DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the detection means (claim 2), the electrical contacts and the electrical conductive element (claims 3 and 15), the NFC tag, metal element and magnetic element (claim 4), and the second light source being located in the emergency sign unit (claim 11) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: On page 22, line 25, “control means 3” should be “control means 4”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: on line 3, “different to” should be “different from”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sekiguchi et al. (JP 07240104 A).
Sekiguchi discloses an emergency sign unit (2, 21, Fig. 3) for an emergency luminaire, the emergency luminaire comprising a housing (1, Fig. 3) that accommodates a light source (26, Fig. 3) configured to emit light; wherein the emergency sign unit comprises an electrical conductive element (28, Fig. 3), and the emergency sign unit is configured to be attached to the housing (1, Fig. 3) of the emergency luminaire such that the light emitted by the light source (26, Fig. 3) of the emergency luminaire lights the emergency sign unit (2, 21, Fig. 3), and the electrical conductive element (28, Fig. 3) of the emergency sign unit (2, 21, Fig. 3) electrically connects two electrical contacts (25, Fig. 3) of detection means of the emergency luminaire when the emergency sign unit (2, 21, Fig. 3) is attached to the housing (1, Fig. 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-14 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 1 and 14, as set forth above, Sekiguchi discloses an emergency luminaire with a housing (1, Fig. 3), the housing accommodating a light source (26, Fig. 3) configured to emit light, and wherein the housing (1, Fig. 3) is configured for attaching an emergency sign unit (2, 21, Fig. 3) to the housing (1, Fig. 3) such that the light emitted by the light source (26, Fig. 3) lights the emergency sign unit (2, 21, Fig. 35) when the emergency sign unit (2, 21, Fig. 3) is attached to the housing (1, Fig. 3).
However, Sekiguchi does not disclose a control means configured to control light emission of the light source, and being configured to determine whether the emergency sign unit is attached to the housing or not; and the control means being configured to control the light emission of the light source according to a first operation mode when no emergency sign unit is attached to the housing, and according to a second operation mode when the emergency sign unit is attached to the housing, wherein the second operation mode is different from the first operation mode. The prior art of record does not suggest modifying Sekiguchi to include a control means that operates in the recited manner.
The reference to Kasler et al. (9,589,487) discloses illuminating a set of LEDs under ordinary conditions, and then illuminating a second set of LEDs under emergency conditions. However, Kasler does not disclose removing the sign or detecting whether or not the sign is present.
Claims 2-13 are allowed based on their dependency, respectively.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The relevance of each reference is explained below, unless the relevance is deemed to be readily apparent.
/GARY C HOGE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631