DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Hatrick (WO 2014/048745 A1).
Claim 1: Hatrick teaches aerosol generating device 1 configured to generate an aerosol for inhalation by a user (Abstract; pg4 ¶2), comprising:
●cavity 3 (“smokable material heating chamber”) in which aerosol forming substance 2
(“smokable material”) can be received (pg4 ¶2 Lns1-3)
●a heater (comprising at least heating material 5) configured to heat aerosol forming
substance 2 received in cavity 3 (pg4 ¶3)
●vacuum insulator 14 (“thermal insulation”) provided around the heater (pg10 ¶3
Lns1-7).
An external surface of vacuum insulator 14 is an outer surface of aerosol generating device 1 (pg11 ¶3 Lns5-7) wherein the outer surface can be held by the user, in use. The external surface is substantially uncovered by another surface (Fig1 Fig2).
Claim 2: Hatrick teaches aerosol generating device 1 of claim 1, further comprising an outer casing 9 (“magnetic field generator”) (pg8 ¶1 Lns1-3) that partially encloses vacuum insulator 14 (Fig1 Fig2).
Claim 3: Hatrick teaches aerosol generating device 1 of claim 1, wherein the external surface of vacuum insulator 14 is the outer surface of aerosol generating device 1 around a full circumference of aerosol generating device 1 (Fig1).
Claim 4: Hatrick teaches aerosol generating device 1 of claim 1, wherein the external surface of vacuum insulator 14 is the outer surface of aerosol generating device 1 along a full length of aerosol generating device 1 (Fig1).
Claim 6: Hatrick teaches aerosol generating device 1 of claim 1, wherein such is configured to receive a consumable (the aerosol forming substrate 2) which comprises tobacco within cavity 3 (pg4 ¶2 Lns1-3).
Claim 7: Hatrick teaches aerosol generating device 1 of claim 1, wherein vacuum insulator 14 has an annular cylindrical shape (Fig2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatrick as applied to claims 1-4 and 6-7 above, and further in view of Egoyants (WO 2013/034456 A1).
Claim 5: Hatrick teaches aerosol generating device 1 of claim 1 – but does not teach that vacuum insulator 14 comprises metal.
However, it is conventional and well-known in the art that a vacuum insulator includes metal as illustrated by Egoyants. Egoyants teaches an aerosol generating device (Fig1 annotated below) configured to generate an aerosol for inhalation by a user, comprising:
● cavity 4 in which aerosol forming substance 5 can be received
●heater 3 configured to heat aerosol forming substance 5 received in cavity 4 (pg5
Lns19-32)
●vacuum insulator 18 provided around heater 3 (pg20 Lns18-20; pg21 Lns9-12; pg6
Lns11-14).
The aerosol generating device comprises outer casing 7 that partially encloses vacuum insulator 18 (pg20 Lns7-9). Vacuum insulator 18 is around a substantially full circumference of the aerosol generating device (Fig3 Fig5 as examples; pg4 Lns4-6 Lns10-12). Vacuum insulator 18 is along a substantially full length of the aerosol generating device (Fig1 annotated above). Vacuum insulator 18 comprises metal (pg20 Lns18-20).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have Hatrick that vacuum insulator 14 comprises metal in that such is conventional and well-known in the art, as taught by Egoyants, where it is obvious to replace one material of a vacuum insulator (that of Hatrick) with another art alternative material of a vacuum insulator (that of Egoyants: metal) where successful results have been demonstrated.
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
●Stanley teaches a heat insulating receptacle having a vacuum insulator provided around a cavity into which a substance can be received;
●Blandino teaches a device used for heating a smokable material having a vacuum insulator;
●Zojirushi explains vacuum insulation;
●Wagner discusses vaping device TH-cartridges having insulation.
Conclusion
The comments and amendments filed 8-13-2026 have been entered and fully considered – the results of which are provided herein.
/LINDA L GRAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745