DETAILED ACTION
The election is noted. Claims 10-15 are withdrawn. These claims should be so indicated by the status identifiers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, ‘derived from a source of renewable hydrogen’ is unclear what those derivation steps are and whether the claims require them. Furthermore, how can one tell whether a H atom is renewable? Are all H atoms renewable? If not, then why not? The entire clause should be deleted.
The parentheses in claim 1 line 5 should be removed.
In claim 1 line 12, how and when is the ammonia-depleted gas formed? See also line 17 and claim 2.
In line 15, ‘hot’ is subjective and thus unclear.
In line 16, ‘as required’ is unclear as to the basis for determination.
Lines 18-19 are awkward and unclear. Is ‘to form’ meant? It appears that a word/verb is missing.
The last 3 lines of claim 1 are unclear as to what, if anything, is actually required. How is the ‘predetermined value’ chosen, how it is calculated and can it be zero or 100,000,000? If not, then why not?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 8, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andersen et al. 20190084831.
Andersen teaches, especially in fig. 2 and paras 30 and 36, cracking vaporized liquid ammonia, treating the off-gas and returning it to the reactor as secondary fuel. PSA separation is taught as an option. Element 9 heats the ammonia. While not ‘pressurizing’ the liquid ammonia, this is obvious to control the rate of the input stream (note para 24). The last 3 lines do not require anything (see above) but in so far as they do, para 25 teaches a range (and thus adjustment) of recycle fuel.
For claim 6, see para 25.
For claims 8 and 9, methane is taught in para 41, which suggests ‘natural gas’.
Claims 3, 4, 5, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andersen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jiang et al. 20200398240.
Andersen does not teach the multiple PSA steps, however Jiang teaches, especially in para 64 and fig. 5, a similar scheme in which streams can be passed through membrane and PSA systems multiple times. Using it in the scheme of Andersen is obvious to purity the valuable hydrogen gas.
For claim 4, both references teach recycling tail gas.
For claim 5, Jiang teaches making high purity H2 in para 64.
For claim 7, see Andersen para 25.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12421109. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the use of heated liquid ammonia is patentably indistinct from ammonia gas as a matter of handling ease. The use of PSA in the ‘109 patent is taught in col. 12 and the claims of ‘109 do not exclude it.
Claims 1-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of allowed copending Application No. 17/990815 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the heated liquid ammonia is recited in claim 8 and the use of PSA in ‘815 is taught in col. 12 and the claims of ‘815 do not exclude it.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14, 29-33 of allowed copending Application No. 18/010971 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim common subject matter.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of allowed copending Application No. 18/205854 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the heated liquid ammonia is patentably indistinct from ammonia gas as a matter of handling ease. The use of PSA in ‘854 is taught on pg. 8 and the claims of ‘854 do not exclude it.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not yet been patented.
Claims 1-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of copending Application No. 18/569464 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the combustion of tail gas is recited in claim 12.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of copending Application No. 18/569741 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim common subject matter.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to STUART L HENDRICKSON whose telephone number is (571)272-1351. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 9 to 5. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Anthony Zimmer, can be reached on 571-270-3591. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/STUART L HENDRICKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736