DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Applicant's arguments and amendments filed on 13 April 2026 in which claims 1-5, 7-21 are currently pending and claim 6 has been cancelled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references listed in the Information Disclosure Statement, filed on 13 April 2026, 05 May 2026 have been considered by the examiner (see attached PTO-1449 form or PTO/SB/08A and 08B forms).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-10, 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6-10 respectively of copending Application No. 18/569,389 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the instant application are fully covered by the copending Application claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (PG Pub US 2024/0064593 A1) in view of Yan et al. (PG Pub US 2022/0264401 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 21, Wu discloses a remote user equipment (UE) device (fig. 8) and a method.
a controller (processor 806, fig. 8) configured to maintain a connection with a serving base station over a current communication path, the current communication path being one of an indirect communication type through at least one relay UE device and a direct communication type without relay UE devices (“UE 501A is accessing a cell (e.g., serving cell 502) of a BS (also referred to as “serving BS”) .. UE 501A may access serving cell 502 via a relay UE” [0049], “the path switch of a UE (e.g., UE 501A) from a Uu link” [0058], fig. 1); and
a receiver (receiving circuitry 802, fig. 8) configured to receive, from the serving base station, a conditional reconfiguration message instructing the remote UE device to switch from the current communication path to an alternate communication path when a condition is met (“serving cell 502 may transmit an RRC reconfiguration message to UE 501A. The RRC reconfiguration message may include at least one conditional path switch configuration associated with at least one execution condition” [0053]), the alternate communication path being a different communication type different from a current communication type of the current communication path (“path switch of a UE (e.g., UE 501A) from a Uu link to a relay link” [0058]).
However, Wu does not explicitly disclose in response to receiving the conditional reconfiguration message, maintain the connection with the serving base station over the current communication path while the remote UE device measures parameters of the current communication path and the alternate communication path, and determine whether the condition is met based on the measured parameters and the conditional reconfiguration message.
Nevertheless, Yan discloses “In the CHO mechanism, a source network device may maintain an RRC connection/data transmission with the UE until the UE successfully hands over to the determined target cell (where the target cell may be referred to as a first candidate cell) that meets the CHO execution condition” [0145], “The CHO trigger condition (or execution condition) information may include a CHO execution event type and a corresponding threshold .. Specifically, the A1 event is that signal quality of a serving cell is higher than a threshold, the A2 event is that signal quality of a serving cell is lower than a threshold, the A3 event is that signal quality of a neighboring cell is a threshold higher than signal quality of a special cell SpCell (where the special cell may include a primary cell PCell or a primary secondary cell PSCell), the A4 event is that signal quality of a neighboring cell is higher than a threshold, the A5 event is that signal quality of a special cell is lower than a threshold 1, and signal quality of a neighboring cell is higher than a threshold 2, the B1 event is that signal quality of an inter-RAT (Radio Access Technology) neighboring cell is higher than a threshold, the event B2 is that signal quality of a PCell is lower than a threshold 3, and signal quality of an inter-RAT neighboring cell is higher than a threshold 4” [0124], [0126].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to maintain the connection with the serving base station over the current communication path while the remote UE device measures parameters of the current communication path and the alternate communication path, and determine whether the condition is met based on the measured parameters and the conditional reconfiguration message because it will “improve a handover success rate and handover robustness” [0004].
Regarding claim 2, Wu, Yan discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Wu discloses the current communication path is a direct communication link to the serving base station and the different communication path is through a relay UE device to the serving base station (“the execution condition may be applied to the path switch of a UE (e.g., UE 501A) from a Uu link to a relay link” [0058], fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Wu, Yan discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Wu discloses an alternate quality level of radio link to target relay UE device exceeding an alternate quality link threshold (“the channel quality between the UE and the candidate relay is greater than threshold #A2” [0059]).
Regarding claim 4, Wu, Yan discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Wu discloses a current quality level of the direct link to the serving base station being below a current quality link threshold (“the channel quality of the Uu link between the UE and its serving cell is less than threshold #A1” [0059]).
Regarding claim 5, Wu, Yan discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Wu discloses the alternate quality level of the radio link to target relay UE device is a measured alternate reference signal received power (RSRP), the alternate quality link threshold is an alternate link RSRP threshold, the current quality level of the direct link to the serving base station is a measured current link RSRP, and the current quality link threshold is a current link RSRP threshold (“The channel quality (e.g., reference signal received power (RSRP))” [0067]).
Regarding claim 7, Wu, Yan discloses everything claimed as applied above. Further, Yan discloses the alternate quality level, the alternate quality link threshold, the current quality level, and the current quality link threshold are Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) values (“reference signal received quality (RSRQ)” [0125]).
Regarding claim 8, Wu, Yan discloses everything claimed as applied above. Further, Yan discloses the alternate quality level, the alternate quality link threshold, the current quality level, and the current quality link threshold are Signal to Interference plus Noise Ratio (SINR) values (“a signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR)” [0125]).
Regarding claim 9, Wu, Yan discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Wu discloses a transmitter (transmitting circuitry 804, fig. 8) configured to transmit a Radio Resource Control (RRC) Reconfiguration Complete message to the relay UE device in response to the controller determining the alternate quality level of radio link to target relay UE device exceeds the alternate quality link threshold (“UE 501A may transmit an RRC reconfiguration complete message to serving cell 502 via target node 501B” [0095], “the channel quality between the UE and the candidate relay is greater than threshold #A2” [0060]).
Regarding claim 10, Wu, Yan discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Wu discloses a transmitter (transmitting circuitry 804, fig. 8) configured to transmit a Radio Resource Control (RRC) Reconfiguration Complete message to the relay UE device in response to the controller determining the current quality level of the direct link to the serving base station is below a current quality link threshold and determining the alternate quality level of radio link to target relay UE device exceeds the alternate quality link threshold (“UE 501A may transmit an RRC reconfiguration complete message to serving cell 502 via target node 501B” [0095], “the difference between the channel quality between the UE and the candidate relay and the channel quality of the Uu link between the UE and its serving cell is greater than an offset, the channel quality of the Uu link between the UE and its serving cell is less than threshold #A1, and the channel quality between the UE and the candidate relay is greater than threshold #A2” [0060]).
Regarding claim 11, Wu, Yan discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Wu discloses the current communication path is a direct communication link to the serving base station and the different communication path is through a relay UE device (“Uu link” [0058]). Further, Yan discloses to a target base station (“target cell” [0109]).
Regarding claim 12, Wu, Yan discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Wu discloses the condition comprises an alternate quality level of radio link to target relay UE device exceeding an alternate quality link threshold (“the channel quality between the UE and the candidate relay is greater than threshold #A2” [0059]).
Regarding claim 13, Wu, Yan discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Wu discloses the condition further comprises a current quality level of the direct link to the serving base station being below a current quality link threshold (“the channel quality of the Uu link between the UE and its serving cell is less than threshold #A1” [0059]).
Regarding claim 14, Wu, Yan discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Wu discloses the alternate quality level of the radio link to the target relay UE device is a measured alternate reference signal received power (RSRP), the alternate quality link threshold is an alternate link RSRP threshold, the current quality level of the direct link to the serving base station is a measured current link RSRP, and the current quality link threshold is a current link RSRP threshold (“The channel quality (e.g., reference signal received power (RSRP))” [0067]).
Regarding claim 15, Wu, Yan discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Wu discloses the measured alternate RSRP is one of a sidelink discovery RSRP (SD-RSRP) and a sidelink RSRP (SL-RSRP) (“For a measurement on the sidelink (e.g., between a UE and a relay UE), the following UE measurement quantities may be supported: PSBCH-RSRP, PSSCH-RSRP, and PSCCH-RSRP” [0068]).
Regarding claim 16, Wu, Yan discloses everything claimed as applied above. Further, Yan discloses the alternate quality level, the alternate quality link threshold, the current quality level, and the current quality link threshold are Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) values (“reference signal received quality (RSRQ)” [0125]).
Regarding claim 17, Wu, Yan discloses everything claimed as applied above. Further, Yan discloses the alternate quality level, the alternate quality link threshold, the current quality level, and the current quality link threshold are Signal to Interference plus Noise Ratio (SINR) values (“a signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR)” [0125]).
Regarding claim 18, Wu, Yan discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Wu discloses a transmitter (transmitting circuitry 804, fig. 8) configured to transmit a Radio Resource Control (RRC) Reconfiguration Complete message to the relay UE device in response to the controller determining the alternate quality level of radio link to target relay UE device exceeds the alternate quality link threshold (“UE 501A may transmit an RRC reconfiguration complete message to serving cell 502 via target node 501B” [0095], “the channel quality between the UE and the candidate relay is greater than threshold #A2” [0060]).
Regarding claim 19, Wu, Yan discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Wu discloses a transmitter (transmitting circuitry 804, fig. 8) configured to transmit a Radio Resource Control (RRC) Reconfiguration Complete message to the relay UE device in response to the controller determining the current quality level of the direct link to the serving base station is below a current quality link threshold and determining the alternate quality level of radio link to target relay UE device exceeds the alternate quality link threshold (“UE 501A may transmit an RRC reconfiguration complete message to serving cell 502 via target node 501B” [0095], “the difference between the channel quality between the UE and the candidate relay and the channel quality of the Uu link between the UE and its serving cell is greater than an offset, the channel quality of the Uu link between the UE and its serving cell is less than threshold #A1, and the channel quality between the UE and the candidate relay is greater than threshold #A2” [0060]).
Regarding claim 20, Wu, Yan discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Wu discloses the receiver, the serving base station and the at least one relay UE device are configured to operate in accordance with at least one revision of the 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) New Radio (NR) V2X communication specification (“Support for V2X services via the PC5 interface can be provided by, for example, NR sidelink communication and/or V2X sidelink communication” [0027]).
Response to Arguments
Previous nonstatutory double patenting rejection over claims 1-4, 6-10 of co-pending Application Number 18/569,389 is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CHRISTINE DUONG FUQUA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2462
/CHRISTINE T DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462 06/04/2026