DETAILED ACTION
1. Acknowledgement is made to the preliminary amendment, filed 12/12/2023. Claims 1-14 are pending.
Priority
2. The instant application is a 371 of PCT/KR2022/007214, filed 5/20/2022. Acknowledgement is made to Applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. Acknowledgement is made to the information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/12/2023, 10/8/2024, 5/15/2025, & 4/29/2026. The information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cantz et al. (US 2020/0303093 A1), hereinafter Cantz.
Regarding claim 1, Cantz discloses an electric vehicle charging assembly comprising:
an electric vehicle charging cable (10 – cable) comprising: at least one ground unit (17 – grounding cable assembly); at least one communication unit; a plurality of power units each including a conductor (12a & 12b – conductors) and an insulating layer (11a & 11b – cable hose) surrounding the conductor; at least one cooling fluid supply tube (20a & 20b – tubes) configured to supply a cooling fluid (21 – cooling fluid) from an electric vehicle charger; and at least one cooling fluid collection tube configured to collect the cooling fluid supplied from the cooling fluid supply tube to the electric vehicle charger [0043, 0102, 0112-0114 & Figs. 1, 2, & 17-19]; and
an electric vehicle charging connector comprising: a housing provided with a connecting part (30 – connector) at a front side, which is connected to an connector connection unit of an electric vehicle and a cable support at a rear side, which supports the electric vehicle charging cable inserted thereinto [0107, 0111-0114, & Figs. 9, 10, 17, & 29]; at least one communication terminal mounted to be exposed to the connecting part and connected to the communication unit [0043 & 0107]; a plurality of power terminals (31a & 31b – contact members) mounted to be exposed to the connecting part and connected to the plurality of power units [0015 & 0112-0115]; and a plurality of connection connectors located in the housing and including a chamber space to which the cooling fluid supplied from the cooling fluid supply tube flows and thereafter be collected to the cooling fluid collection tube, wherein the plurality of power terminals and the conductors of the plurality of power units are mounted on a front and rear of the connection connector [0010, 0016, 0107, 0113, 0114, 0119 & Figs. 17-19].
Regarding claim 2, Cantz discloses the electric vehicle charging assembly of claim 1, wherein the cooling fluid supply tube and the cooling fluid collection tube are connected to an outer circumferential surface of the chamber space of the connection conductor to communicate with the inside of the chamber space [0010, 0107, 0113, & 0114].
Regarding claim 3, Cantz discloses the electric vehicle charging assembly of claim 2, wherein the cooling fluid supply tube and the cooling fluid collection tube are connected to a front side of and a rear side of an upper surface of the connection conductor, respectively [0107, 0113, 0114, & Figs. 10 & 17-19].
Regarding claim 4, Cantz discloses the electric vehicle charging assembly of claim 1, wherein rear ends of the plurality of power terminals of the electric vehicle charging connector communicate with the chamber space of the connection conductor to be directly cooled by the cooling fluid, when the plurality of power terminals are mounted on the connection conductor [0039, 0107, 0110, & 0114].
Regarding claim 5, Cantz discloses the electric vehicle charging assembly of claim 1, wherein the conductors of the plurality of power units of the electric vehicle charging cable are connected to pipe type connection holes in the rear of the connection conductor not to communicate with the chamber space of the connection conductor [0107, 0113, & 0114].
Regarding claim 6, Cantz discloses the electric vehicle charging assembly of claim 1, wherein the cooling fluid supply tube is provided inside each of the plurality of power units, the cooling fluid supply tube splitting from each of the plurality of power units behind the connection conductor to be connected to the connection conductor [0020, 0030, 0102, & 0113].
Regarding claim 7, Cantz discloses the electric vehicle charging assembly of claim 6, wherein the cooling fluid supply tube is included in the conductor of each of the plurality of power units [0020, 0030, 0036, 0037, & 0106].
Regarding claim 8, Cantz discloses the electric vehicle charging assembly of claim 6, wherein the cooling fluid collection tube is provided outside each of the plurality of power units [0021 & 0112-0114].
Regarding claim 9, Cantz discloses the electric vehicle charging assembly of claim 8, wherein a plurality of cooling fluid collection tubes are provided, the plurality of cooling fluid collection tubes being combined into one tube [0113, 0114, & 0119].
Regarding claim 10, Cantz discloses the electric vehicle charging assembly of claim 1, wherein the cooling fluid collection tube is provided inside each of the plurality of power units, splits from each of the plurality of power units behind the connection conductor to be connected to the connection conductor [0020, 0112-0114, & 0118-0120].
Regarding claim 11, Cantz discloses the electric vehicle charging assembly of claim 10, wherein the cooling fluid collection tube is included in the conductor of each of the plurality of power units [0036-0039 & 0112-0114].
Regarding claim 12, Cantz discloses the electric vehicle charging assembly of claim 10, wherein the cooling fluid supply tube is provided outside each of the plurality of power units [0021 & 0112-0114].
Regarding claim 13, Cantz discloses the electric vehicle charging assembly of claim 12, wherein the cooling fluid supply tube splits into several parts behind the connection conductor to be connected to each of the connection conductors [0113, 0119, & Fig. 17].
Regarding claim 14, Cantz discloses an electric vehicle charging connector comprising:
a housing including a connecting part (30 – connector) at a front side and a cable support at a rear side, wherein the connecting part is connected to a connector connection unit of an electric vehicle and the cable support supports an electric vehicle charging cable inserted thereinto [0107, 0111-0114, & Figs. 9, 10, 17, & 29];
at least one communication terminal mounted to be exposed to the connecting part and connected to a communication unit of the electric vehicle charging cable [0043 & 0107];
a plurality of power terminals (31a & 31b – contact members) mounted to be exposed to the connecting part and connected to a plurality of power units of the electric vehicle charging cable [0015 & 0112-0115]; and
a connection conductor located in the housing and including a chamber space to which a cooling fluid supplied from a cooling fluid supply tube flows and thereafter be collected to a cooling fluid collection tube, wherein the plurality of power terminals and conductors of the plurality of power units are mounted on a front and rear of the connection conductor [0010, 0016, 0107, 0113, 0114, 0119 & Figs. 17-19].
Conclusion
/PAULTEP SAVUSDIPHOL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876