DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 12, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
This is in response to applicant’s amendment/response filed on November 19th, 2025 which have been entered and made of record.
Applicant’s arguments regarding objections to the Abstract have been fully considered and are persuasive. Objections to the Abstract have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments regarding claim interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) regarding claim 10 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments regarding claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive and now moot. Claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments regarding claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the Office Action asserts that OpenGL discloses fusing optical signals, and those skilled in the art would be motivated to modify Lustica's Image conversion from SDR to HDR to incorporate OpenGL' s method of fusing images, since doing so would provide the benefit of fusing images that are in different display standards.
OpenGL is also silent about fusing optical signals. The blending equation of OpenGL refers to directly fusing two images rather than fusing optical signals; for this reason, the coefficient of the foreground image color in the equation in OpenGL is the foreground image's transparency (alpha), while the coefficient of the foreground optical signal in Applicant's fusing operation is the shading rate (1-q)(see paragraph [0109] and claim 5 of the disclosure). Further, neither Lustica nor OpenGL disclose or teach fusing images of different display standards through fusing optical signals, those skilled in the art would not be motivated to modify Lustica to incorporate OpenGL, let alone arrive at the claimed invention of claim 1.
Examiner respectable disagrees, in the specification color values are optical signals (Para. 0072). Light transmittance is described as the following in the specification “Light transmittance of the foreground image may be a light transmittance set by a person editing images as needed or a default light transmittance.” (Para. 0064). The standard definition of light transmittance refers to the amount of light that can pass through a material. Thus, examiner has interpreted light transmittance to be the transparency of the image. As the transparency of the image can be set by a person editing an image, involves the colors of the pixels, and transparency directly relates to how much light/color can be viewed through an image. Then in the specification shading rate is described as the following “the shading rate of the foreground image is a difference between 1 and the light transmittance of the foreground image” (Para. 0020) Thus, the shading rate is the difference between 1 and the transparency.
In the specification para. 0099-0111 and Fig. 4 describe the fusing of optical signals (color values) limitation. The following is the Applicants Fusing Operation used to fuse optical signals:
Since optical signals can be color values of an image and light transmittance is the transparency/alpha value of an image. Applicants Fusing Operations is the same as OpenGL’s fusing image equation as it fuses color values from images using transparency/alpha values which is shown below:
Thus, OpenGL teaches fusing of optical signals.
Applicant argues Lustica only refers to converting a single image to the optical signal and is silent about fusing the optical signals respectively corresponding to two images of different color display standards to obtain a fused image, as described by the above features of claim 1. Even Pedzisz fails to remedy deficiencies of Lustica and OpenGL, because Pedzisz also fails to disclose the above features of claim 1. Pedzisz discloses a conversion between different color spaces for a single image. Pedzisz is still silent about fusing optical signals to fuse images of different display standards.
Examiner respectable disagrees, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Claim Interpretation
The specification contains a list of defined definitions by applicant, the definitions have been restated below to make clear on the record the defined definitions.
First Color Display Standard - defined as a color display standard with which a foreground image complies. The following description is made by taking for example that the first color display standard is a standard dynamic range (SDR) color display standard.
First Color Space - defined as a color space of the first color display standard. When the first color display standard is the SDR color display standard, the first color space is bt.709.
Second Color Display Standard - defined as a color display standard with which a background image complies. The following description is made by taking for example that the second color display standard is a high dynamic range (HDR) color display standard.
Second Color Space - defined as a color space of the second color display standard. When the second color display standard is a hybrid log gamma (HLG) color display standard, the second color space is bt.2020.
First Optical Signal Set - it is an optical signal set obtained by converting colors of pixels of a foreground image into optical signals in the second color space.
Second Optical Signal Set - it is an optical signal set obtained by converting colors of pixels of a background image into optical signals in the second color space.
Third Optical Signal Set - it is an optical signal set obtained by fusing the optical signals in the first optical signal set and the second optical signal set based on a light transmittance of the foreground image.
Fourth Optical Signal Set - it is an optical signal set obtained by converting colors of pixels of the foreground image into optical signals in the second color space.
First Color Set - it is a color set obtained by converting the optical signals in the third optical signal set into the colors in the second color space.
Second Color Set - it is a color set obtained by performing histogram equalization on colors in the first color set.
Third Color Set - it is a color set obtained by performing weighted mixing on the colors in the first color set and the colors in the second color set.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) are: First Conversion Unit in claim 10. Being interpreted as a standard computer component that performs the image processing method, such as a processor, memory, storage medium, and etc.… (Para. 0156 and 0171)
Second Conversion Unit in claim 10. Being interpreted as a standard computer component that performs the image processing method, such as a processor, memory, storage medium, and etc.… (Para. 0156 and 0171)
Fusion Unit in claim 10. Being interpreted as a standard computer component that performs the image processing method, such as a processor, memory, storage medium, and etc.… (Para. 0156 and 0171)
Obtaining Unit in claim 10. Being interpreted as a standard computer component that performs the image processing method, such as a processor, memory, storage medium, and etc.… (Para. 0156 and 0171)
Because these claim limitation(s) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 9-12, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL “Live HDR Workflow” by Alen Lustica (hereinafter Lustica) in view of Website Tutorial “Blending” by OpenGL (hereinafter OpenGL) and NPL “Beyond BT.709” by Maciej Pedzisz (hereinafter Pedzisz).
Regarding claim 1, Lustica teaches an image processing method, comprising:
converting colors of pixels of a foreground image (Live Video Feed) from colors in a first color space (bt.709) of a first color display standard (SDR) into optical signals under a second color display standard (HDR) to obtain a first optical signal set; (Section II. Wider Color Gamut and Section B. EOTF Para. 1 and 4) Converting an image from the color space bt.709 in SDR to optical signals for bt.2020 in HDR and vice versa is a known conversion.
converting colors of pixels of a background image (Live Video Feed) from colors in a second color space (bt.2020) of the second color display standard (HDR) into optical signals under the second color display standard (HDR) to obtain a second optical signal set; (Section II. Wider Color Gamut and Section B. EOTF Para. 1 and 4)
However, Lustica fails to teach:
A background image and a Foreground Image;
fusing the optical signals in the first optical signal set and the second optical signal set based on a light transmittance of the foreground image to obtain a third optical signal set;
and converting optical signals in the third optical signal set into colors in the second color space to obtain a fused image of the foreground image and the background image.
Lustica and OpenGL are analogous to the claimed invention because both of them are in the same field of converting color pixels.
OpenGL teaches:
A Background Image (Red Square Image) and a Foreground Image; (Green Square Image, Section: Blending Page 6) OpenGL details how to blend a foreground and a background image together.
fusing the optical signals in the first optical signal set and the second optical signal set based on a light transmittance (Transparency/Alpha Value) of the foreground image (Green Square Image) to obtain a third optical signal set; (Section Blending, Pages 5-7) To fuse two images together in different color spaces and display standards. The images need to be converted to the same color space and display standard. Fusing image using the transparency/Alpha value and the RGB color values is a known standard. See Blending Equation Figure 2, Page 6 Below compared to Applicants Fusing Operation Para. 00109
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lustica’s Image Conversion from SDR to HDR to incorporate OpenGL’s method of fusing images. Since doing so would provide the benefit of fusing/superimposing images that are in different display standards
However, Lustica and OpenGL fail to teach:
and converting optical signals in the third optical signal set into colors in the second color space to obtain a fused image of the foreground image and the background image.
Lustica, Open GL, and Pedzisz are analogous to the claimed invention because all of them are in the same field of converting color pixels.
Pedzisz teaches:
and converting optical signals in the third optical signal set into colors in the second color space (bt.2020) to obtain a fused image of the foreground image and the background image. (Section: Color Matching) Converting bt.709 color space to bt.2020 color space is a known conversion. Most raster graphics editors such as Photoshop have built in tools to change the color space of an image as well as convert an image into a new display standard.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lustica’s conversion of SDR to HDR altered by OpenGL’s image fusion method to incorporate Pedzisz’s conversion of bt.709 color space to bt.2020 color space. Since doing so would provide the benefit of fusing images in different color spaces to the same color space.
Regarding claim 4, Lustica fails to teach the image processing method according to claim 1, wherein the fusing the optical signals in the first optical signal set and the second optical signal set based on a light transmittance of the foreground image to obtain a third optical signal set comprises:
performing weighted fusion on optical signals having same pixel coordinates in the first optical signal set and the second optical signal set based on the light transmittance of the foreground image to obtain a fused optical signal set;
and generating the third optical signal set according to the fused optical signal set, optical signals having different pixel coordinates from any optical signal in the second optical signal set among the optical signals in the first optical signal set, and optical signals having different pixel coordinates from any optical signal in the first optical signal set among the optical signals in the second optical signal set.
However, OpenGL teaches the image processing method according to claim 1, wherein the fusing the optical signals in the first optical signal set and the second optical signal set based on a light transmittance (Transparency/Alpha Value) of the foreground image (Green Square Image) to obtain a third optical signal set comprises: (Section Blending, Pages 5-7)
performing weighted fusion (Blending Equation, Figure 2 Above) on optical signals having same pixel coordinates in the first optical signal set and the second optical signal set based on the light transmittance (Transparency/Alpha Value) of the foreground image (Green Square Image) to obtain a fused optical signal set; (Section Blending, Pages 5-7) The same pixel coordinate in the images to be fused are the pixels that overlap. Hence, a weighted fusion is required for these pixels to determine how much of each image will be showed when they are fused.
and generating the third optical signal set according to the fused optical signal set, optical signals having different pixel coordinates from any optical signal in the second optical signal set among the optical signals in the first optical signal set, and optical signals having different pixel coordinates from any optical signal in the first optical signal set among the optical signals in the second optical signal set. (Section Blending, Pages 5-7) The pixels that have different coordinates, are pixels that will not overlap, when the images are fused.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lustica’s Image Conversion from SDR to HDR to incorporate OpenGL’s method of fusing images. Since doing so would provide the benefit of fusing/superimposing images that are in different display standards
Regarding claim 5, Lustica fails to teach the image processing method according to claim 4, wherein the performing weighted fusion on the optical signals having same pixel coordinates in the first optical signal set and the second optical signal set based on the light transmittance of the foreground image to obtain a fused optical signal set comprises:
obtaining a weight value of a first optical signal in the first optical signal set, wherein the weight value of the first optical signal is a product of the first optical signal and a shading rate of the foreground image, and the shading rate of the foreground image is a difference between 1 and the light transmittance of the foreground image;
obtaining a weight value of a second optical signal in the second optical signal set, wherein the first optical signal and the second optical signal have, and the weight value of the second optical signal is a product of the second optical signal and the light transmittance of the foreground image;
obtaining a sum of the weight value of the first optical signal and the weight value of the second optical signal as a fusion result of the first optical signal and the second optical signal;
and generating the fused optical signal set according to fusion results of the optical signals having the same pixel coordinates in the first optical signal set and the second optical signal set.
However, OpenGL teaches the image processing method according to claim 4, wherein the performing weighted fusion (Blending Equation, Figure 2 Above) on the optical signals having same pixel coordinates in the first optical signal set and the second optical signal set based on the light transmittance (Transparency/Alpha Value) of the foreground image (Green Square Image) to obtain a fused optical signal set comprises: (Section Blending, Pages 5-7)
obtaining a weight value of a first optical signal in the first optical signal set, wherein the weight value of the first optical signal is a product of the first optical signal and a shading rate of the foreground image (Green Square Image), and the shading rate of the foreground image is a difference between 1 and the light transmittance (Transparency/Alpha Value) of the foreground image (Green Square Image); (Section Blending, Pages 5-7)
obtaining a weight value of a second optical signal in the second optical signal set, wherein the first optical signal and the second optical signal have, and the weight value of the second optical signal is a product of the second optical signal and the light transmittance (Transparency/Alpha Value) of the foreground image (Green Square Image); (Section Blending, Pages 5-7)
obtaining a sum of the weight value of the first optical signal and the weight value of the second optical signal as a fusion result of the first optical signal and the second optical signal; (Section Blending, Pages 5-7)
and generating the fused optical signal set according to fusion results of the optical signals having the same pixel coordinates in the first optical signal set and the second optical signal set. (Section Blending, Pages 5-7)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lustica’s Image Conversion from SDR to HDR to incorporate OpenGL’s method of fusing images. Since doing so would provide the benefit of fusing/superimposing images that are in different display standards
Regarding claim 9, Lustica teaches the image processing method according to claim 1, wherein the first color display standard is a standard dynamic range (SDR) color display standard; (Section II. Wider Color Gamut and Section B. EOTF Para. 1 and 4)
and the second color display standard is a high dynamic range (HDR) color display standard. (Section II. Wider Color Gamut and Section B. EOTF Para. 1 and 4)
Regarding claim 10, Lustica teaches an image processing apparatus, comprising:
a first conversion unit (Processor in Display Devices, Section: Abstract) configured to convert colors of pixels of a foreground image (Live Video Feed) from colors in a first color space (bt.709) of a first color display standard (SDR) into optical signals under a second color display standard (HDR) to obtain a first optical signal set; (Section II. Wider Color Gamut and Section B. EOTF Para. 1 and 4)
a second conversion unit (Processor in Display Devices, Section: Abstract) configured to convert colors of pixels of a background image (Live Video Feed) from colors in a second color space (bt.2020) of the second color display standard (HDR) into optical signals under the second color display standard (HDR) to obtain a second optical signal set; (Section II. Wider Color Gamut and Section B. EOTF Para. 1 and 4)
However, Lustica fails to teach:
A Background Image and a Foreground Image;
a fusion unit to fuse the optical signals in the first optical signal set and the second optical signal set based on a light transmittance of the foreground image to obtain a third optical signal set;
and an obtaining unit configured to convert optical signals in the third optical signal set into colors in the second color space to obtain a fused image of the foreground image and the background image.
OpenGL teaches:
A Background Image (Red Square Image) and a Foreground Image; (Green Square Image, Section: Blending Page 6)
a fusion unit (Processor) to fuse the optical signals in the first optical signal set and the second optical signal set based on a light transmittance (Transparency/Alpha Value) of the foreground image (Green Square Image) to obtain a third optical signal set; (Section Blending, Pages 5-7)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lustica’s Image Conversion from SDR to HDR to incorporate OpenGL’s method of fusing images. Since doing so would provide the benefit of fusing/superimposing images that are in different display standards
OpenGL fails to teach:
and an obtaining unit configured to convert optical signals in the third optical signal set into colors in the second color space to obtain a fused image of the foreground image and the background image.
Pedzisz teaches:
and an obtaining unit (Processor in Display Devices, Section: Abstract) configured to convert optical signals in the third optical signal set into colors in the second color space (bt.2020) to obtain a fused image of the foreground image and the background image. (Section: Color Matching)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lustica’s conversion of SDR to HDR altered by OpenGL’s image fusion method to incorporate Pedzisz’s conversion of bt.709 color space to bt.2020 color space. Since doing so would provide the benefit of fusing images in different color spaces to the same color space.
Regarding claim 11, Lustica teaches the method of claim 1 and an electronic device, (Display Devices, Section: Abstract) comprising a memory and a processor, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program; and the processor is configured to, when executing the computer program, enable the electronic device to implement claim 1, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, Lustica teaches a computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program, wherein the image processing method according to claim 1 is implemented by a computing device (Display Devices, Section: Abstract) when the computer program is executed by the computing device. Display Devices can comprise computer parts such as processors and memory.
Regarding claim 16, has similar limitations as of claim 4, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 4.
Regarding claim 17, has similar limitations as of claim 5, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 5.
Claim(s) 2 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL “Live HDR Workflow” by Alen Lustica (hereinafter Lustica) in view of Website Tutorial “Blending” by OpenGL (hereinafter OpenGL) and NPL “Beyond BT.709” by Maciej Pedzisz (hereinafter Pedzisz) in further view of NPL “Recommendation ITU-R BT.1886” by International Telecommunication Union (hereinafter ITU-R BT.1886).
Regarding claim 2, Lustica teaches the image processing method according to claim 1, wherein the converting colors of pixels of a foreground image (Live Video Feed) from colors in a first color space (bt.708) of a first color display standard (SDR) into optical signals under a second color display standard (HDR) to obtain a first optical signal set comprises: (Section II. Wider Color Gamut and Section B. EOTF Para. 1 and 4)
converting the colors of the pixels of the foreground image (Live Video Feed) into optical signals under the first color display standard (SDR) based on an electro-optical transfer function (EOTF) of the first color display standard (SDR) to obtain a fourth optical signal set; (Section II. Wider Color Gamut and Section B. EOTF Para. 1 and 4) Converting images into optical signals using electro-optical transfer function is a known conversion.
and converting the optical signals in the fourth optical signal set into the optical signals under the second color display standard (HDR) to obtain the first optical signal set. (Section II. Wider Color Gamut and Section B. EOTF Para. 1 and 4)
However, Lustica, OpenGL, and Pedzisz fails to explicitly teach:
converting the colors of the pixels of the foreground image into optical signals under the first color display standard based on an electro-optical transfer function of the first color display standard to obtain a fourth optical signal set;
Lustica, OpenGL, Pedzisz, and ITU-R BT.1886 are analogous to the claimed invention because all of them are in the same field of converting images.
ITU-R BT.1886 teaches:
converting the colors of the pixels of the foreground image (TV Picture) into optical signals under the first color display standard (SDR) based on an electro-optical transfer function (EOTF) of the first color display standard (SDR) to obtain a fourth optical signal set; (Annex 1: Reference Electro-Optical Transfer Function, Page 2)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lustica’s Image Conversion from SDR to HDR altered by OpenGL and Pedzisz to incorporate ITU-R BT.1886’s EOTF. Since doing so would provide the benefit of converting images into optical signals.
Regarding claim 14, has similar limitations as of claim 2, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 2.
Claim(s) 3, 6, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL “Live HDR Workflow” by Alen Lustica (hereinafter Lustica) in view of Website Tutorial “Blending” by OpenGL (hereinafter OpenGL) and NPL “Beyond BT.709” by Maciej Pedzisz (hereinafter Pedzisz) in further view of NPL “Recommendation ITU-T H.265” by Telecommunication standardization sector of ITU (hereinafter ITU-T H.265).
Regarding claim 3, Lustica teaches the image processing method according to claim 1, wherein the converting colors of pixels of a background image (Live Video Feed) from colors in a second color space (bt.2020) of the second color display standard (HDR) into optical signals under the second color display standard (HDR) comprises: (Section II. Wider Color Gamut and Section B. EOTF Para. 1 and 4)
converting the colors of the pixels of the background image (Live Video Feed) into the optical signals under the second color display standard (HDR) based on an electro-optical transfer function (EOTF) of the second color display standard (HDR). (Section II. Wider Color Gamut and Section B. EOTF Para. 1 and 4) Converting images into optical signals using electro-optical transfer function is a known conversion.
However, Lustica, OpenGL, Pedzisz fail to explicitly teach:
converting the colors of the pixels of the background image into the optical signals under the second color display standard based on an electro-optical transfer function of the second color display standard.
Lustica, OpenGL, Pedzisz, and ITU-T H.265 are analogous to the claimed invention because all of them are in the same field of converting characteristics of images.
ITU-T H.265 teaches:
converting the colors of the pixels of the background image (Moving Pictures, Page 1) into the optical signals under the second color display standard (HDR/HLG) based on an electro-optical transfer function (EOTF) of the second color display standard. (Table E.4, Row 18, Page 424-425)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lustica’s Image Conversion from SDR to HDR altered by OpenGL and Pedzisz to incorporate ITU-T H.265’s EOTF. Since doing so would provide the benefit of converting images into optical signals.
Regarding claim 6, Lustica fails to teach the image processing method according to claim 1, wherein the converting optical signals in the third optical signal set into the colors in the second color space to obtain a fused image of the foreground image and the background image comprises:
A Background Image and a Foreground Image;
converting the optical signals in the third optical signal set into the colors in the second color space based on an opto-electrical transfer function of the second color display standard to obtain a first color set;
and obtaining the fused image of the foreground image and the background image according to the colors in the first color set and pixel coordinates of the colors in the first color set.
However, OpenGL teaches:
A Background Image (Red Square Image) and a Foreground Image; (Green Square Image, Section: Blending Page 6)
and obtaining the fused image of the foreground image (Green Square Image) and the background image (Red Square Image) according to the colors in the first color set and pixel coordinates of the colors in the first color set.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lustica’s Image Conversion from SDR to HDR to incorporate OpenGL’s method of fusing images. Since doing so would provide the benefit of fusing/superimposing images that are in different display standards
OpenGL fails to teach the image processing method according to claim 1, wherein the converting optical signals in the third optical signal set into the colors in the second color space to obtain a fused image of the foreground image and the background image comprises:
converting the optical signals in the third optical signal set into the colors in the second color space based on an opto-electrical transfer function of the second color display standard to obtain a first color set;
Pedzisz teaches the image processing method according to claim 1, wherein the converting optical signals in the third optical signal set into the colors in the second color space (bt.2020) to obtain a fused image of the foreground image and the background image comprises: (Section: Color Matching)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lustica’s conversion of SDR to HDR altered by OpenGL’s image fusion method to incorporate Pedzisz’s conversion of bt.709 color space to bt.2020 color space. Since doing so would provide the benefit of fusing images in different color spaces to the same color space.
However, Pedzisz fails to teach:
converting the optical signals in the third optical signal set into the colors in the second color space based on an opto-electrical transfer function of the second color display standard to obtain a first color set;
ITU-T H.265 teaches:
converting the optical signals in the third optical signal set into the colors in the second color space based on an opto-electrical transfer function (OETF) of the second color display standard (HDR/HLG) to obtain a first color set; (Table E.4, Row 18, Page 424-425) Converting optical signals into an image using OETF is a known conversion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lustica’s conversion of SDR to HDR altered by OpenGL’s image fusion method and Pedzisz’s conversion of bt.709 color space to bt.2020 color space to incorporate ITU-T H.265 OETF. Since doing so would provide the benefit of converting images into optical signals.
Regarding claim 15, has similar limitations as of claim 3, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 3.
Regarding claim 18, has similar limitations as of claim 6, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 6.
Claim(s) 7-8 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL “Live HDR Workflow” by Alen Lustica (hereinafter Lustica) in view of Website Tutorial “Blending” by OpenGL (hereinafter OpenGL) and NPL “Beyond BT.709” by Maciej Pedzisz (hereinafter Pedzisz) in further view of NPL “Recommendation ITU-T H.265” by Telecommunication standardization sector of ITU (hereinafter ITU-T H.265) and Website Tutorial “Histogram Equalization on Grayscale and Color Image” by HYPJUDY (hereinafter HYPJUDY).
Regarding claim 7, Lustica fails to teach the image processing method according to claim 1, wherein the converting optical signals in the third optical signal set into the colors in the second color space to obtain a fused image of the foreground image and the background image comprises:
converting the optical signals in the third optical signal set into the colors in the second color space based on an opto-electrical transfer function of the second color display standard to obtain a first color set;
performing histogram equalization on the colors in the first color set to obtain a second color set;
performing weighted mixing on the colors in the first color set and the colors in the second color set based on a preset weight coefficient to obtain a third color set;
and obtaining the fused image of the foreground image and the background image according to colors in the third color set and pixel coordinates of the colors in the third color set.
However, OpenGL teaches:
performing weighted mixing (Blending Equation, Figure 2 Above) on the colors in the first color set and the colors in the second color set based on a preset weight coefficient (Transparency/Alpha Value) to obtain a third color set; (Section Blending, Pages 5-7)
and obtaining the fused image of the foreground image (Green Square Image) and the background image (Red Square Image) according to colors in the third color set and pixel coordinates of the colors in the third color set. (Section Blending, Pages 5-7)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lustica’s Image Conversion from SDR to HDR to incorporate OpenGL’s method of fusing images. Since doing so would provide the benefit of fusing/superimposing images that are in different display standards
OpenGL fails to teach the image processing method according to claim 1, wherein the converting optical signals in the third optical signal set into the colors in the second color space to obtain a fused image of the foreground image and the background image comprises:
converting the optical signals in the third optical signal set into the colors in the second color space based on an opto-electrical transfer function of the second color display standard to obtain a first color set;
performing histogram equalization on the colors in the first color set to obtain a second color set;
However, Pedzisz teaches the image processing method according to claim 1, wherein the converting optical signals in the third optical signal set into the colors in the second color space (bt.2020) to obtain a fused image of the foreground image and the background image comprises: (Section: Color Matching)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lustica’s conversion of SDR to HDR altered by OpenGL’s image fusion method to incorporate Pedzisz’s conversion of bt.709 color space to bt.2020 color space. Since doing so would provide the benefit of fusing images in different color spaces to the same color space.
Pedzisz fails to teach:
converting the optical signals in the third optical signal set into the colors in the second color space based on an opto-electrical transfer function of the second color display standard to obtain a first color set;
performing histogram equalization on the colors in the first color set to obtain a second color set;
However, ITU-T H.265 teaches:
converting the optical signals in the third optical signal set into the colors in the second color space (bt.2020) based on an opto-electrical transfer function (OETF) of the second color display standard (HDR/HLG) to obtain a first color set; (Table E.4, Row 18, Page 424-425)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lustica’s conversion of SDR to HDR altered by OpenGL’s image fusion method and Pedzisz’s conversion of bt.709 color space to bt.2020 color space to incorporate ITU-T H.265 OETF. Since doing so would provide the benefit of converting images into optical signals.
ITU-T H.265 fails to teach:
performing histogram equalization on the colors in the first color set to obtain a second color set;
Lustica, OpenGL, Pedzisz, ITU-T H.265, HYPJUDY are analogous to the claimed invention because all of them are in the same field of converting characteristics of images.
However, HYPJUDY teaches:
performing histogram equalization on the colors in the first color set to obtain a second color set; (Sections: Histogram Equalization, Color Image, Independent Histogram Equalization based on Color Channels, Pages 5-9) Performing Histogram Equalization on colors to obtain different color sets is a known conversion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lustica’s conversion of SDR to HDR altered by OpenGL’s image fusion method, Pedzisz’s conversion of bt.709 color space to bt.2020 color space, and ITU-T H.265 OETF to incorporate HYPJUDY’s Histogram Equalization equation. Since doing so would provide the benefit of converting color sets to other color sets.
Regarding claim 8, Lustica fails to teach the image processing method according to claim 7, wherein the performing weighted mixing on the colors in the first color set and the colors in the second color set based on a preset weight coefficient to obtain a third color set comprises:
obtaining a weight value of a first color, wherein the first color is a color in the first color set; and the weight value of the first color is a product of the first color and the preset weight coefficient;
obtaining a weight value of a second color, wherein the second color is a color having same pixel coordinates with the first color in the second color set; the weight value of the second color is a product of the second color and a weight coefficient difference; and the weight coefficient difference is a difference between 1 and the preset weight coefficient;
and obtaining a sum of the weight value of the first color and the weight value of the second color as a weighted mixing result of the first color and the second color.
However, OpenGL teaches the image processing method according to claim 7, wherein the performing weighted mixing (Blending Equation, Figure 2 Above) on the colors in the first color set and the colors in the second color set based on a preset weight coefficient (Transparency/Alpha Value) to obtain a third color set comprises: (Section Blending, Pages 5-7)
obtaining a weight value of a first color, wherein the first color is a color in the first color set; and the weight value of the first color is a product of the first color and the preset weight coefficient (Transparency/Alpha Value); (Section Blending, Pages 5-7)
obtaining a weight value of a second color, wherein the second color is a color having same pixel coordinates with the first color in the second color set; the weight value of the second color is a product of the second color and a weight coefficient difference; and the weight coefficient difference is a difference between 1 and the preset weight coefficient (Transparency/Alpha Value); (Section Blending, Pages 5-7)
and obtaining a sum of the weight value of the first color and the weight value of the second color as a weighted mixing result of the first color and the second color. (Section Blending, Pages 5-7)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lustica’s Image Conversion from SDR to HDR to incorporate OpenGL’s method of fusing images. Since doing so would provide the benefit of fusing/superimposing images that are in different display standards
Regarding claim 19, has similar limitations as of claim 7, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 7.
Regarding claim 20, has similar limitations as of claim 8, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 8.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIANNA RENAE COCHRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2615
/ALICIA M HARRINGTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2615