Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11, 13, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kosugi 2021/0397265
In regards to claim 1, Kosugi teaches (currently amended) a method for operating an electronic device comprising (abstract):
detecting that the electronic device is in a first operating mode (1b normal operation [0030]);
in response to detecting that the electronic device is in the first operating mode (fig. 3 C gesture detection mode), ,:
detecting that a first activity is being performed in an environment surrounding the electronic device based on a first detector (fig. 6 120)
classifying the first activity as corresponding to an activity type of a plurality of
activity types (fig. 3 c gestures, fig. 9 s107 leave of person)) [0039,0070] ; and
updating a display screen of the electronic device based on the activity type of the first activity [136]
[0136] Further, in the standby state described above, a hibernation state, a power-off state, or the like may also be included. The hibernation state corresponds, for example, to S4 state defined in the ACPI specification. The power-off state corresponds, for example, to S5 state (shutdown state) defined in the ACPI specification. Further, in the standby state, a state in which at least the display of the display unit is turned OFF (screen OFF) or a screen lock state may also be included. The screen lock is a state in which an image preset to make a content being processed invisible (for example, an image for the screen lock) is displayed on the display unit, which is an unused state until the lock is released (for example, until the user is authenticated).
detecting that the electronic device is in a second operating mode (fig. 3 C gesture detection mode); and
in response to detecting that the electronic device is in the second operating mode (fig. 1c (standby state))
detecting that a second activity is being performed within an environment surrounding the electronic device based on a second detector [0035-0045] wherein the second detector consumes less power than the first detector [0030, 0035]; (fig. 1a walking towards to boot)
[0035] FIGS. 2(A)-(B) are diagrams illustrating two kinds of operating modes different in the detection resolution of the proximity sensor. FIG. 2(A) illustrates the number of detection elements (for example, 4×4) in an operating mode for low-resolution detection (hereinafter called a “low-resolution mode”). On the other hand, FIG. 2(B) illustrates the number of detection elements (for example, 8×8) in an operating mode for high-resolution detection (hereinafter called a “high-resolution mode”). In the low-resolution mode, since detection elements (for example, 4×4) obtained by thinning out the detection elements (for example, 8×8) equipped in the proximity sensor is used, there is an advantage of low power consumption. When the presence or absence of a person is detected, the low-resolution mode is enough, but when a gesture is detected, the low-resolution mode runs out of resolution because there is a need to determine the movement of a hand. On the other hand, since the high-resolution mode uses detection elements (for example, 8×8) larger in number than the low-resolution mode, it is possible to detect a gesture, but power consumption is high. When the high-resolution mode is always set, both the detection of a person and the detection of a gesture are possible, but power consumption remains always high. Therefore, the low-resolution mode is set in the electronic apparatus 1 by default, and changed to the high-resolution mode only when needed.
classifying the second activity as corresponding to an activity type of a plurality of
activity types (fig. 1c walking towards fig. 9 s101); and (fig. 1a (1) boot) (fig. 6 and fig. 7 (130)) proximity sensor)[0078, 136, 141 ];
updating the display screen of the electronic device based on the activity type of the second activity. ;([0078] initialize display)
In regards to claim 13, Kosugi teaches (currently amended) An electronic device comprising: an antenna [135];
a processing system including a digital signal processor (fig. 7 (300)); and
one or more computer readable storage media storing instructions which, when executed by the processing system, cause the electronic device to perform a method comprising(abstract, f9g. 7 (300 and 200))
detecting that the electronic device is in a docked-first operating mode[0030];
in response to detecting that the electronic device is in the docked first operating mode, (fig. 3 C gesture detection mode),
detecting that a first activity is being performed in an environment surrounding the electronic device based on a first detector; (fig. 6 120)
classifying the first activity as corresponding to an activity type of a plurality of activity types; (fig. 3 c gestures, fig. 9 s107 leave of person)) [0039,0070];
and
updating a display screen of the electronic device based on the activity type of the first activity; [136]
detecting that the electronic device is in a tablet second operating mode(fig. 3 C gesture detection mode); and
in response to detecting that the electronic device is in the tablet second operating mode, (fig. 1c (standby state))
detecting that a second activity is being performed within an environment surrounding the electronic device based on a second detector, wherein the second detector consumes less power than the first detector; [0030, 0035]; (fig. 1a walking towards to boot)
classifying the second activity as corresponding to an activity type of a plurality of activity types; and (fig. 1c walking towards fig. 9 s101); and (fig. 1a (1) boot) (fig. 6 and fig. 7 (130)) proximity sensor)[0078, 136, 141 ];
updating the display screen of the electronic device based on the activity type of the second activity. ([0078] initialize display turning on)
In regards to claim 25, Kosugi teaches (currently amended) One or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer-readable instructions that, when executed by a processing system, cause an electronic device to perform a method comprising(abstract):
detecting that the electronic device is in a docked-first operating mode(1b normal operation [0030]);
in response to detecting that the electronic device is in the docked-first operating mode(fig. 3 C gesture detection mode),
detecting that a first activity is being performed in an environment surrounding the electronic device based on a first detector; (fig. 6 120)
classifying the first activity as corresponding to an activity type of a plurality of
activity types (fig. 3 c gestures, fig. 9 s107 leave of person)) [0039,0070]; and
updating a display screen of the electronic device based on the activity type of the first activity; [136]
detecting that the electronic device is in a tablet second operating mode(fig. 3 C gesture detection mode); and
in response to detecting that the electronic device is in the tablet second operating mode: (fig. 1c (standby state))
detecting that a second activity is being performed within an environment surrounding the electronic device based on a second detector[0035-0045], wherein the second detector consumes less power than the first detector: [0030, 0035]; (fig. 1a walking towards to boot)
classifying the second activity as corresponding to an activity type of a plurality of
activity types; and (fig. 1c walking towards fig. 9 s101); and (fig. 1a (1) boot) (fig. 6 and fig. 7 (130)) proximity sensor)[0078, 136, 141 ];
updating the display screen of the electronic device based on the activity type of the second activity.([0078] initialize display turning on)
In regards to claim 11, Kosugi teaches (currently amended) The method of claim 1, wherein: updating the display screen of the electronic device in the docked first operating mode and updating the display screen of the electronic device in the tablet second operating mode comprises at least one of brightening the display screen and changing content displayed on the display screen. [136,141] display off means lower brightness.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 37 and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosugi in view of Sakaguchi et al (2017/0168595) hereinafter, Sakaguchi
In regards to claim 4, Kosugi fails to teach the method of claim 2, wherein the first detector comprises an ultrasonic sensor.
However, Sakaguchi teaches comprising: in response to detecting that the electronic device is in the docked mode (fig. 1 (10)): detecting that a first activity is being performed in an environment surrounding the electronic device based on a first detector [0018]; classifying the first activity as corresponding to an activity type of a plurality of activity types [0017]; and updating the display screen of the electronic device based on the activity type of the first activity [0053].
wherein the first detector comprises an ultrasonic sensor [0017].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Kosugi to further include wherein the first detector comprises an ultrasonic sensor as taught by Sakaguchi in order to allow for a more natural interaction and implicit manner [003-006].
In regards to claim 15, Kosugi in view of Sakaguchi teaches (currently amended) the electronic device of claim 13,see rational of claim 4, wherein detecting that the first activity is being performed within the environment surrounding the electronic device based on the first detector comprises receiving at least one of ultrasonic signals and radar signals with the first detector.[0017-0018,0053 ultrasonic] Sakaguchi.
In regards to claim 37, Kosugi in view of Sakaguchi teaches (currently amended) the,see rational of claim 4, the method of claim 1, wherein detecting that the first activity is being performed within the environment surrounding the electronic device based on the first detector comprises receiving at least one ultrasonic signals and radar signals with the first detector. [0017-0018,0053 ultrasonic] Sakaguchi.
In regards to claim 41, Kosugi in view of Sakaguchi teaches (currently amended) the, see rational of claim 4, wherein the first detector comprises an ultrasonic sensor. [0017-0018,0053 ultrasonic] Sakaguchi.
Claim(s) 5 and 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosugi in view of Sachidanandam et al (2021/0342008) hereinafter, Sachidanandam.
In regards to claim 5, Kosugi fails to teach the method of claim 1, wherein the first detector comprises a radar sensor.
However, Sachidanandam teaches wherein the first detector comprises a radar sensor.
[0264] A proximity sensor from the sensors 108, e.g., an optical proximity sensor, can trigger the radar system 104 to switch-off or enter a state during which gesture-recognition is disabled, when the radar system 104 is occluded. Wireless signals, power connections, network connections, and other connections to the UE 102 can provide additional contextual information for controlling the radar system 104. In response to detecting a charging cable, docking station, or wireless charging system powering the UE 102, the radar system 104 refrains from entering the hard-gating state 2006 as the UE 102 does not need to deal with power consumption when charging and the user 120 would more likely want a faster response rate from the radar system 104. In a related example, when connected to a wireless charging system, the radar system 104 may disable much of its capability to avoid interfering with wireless chargers. The radar system 104 may operate in an inactive mode to avoid interfering with communications and other signals transmitted or received by the UE 102.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Kosugi to further include wherein the first detector comprises a radar sensor as taught by Schidanandam to allow for another means of input when power is not an issue [0264]
In regards to claim 42, Kosugi in view of Sachidanadam teaches, see rational of claim 5, (new) the electronic device of claim 13, wherein the first detector comprises a radar sensor. [0264] Sachidanadam.
Claim(s) 9, 20 and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosugi in view of Holmes (2017/0014070) hereinafter, Holmes.
In regards to claim 9, Kosugi fails to wherein the second detector comprises a static charge sensor..
Kosugi and Sakaguchi fail to teach wherein the second detector comprises a static charge sensor.
However, Homes teaches wherein the second detector comprises a static charge sensor.(abstract, 006, 0014]) Homes
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Antos to further include wherein the second detector comprises a static charge sensor as taught by Homes through simple substitution of one proximity sensor for another and the results would have been predictable at providing proximity.
In regards to claim 20, see the rational of claim 9, Kosugi in view of Homes teaches the electronic device of claim 13, wherein detecting that second activity is being performed within the environment surrounding the electronic device based on the second detector comprises receiving a charge with the second detector. (abstract, 006, 0014]) Homes
In regards to claim 39, see the rational of claim 9, Kosugi in view of Homes teaches method of claim 1, wherein detecting that second activity is being
performed within the environment surrounding the electronic device based on the second detector comprises receiving a charge with the second detector. (abstract, 006, 0014]) Homes
Claim(s) 12, 18, 22, 24, 36, 38 and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosugi in view of Antos et al (10/885910) hereinafter, Antos
In regards to claim 12, Kosugi fails to teach (currently amended) the method of claim 1, wherein: detecting that the electronic device is in the docked first operating mode comprises detecting that the electronic device is attached to a docking station, and detecting that the electronic device is in the tablet second operating mode comprising detecting that the electronic device is detached from the docking station.
However, Antos teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: detecting that the electronic device is in the docked first operating mode comprises detecting that the electronic device is attached to a docking station, and detecting that the electronic device is in the tablet second operating mode comprising detecting that the electronic device is detached from the docking station.(fig. 3 (320, 330, and 350)(fig. 1 (140-190)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Kosugi wherein: detecting that the electronic device is in the docked first operating mode comprises detecting that the electronic device is attached to a docking station, and detecting that the electronic device is in the tablet second operating mode comprising detecting that the electronic device is detached from the docking station as taught by Antos to allow for greater user mobility and change the mode that best corresponds to the mode of use (col. 4, lines 7-55).
In regards to claim 18, Kosugi in view of Antos teaches electronic device of claim 14, see rational of claim 12, wherein classifying the first activity as corresponding to an activity type of a plurality of activity types comprises classifying signals using a trained machine learning model. (col. 36, lines 20-67, col. 37, lines 4-15). Antos
In regards to claim 22, Kosugi in view of Antos teaches electronic device of claim 14, see rational of claim 12, (currently amended) The electronic device of Claim 19claim 13, wherein classifying the second activity as corresponding to an activity type of the plurality of activity types comprises classifying signals using a trained machine learning model. (col. 36, lines 20-67, col. 37, lines 4-15). Antos
In regards to claim 24, Kosugi in view of Antos teaches electronic device of claim 14, see rational of claim 12, (currently amended) The electronic device of claim 13, wherein: detecting that the electronic device is in the docked first operating mode comprises detecting that the electronic device is attached to a docking station, and
detecting that the electronic device is in the tablet second operating mode comprising detecting that the electronic device is detached from the docking station. (fig. 3 (320, 330, and 350))(fig. 1 (140)-(190)).Antos
In regards to claim 36, Kosugi in view of Antos teaches electronic device of claim 14, see rational of claim 12, (currently amended) The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 25, wherein: detecting that the electronic device is in the docked first operating mode comprises detecting that the electronic device is attached to a docking station, and detecting that the electronic device is in the tablet second operating mode comprising detecting that the electronic device is detached from the docking station. (fig. 3 (320, 330, and 350))(fig. 1 (140)-(190)).Antos
In regards to claim 38, Kosugi in view of Antos teaches method of claim 1, see rational of claim 12,wherein classifying the first activity as corresponding to an activity type of a plurality of activity types comprises classifying input signals using a trained machine learning model. (fig. 3 (320, 330, and 350))(fig. 1 (140)-(190)).Antos
In regards to claim 40, Kosugi in view of Antos teaches method of claim 1, see rational of claim 12,wherein classifying the second activity as corresponding to an activity type of a plurality of activity types comprises classifying input signals using a trained machine learning model. (fig. 3 (320, 330, and 350))(fig. 1 (140)-(190)).Antos
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4-5, 9, 11-13, 15,18, 20, 22, 24-25, 36-42 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Examiner notes the independent claims are not longer limited to docked operation mode.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GRANT SITTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622