the partition board (110); a bus bar (400, Fig. 2) which electrically connects the heating plate (230) and the circuit board (300) (Par. 85); and a flow path (141, Fig. 11-12; Par. 77, 79) disposed between the partition wall part (110) and the heating plate (230), wherein the flow path (141) includes a plurality of straight flow path (143, Fig. 9) and a plurality of curved flow path (145, 147, Fig. 9) (Par. 79 and 96-98). Lim et al. does not discloses a plurality of heat-radiating fins are disposed on at least one side of the partition wall part and the heating plate which form the flow path. Eckert et al. discloses a plurality of heat-radiating fins (28, Fig. 4 and 7-8; Par. 19 and 43) are disposed on at least one side of the partition wall part and the heating plate which form the flow path (14, 16, 20, 22, 24) (Fig. 4 and 6). Hayashi et al. discloses a plurality of heat-radiating fins (dimple 70, Fig. 12-13) are disposed on at least one side of the partition wall part and the heating plate (42) which form the flow path (Fig. 12-13). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize in Lim, a plurality of heat-radiating fins are disposed on at least one side of the partition wall part and the heating plate which form the flow path, as taught by Eckert et al., for the purpose of providing a heat-radiating fins which serve for a rapid transfer of heat to the heat transport medium on the heating section and the preheating section, respectively, of the flow path.
Regarding claim 2, Lim et al. discloses the flow path (141, Fig. 11-12) includes: a plurality of straight portions (143, Fig. 9); and a plurality of curved portions (145, 147, Fig. 9) (Par. 79 and 96-98).
Regarding claim 3, Lim et al. discloses a turning vane (149, Fig. 14; Par. 108 and 113) may be disposed in a space between the curved portion (147) that are disposed to face the inner surface of the curved portion Fig. 14 and 16).
Regarding claim 4, Lim et al. discloses a length from a center line of the turning vane (149) to an exit is formed to be greater than a length from the center line of the turning vane to an entrance (Fig. 9, 14, 16).
Regarding claim 5, Lim et al. discloses the turning vane (149) at the exit is formed parallel to a formation direction of the straight portion (143) (Fig. 9, 14, 16).
Regarding claim 6, Hayashi et al. discloses at least one guide vane (middle U-shaped beads 57) is disposed between the turning vane (inner most U-shaped beads 57) and the curved portion (50) (Fig. 5-6, 8, 17-18).
Regarding claim 7, Hayashi et al. discloses the at least one guide vane (57) has the same curvature as the curved portion (50) (Fig. 5-6, 8, 17-18).
Regarding claim 8, Hayashi et al. discloses the plurality of heat-radiating fins (dimple 70, Fig. 12-13) are disposed on the straight flow paths (Fig. 12-13).
Regarding claim 13, Lim et al. discloses the flow path (141, Fig. 11-12) has an inlet (110a; Par. 87) and an outlet (110b, Par. 87) (Fig. 6-7 and 9). Hayashi et al. discloses the heat-radiating fins (70, Fig. 12) are disposed to extend toward the outlet (45, Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 14, Hayashi et al. discloses the at least one guide vane (57, Fig. 13) is provided as a plurality of guide vanes (Fig. 13), and a distance between the plurality of heat-radiating fins (70) disposed perpendicular to the straight portions is formed to be greater than a distance between the guide vanes (Fig. 13).
Claim(s) 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (WO 2020/0322417) in view of Eckert et al. (US Pub. 2015/0090802) or Hayashi et al. (KR 0143540).
Regarding claims 9-12, Lim/Eckert/Hayashi disclose substantially all features of the claimed invention as set forth above including from Hayashi, plurality of heat-radiating fins (dimple 70, Fig. 12-13) except the plurality of heat-radiating fins are disposed in zigzag manner, includes a column having a circular cross section, a column having a cross section of a rain-drop shape, a column having a diamond-shaped cross section. However, Hayashi disclose the plurality of heat-radiating fins (70) is in the shape of dimple, therefore, it should have a circular cross section of a rain-drop shape and disposed in straight line (Fig. 12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize in Lim/Eckert/Hayashi, it would have been obvious mater of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the plurality of heat-radiating fins are disposed in zigzag manner, includes a column having a circular cross section, a column having a cross section of a rain-drop shape, a column having a diamond-shaped cross section, because applicant has not disclosed that the plurality of heat-radiating fins are disposed in zigzag manner, includes a column having a circular cross section, a column having a cross section of a rain-drop shape, a column having a diamond-shaped cross section provides an advantage is used for particular purpose or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected the Applicant' s invention to perform equally well with the plurality of heat-radiating fins are disposed in zigzag manner, includes a column having a circular cross section, a column having a cross section of a rain-drop shape, a column having a diamond-shaped cross section or dimple shape, because both shapes performs the function of heat-radiating equally well (MPEP 2144.04 IV B).
Conclusion
/HUNG D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761
HUNG D. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3761