DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Amendment filed on 06/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-12 remain withdrawn with traverse for being drawn to non-elected groups.
Claims 1-2 and 4 are amended.
Claims 1-4 are pending and being examined on the merits herein.
Priority
The instant application 18569467, is a 371 of PCT/EP2022/066214, filed on 06/14/2022, which claims foreign priority of France FR2106414, filed on 06/17/2021.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
All previous claim Objection(s) / Rejection(s) as set forth in the previous Office action (mailed 03/16/2026) that are not repeated and/or maintained in the instant Office action are withdrawn, in light of applicant’s amendment and remark filed on 06/16/2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 3 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 needs a period at the end of the claim.
Claim 1 recites “beta-pinene, delta-3-carene, or beta-phellandrene, or one of the mixtures thereof”. It is suggested to amend to “beta-pinene, delta-3-carene, beta-phellandrene, and mixtures thereof” to remove the redundant “or” and make the alternative options more presentable.
Claim 3 needs to remove a period at the end of the claim due to duplicate periods.
Claim 3 recites “beta-pinene, delta-3-carene or beta-phellandrene, or one of the mixtures thereof”. It is suggested to amend to “beta-pinene, delta-3-carene, beta-phellandrene, and mixtures thereof” to remove the redundant “or” and make the alternative options more presentable.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “wherein the mycelium or mushroom basidiomycetes selected from …”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, because claims 1 or 3, which claim 4 depends upon, both recite “mushroom”, which is not synonymous to “mushroom basidiomycetes”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. (CN109392584, 03/01/2019, machine translation relied upon below; copy attached, PTO-892), in view of Sokovic et al. (European Journal of Plant Pathology; 09/14/2006, IDS of 01/05/2024).
Xie throughout the reference directs to interplanting anise with shiitake mushrooms which belongs to Lentinus edodes (e.g., Abstract; [0005]).
Regarding instant claims 1 and 3-4, Xie teaches a method for effectively improving quality of growing mushrooms such as shiitake [0027], belonging to Trichlomataceae, Lentinus edodes (e.g., [0005]) (corresponding to instant claim 4) or Ganoderma lucidum, comprising an insect repellent comprising ailanthus leaf extract is rich in terpenes and chrysanthemum leaf extract containing essential oil (e.g., [0027]) by spraying liquid fertilizer and insect repellent comprising the ailanthus leaf extract and chrysanthemum leaf extract once mushroom buds appear (thus providing direct contact to the mycelium or the mushroom) (e.g., [0036]) (corresponding to instant claims 1 and 3). Being Basidiomycetes of shiitake mushroom is the property of shiitake, which has been taught by prior art, therefore, such property would necessarily present in prior art. Moreover, MPEP 2145 II. states that “prima facie obviousness is not rebutted by merely recognizing additional advantages or latent properties present but not recognized in the prior art”, see In re Baxter Travenol Labs., 952 F.2d 388, 21 USPQ2d 1281 (Fed. Cir. 1991).
Xie does not teach the chemotyped essential oil species as recited in instant claim 1.
Sokovic throughout the reference teaches essential oils having antimicrobial activity against three major pathogens of the button mushroom, Agaricus bisporus (e.g., Abstract).
Sokovic teaches that chemotyped essential oils including beta-pinene (Citrus limon % as 17.25%), delta-3-carene and many others have antimicrobial activity against button mushroom Agaricus bisporus pathogens, Verticillium fungicola, Trichoderma harzianum and Pseudomonas tolaasii (e.g., Abstract; Pg. 215, Table 1), and teaches that Pseudomonas tolaasii causes bacterial blotch in button mushroom, as well as shiitake and oyster mushroom (Pg. 212, left top). Sokovic teaches that solutions and emulsions used in the form of sprays with or without a carrier therefore represent the preferred form in which those compounds should be applied to large areas of casing soil surface with minimal effort. Also evaporation by heating could be considered. Further, Oregano oil seems suited to prevent bacterial growth during cultivation and after harvesting (Pg. 223, left Col., 3rd paragraph), implying the compounds being in contact with the mushrooms via spray.
It would be prima facie obvious for a person with ordinary skills in the art to combine the teaching of Xie and Sokovic to arrive at current invention. Because Xie teaches terpenes and essential oils from the plant extracts can be insect repellents for improving mushroom quality during the mushroom growth, while Sokovic demonstrates that beta-pinene or delta-3-carene, as specific terpenes, and other essential oils can help control common mushroom pathogens, it would have motivated artisans in the field to select these specific chemotyped essential oils for mushroom growth and would have provided reasonable expectation of success. MPEP 2144.06.I states, "[i]t is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding “for stimulating the development and growth of a mycelium or of a mushroom” in instant claims 1 and 3, in light of claim interpretation, it is interpreted as intended use of the method. Because Xie and Sokovic teaches the same method comprising contacting the mycelium or mushroom with at least beta-pinene, the intended use would necessarily capable of being achieved. Further, regarding the chemotyped essential oil in instant claim 1, because beta-pinene or delta-3-carene is the same compound as recited in instant claim, the “chemotyped” is inherent property of the essential oil compound, which is already taught by prior art. MPEP 2112.01.II states "[p]roducts of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable, as indicated in MPEP 2112.01.II. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. (CN109392584, 03/01/2019, machine translation relied upon below; copy attached, PTO-892), in view of Sokovic et al. (European Journal of Plant Pathology; 09/14/2006, IDS of 01/05/2024), as applied to claims 1 and 3-4 above, further in view of Hajdari et al. (SpringerPlus, 2015, PTO-892).
Xie and Sokovic teaches a method for growing mushroom with improved quality comprising contacting, e.g., spraying, the mushroom or the mycelium with terpene, e.g., beta-pinene, delta-3-carene, chemotyped essential oil, as applied to claims 1 and 3-4 above in detail, and incorporated herein.
The combination of Xie and Sokovic does not teach the essential oil comes from the plants recited in instant claim 2.
Hajdari teaches that Pinus mugo Turra, a native pine species in central and southern Europe, yields beta-pinene, delta-3-carene, beta-phellandrene, and other essential oils with great details of essential oil amount information (e.g., Abstract )(corresponding to Pinus mugo in instant claim 2).
It would be prima facie obvious for a person with ordinary skills in the art prior to filing date to incorporate Hajdari’s teaching of Pinus mugo as the source of the specific chemotyped essential oils into the method taught by Xie and Sokovic to arrive at current invention. It is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use (MPEP §2144.07). See Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks/arguments filed on 06/16/2026 have been fully considered.
35 USC 112 Rejections
Applicant submits that all claim objections are overcome with the claim amendment.
Please note that 35 USC 112 are claim rejections, not claim objections. In light of claim amendment, part of previous 112 rejections are overcome. However, a new rejection arises from claim amendments. Please find the details above in this office action.
Art Rejections
Applicant asserts that current invention addresses fundamentally different technical problems as stimulating growth and development of mycelium or mushroom, than the cited references of Xie as biocontrol for phytosanitary and protecting crop from pests or diseases while Sokovic essential oils function as antimicrobial or biocidal. A person with ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to look to references teaching how to repel insects or kill microbes when seeking to stimulate and accelerate growth of mushrooms.
The instantly claimed method uses chemotyped essential oils to contact the mycelium or mushroom for stimulating its development and growth, there are no other fundamental method steps in addition to the simple “contacting the mycelium or mushroom” with the essential oils. That being said, prior art teaches this method step as presented in office action in detail. As interpreted in office action, the phrase “for stimulating the development and growth and growth” as the intended use, because it does not contribute to the method steps, therefore, as far as prior art teaches the fundamental step of the method, e.g., contacting the mycelia or mushroom with the essential oils, the intended use, its function, purpose or outcome, would necessarily present in prior art or capable of being achieved.
In addition, MPEP 2112.01.II states "[p]roducts of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable, as indicated in MPEP 2112.01.II. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id. (Applicant argued that the claimed composition was a pressure sensitive adhesive containing a tacky polymer while the product of the reference was hard and abrasion resistant. "The Board correctly found that the virtual identity of monomers and procedures sufficed to support a prima facie case of unpatentability of Spada’s polymer latexes for lack of novelty."). When essential oil, such as beta-pinene, have been taught by prior art used for contacting mushroom or mycelia, even if the purpose of prior art method is for biocontrol or pest control, the identical chemical compound (e.g., beta-pinene) would necessarily constitute the same property when being in contact with mycelium or mushroom, as instantly claimed, and therefore, it would necessarily carry out stimulating the development and growth of mycelium and mushroom.
Furthermore, abiotic stress and biotic stress are known factors impacting crop development and growth. Biotic stress, which is directly related to pest biocontrol, obviously affect crop development and growth in great deal as artisans know in the field. The method to use for pest biocontrol overlaps with the method for protecting crop development and growth, which also results in stimulation of crop development and growth.
Moreover, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., biostimulant, to stimulate and accelerate the growth) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Note: MPEP 2144. "The reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant". As presented in office action, because Xie teaches terpenes and essential oils from the plant extracts can be insect repellents for improving mushroom quality during the mushroom growth, while Sokovic demonstrates that beta-pinene or delta-3-carene, as specific terpenes, and other essential oils can help control common mushroom pathogens, it would have motivated artisans in the field to select these specific chemotyped essential oils for application to mushrooms and would have provided reasonable expectation of success.
Applicant asserts that “chemotyped” essential oil, e.g., beta-pinene, delta-3-carene, or beta-phellandrene, is one in which a specific component is the major constituent, generally present in a proportion greater than 20% (instant Specification); prior art does not teach such chemotyped features.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., chemotyped essential oil generally present in a proportion greater than 20%) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Prior art teaches the chemotyped essential oils, e.g., beta-pinene, the proportion greater than 20% in general is not claimed feature. Furthermore, the instant specification is written more in exemplary language (e.g., “generally”) rather than a set definition, and therefore, the proportion greater than 20% is not required limitation.
Applicant asserts that there would have no reasonable expectation of achieving a growth-stimulating effect since the references teach using terpenes for antimicrobial or repellent properties, as evidenced by unpredictable activities of these compounds, such as beta-pinene has biostimulant effect while alpha-pinene has inhibitory effect in instant specification.
As discussed above, biocontrol for mycelium and mushroom development and growth results in the development and growth of mycelium and mushroom, and in turn, also results in stimulating the development and growth. Furthermore, prior art teaches the same compound beta-pinene as instantly claimed, contacting mycelium and mushroom, exactly as the same claimed method step, the intended use or outcome of the identical method would be obviously present or be capable of being achieved, that is, stimulating mycelium and mushroom development and growth, absent evidence to the contrary. The combination of references is not directed to applying alpha-pinene.
In conclusion, applicant’s remarks/arguments are not persuasive. Rejections are remained with updates in light of claim amendments.
Please refer to the entire office action as a complete response to the remarks/arguments.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DX.Z./ Examiner, Art Unit 1616
/MONICA A SHIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1616