IDETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slama et al. (US 2021/0052009), hereinafter Slama, in view of Eckerson et al. (US 2015/0303736), hereinafter Eckerson.
As to claims 1 and 12, Slama discloses in figure 5, a charging device for an aerosol generating device comprising [see figure 5, an electronic device (12)] a first charging pin [charging contacts (162) and a second charging pin [charging contacts (162) spaced apart from the first charging pin by a first interval [the charging contacts are spaced apart], the charging device comprising:
a charging station [charging station (14)] on which a plurality of charging pads [charging electrical contact (160)] are arranged to be spaced apart from each other; and
Slama does not disclose explicitly, charging pins, and also a controller configured to detect, among the plurality of charging pads, one charging pad to which the first charging pin is connected and another charging pad to which the second charging pin is connected, and supply power to the detected charging pads, wherein two adjacent charging pads among the plurality of charging pads are spaced apart by a second interval that is less than or equal to the first interval.
Eckerson discloses in figure 1, charging pins [three contact pins (19) are connected, see ¶0038] ; and also a controller [controller (140)] configured to detect, among the plurality of charging pads, one charging pad to which the first charging pin is connected and another charging pad to which the second charging pin is connected, and supply power to the detected charging pads, wherein two adjacent charging pads among the plurality of charging pads are spaced apart by a second interval that is less than or equal to the first interval [see ¶0038].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to use plurality of pin contacts and charging controller in Slama’s apparatus as taught by Eckerson in order to provide flexibility in the charging receiving locations and also
As to claim 2, Eckerson discloses in figure 1, wherein the plurality of charging pads are arranged in a matrix structure along a first direction and a second direction perpendicular to the first direction [see figure 1 and also ¶0038].
As to claim 3, Eckerson discloses in figure 1, wherein each of the plurality of charging pads is formed in a planar structure having a first width in the first direction and a second width in the second direction [see figure 1 of Eckerson ].
AS to claim 4. Eckerson discloses in figure 1, wherein the second interval corresponds to one of a first sub-interval between two charging pads adjacent in the first direction and a second sub-interval between two charging pads adjacent in the second direction, wherein a sum of the first width and the first sub-interval is less than or equal to the first interval. [see figure 2, and ¶0041; the insulation ridges (22) are space apart and in the middle of each ridges are found electrical charging contacts]
As to claim 5, Slama in combination with Eckerson discloses all of the claim limitations except, wherein a sum of the second width and the second sub-interval is less than or equal to the first interval.
Further, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to use different size for width and sub intervals as in order to effectively charge the electronic device, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
As to claim 6, Slama discloses in figure 5, wherein the charging station comprises a guide member provided between the plurality of charging pads and configured to guide the first charging pin or the second charging pin to an adjacent charging pad [not that magnetic biasing elements (150) disposed at the edges to safely guide and secure the electrical contacts]
As to claim 7, Eckerson discloses in figures 1-2, wherein the guide member includes a plurality of protrusions spaced apart at a predetermined interval on a surface on which the plurality of charging pads are arranged [noted that the ridges 22 are bumps or protrusions and made of insulation materials; see ¶0041].
As to claim 10, Slama discloses in figure 2, wherein the charging station comprises a supporting member configured to support a side surface of the aerosol generating device [the device is supported in the charging station].
As to claim 8, Erickson discloses in figures 1- 2, wherein the guide member has a shape in which a cross-sectional area tapers off towards a protruding direction [see ¶0041].
Further, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to use different shapes of protrusion elements as in order to provide reliable electrical contact between the charger and the rechargeable device, reliable sec charge the electronic device, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
As to claim 9, Erickson discloses in figure 2, wherein at least a partial area of the guide member is made of an insulating material [see Abstract, ¶0010 and ¶0030].
As to claim 11, Erickson discloses in figures 1-2wherein the charging station comprises a charging surface on which the plurality of charging pads are arranged, and the supporting member surrounds the plurality of charging pads on the charging surface [see figure 1].
As to claim 13, Slama in combination with Eckerson discloses, wherein the aerosol generating device comprises a charging port for receiving an external charging terminal, wherein the first charging pin, the second charging pin, and the charging port are formed on a same surface of the aerosol generating device. [it is implicit that the aerosol device is equipped with electrical contacts to receive charging power].
As to claim 14, Slama in combination with Eckerson discloses, wherein the aerosol generating device comprises a charging port for receiving an external charging terminal, the first charging pin and the second charging pin are formed on one side of the aerosol generating device, and the charging port is formed on another side of the aerosol generating device. [it is implicit that the aerosol device is equipped with electrical contacts to receive charging power]..
As to claim 15, Eckerson discloses, wherein the first charging pin and the second charging pin are compressible by a predetermined distance [see figures 1 and 2; the pins (19) are spaced apart], and the first charging pin and the second charging pin are compressed by the aerosol generating device when the first charging pin and the second charging pin contact the plurality of charging pads [see ¶0033]..
Conclusion
/SAMUEL BERHANU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859