DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendment filed 6/25/2026 has been entered and fully considered. Claims 1-15 are pending. Claims 1 and 11 are amended. No new matter is added.
Support for the claim amendments can be implicitly found in instant published paragraphs [0173] and figures 9, 12 and 17). These disclosures provide a peripheral view of the flange and seal, and thus provides at least implicit support that the peripheries of each are engaged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant notes that Lee describes that the narrow end portion of case 80 (alleged flange) surrounds the outer cover, 21 (alleged first seal). Lee does not suggest that the outer cover surrounds a periphery of the narrow end portion of the case.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As seen in annotated figure 7 of Lee, the first seal includes its own flanged portion that abuts the inner periphery of the flange of 80.
[AltContent: textbox (Portion of first seal engaged with inner periphery of flange)][AltContent: textbox (Flange)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
________________________________________________________________________
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 7- 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al. (US 2020/0086068) in view of SHIMIZU (US 2011/0290269).
With respect to claims 1 and 8, LEE et al. discloses an aerosol generating device (Abstract; Title) comprising a heater, 1300/70 (Paragraph [0043], [0071]; Figures 1 and 3); a control unit, 1200 (Paragraph [0041]); electrical lines, 15 connected to the heater (Paragraph [0075]); a housing, 80, that does not conduct heat ([0100])(e.g., is thermally insulating ) (Figure 7; Paragraphs [0098]-[0108]) and comprises a first surface, a second surface opposite to the first surface and a side surface between the two; and a flange protruding from the second surface (See annotated figure 7, below). The flange represents a passage through which the heater passes and surrounding an inner circumference/periphery of the flange is a first seal, 21, and a second seal, 30, overlapping the first seal and heater (Figure 7, Paragraphs [0080]-[0087]).
[AltContent: textbox (First seal portion engaging inner periphery of flange and surrounding interior of flange)][AltContent: textbox (Flange protrudes from second surface towards first surface (as required by Claim 8))][AltContent: ][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Passage through flange through which heater passes)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval][AltContent: textbox (Side surface)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Flange protruding from second surface )][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (Second surface )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second surface)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First surface)]
LEE et al. does not explicitly disclose that the wire, per se, pass through the passage and that the wires connect to a PCB.
SHIMIZU discloses a non-combustion smoking device (Abstract; Title). The heater, 1, penetrates the cigarette (in a similar manner to LEE et al.) (Figure 4; Paragraph [0047]). Within the heater are the wires, 25 and 24, that are sealed within the tube of the heater to prevent moisture from entering inside (Paragraph [0061]) (Figure 5). The wires are connected to a printed circuit board (PCB) along with a control circuit (Paragraphs [0044], [0045]; Figure 2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the wires through the heater tube of LEE et al., as taught by SHIMIZU so that the wires can be sealed and protected from moisture. Thus, the second seal overlaps the first seal and electrical lines. Moreover, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to connect the wires to a PCB, as taught by SHIMIZU so that control modules can be connected to the heater and other structures to control the functions of the device, including supplying power to the heater.
With respect to claim 4, LEE et al. disclose that the second seal, 30, comprises a groove, 12, through which the electrical lines are at least partially received (Paragraph [0091]; Figures 5 and 7).
With respect to claim 6, LEE et al. shows that the first and second seal are separable from each other (Figure 4; Paragraphs [0092]-[0095])
With respect to claim 7, LEE et al. discloses that the first and second seal comprise elastic material (Paragraph [0076]). Specifically, the listed materials are polymers, metals and alloys. Every material has a modulus of elasticity, and is therefore implicitly elastic to a degree.
With respect to claim 9, LEE et al. discloses that the device further comprises a temperature sensor (Paragraph [0054]). While it isn’t disclose that the temperature sensor measures a temperature of the heater, it would have been obvious to measure the temperature of the heater so as to prevent overheating of the heater. Moreover, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide an electrical line connected to the PCB so that the measured temperature can be detected by the controller on the PCB.
With respect to claim 10, LEE et al. discloses an insertion detection sensor to detect insertion of a cigarette (Paragraph [0054]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide an electrical line connected to the PCB so that the insertion of a cigarette can be detected by the controller on the PCB.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LEE et al. (US 2020/0086068).
With respect to claim 11, LEE et al. discloses an aerosol generating device (Abstract; Title) comprising a heater, 1300/70 (Paragraph [0043], [0071]; Figures 1 and 3); a control unit, 1200 (Paragraph [0041]); electrical lines, 15 connected to the heater (Paragraph [0075]); a housing, 80, that does not conduct heat ([0100])(e.g., is thermally insulating ) (Figure 7; Paragraphs [0098]-[0108]) and comprises a first surface, a second surface opposite to the first surface and a side surface between the two; and a flange protruding from the second surface (See annotated figure 7, below). The flange represents a passage through which the heater passes and surrounding an inner circumference/periphery of the flange is a first seal, 21, and a second seal, 30, overlapping the first seal and heater (Figure 7, Paragraphs [0080]-[0087]).
[AltContent: textbox (First seal surrounding inner periphery of flange and abutting interior of flange)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Passage through flange through which heater passes)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval][AltContent: textbox (Side surface)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Flange protruding from second surface )][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (Second surface )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second surface)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First surface)]
With respect to claim 14, LEE et al. disclose that the second seal, 30, comprises a groove, 12, through which the electrical lines are at least partially received (Paragraph [0091]; Figures 5 and 7).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 5, 12, 13 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As seen in annotated figure 7 of LEE et al., above, the outer side of the flange does not contact any part of the seal, as required by claims 2, 3, 12 and 13.
Moreover, LEE et al. also does not disclose that the first seal has an opening in which the second seal is at least partially within, as required by claims 5 and 15. The wires also must pass through this opening.
FOURNIER et al. (US 2003/0154991) discloses an electrical smoking system (Abstract). The heater comprises walls, with one terminating into a flange (figure 3B, annotated below). However, FOURNIER et al. does not necessarily comprise a first structure, 300, surrounding the flange and a second structure overlapping with the first flange. However, these structures are not indicated as being seals, nor do they appears to be seals. Proposing such a modification would then necessitate using the claims as a roadmap to arrive at the claimed invention, and would thus require impermissible hindsight.
[AltContent: textbox (Second structure)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First seal surrounding flange)][AltContent: arrow]
THORSEN et al. (US 2020/0268053) discloses an apparatus for heating a smokable material (Abstract) having thermally insulated walls (Abstract). However, THORSEN et al. does not disclose the claimed flange and seals, per se.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEX B EFTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745