DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 5/15/2026 in which claims 1-16 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to claims 1 and 16:
The measurement report received from the current relay UE indicates that a quality of the Uu link is below a threshold
Xu [0224] the eNB may obtain link quality of the Uu link between the current relay UE and the eNB from a measurement report reported by the current relay UE to the eNB. [0228] The eNB may determine, according to a specific criterion, whether to trigger the relay UE reselection, and perform S840 when determining to reselect relay UE. The criterion may be similar to that in descriptions in S730. However, this is not limited in this embodiment of the present invention. [0214] C6: The signal quality Ru of the Uu link is less than a threshold Th4;
It is clear from Xu that the measurement report contains the signal quality which indicates in itself, by possibly, being below a specific value of the criterion (threshold).
The comparison between the value and the threshold leads to the same result as the claimed invention wherein the same method steps are performed in order to determine what an indication means as would be in comparing a value to a threshold.
A request for the remote UE device to transmit a second measurement report to the base station
Xu [0229] S840. The eNB may execute the method 500 to reselect a relay; or the eNB sends a relay reselection instruction message to remote UE directly or by using the current relay UE, and after receiving the relay reselection instruction message, the remote UE may execute the method 600 to reselect a relay. [0202] the remote UE may receive indication information sent by each candidate relay UE in the candidate relay UE list by using the PC5 link between each candidate relay UE and the remote UE. The indication information is used to indicate the signal quality of the Uu link of each candidate relay UE. information related to candidate relay UE may be determined and then indicated to the eNB or the remote UE by the candidate relay UE, or may be determined and then indicated to the candidate relay UE or the eNB by the remote UE
It is clear from Xu that the base station sends an instruction to the UE that triggers the UE to send a second measurement report which results in the same method steps being performed as the claimed invention and therefore the instruction can be interpreted as the request of the claimed invention.
As to claim 8:
Xu [0229] S840. The eNB may execute the method 500 to reselect a relay; or the eNB sends a relay reselection instruction message to remote UE directly or by using the current relay UE, and after receiving the relay reselection instruction message, the remote UE may execute the method 600 to reselect a relay. [0202] the remote UE may receive indication information sent by each candidate relay UE in the candidate relay UE list by using the PC5 link between each candidate relay UE and the remote UE. The indication information is used to indicate the signal quality of the Uu link of each candidate relay UE. information related to candidate relay UE may be determined and then indicated to the eNB or the remote UE by the candidate relay UE, or may be determined and then indicated to the candidate relay UE or the eNB by the remote UE
It is clear from Xu that the base station sends an instruction to the UE that triggers the UE to send a second measurement report which results in the same method steps being performed as the claimed invention and therefore the instruction can be interpreted as the request of the claimed invention.
Based on the arguments above the rejections to the claims are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-12, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu et al. (US20180139682A1).
As to claims 1 and 16, Xu teaches a base station comprising: ([0295] In another optional embodiment, the apparatus 1300 is the first UE or the base station. [0350] In another optional embodiment, the apparatus 1600 is the first UE or the base station)
a receiver configured to receive, from a relay user equipment (UE) device that is relaying communication signals between the base station and a remote UE device, a first measurement report indicating that a quality of a communication link between the relay UE device and the base station is below a threshold; and ([0224] the eNB may obtain link quality of the Uu link between the current relay UE and the eNB from a measurement report reported by the current relay UE to the eNB. [0228] The eNB may determine, according to a specific criterion, whether to trigger the relay UE reselection, and perform S840 when determining to reselect relay UE. The criterion may be similar to that in descriptions in S730. [0212] S730. The remote UE determines, according to the signal quality of the PC5 link and the signal quality of the Uu link of the current relay UE, whether to trigger relay UE reselection. [0213] The remote UE may determine, according to a specific criterion, whether to trigger the relay UE reselection. The criterion may include at least one of the following conditions: [0214] C6: The signal quality Ru of the Uu link is less than a threshold Th4;)
a transmitter configured to transmit, in response to the first measurement report, a request for the remote UE device to transmit a second measurement report to the base station. ([0229] S840. The eNB may execute the method 500 to reselect a relay; or the eNB sends a relay reselection instruction message to remote UE directly or by using the current relay UE, and after receiving the relay reselection instruction message, the remote UE may execute the method 600 to reselect a relay. [0202] the remote UE may receive indication information sent by each candidate relay UE in the candidate relay UE list by using the PC5 link between each candidate relay UE and the remote UE. The indication information is used to indicate the signal quality of the Uu link of each candidate relay UE. information related to candidate relay UE may be determined and then indicated to the eNB or the remote UE by the candidate relay UE, or may be determined and then indicated to the candidate relay UE or the eNB by the remote UE)
As to claim 2, Xu teaches the base station of claim 1, wherein the communication link between the relay UE device and the base station is a Uu communication link. ([0224] The eNB may measure a signal sent by the current relay UE on the Uu link between the current relay UE and the eNB, to obtain link quality of the Uu link between the current relay UE and the eNB.)
As to claim 3, Xu teaches the base station of claim 1, wherein the transmitter is further configured to transmit, to the relay UE device, threshold configuration information with which the threshold is associated. ([0236] The current relay UE may determine, according to a specific criterion, whether to trigger the relay UE reselection, and perform S940 when determining that relay UE is to be reselected. The criterion may be similar to that in descriptions in S730. [0212] S730. The remote UE determines, according to the signal quality of the PC5 link and the signal quality of the Uu link of the current relay UE, whether to trigger relay UE reselection. [0213] The remote UE may determine, according to a specific criterion, whether to trigger the relay UE reselection. The criterion may include at least one of the following conditions: [0214] C6: The signal quality Ru of the Uu link is less than a threshold Th4; or [0215] C7: The signal quality Rp of the PC5 link is less than a threshold Th5; or [0216] C8: Rn=|Ru−Rp| is greater than a threshold Th6. [0218] The criterion or at least one of the threshold Th4, Th5, or Th6 may be indicated to the remote UE by the eNB by using indication information or predefined.)
As to claim 4, Xu teaches the base station of claim 1, wherein the request for the remote UE device to transmit the second measurement report includes a request that the second measurement report includes a list of one or more candidate relay UE devices. ([0229] S840. The eNB may execute the method 500 to reselect a relay; or the eNB sends a relay reselection instruction message to remote UE directly or by using the current relay UE, and after receiving the relay reselection instruction message, the remote UE may execute the method 600 to reselect a relay. [0202] the remote UE may receive indication information sent by each candidate relay UE in the candidate relay UE list by using the PC5 link between each candidate relay UE and the remote UE. The indication information is used to indicate the signal quality of the Uu link of each candidate relay UE. information related to candidate relay UE may be determined and then indicated to the eNB or the remote UE by the candidate relay UE, or may be determined and then indicated to the candidate relay UE or the eNB by the remote UE)
As to claim 5, Xu teaches the base station of claim 1, wherein the receiver is further configured to receive the second measurement report from the remote UE device, the second measurement report indicating a quality of one or more signals received from one or more relay UE devices. ([0229] S840. The eNB may execute the method 500 to reselect a relay; or the eNB sends a relay reselection instruction message to remote UE directly or by using the current relay UE, and after receiving the relay reselection instruction message, the remote UE may execute the method 600 to reselect a relay. [0202] the remote UE may receive indication information sent by each candidate relay UE in the candidate relay UE list by using the PC5 link between each candidate relay UE and the remote UE. The indication information is used to indicate the signal quality of the Uu link of each candidate relay UE. information related to candidate relay UE may be determined and then indicated to the eNB or the remote UE by the candidate relay UE, or may be determined and then indicated to the candidate relay UE or the eNB by the remote UE)
As to claim 7, Xu teaches the base station of claim 1, further comprising: a controller configured to determine whether to transmit the request for the remote UE device to transmit the second measurement report. ([0293] a triggering unit 1320, configured to trigger relay UE reselection if the determining unit 1310 determines that the current link quality of the at least one of the first link or the second link meets a relay reselection trigger condition,)
As to claim 8, Xu teaches a remote user equipment (UE) device comprising: (0289] The apparatus 1200 according to this embodiment of the present invention may be corresponding to the first UE in the method for selecting a relay in D2D communication according to the embodiments of the present invention [0298] FIG. 15 shows an apparatus 1400 for selecting a relay in D2D communication according to an embodiment of the present invention.)
a receiver configured to receive, from a base station with which the remote UE device is indirectly communicating via a relay UE device, a request for the remote UE device to transmit a non-conditional one-shot measurement report to the base station; and a transmitter configured to transmit, to the base station, in response to reception of the request, a single measurement report not part of a periodic measurement report transmission schedule and not in response to an event trigger. ([0229] S840. The eNB may execute the method 500 to reselect a relay; or the eNB sends a relay reselection instruction message to remote UE directly or by using the current relay UE, and after receiving the relay reselection instruction message, the remote UE may execute the method 600 to reselect a relay. [0202] the remote UE may receive indication information sent by each candidate relay UE in the candidate relay UE list by using the PC5 link between each candidate relay UE and the remote UE. The indication information is used to indicate the signal quality of the Uu link of each candidate relay UE. information related to candidate relay UE may be determined and then indicated to the eNB or the remote UE by the candidate relay UE, or may be determined and then indicated to the candidate relay UE or the eNB by the remote UE)
As to claim 9, Xu teaches the remote UE device of claim 8, wherein the request is transmitted when a quality of a communication link between the relay UE device and the base station is below a threshold. ([0224] the eNB may obtain link quality of the Uu link between the current relay UE and the eNB from a measurement report reported by the current relay UE to the eNB. [0228] The eNB may determine, according to a specific criterion, whether to trigger the relay UE reselection, and perform S840 when determining to reselect relay UE. The criterion may be similar to that in descriptions in S730. [0212] S730. The remote UE determines, according to the signal quality of the PC5 link and the signal quality of the Uu link of the current relay UE, whether to trigger relay UE reselection. [0213] The remote UE may determine, according to a specific criterion, whether to trigger the relay UE reselection. The criterion may include at least one of the following conditions: [0214] C6: The signal quality Ru of the Uu link is less than a threshold Th4;)
As to claim 10, Xu teaches the remote UE device of claim 9, wherein the communication link between the relay UE device and the base station is a Uu communication link. ([0224] The eNB may measure a signal sent by the current relay UE on the Uu link between the current relay UE and the eNB, to obtain link quality of the Uu link between the current relay UE and the eNB.)
As to claim 11, Xu teaches the remote UE device of claim 8, wherein the request for the remote UE device to transmit the measurement report includes a request that the measurement report includes a list of one or more candidate relay UE devices. ([0229] S840. The eNB may execute the method 500 to reselect a relay; or the eNB sends a relay reselection instruction message to remote UE directly or by using the current relay UE, and after receiving the relay reselection instruction message, the remote UE may execute the method 600 to reselect a relay. [0202] the remote UE may receive indication information sent by each candidate relay UE in the candidate relay UE list by using the PC5 link between each candidate relay UE and the remote UE. The indication information is used to indicate the signal quality of the Uu link of each candidate relay UE. information related to candidate relay UE may be determined and then indicated to the eNB or the remote UE by the candidate relay UE, or may be determined and then indicated to the candidate relay UE or the eNB by the remote UE)
As to claim 12, Xu teaches the remote UE device of claim 8, wherein the transmitter is further configured to transmit the measurement report to the base station, the measurement report indicating a quality of one or more signals received from one or more relay UE devices. ([0229] S840. The eNB may execute the method 500 to reselect a relay; or the eNB sends a relay reselection instruction message to remote UE directly or by using the current relay UE, and after receiving the relay reselection instruction message, the remote UE may execute the method 600 to reselect a relay. [0202] the remote UE may receive indication information sent by each candidate relay UE in the candidate relay UE list by using the PC5 link between each candidate relay UE and the remote UE. The indication information is used to indicate the signal quality of the Uu link of each candidate relay UE. information related to candidate relay UE may be determined and then indicated to the eNB or the remote UE by the candidate relay UE, or may be determined and then indicated to the candidate relay UE or the eNB by the remote UE)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Cheng et al. (US20240031888A1).
As to claim 6, Xu teaches the base station of claim 1,
But does not specifically teach:
wherein the receiver is further configured to receive the second measurement report from the remote UE device, the second measurement report indicating a quality of one or more signals received from one or more base stations.
However Cheng teaches wherein the receiver is further configured to receive the second measurement report from the remote UE device, the second measurement report indicating a quality of one or more signals received from one or more base stations. ([0176] At 565, the remote UE 115-e may transmit one or more measurement reports to the first base station 105-g. The measurement reports may be transmitted to the first base station 105-g via a Uu link with the first base stations 105-g, via the relay UE 115-f (e.g., via at least a sidelink communication link between the remote UE 115-e and the relay UE 115-f), or both. The measurement reports may indicate measurements (e.g., RSRP, RSRQ, SNR, SINR, CQI) which were performed on signals received from one or more candidate base stations 105. In this regard, the measurement report may indicate measurements which the remote UE 115-e performed on signals (e.g., reference signals) received from the second base station 105-h, the third base station 105-i, or both. In additional or alternative aspects, the measurement reports may indicate whether or not the respective candidate base stations 105 support sidelink relay operation or not, indications of priority for performing handover procedures with base stations 105 which support sidelink relay operation, or any combination thereof.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effectivie filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods of Xu with the measrurement report of Cheng in order to indicate whether or not the respective candidate base stations 105 support sidelink relay operation or not, perform handover procedures with base stations 105 which support sidelink relay operation, or any combination thereof.
As to claim 13, Xu teaches the remote UE device of claim 8,
But does not specifically teach:
wherein the transmitter is further configured to transmit the measurement report to the base station, the measurement report indicating a quality of one or more signals received from one or more base stations.
However Cheng teaches wherein the transmitter is further configured to transmit the measurement report to the base station, the measurement report indicating a quality of one or more signals received from one or more base stations. ([0176] At 565, the remote UE 115-e may transmit one or more measurement reports to the first base station 105-g. The measurement reports may be transmitted to the first base station 105-g via a Uu link with the first base stations 105-g, via the relay UE 115-f (e.g., via at least a sidelink communication link between the remote UE 115-e and the relay UE 115-f), or both. The measurement reports may indicate measurements (e.g., RSRP, RSRQ, SNR, SINR, CQI) which were performed on signals received from one or more candidate base stations 105. In this regard, the measurement report may indicate measurements which the remote UE 115-e performed on signals (e.g., reference signals) received from the second base station 105-h, the third base station 105-i, or both. In additional or alternative aspects, the measurement reports may indicate whether or not the respective candidate base stations 105 support sidelink relay operation or not, indications of priority for performing handover procedures with base stations 105 which support sidelink relay operation, or any combination thereof.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effectivie filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods of Xu with the measrurement report of Cheng in order to indicate whether or not the respective candidate base stations 105 support sidelink relay operation or not, perform handover procedures with base stations 105 which support sidelink relay operation, or any combination thereof.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 and 15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claims 14 and 15 describe overriding a measurement report from the remote UE based on the request from the base station; which is not taught by the prior art and would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Elton Williams/Examiner, Art Unit 2465