DETAILED ACTIONS
Status of Claims
Below is the Final Action on the Merits for claims 17 – 21 and 27 and 29 – 39. Claims 1 – 16, 22 – 26 and 28 are cancelled.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17 – 21, 27, 29 – 34 and 36 – 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miao et al. (Chinese Publication No.: CN 115012168 A) in view of Gao et al. (CN114587212 S) citing U. S. Equivalent (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2025/0064281 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 17, Miao teaches a dust collection assembly comprising: a dust collection assembly main body (2, Fig 6, Paragraph 6) configured to be removably provided in a base station main body (1000, Fig 1), the dust collection assembly main body being detachable from a front surface of the base station main body (Paragraph 60); wherein: the dust collection assembly main body has a dust collection cavity (see annotated Miao et al. Fig 6) formed in the dust collection assembly main body; and the dust collection assembly main body is in communication with a dust suction pipe (21, Fig 6, Paragraphs 64-65 of the base station main body).
Miao does not teach that the dust collection assembly includes an engagement member provided at a side surface of the dust collection assembly main body and that the engagement member being configured to be engaged with an engagement matching member of the base station main body and limited by the engagement matching member and the base station main body is located at a first side of the dust collection assembly main body, the engagement member is disposed at a second side of the dust collection assembly main body, the first side is opposite to the second side, and a dust outlet end of the dust suction pipe is in communication with the dust collection cavity through the engagement member.
Gao, however, teaches the dust collection assembly (Fig. 1) includes an engagement member (2110) provided at a side surface (Fig. 3) of the dust collection assembly main body (3000) and that the engagement member (2110) being configured to be engaged with an engagement matching member (Paragraph [0053]) of the base station main body (Fig. 3) and limited by the engagement matching member (Fig. 3) and the base station main body (Fig. 1) is located at a first side (@ 1000) of the dust collection assembly main body (3000), the engagement member (2110) is disposed at a second side Fig. 2) of the dust collection assembly main body (3000), the first side is opposite to the second side (Fig. 2), and a dust outlet end of the dust suction pipe (Paragraph [0070]) is in communication with the dust collection cavity (Fig. 7) through the engagement member (2110).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust collection assembly of Miao to further include an engagement member provided at a side surface of the dust collection assembly main body and that the engagement member being configured to be engaged with an engagement matching member of the base station main body and limited by the engagement matching member and the base station main body is located at a first side of the dust collection assembly main body, the engagement member is disposed at a second side of the dust collection assembly main body, the first side is opposite to the second side, and a dust outlet end of the dust suction pipe is in communication with the dust collection cavity through the engagement member, as taught by Gao to provide a simple and convenient method for users to clean up and maintain the robot maintenance station regularly.
Regarding Claim 18, Miao, as modified, teaches the dust collection assembly main body (2, Miao et al. Fig 6, Paragraph 6) includes a dust bag (222, Miao et al. Fig 6, Paragraph 70).
Miao does not teach the engagement member includes an insert provided at the dust collection assembly main body, the insert being configured to be engaged with the engagement matching member.
Gao, however, teaches the dust collection assembly (Fig. 1) wherein the engagement member (2110) includes an insert (2111) provided at the dust collection assembly main body (3000), the insert (2111) being configured to be engaged with the engagement matching member (Paragraph [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust collection assembly of Miao to further include the engagement member includes an insert provided at the dust collection assembly main body, the insert being configured to be engaged with the engagement matching member, as taught by Gao to provide a simple and convenient method for users to clean up and maintain the robot maintenance station regularly.
Regarding Claim 19, Miao, as modified, teaches the dust collection assembly according to claim 17 as discussed above.
Miao does not teach a first insert assembly provided at the dust collection assembly main body and configured to be engaged with the engagement matching member; and a second insert assembly surrounded by the first insert assembly and configured to be engaged with the first insert assembly, the second insert assembly having a dust inlet in communication with the dust collection cavity.
Gao, however, teaches a first insert assembly (2111; Fig. 7) provided at the dust collection assembly main body (3000) and configured to be engaged with the engagement matching member (Paragraph [0053]); and a second insert assembly (2113) surrounded by the first insert assembly (2111) and configured to be engaged with the first insert assembly (Fig. 7), the second insert assembly (2113) having a dust inlet (2112) in communication with the dust collection cavity (Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust collection assembly of Miao to further include a first insert assembly provided at the dust collection assembly main body and configured to be engaged with the engagement matching member; and a second insert assembly surrounded by the first insert assembly and configured to be engaged with the first insert assembly, the second insert assembly having a dust inlet in communication with the dust collection cavity, as taught by Gao to provide a simple and convenient method for users to clean up and maintain the robot maintenance station regularly.
Regarding Claim 20, Miao, as modified, teaches the dust collection assembly according to claim 17 as discussed above.
Miao does not teach a first insert assembly that has insertion slots formed at two opposite sides of the first insert assembly, that each of the insertion slots being configured to be engaged with the second insert assembly; a side of the insertion slot facing away from the dust collection assembly main body is provided with a plurality of limit protrusions arranged at intervals, and that the plurality of limit protrusions being configured to abut with the second insert assembly.
Gao, however, teaches a first insert assembly (2111; Fig. 7) that has insertion slots (2114; Fig. 6; Paragraph [0087]) formed at two opposite sides of the first insert assembly (Fig. 6), that each of the insertion slots being configured to be engaged with the second insert assembly (2113; Fig. 6); a side of the insertion slot facing away from the dust collection assembly main body is provided with a plurality of limit protrusions arranged at intervals (end of slots at a top end and bottom end; Fig. 6), and that the plurality of limit protrusions being configured to abut with the second insert assembly (2113).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust collection assembly of Miao to further include a first insert assembly that has insertion slots formed at two opposite sides of the first insert assembly, that each of the insertion slots being configured to be engaged with the second insert assembly; a side of the insertion slot facing away from the dust collection assembly main body is provided with a plurality of limit protrusions arranged at intervals, and that the plurality of limit protrusions being configured to abut with the second insert assembly, as taught by Gao to provide a simple and convenient method for users to clean up and maintain the robot maintenance station regularly.
Regarding Claim 21, Miao, as modified, teaches the dust collection assembly according to claim 20 as discussed above.
Miao does not teach an insertion direction of the second insert assembly, a first stopper and a second stopper are sequentially arranged at each of the insertion slots; and the second insert assembly is provided with a projection, the projection being configured to allow the second insert assembly to shield an opening of the dust collection cavity when the projection abuts with the first stopper, and to bring the dust inlet into communication with the dust collection cavity when the projection abuts with the second stopper.
Gao, however, teaches an insertion direction (extension direction X; Fig. 10) of the second insert assembly (2113; Fig. 6), a first stopper (top of Fig. 10) and a second stopper (bottom of Fig. 10 and current position of second insert) are sequentially arranged at each of the insertion slots (2114; Fig. 10); and the second insert assembly (2113) is provided with a projection (projections allowing insert to slide on chute), the projection being configured to allow the second insert assembly to shield an opening of the dust collection cavity when the projection abuts with the first stopper (Fig. 6), and to bring the dust inlet into communication with the dust collection cavity when the projection abuts with the second stopper (Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust collection assembly of Miao to further include an insertion direction of the second insert assembly, a first stopper and a second stopper are sequentially arranged at each of the insertion slots; and the second insert assembly is provided with a projection, the projection being configured to allow the second insert assembly to shield an opening of the dust collection cavity when the projection abuts with the first stopper, and to bring the dust inlet into communication with the dust collection cavity when the projection abuts with the second stopper, as taught by Gao to provide a simple and convenient method for users to clean up and maintain the robot maintenance station regularly.
Regarding Independent Claim 27, Miao teaches a sweeper base station comprising: a base station main body (1000; Fig 1) having an accommodation cavity (see annotated Fig 1) formed at a front surface of the base station main body and including: a dust suction pipe (21, Fig 6) including: a dust suction end (Paragraph 62, Fig 6) configured to be in communication with a dust discharge port of a sweeper body (3000; Paragraph 62); and a dust outlet (Paragraph 65 lines 2-3) end located at a side wall of the accommodation cavity (Annotated Fig 6); an air return pipe (25, Paragraph 64, Fig 5) including: an air inlet end (Paragraph 64) in communication with the accommodation cavity (Annotated Fig 1); and an air outlet end (Paragraph 64) configured to be in communication with an air inlet of the sweeper body (3000); a dust suction pump (23, Paragraph 81) disposed at the dust suction pipe or the air return pipe (Fig. 6), wherein the dust collection assembly includes a dust collection assembly main body (2, Miao et al. Fig 6, Paragraph 6) removably connected to the accommodation cavity (Annotated Fig 6) and detachable from a front surface of the base station main body wherein: the dust collection assembly main body has a dust collection cavity (Annotated Fig 6) formed in the dust collection assembly main body and that the dust collection assembly contains a dust suction pipe (21; Fig 6, Paragraph 128).
Miao does not teach that the dust collection assembly includes an engagement member provided at a side surface of the dust collection assembly main body and that the engagement member being configured to be engaged with an engagement matching member of the base station main body and limited by the engagement matching member and the base station main body is located at a first side of the dust collection assembly main body, the engagement member is disposed at a second side of the dust collection assembly main body, the first side is opposite to the second side, and a dust outlet end of the dust suction pipe is in communication with the dust collection cavity through the engagement member.
Gao, however, teaches the dust collection assembly (Fig. 1) includes an engagement member (2110) provided at a side surface (Fig. 3) of the dust collection assembly main body (3000) and that the engagement member (2110) being configured to be engaged with an engagement matching member (Paragraph [0053]) of the base station main body (Fig. 3) and limited by the engagement matching member (Fig. 3) and the base station main body (Fig. 1) is located at a first side (@ 1000) of the dust collection assembly main body (3000), the engagement member (2110) is disposed at a second side Fig. 2) of the dust collection assembly main body (3000), the first side is opposite to the second side (Fig. 2), and a dust outlet end of the dust suction pipe (Paragraph [0070]) is in communication with the dust collection cavity (Fig. 7) through the engagement member (2110).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust collection assembly of Miao to further include an engagement member provided at a side surface of the dust collection assembly main body and that the engagement member being configured to be engaged with an engagement matching member of the base station main body and limited by the engagement matching member and the base station main body is located at a first side of the dust collection assembly main body, the engagement member is disposed at a second side of the dust collection assembly main body, the first side is opposite to the second side, and a dust outlet end of the dust suction pipe is in communication with the dust collection cavity through the engagement member, as taught by Gao to provide a simple and convenient method for users to clean up and maintain the robot maintenance station regularly.
Regarding Claim 29, Miao, as modified, teaches the sweeper base station as disclosed in claim 28 wherein at least part of the dust suction pipe (21, Miao et al. Fig 6) is arranged around a top (see annotated Miao et al. Fig 4) of the base station main body.
Regarding Claim 29, Miao, as modified, teaches the sweeper base station as disclosed in claim 27 wherein the air inlet end of the air return pipe (25, Miao et al. Fig 5) is located at an inner wall (see annotated Miao et al. Fig 5) of an end of the accommodation cavity opposite to the opening (see annotated Miao et al. Fig 4).
Regarding Claim 30, Miao, as modified, teaches the sweeper according to claim 27 as discussed above.
Miao does not teach a shield member provided at the base station main body in an openable or closable manner and configured to shield an opening of the accommodation cavity.
Gao et al., however, teaches a shield member (underside of 2113, Gao et al. Paragraph 71, lines 4-7) provided at the base station main body in an openable or closeable manner and configured to shield an opening (Fig. 7) of the accommodation cavity (2112).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust collection assembly of Miao to further include a shield member provided at the base station main body in an openable or closable manner and configured to shield an opening of the accommodation cavity as taught by Gao to provide a simple and convenient method for users to clean up and maintain the robot maintenance station regularly.
Regarding Claim 32, Miao, as modified, teaches the sweeper base station as disclosed in claim 31 wherein the air return pipe (25, Miao et al. Fig 5) is arranged around a back surface of the base station main body (see annotated Miao et al. Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 33, Miao, as modified, teaches the sweeper base station as disclosed in claim 27, wherein the air inlet (15, Miao et al. Fig 6) end of the air return pipe is provided with a filter (222, Miao et al. Paragraphs 66-67).
Regarding Independent Claim 34, Miao teaches a sweeper (3000, Miao et al. Fig 1) comprising a sweeper body (Fid. 1) having an air inlet (inlet of 3000) and a dust discharge port (discharge port of 3000) and a sweeper base station (1000; Fig 1) configured to accommodate the sweeper body and including: a base station main body (1000; Fig 1) having an accommodation cavity (Annotated Fig 1) formed at a front surface of the base station main body and including: a dust suction pipe (21; Fig 6, Paragraph 128) including: a dust suction end (end of dust suction pipe 21; Fig 6) configured to be in communication with sweeper body; and a dust outlet end (Paragraph 65 lines 2-3) located at a side wall of the accommodation cavity (Annotated Fig 1); an air return pipe (25;Paragraph 64, Fig 5) including: an air inlet end (Paragraph 64) in communication with the accommodation cavity (Annotated Fig 1); and an air outlet end (Paragraph 64) configured to be in communication with the sweeper body; a dust suction pump (23, Paragraph 81) disposed at the dust suction pipe or the air return pipe (Annotated Fig 5)
Miao does not teach that the dust collection assembly includes an engagement member provided at a side surface of the dust collection assembly main body and that the engagement member being configured to be engaged with an engagement matching member of the base station main body and limited by the engagement matching member and the base station main body is located at a first side of the dust collection assembly main body, the engagement member is disposed at a second side of the dust collection assembly main body, the first side is opposite to the second side, and a dust outlet end of the dust suction pipe is in communication with the dust collection cavity through the engagement member.
Gao, however, teaches the dust collection assembly (Fig. 1) includes an engagement member (2110) provided at a side surface (Fig. 3) of the dust collection assembly main body (3000) and that the engagement member (2110) being configured to be engaged with an engagement matching member (Paragraph [0053]) of the base station main body (Fig. 3) and limited by the engagement matching member (Fig. 3) and the base station main body (Fig. 1) is located at a first side (@ 1000) of the dust collection assembly main body (3000), the engagement member (2110) is disposed at a second side Fig. 2) of the dust collection assembly main body (3000), the first side is opposite to the second side (Fig. 2), and a dust outlet end of the dust suction pipe (Paragraph [0070]) is in communication with the dust collection cavity (Fig. 7) through the engagement member (2110).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust collection assembly of Miao to further include an engagement member provided at a side surface of the dust collection assembly main body and that the engagement member being configured to be engaged with an engagement matching member of the base station main body and limited by the engagement matching member and the base station main body is located at a first side of the dust collection assembly main body, the engagement member is disposed at a second side of the dust collection assembly main body, the first side is opposite to the second side, and a dust outlet end of the dust suction pipe is in communication with the dust collection cavity through the engagement member, as taught by Gao to provide a simple and convenient method for users to clean up and maintain the robot maintenance station regularly.
Regarding Independent Claim 36, Miao teaches a cleaning apparatus comprising: a washing device (4000, Miao et al. Fig 1); and a sweeper (3000, Miao et al. Fig 1) disposed below the washing device; a sweeper body (body of 3000) having an air inlet (inlet of 3000) and a dust discharge port a sweeper base station (1000, Miao et al. Fig 1) configured to accommodate the sweeper body (3000, Miao et al. Fig 1) and including: a base station main body (1000, Miao et al. Fig 6) having an accommodation cavity (see Miao et al. annotated Fig 1) formed at a front surface of the base station main body and including: a dust suction pipe (21, Miao Fig 6, Paragraph 128) including: a dust suction end (Miao et al. Paragraph 62, Fig 6) configured to be in communication with the sweeper body; and a dust outlet end (Miao et al. Paragraph 65 lines 2-3) located at a side wall (see Miao et al. annotated Fig 4) of the accommodation cavity (see Miao et al. annotated Fig 1); an air return pipe (25, Miao et al. Fig 5) including: an air inlet end (15, Miao et al. Fig 6) in communication with the accommodation cavity (see Miao et al. annotated Fig 1) and an air outlet end (Miao et al. Paragraph 64) configured to be in communication with the sweeper body; a dust suction pump (23, Miao et al. Paragraph 68) disposed at the dust suction pipe or the air return pipe; wherein: the dust collection assembly main body (2, Miao et al. Fig 6, Paragraph 6) has a dust collection cavity (see annotated Miao et al. Fig 6) formed in the dust collection assembly main body.
Miao does not teach that the dust collection assembly includes an engagement member provided at a side surface of the dust collection assembly main body and that the engagement member being configured to be engaged with an engagement matching member of the base station main body and limited by the engagement matching member and the base station main body is located at a first side of the dust collection assembly main body, the engagement member is disposed at a second side of the dust collection assembly main body, the first side is opposite to the second side, and a dust outlet end of the dust suction pipe is in communication with the dust collection cavity through the engagement member.
Gao, however, teaches the dust collection assembly (Fig. 1) includes an engagement member (2110) provided at a side surface (Fig. 3) of the dust collection assembly main body (3000) and that the engagement member (2110) being configured to be engaged with an engagement matching member (Paragraph [0053]) of the base station main body (Fig. 3) and limited by the engagement matching member (Fig. 3) and the base station main body (Fig. 1) is located at a first side (@ 1000) of the dust collection assembly main body (3000), the engagement member (2110) is disposed at a second side Fig. 2) of the dust collection assembly main body (3000), the first side is opposite to the second side (Fig. 2), and a dust outlet end of the dust suction pipe (Paragraph [0070]) is in communication with the dust collection cavity (Fig. 7) through the engagement member (2110).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust collection assembly of Miao to further include an engagement member provided at a side surface of the dust collection assembly main body and that the engagement member being configured to be engaged with an engagement matching member of the base station main body and limited by the engagement matching member and the base station main body is located at a first side of the dust collection assembly main body, the engagement member is disposed at a second side of the dust collection assembly main body, the first side is opposite to the second side, and a dust outlet end of the dust suction pipe is in communication with the dust collection cavity through the engagement member, as taught by Gao to provide a simple and convenient method for users to clean up and maintain the robot maintenance station regularly.
Regarding Claim 37, Miao, as modified, teaches the dust collection assembly (Fig. 6) wherein the dust collection assembly main body (2) is in direct contact with the base station main body (1000, Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 38, Miao, as modified, teaches the dust collection assembly according to claim 17 as discussed above.
Miao does not teach a first insert assembly provided at the dust collection assembly main body and configured to be engaged with the engagement matching member; and a second insert assembly surrounded by the first insert assembly and configured to be engaged with the first insert assembly, the second insert assembly having a dust inlet in communication with the dust collection cavity, and the second insert assembly being configured to slide relative to the first insert assembly along a direction perpendicular to an axis of the dust inlet.
Gao, however, teaches a first insert assembly (2111; Fig. 7) provided at the dust collection assembly main body (3000) and configured to be engaged with the engagement matching member (Paragraph [0053]); and a second insert assembly (2113) surrounded by the first insert assembly (2111) and configured to be engaged with the first insert assembly (Fig. 7), the second insert assembly (2113) having a dust inlet (2112) in communication with the dust collection cavity (Fig. 7), and the second insert assembly (2113) being configured to slide relative to the first insert assembly (2111) along a direction perpendicular to an axis of the dust inlet (Figs. 7 and 10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust collection assembly of Miao to further include a first insert assembly provided at the dust collection assembly main body and configured to be engaged with the engagement matching member; and a second insert assembly surrounded by the first insert assembly and configured to be engaged with the first insert assembly, the second insert assembly having a dust inlet in communication with the dust collection cavity, as taught by Gao to provide a simple and convenient method for users to clean up and maintain the robot maintenance station regularly.
Regarding Claim 39, Miao, as modified, teaches the dust collection assembly according to claim 17 as discussed above.
Miao does not teach the engagement member includes: a first insert assembly provided at the dust collection assembly main body and configured to be engaged with the engagement matching member, the first insert assembly being a flat plate frame structure of a gate shape with an opening facing the front surface of the base station main body; and a second insert assembly surrounded by the first insert assembly and configured to be engaged with the first insert assembly, the second insert assembly having a dust inlet in communication with the dust collection cavity, and the second insert assembly being a flat plate frame structure arranged parallel to the first insert assembly and covering the opening of the first insert assembly.
Gao, however, the engagement member includes: a first insert assembly (2111; Fig. 7) provided at the dust collection assembly main body (3000) and configured to be engaged with the engagement matching member (Paragraph [0053]); the first insert assembly (2111) being a flat plate frame structure (Fig. 7) of a gate shape (Fig. 7) with an opening facing the front surface (Fig. 7) of the base station main body (Fig. 3); and a second insert assembly (2113) surrounded by the first insert assembly (2111) and configured to be engaged with the first insert assembly (Fig. 7), the second insert assembly (2113) having a dust inlet (2112) in communication with the dust collection cavity (Fig. 7), and the second insert assembly (2113) being a flat plate frame structure (Fig. 6) arranged parallel to the first insert assembly (2111; Fig. 6) and covering the opening of the first insert assembly (2111; Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust collection assembly of Miao to further include a first insert assembly provided at the dust collection assembly main body and configured to be engaged with the engagement matching member, the first insert assembly being a flat plate frame structure of a gate shape with an opening facing the front surface of the base station main body; and a second insert assembly surrounded by the first insert assembly and configured to be engaged with the first insert assembly, the second insert assembly having a dust inlet in communication with the dust collection cavity, and the second insert assembly being a flat plate frame structure arranged parallel to the first insert assembly and covering the opening of the first insert assembly, as taught by Gao to provide a simple and convenient method for users to clean up and maintain the robot maintenance station regularly.
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miao et al. (Chinese Publication No.: CN 115012168 A) in view of Gao et al. (CN114587212 S) citing U. S. Equivalent (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2025/0064281 A1) and Conrad (US Publication No.: US 2022/0015593 A1).
In reference to claim 35, Miao teaches the sweeper (3000, Miao et al. Fig 1) but does expressly teach the sweeper has an air inlet and dust discharge port that are arranged at two opposite sides of the sweeper body.
Conrad, however, teaches the air inlet (144, Conrad Paragraph 121) and the dust discharge port (140, Conrad Paragraph 114) are arranged at two opposite sides of the sweeper body (see annotated Conrad Fig 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sweeper of Miao et al. to include the sweeper has an air inlet and dust discharge port that are arranged at two opposite sides of the sweeper body, as taught by Conrad, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicants Arguments/Remarks dated June 29, 2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 17 – 21, 27 and 29 – 29 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Gao.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723