DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 11, 12, 16, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MA( CN 111901592).
Regarding claim 1, MA teaches a system ( [0031], computer) for deep learning-based video processing (DLVP), the system comprising:
a first neural network associated with generating kernel weights ( [0056], S102 uses reconstructed pixels as labels to synchronously update the neural network weights of the predictive coding module ); and
a second neural network associated with filtering image pixels ([0054], S101, with the help of a neural network, generates predicted pixels based on the original pixels or further enhances the predicted pixels after obtaining them) for the DLVP, the second neural network using a second hardware device,
wherein the second neural network is configured to receive a first image and the kernel weights, and generate filtered image data based on the first image and the kernel weights(([0054], S101, with the help of a neural network, generates predicted pixels based on the original pixels) , and
wherein the first neural network is configured to receive a second image and generate the kernel weights based on the second image, the first image preceding the second image in a series of images([0056], S102 uses reconstructed pixels as labels to synchronously update the neural network weights of the predictive coding module ).
Regarding claim 2, MA teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the first neural network comprises a plurality of encoders, a plurality of decoders, and a weight predictor associated with generating the kernel weights based on image data decoded by the plurality of decoders( [0056], S102 … synchronously update the neural network weights of the predictive coding module at the encoder-decoder end).
Regarding claim 6, MA teaches the system of any of claim 2, wherein the second neural network comprises a first plurality of filtering layers and a second plurality of filtering layers ( [0025], updating the weights of all layers and updating only the weights of a few layers).
Claims 11, 12, 16 recite the methods in claims 1, 2, 6 , thus are also rejected.
Claim 20 recites the device for claim 1. Since MA also teaches a device (( [0031], computer).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5, 7-10, 13-15, 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MA.
Regarding claim 3, MA teaches the system of claim 2.
MA does not expressly teach wherein the plurality of encoders comprises a convolution layer, a parametric rectified linear unit (PReLU) layer, and a pooling layer.
However, official notice is taken that it is routine and conventional to implement neural network encoders comprising a convolution layer, a parametric rectified linear unit (PReLU) layer, and a pooling layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the encoders in MA following industry standard practice, with motivation for fast implementation and cost savings.
Regarding claim 4, MA teaches the system of claim 2.
MA does not expressly teach wherein the plurality of decoders comprises a upsampling layer, a convolution layer, and a PReLU layer.
However, official notice is taken that it is routine and conventional to implement neural network decoders comprising a upsampling layer, a convolution layer, and a PReLU layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the encoders in MA following industry standard practice, with motivation for fast implementation and cost savings.
Regarding claim 5, MA teaches the system of claim 2.
MA does not expressly teach wherein the weight predictor comprises a 3x3 convolution layer associated with generating the kernel weights.
However, official notice is taken that it is routine and conventional to implement neural network layers with 3x3 patches.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the encoders in MA following industry standard practice, with motivation for fast implementation and cost savings.
Regarding claim 7, MA teaches the system of claim 6, wherein the first plurality of filtering layers comprises a convolution layer ([0024], updating the weights of convolutional layers, pooling layers, activation layers, etc.).
MA does not teach an average pooling layer.
However, official notice is taken that it is routine and conventional to implement a pooling layer with an average pooling layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the encoders in MA following industry standard practice, with motivation for fast implementation and cost savings.
Regarding claim 8, MA teaches the system of claim 7, wherein the convolution layer receives the kernel weights ( [0025], updating the weights of all layers and updating only the weights of a few layers) .
Regarding claim 9, MA teaches the system of claim 6, wherein the second plurality of filtering layers comprises a convolution layer ([0024], updating the weights of convolutional layers, pooling layers, activation layers, etc.).
MA does not teach an upsampling layer.
However, official notice is taken that it is routine and conventional to implement a convolutional layer with an upsampling area.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the encoders in MA following industry standard practice, with motivation for higher resolution images, fast implementation and cost savings.
Regarding claim 10, MA teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the convolution layer receives the kernel weights([0024], updating the weights of convolutional layers, pooling layers, activation layers, etc.).
Claims 13-15, 17-19 recite the methods in claims 3-5, 7-10, thus are also rejected.
Conclusion
JIANGENG SUN
Examiner
Art Unit 2671
/Jiangeng Sun/Examiner, Art Unit 2671