DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s response filed 26 November 2025 containing amendments to the claims and remarks.
Claims 1-11, 13-18, and 20-22 are pending. Claims 21 and 22 are newly added.
The previous rejection of claims 1, 2, 4-8, 10, 11, 13, 15, 18, and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments to the claims. The previous rejection of claims 3, 9, 14, 16, and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 is maintained.
New grounds for rejection of claims 1, 2, 4-8, 10, 11, 13, 15, 18, and 20, necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the claims, is entered under 35 U.S.C. 103. Finally, newly added claims 21 and 22 are indicated allowable. The rejections follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 13-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Germanaud (US 2018/0148653).
With respect to claims 1, 2, 4-6, 13, and 15, Germanaud discloses a hydrocarbon fluid comprising over 90% isoparaffins and less than 20 ppm aromatics (see Germanaud, paragraphs [0023] and [0074]), the fluid having an initial boiling point and a final boiling point in the range of 100°C to 400°C (see Germanaud, paragraph [0023]) and a flash point which may be between 62°C and 90°C (see Germanaud, paragraph [0088]), the hydrocarbon having a biodegradability measured at 28 days greater than or equal to 60% according to OECD 306 (see Germanaud, paragraphs [0023] and [0031]). The fluid comprises carbon atoms in the range of 6 to 30 (see Germanaud, paragraph [0072]) and less than 50 ppm naphthenes (see Germanaud, paragraph [0027]). The fluid may have a pour point of -40°C or lower (see Germanaud, paragraph [0089]).
With respect to claim 20, Germanaud discloses wherein the hydrocarbon fluid may be used as a solvent, e.g., in a water treatment composition (see Germanaud, paragraph [0033]).
With respect to claims 7, 8, 10, 11, and 18, Germanaud discloses a method of making a hydrocarbon fluid as described above, the method comprising catalytic hydrogenation at a temperature in the range of 80°C and 180°C (see Germanaud, paragraphs [0050]-[0052]), and pressure in the range of 50 bar to 160 bar (see Germanaud, paragraphs [0050]-[0052]). The starting feed may be a biosourced syngas (see Germanaud, paragraph [0001]), and the method may further include hydroconversion, hydrocracking, and isomerization along with cracking-decarboxylation which may be followed by fractionation/distillation for recovery of the feed to hydrogenation step (see Germanaud, paragraphs [0040]-[0045]).
With respect to claims 3, 9, 14, 16, and 17, Germanaud includes overlapping disclosure for limitations related to relative hydrocarbon fraction constituent content; boiling range; and flash point (see discussion supra at paragraphs 8-10). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 26 November 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner understands Applicant’s arguments to be:
Germanaud does not teach or suggest embodiments having both a flash point lower than 90°C and a pour point of less than -50°C.
Germanaud teaches improved fluids used for offshore or onshore oilfield applications having a flash point of more than 90°C and a pour point of -40°C or lower.
No single embodiment of Germanaud discloses both a flash point lower than 90°C and a pour point of less than -50°C. Germanaud only discloses improved fluids having a flash point and a pour point in combination with one another when the flash point is more than 90°C, not less than 90°C as claimed.
With respect to Applicant’s first, second, and third arguments, Examiner notes that the only remaining rejections are under 35 U.S.C. 103 and not 35 U.S.C. 102. Moreover, the broadest claim at issue (claim 1) only requires a pour point of -50°C (see claim 1) (“said hydrocarbon fluid having a pour point of less than or equal to -50°C”) (emphasis added). Germanaud states that “[f]luids used for offshore and on-shore applications” may have “a flash value of usually more than 90°C” and “a pour point of -40°C or lower” (see Germanaud, paragraph [0089]) (emphasis added). Examiner thus submits that Germanaud discloses or, at the very least, suggests hydrocarbon fluids having the same attributes as the rejected claims. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Finally, it is noted that obviousness does not require absolute predictability, only a reasonable expectation of success. In re O’Farrell, 853 F.2d 894, 903 (Fed. Cir. 1988).
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office Action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Randy Boyer/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771