DETAILED ACTIONS
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 19, 2025 and October 10, 2025 was filed after the mailing date of the application on December 12, 2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miao et al. (Chinese Publication No.: CN 115012168 A) in view of Wang et al. (Chinese Publication No.: CN 113040649 A).
In reference to claim 17, Miao et al. discloses a dust collection assembly comprising: a dust collection assembly main body (2, Miao et al. Fig 6, Paragraph 6) configured to be removably provided in a base station main body (1000, Miao et al. Fig 1), the dust collection assembly main body being detachable from a front surface of the base station main body (Miao et al. Paragraph 60); wherein: the dust collection assembly main body has a dust collection cavity (see annotated Miao et al. Fig 6) formed in the dust collection assembly main body; and the dust collection assembly main body is in communication with a dust suction pipe (21, Miao Fig 6, Paragraphs 64-65 of the base station main body.
Miao et al. however, does not disclose that the dust collection assembly includes an engagement member provided at a side surface of the dust collection assembly main body and that the engagement member being configured to be engaged with an engagement matching member of the base station main body and limited by the engagement matching member.
Wang et al. discloses a base station (1, Wang et al. Fig 2) for a sweeper (Wang et al. Paragraph 1) and teaches that the dust collection assembly includes an engagement member (see annotated Wang et al. Fig 2 and Paragraph 36 and 38) being configured to be engaged with an engagement matching member (see annotated Wang et al. Fig 5 and Paragraph 36 and 38) of the base station main body and limited by the engagement matching member, allowing the dust collection assembly main body to be in communications with a dust pipe (14, Wang et al. Fig 2) of the base station main body; the engagement member further provided at the bottom and top of the dust collection assembly main body (see annotated Wang et al. Fig 1).
Wang et al. does not disclose that the engagement member and its matching engagement member is located at the side of the dust collection assembly.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust collection assembly of Miao et al. with the engagement member and its matching engagement member of Wang et al. in order to enable the communication between the dust collection assembly and dust suction pipe.
It would have also been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the location of the engagement member and its matching member on the dust collection assembly of Miao et al. as modified by Wang et al. since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 Section VI, Part C).
In reference to claim 18, Miao et al. discloses that the dust collection assembly main body (2, Miao et al. Fig 6, Paragraph 6) includes a dust bag (222, Miao et al. Fig 6, Paragraph 70).
Miao et al. does not disclose an engagement member or that the engagement member includes an insert provided at the dust collection assembly main body, the insert being configured to be engaged with the engagement matching member.
Wang et al. teaches that it is known to have a dust collection assembly with an engagement member (see annotated Wang et al. Fig 2 and Paragraph 36 and 38) that includes an insert (13, Wang et al. Paragraph 55) provided at the dust collection assembly main body (1, Wang et al. Paragraph 49), where the insert is configured to be engaged with the engagement matching member (see annotated Wang et al. Fig 5 and Paragraph 36 and 38).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust collection assembly of Miao et al. with the engagement member, matching engagement member, and insert of Wang et al. in order to enable the communication between the dust collection assembly and dust suction pipe.
In reference to claim 19, Miao et al. discloses the dust collection assembly main body (2, Miao et al. Fig 6, Paragraph 6) with a dust collection cavity (see Miao et al. annotated Fig 6) and dust inlet (see Miao et al. annotated Fig 6).
Miao et al does not disclose the engagement member and that it includes: a first insert assembly provided at the dust collection assembly main body and configured to be engaged with the engagement matching member; and a second insert assembly surrounded by the first insert assembly and configured to be engaged with the first insert assembly, the second insert assembly having a dust inlet in communication with the dust collection cavity.
Wang et al. teaches that it is known to have a dust collection assembly with an engagement member (see annotated Wang et al. Fig 2 and Paragraph 36 and 38) that includes: a first insert assembly (13, Wang et al. Fig 2) provided at the dust collection assembly main body (1, Wang et al. Fig 6, Paragraph 6) and configured to be engaged with the engagement matching member (see annotated Wang et al. Fig 5 and Paragraph 36 and 38); and a second insert assembly (23, Wang et al Fig 5) surrounded by the first insert assembly and configured to be engaged with the first insert assembly, the second insert assembly having a dust inlet (16, Wang et al. Fig 2) in communication with the dust collection cavity (see annotated Wang et al. Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust collection assembly of Miao et al. with an engagement member, matching engagement member and first and second insert assemblies as taught by Wang et al. in order to detachably connect the dust collection assembly to the main body.
In reference to claim 20, Miao et al. discloses a dust collection assembly (2, Miao et al. Fig 6, Paragraph 6) but does not disclose a first insert assembly that has insertion slots formed at two opposite sides of the first insert assembly, that each of the insertion slots being configured to be engaged with the second insert assembly; a side of the insertion slot facing away from the dust collection assembly main body is provided with a plurality of limit protrusions arranged at intervals, and that the plurality of limit protrusions being configured to abut with the second insert assembly.
Wang et al. teaches that it is known to have a dust collection assembly with a first insert assembly (13, Wang et al. Fig 2) that has insertion slots (12 and 14, Wang et al. Fig 2) formed at two opposite sides of the first insert assembly, that each of the insertion slots being configured to be engaged with the second insert assembly (23, Wang et al. Fig 5); a side of the insertion slot facing away from the dust collection assembly main body is provided with a protrusion (15, Wang et al. Fig 2) that abuts with the second insert assembly.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust collection assembly of Miao et al. with an insertion slot to enable the engagement member, matching engagement member and first and second insert assemblies to connect as taught by Wang et al. in order to detachably connect the dust collection assembly to the main body. While the dust collection assembly of Miao et al. as modified by Wang et al. only discloses of one protrusion that abuts with the second insert assembly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust collection assembly of Miao et al. as modified by Wang et al. and only have one protrusion since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04, Section VI, Part B).
In reference to claim 21, Miao et al. discloses a dust collection assembly (2, Miao et al. Fig 6, Paragraph 6) and a dust inlet (12, Miao et al. Paragraph 38) but does not disclose a second insert assembly, a first stopper and a second stopper that are sequentially arranged at each of the insertion slots; a second insert assembly that is provided with a projection, the projection being configured to allow the second insert assembly to shield an opening of the dust collection cavity when the projection abuts with the first stopper, and to bring the dust inlet into communication with the dust collection cavity when the projection abuts with the second stopper.
Wang et al. teaches that it is known to have a dust collection assembly with a second insert assembly (23, Wang et al. Fig 5), a first stopper (Wang et al. Paragraph 52,wedge block) and a second stopper (Wang et al. Paragraph 52) are sequentially arranged at each of the insertion slots; and the second insert assembly is provided with a projection (Wang et al. Paragraph 52, limiting component), the projection being configured to allow the second insert assembly to shield an opening of the dust collection cavity when the projection abuts with the first stopper, and to bring the dust inlet (16, Wang et al. Fig 2) into communication with the dust collection cavity when the projection abuts with the second stopper.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust collection assembly of Miao et al. with an insert assembly and stoppers as taught by Wang et al. in order to securely connect the dust collection assembly to the main body.
In reference to claims 22 - 26, Miao et al. as modified by Wang et al. discloses the dust collection assembly as described from claims 17-21 wherein the dust collection assembly main body (2, Miao et al. Fig 6, Paragraph 6) is arranged at a right side of the front surface of the base station main body (Miao et al. Fig 6, Paragraph 7).
Claims 27-29 and 31-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miao et al. (Chinese Publication No.: CN 115012168 A) in view of Wang et al. (Chinese Publication No.: CN 113040649 A) and in further view of Conrad (US Publication No.: US 2022/0015593 A1).
In reference to claim 27, Miao et al. discloses a sweeper base station comprising: a base station main body (1000, Miao et al. Fig 1) having an accommodation cavity (see annotated Miao et al. Fig 1) formed at a front surface of the base station main body and including: a dust suction pipe (21, Miao et al. Fig 6) including: a dust suction end (Miao et al. Paragraph 62, Fig 6) configured to be in communication with a sweeper body (3000, Miao et al. Paragraph 62); and a dust outlet (Miao et al. Paragraph 65 lines 2-3) end located at a side wall of the accommodation cavity (see annotated Miao et al. Fig 6); an air return pipe (25, Miao et al. Paragraph 64, Fig 5) including: an air inlet end (Miao et al. Paragraph 64) in communication with the accommodation cavity (see annotated Miao et al. Fig 1); and an air outlet end (Miao et al. Paragraph 64) configured to be in communication with the sweeper body; a dust suction pump (23, Paragraph 81) disposed at the dust suction pipe or the air return pipe.
Miao et al. also discloses that the dust collection assembly includes a dust collection assembly main body (2, Miao et al. Fig 6, Paragraph 6) removably connected to the accommodation cavity (see annotated Miao et al Fig 6) and detachable from a front surface of the base station main body wherein: the dust collection assembly main body has a dust collection cavity (see annotated Miao et al. Fig 6) formed in the dust collection assembly main body and that the dust collection assembly contains a dust suction pipe (21, Miao Fig 6, Paragraph 128).
Miao et al. however, does not disclose that the dust collection assembly includes an engagement member provided at a side surface of the dust collection assembly main body the engagement member being configured to be engaged with the engagement matching member of the base station main body and limited by the engagement matching member, allowing the dust collection assembly main body to be in communication with the dust suction pipe of the base station main body. Miao et al. also does not expressly disclose that the sweeper body has a dust discharge port and air inlet.
Wang et al. teaches that it is known to have a dust collection assembly with an engagement member (see annotated Wang et al. Fig 2 and Paragraph 36 and 38) member provided at a side surface of the dust collection assembly main body the engagement member (see annotated Wang et al. Fig 2 and Paragraph 36 and 38) being configured to be engaged with the engagement matching member (see annotated Wang et al. Fig 5 and Paragraph 36 and 38) of the base station main body and limited by the engagement matching member, allowing the dust collection assembly main body to be in communication with the dust suction pipe of the base station main body.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust collection assembly of Miao et al. with the engagement member and its matching engagement member of Wang et al. in order to enable the communication between the dust collection assembly and dust suction pipe.
Conrad, further, teaches that it is known to have a sweeper body having an air inlet (144, Conrad Paragraph 121) and dust discharge port (140, Conrad Paragraph 114).
It would also have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust collection assembly of Miao et al. as modified by Wang et al. to include an air inlet and dust discharge port on the sweeper main body, as taught by Conrad, in order for the sweeper to capture dirt around its environment and for the dust collection assembly to collect the dust collected by the sweeper.
In reference to claim 28, Miao et al. as modified by Wang et al. and as further modified by Conrad, discloses a sweeper base station (1000, Miao et al. Fig 1) with a dust outlet end of the dust suction pipe (21, Miao Fig 6, Paragraph 128) that is in communication with the dust collection cavity (see annotated Miao et al. Fig 6) through the engagement member (see annotated Wang et al. Fig 2 and Paragraph 36 and 38).
Miao et al. as modified by Wang et al. and as further modified by Conrad however, does not disclose that the engagement member is disposed at the right side of the dust collection assembly main body.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the location of the engagement member on the sweeper base station of Miao et al. as modified by Wang et al. and as claimed since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 Section VI, Part C).
In reference to claim 29, Miao et al. as modified by Wang et al. and as further modified by Conrad discloses the sweeper base station as disclosed in claim 28 wherein at least part of the dust suction pipe (21, Miao et al. Fig 6) is arranged around a top (see annotated Miao et al. Fig 4) of the base station main body.
In reference to claim 31, Miao et al. as modified by Wang et al. and as further modified by Conrad discloses the sweeper base station as disclosed in claim 27 wherein the air inlet end of the air return pipe (25, Miao et al. Fig 5) is located at an inner wall (see annotated Miao et al. Fig 5) of an end of the accommodation cavity opposite to the opening (see annotated Miao et al. Fig 4).
In reference to claim 32, Miao et al. as modified by Wang et al. discloses the sweeper base station as disclosed in claim 31 wherein the air return pipe (25, Miao et al. Fig 5) is arranged around a back surface of the base station main body (see annotated Miao et al. Fig. 5).
In reference to claim 33, Miao et al. as modified by Wang et al. and as further modified by Conrad discloses the sweeper base station as disclosed in claim 27, wherein the air inlet (15, Miao et al. Fig 6) end of the air return pipe is provided with a filter (222, Miao et al. Paragraphs 66-67).
In reference to claim 34, Miao et al. discloses a sweeper (3000, Miao et al. Fig 1) a sweeper base station (1000, Miao et al. Fig 1) configured to accommodate the sweeper body and including: a base station main body (1000, Miao et al. Fig 1) having an accommodation cavity (see annotated Miao et al. Fig 1) formed at a front surface of the base station main body and including: a dust suction pipe (21, Miao Fig 6, Paragraph 128) including: a dust suction end (end of dust suction pipe 21, Miao et al. Fig 6) configured to be in communication with sweeper body; and a dust outlet end (Miao et al. Paragraph 65 lines 2-3) located at a side wall of the accommodation cavity (see annotated Miao et al. Fig 1); an air return pipe (25, Miao et al. Paragraph 64, Fig 5) including: an air inlet end (Miao et al. Paragraph 64) in communication with the accommodation cavity (see annotated Miao et al. Fig 1); and an air outlet end (Miao et al. Paragraph 64) configured to be in communication with the sweeper body; a dust suction pump (23, Paragraph 81) disposed at the dust suction pipe or the air return pipe (see annotated Miao et al. Fig 5)
Miao et al. however, does not disclose that the dust collection assembly includes an engagement member provided at a side surface of the dust collection assembly main body the engagement member being configured to be engaged with the engagement matching member of the base station main body and limited by the engagement matching member, allowing the dust collection assembly main body to be in communication with the dust suction pipe of the base station main body. Miao et al. also does not expressly disclose that the sweeper body has an air inlet and dust discharge port.
Wang et al. teaches that it is known to have a dust collection assembly with an engagement member (see annotated Wang et al. Fig 2 and Paragraph 36 and 38) provided at a side surface of the dust collection assembly main body the engagement member (see annotated Wang et al. Fig 2 and Paragraph 36 and 38) being configured to be engaged with the engagement matching member (see annotated Wang et al. Fig 5 and Paragraph 36 and 38) of the base station main body and limited by the engagement matching member, allowing the dust collection assembly main body to be in communication with the dust suction pipe of the base station main body.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust collection assembly of Miao et al. with the engagement member and its matching engagement member as taught by Wang et al. in order to enable the communication between the dust collection assembly and dust suction pipe.
Conrad, further, teaches that it is known to have a sweeper body having an air inlet (144, Conrad Paragraph 121) and dust discharge port (140, Conrad Paragraph 114).
It would also have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust collection assembly of Miao et al. as modified by Wang et al. to include an air inlet and dust discharge port on the sweeper main body, as taught by Conrad, in order for the sweeper to capture dirt around its environment and for the dust collection assembly to collect the dust collected by the sweeper.
In reference to claim 35, Miao et al. discloses a sweeper (3000, Miao et al. Fig 1) but does expressly disclose that the sweeper has an air inlet and dust discharge port that are arranged at two opposite sides of the sweeper body
Conrad discloses that the air inlet (144, Conrad Paragraph 121) and the dust discharge port (140, Conrad Paragraph 114) are arranged at two opposite sides of the sweeper body (see annotated Conrad Fig 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sweeper of Miao et al. to include an air inlet and dust discharge port on the sweeper main body, as taught by Conrad, in order for the sweeper to capture dirt around its environment and to enable communication with the dust collection assembly to collect the dust gathered by the sweeper.
In reference to claim 36, Miao et al discloses a cleaning apparatus comprising: a washing device (4000, Miao et al. Fig 1); and a sweeper (3000, Miao et al. Fig 1) disposed below the washing device. Miao et al. continues to disclose a sweeper base station (1000, Miao et al. Fig 1) configured to accommodate the sweeper body (3000, Miao et al. Fig 1) and including: a base station main body (1000, Miao et al. Fig 6) having an accommodation cavity (see Miao et al. annotated Fig 1) formed at a front surface of the base station main body and including: a dust suction pipe (21, Miao Fig 6, Paragraph 128) including: a dust suction end (Miao et al. Paragraph 62, Fig 6) configured to be in communication with the sweeper body; and a dust outlet end (Miao et al. Paragraph 65 lines 2-3) located at a side wall (see Miao et al. annotated Fig 4) of the accommodation cavity (see Miao et al. annotated Fig 1); an air return pipe (25, Miao et al. Fig 5) including: an air inlet end (15, Miao et al. Fig 6) in communication with the accommodation cavity (see Miao et al. annotated Fig 1) and an air outlet end (Miao et al. Paragraph 64) configured to be in communication with the sweeper body; a dust suction pump (23, Miao et al. Paragraph 68) disposed at the dust suction pipe or the air return pipe; wherein: the dust collection assembly main body (2, Miao et al. Fig 6, Paragraph 6) has a dust collection cavity (see annotated Miao et al. Fig 6) formed in the dust collection assembly main body.
Miao et al. however, does not expressly disclose a sweeper body having an air inlet and a dust discharge port, the dust collection assembly having an engagement matching member so that the dust collection assembly is removably connected to the accommodation cavity and detachable from a front surface of the base station main body, and the dust collection assembly includes an engagement member provided at a side surface of the dust collection assembly main body, the engagement member being configured to be engaged with the engagement matching member of the base station main body and limited by the engagement matching member, allowing the dust collection assembly main body to be in communication with the dust suction pipe of the base station main body.
Wang et al. discloses a base station (1, Wang et al. Fig 2) for a sweeper (Wang et al. Paragraph 1) and teaches that the dust collection assembly includes an engagement member (see annotated Wang et al. Fig 2 and Paragraph 36 and 38) and engagement matching member (see annotated Wang et al. Fig 5 and Paragraph 36 and 38) provided at the bottom and top of the dust collection assembly main body. Wang et al. does not disclose that the engagement member and its matching engagement member is located at the side of the dust collection assembly.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust collection assembly of Miao et al. with the engagement member and its matching engagement member as taught by Wang et al. in order to enable the communication between the dust collection assembly and dust suction pipe. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the location of the engagement member and its matching member on the dust collection assembly of Miao et al. as modified by Wang et al. since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 Section VI, Part C).
Conrad, further teaches that it is known to have a sweeper body having an air inlet (144, Conrad Paragraph 121) and dust discharge port (140, Conrad Paragraph 114).
It would also have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaning apparatus of Miao et al. as modified by Wang et al. to include an air inlet and dust discharge port on the sweeper main body, as taught by Conrad, in order for the sweeper to capture dirt around its environment and for the dust collection assembly to collect the dust collected by the sweeper.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miao et al. (Chinese Publication No.: CN 115012168 A) in view of Wang et al. (Chinese Publication No.: CN 113040649 A) in further view of Conrad (US Publication No.: US 2022/0015593 A1) and in further view of Gao et al. (CN114587212 A) citing U. S. equivalent (US Publication No.: US 2025/0064281 A1).
In reference to claim 30, Miao et al. as modified by Wang et al. and as further modified by Conrad discloses the sweeper base station as disclosed in claim 27. However, the sweeper base station of Miao et al. as modified by Wang et al. and as further modified by Conrad does not disclose of a shield member provided at the base station main body in an openable or closable manner and configured to shield an opening of the accommodation cavity.
Gao et al. teaches that it is known in the art to provide a shield member (2113, Gao et al. Paragraph 71, lines 4-7) at the base station main body in an openable or closable manner and configured to shield an opening (see annotated Gao et al. Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust collection assembly of Miao et al. as modified by Wang et al. and add a shield member as taught by Gao et al. in order to shield the base station’s opening and its components from being exposed to the exterior environment.
While Gao et al. does not explicitly state that the shield member is configured to shield the accommodation cavity, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the shield member to cover and protect the internal components of the base station and attach it by the opening of the accommodation cavity since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 Section VI, Part C).
Conclusion
/TRISHA JOY U FRANCISCO/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723