DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nunome et al (KR 20200067893, cited in IDS, cited herein with identical US 20230051676)
Nunome discloses the following polycarbonate (see 0141):
where In the formula, each of R1 and R2 independently represents a hydrocarbon group having a carbon number of 1 to 10, which may contain an aromatic group, each of n and m independently represents an integer of 0 or more, and each of R3 to R10 independently represents a hydrogen atom, or a hydrocarbon group having a carbon number of 1 to 20, which may contain an aromatic group (see 0091);
each of R21 to R36 independently represents a hydrogen atom or a hydrocarbon group having a carbon number of 1 to 12, which may contain an aromatic group (se 0138).
Thus, all limitations of claim 1-3, 9 and 13 are met.
Regarding claim 4, Nunome teaches a specific viscosity within the range of 0.18-0.23, which corresponds with claimed molecular weight range (see Table 1 at 0194).
In reference to claims 5 and 7, Nunome discloses refractive index withing the range of 1.637 to 1.684 and Abbe number within the range of 17.4 to 23.8 (see Table 1 at 0194).
Regarding claim 6, Nunome teaches the glass transition temperature (Tg) of the poly(ester)carbonate of is preferably from 128 to 160° C (see 0115).
In reference to claim 10, Nunome discloses such precursor as diphenylcarbonate (see Example1 at 0175).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Nunome teaches such articles as lenses (see 0165).
In reference to claim 15, Nunome discloses 9,9-bis[4-(2-hydroxyethoxy)phenyl]-2,3-benzofluorene (BPEB) (see Example 5 at 0183).
Claims 1-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamada et al (KR 20190140074, cited in IDS, cited herein with identical US 20220146713)
Yamada discloses the following polycarbonate comprising the following precursors (see 0073, 086):
Where R15 and R16 each independently represent a hydrogen atom , a hydrocarbon group of 1 to 12 carbon atoms optionally containing an aromatic group (see 0073) and
In the formula , R13 and R14 each independently represent a hydrogen atom , a hydrocarbon group of 1 to 12 carbon atoms optionally containing an aromatic group , or a halogen atom (see 0073)
Thus, all limitations of claim 1-3, 9, 13 and 15 are met.
Regarding claim 4, Yamada teaches a specific viscosity within the range of 0.12-0.40, which corresponds with claimed molecular weight range (see claim 5).
In reference to claims 5 and 7, Nunome discloses refractive index withing the range of 1.652 to 1.704 and Abbe number within the range of 14.4 to 20.0 (see Table 3 at 0176).
Regarding claim 6, Yamada teaches the glass transition temperature (Tg) of the poly(ester)carbonate of is preferably from 130 to 170 ° C. (see claim 6).
In reference to claim 10, Nunome discloses such precursor as diphenylcarbonate (see Example 1 at 0168).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Yamada teaches such articles as lenses (see Abstract).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Search for prior art does not result in a reference disclosing a polycarbonate obtained with the following precursor:
The closest prior art found is represented by et al Nunome et al (KR 20200067893, cited in IDS, cited herein with identical US 20230051676)
Nunome discloses the following formula(see 0094):
The difference is that the claimed diol contains only one naphthyl substitute, while Nunome ‘s compound a-27 has two of them.
GL
/GREGORY LISTVOYB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765