DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claim 1-3, 5, and 7-10 in the reply filed on 10 June 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 13-16, 19-21, 23-26, and 28 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10 June 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12 December 2023 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the Office.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 28 February 2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the Office.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 18 September 2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the Office.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3 March 2026 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the Office.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3 June 2026 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the Office.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fukushima et al. (US 2017/0058174, hereinafter referred to as “Fukushima”).
As to Claims 1 and 9: Fukushima teaches a composition comprising difluoroethylene and a stabilizer (i.e., an inhibitor) (Table 3, Working examples 1-4).
As to Claims 2 and 3: Fukushima teaches the composition of claim 1 (supra). Fukushima further teaches that the working fluid can be HFO-1132(E) (Table 2, [0023]).
As to Claim 5: Fukushima teaches the composition of claim 1 (supra). Fukushima further teaches that the stabilizer can be a terpene [0062].
As to Claim 8: Fukushima teaches the composition of claim 1 (supra). Fukushima further teaches that the composition can further include refrigerant oil which reads on a lubricant [0132].
As to Claim 10: Fukushima teaches the composition of claim 1 (supra). The composition would be expected to have some air incorporated through making the composition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukushima et al. (US 2017/0058174, hereinafter referred to as “Fukushima”).
As to Claim 7: Fukushima teaches the composition of claim 1 (supra).
Fukushima does not teach an example wherein the amount of the inhibitor is present in an amount of 30-3,000 ppm.
However, Fukushima teaches that the stabilizer (i.e., the inhibitor) can be present in an amount 5 ppm to 5 wt% [0061]. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to select from within the range taught by Fukushima including 30 to 3,000 ppm because Fukushima teaches that this can prevent the deterioration of the working fluid [0061].
Correspondence
/Andrew J. Oyer/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767