DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-3, 5-11, 13-19 and 41-43 are currently pending in the present application, with claims 1, 9, and 17 being independent.
Response to Amendments / Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pg. 10, filed 03/27/2026, with respect to claims 3, 11, and 19 under 35 U.S.C. § 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 03/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues: The references relied upon by the Office Action does not teach or suggest an apparatus comprising “stitching circuitry including first processor cores to generate stitched tiles in parallel,” and “encoding circuitry including second processor cores to encode the stitched tiles in parallel to generate encoded tiles, respective ones of the second processor cores associated with corresponding ones of the first processor cores of the stitching circuitry to encode the respective ones of the stitched tiles from the corresponding ones of the first processor cores.”
Examiner replies: The rejection relies on the combination of Lim et al. (US 20190110076), hereinafter referred to as “Lim”, and Khan et al. "Software architecture of high efficiency video coding for many-core systems with power-efficient workload balancing." In 2014 Design, Automation & Test in Europe Conference & Exhibition (DATE), pp. 1-6. IEEE, 2014, hereinafter referred to as “Khan”, where Lim teaches a tiled multi-camera stitching and encoding pipeline in which stitched tiles are generated from first and second image tiles obtained from multiple cameras (Fig. 14-15, Par. 0159-160; stitching process that combines a plurality of images from different cameras. Par. 0154-0156; encoding process), and Khan discloses distributing tiled video workloads across multiple processor cores such that respective tiles are processed independently and in parallel by corresponding cores (Fig. 6-7 and Section IV, right column; While encoding, the input video is converted into tiles and forwarded to the respective cores. Cores process each tile individually… Section III.B; Par. 1; tiles can be processed via independent encoding threads…utilizing HEVC parallelism at tile-level…). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood Khan’s tile-parallel processing architecture to be applicable to Lim’s tiled stitching and encoding operations such that stitched tiles generated within Lim’s tiled processing pipeline are processed in parallel by corresponding core assignments.
Further, under broadest reasonable interpretation, consistent with applicant’s disclosure, the recited “corresponding ones” does not require fixed hardware pairings or dedicated processor affinity between stitching circuitry and encoding circuitry. For example, Fig. 5B of applicant’s original disclosure depicts a tile-based stitching and encoding pipeline in which respective stitched tile outputs are processed by corresponding encoding instances within a tiled processing workflow, rather than requiring dedicated physical processor pairings. Khan similarly teaches tile-level workload distribution in which respective tiles are forwarded to corresponding processing cores for independent parallel processing (Fig. 6-7) and reasonably reads on corresponding tile-processing assignments or corresponding stitched tile workloads processed by respective cores within the combined tiled-processing architecture. Therefore, under broadest reasonable interpretation, Lim and Khan disclose an apparatus comprising “stitching circuitry including first processor cores to generate stitched tiles in parallel,” and “encoding circuitry including second processor cores to encode the stitched tiles in parallel to generate encoded tiles, respective ones of the second processor cores associated with corresponding ones of the first processor cores of the stitching circuitry to encode the respective ones of the stitched tiles from the corresponding ones of the first processor cores.”
Regarding the remaining arguments: Applicant argues with respect to the amended claim language, which is fully addressed in the prior art rejections set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, 9-11, 13, 15, 17-19, and 41-43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (US 20190110076), hereinafter referred to as “Lim”, in view of Khan et al. "Software architecture of high efficiency video coding for many-core systems with power-efficient workload balancing." In 2014 Design, Automation & Test in Europe Conference & Exhibition (DATE), pp. 1-6. IEEE, 2014, hereinafter referred to as “Khan”.
Regarding claim 1, Lim discloses an apparatus comprising:
tile generation circuitry (Par. 0059; Par. 0063; Splitter 102 splits each picture included in an input moving picture into blocks.) to generate first input tiles from a first image (Fig. 14; Angle 1. Fig. 15; Image A) and second input tiles from a second image (Fig. 14; Angle 2. Fig. 15; Image B), the stitched tiles based on the first input tiles (Fig. 14; blocks/tiles of Angle 1. Fig. 15; blocks/tiles of Image A) and the second input tiles (Fig. 14; blocks/tiles of Angle 2. Fig. 15; blocks/tiles of Image B, the first image from a first camera (Fig. 14; LENS A. Fig. 15; Cameras covering more than one view) and the second image from a second camera (Fig. 14; LENS B. Fig. 15; Cameras covering more than one view. Par. 0159; As illustrated in FIG. 14 and FIG. 15, an image to be input into the encoder may be the result of a stitching process that combines a plurality of images from different cameras),
stitching circuitry (Par. 0159-160; stitching process that combines a plurality of images from different cameras) based on the first input tiles (Fig. 14; blocks/tiles of Angle 1. Fig. 15; blocks/tiles of Image A) and the second input tiles (Fig. 14; blocks/tiles of Angle 2. Fig. 15; blocks/tiles of Image B)
encoding circuitry (Par. 0159; As illustrated in FIG. 14 and FIG. 15, an image to be input into the encoder may be the result of a stitching process that combines a plurality of images from different cameras…During the stitching process, these overlapping pixels are processed and reduced to produce the stitched image. Par. 0148-0153; adaptive video encoding tools can be adaptive based on the image conversion or image stitching processes used to process the images prior to the encoder. Par. 0154-0156; encoding process).
Lim does not disclose based on division information specifying a number of processor cores to be used to encode stitched tiles,
stitching circuitry including the processor cores to encode stitched tiles in parallel based on the first input tiles and second input tiles, respective ones of the stitched tile to be generated by corresponding ones of the first processor cores,
encoding circuitry including second processor cores to encode the stitched tiles in parallel to generate encoded tiles, respective ones of the second processor cores associated with corresponding ones of the first processor cores of the stitching circuitry to encode the respective ones of the stitched tiles from the corresponding ones of the first processor cores.
In the same art of tile-based HEVC video encoding, Khan discloses based on division information specifying a number of processor cores to be used to encode stitched tiles (Fig. 6 and Section IV, right column; While encoding, the input video is converted into tiles and forwarded to the respective cores. Cores process each tile individually…Fig. 7; Input: Maximum number of cores K…Output: Total tiles Ttot and initial θinit per tile…),
(Section III.B; Par. 1; tiles can be processed via independent encoding threads…utilizing HEVC parallelism at tile-level…), respective ones of the stitched tile to be generated by corresponding ones of the first processor cores (Fig. 6-7 and Section IV, right column; While encoding, the input video is converted into tiles and forwarded to the respective cores. Cores process each tile individually… Abstract; video frame is adaptively divided into independent video frame regions (i.e. so-called video tiles) which are processed concurrently on multiple cores. By balancing the workload of each video tile mapped to a particular core…),
(Fig. 6-7 and Section IV, right column; While encoding, the input video is converted into tiles and forwarded to the respective cores. Cores process each tile individually…Abstract; video frame is adaptively divided into independent video frame regions (i.e. so-called video tiles) which are processed concurrently on multiple cores. By balancing the workload of each video tile mapped to a particular core…).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Khan’s multi-core tile-based parallel processing architecture into Lim’s tiled stitching and encoding pipeline. The motivation lies in the advantage of improve computational efficiency, reduce encoding latency, and better distribute tile-processing workloads across available processor cores (Khan Abstract; By balancing the workload of each video tile mapped to a particular core, the total power consumption of a system is reduced (through dynamically scaling the operating frequency) under a given frame-rate constraint). Such modification uses known parallel tile-processing techniques to Lim’s stitched tile encoding system, and yields predictable results in enabling scalable tile processing using corresponding processor resources.
Examiner’s note: Additionally, as recited above in examiner’s response to arguments, the rejection relies on the combination of Lim and Khan, where Lim teaches a tiled multi-camera stitching and encoding pipeline in which stitched tiles are generated from first and second image tiles obtained from multiple cameras (Fig. 14-15, Par. 0159-160; stitching process that combines a plurality of images from different cameras. Par. 0154-0156; encoding process), and Khan discloses distributing tiled video workloads across multiple processor cores such that respective tiles are processed independently and in parallel by corresponding cores (Fig. 6-7 and Section IV, right column; While encoding, the input video is converted into tiles and forwarded to the respective cores. Cores process each tile individually… Section III.B; Par. 1; tiles can be processed via independent encoding threads…utilizing HEVC parallelism at tile-level…). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood Khan’s tile-parallel processing architecture to be applicable to Lim’s tiled stitching and encoding operations such that stitched tiles generated within Lim’s tiled processing pipeline are processed in parallel by corresponding core assignments. Further, under broadest reasonable interpretation, consistent with applicant’s disclosure, the recited “corresponding ones” does not require fixed hardware pairings or dedicated processor affinity between stitching circuitry and encoding circuitry. For example, Fig. 5B of applicant’s original disclosure depicts a tile-based stitching and encoding pipeline in which respective stitched tile outputs are processed by corresponding encoding instances within a tiled processing workflow, rather than requiring dedicated physical processor pairings. Khan similarly teaches tile-level workload distribution in which respective tiles are forwarded to corresponding processing cores for independent parallel processing (Fig. 6-7) and reasonably reads on corresponding tile-processing assignments or corresponding stitched tile workloads processed by respective cores within the combined tiled-processing architecture.
Regarding claim 2, Lim in view of Khan discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the first image and the second image are in a fisheye format (Lim Fig. 14, Fig. 17, and Par. 0149-0151; the encoder, the decoder, and the like according to this embodiment can be used in the encoding and decoding of an image captured with a non rectilinear (e.g., a fisheye) lens camera…a 360-degree image is originally captured by multiple cameras and the images captured from the multiple cameras) and the first input tiles and the second input tiles are in a rectangular format (Lim Fig. 15 and Par. 0186; As illustrated in FIG. 13, the captured image may be distorted due to the characteristics of the lens used during the capturing of the image. An image correction process was used to rectify the captured image to rectilinear.
Lim and Khan are combined for the reason set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Lim in view of Khan discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Lim further discloses wherein the division information is first division information that specifies at least one of tile location information or tile size information in rectangular format (Par. 0063; Splitter 102 splits each picture included in an input moving picture into blocks, and outputs each block to subtractor 104. For example, splitter 102 first splits a picture into blocks of a fixed size (for example, 128×128) …Par. 0105; performed at another level…tile level), and the tile generation circuitry to:
convert, based on one or more intrinsic parameters and one or more extrinsic parameters of at least one of the first camera or the second camera (Par. 0159; The written parameters include, for example, parameters that provide information related to the stitching process, such as the number of cameras, the distortion centers or principle center of each camera, the level of distortion, etc. Another example of the parameters describing the stitching process include parameters that identify the locations of the stitched images that are generated from overlapping pixels from a plurality of images), the first division information (Par. 0163; the encoder can wrap pixels in an image to correct the distortion or reverse the correction done to make an image rectilinear. In other words, the encoder performs an image correction process (i.e., a wrapping process) on distorted blocks in an image to be encoded) into second division information in the fisheye format (Par. 0149; the encoder, the decoder, and the like according to this embodiment can be used in the encoding and decoding of an image captured with a non rectilinear (e.g., a fisheye) lens camera. Par. 0163; The encoder may also return the prediction block, which is a predicted block, to its original distorted state before undergoing the image correction process. Par. 0186; An image correction process was used to rectify the captured image to rectilinear);
generate blocks (Par. 0163; the encoder can perform a block prediction to derive a block of prediction samples based on the wrapped image pixels) of the first image in the fisheye format based on the second division information (Fig. 14; Lens A (Angle 1));
generate blocks (Par. 0163; the encoder can perform a block prediction to derive a block of prediction samples based on the wrapped image pixels) of the second image in the fisheye format based on the second division information (Fig. 14; Lens B (Angle 2));
map the blocks (Fig. 13 and Par. 0186; An image correction process was used to rectify the captured image to rectilinear. The parsed parameters include such parameters to identify or describe the image correction process used. Examples of parameters used in the image correction process include parameters configuring a mapping table to map input image pixels to the intended output pixel values of the image correction process. These parameters may include weight parameters for one or more interpolation process or/and position parameters identifying the locations of the input and output pixels in a picture. In one possible implementation example of the image correction process, the mapping table for the image correction process may be used for all the pixels in the corrected image) of the first image in the fisheye format to corresponding ones of the first input tiles in the rectangular format (Fig. 13-15 and Par. 0149-0151; the encoder, the decoder, and the like according to this embodiment can be used in the encoding and decoding of an image captured with a non rectilinear (e.g., a fisheye) lens camera…a 360-degree image is originally captured by multiple cameras and the images captured from the multiple cameras); and
map blocks (Fig. 13 and Par. 0186; An image correction process was used to rectify the captured image to rectilinear. The parsed parameters include such parameters to identify or describe the image correction process used. Examples of parameters used in the image correction process include parameters configuring a mapping table to map input image pixels to the intended output pixel values of the image correction process. These parameters may include weight parameters for one or more interpolation process or/and position parameters identifying the locations of the input and output pixels in a picture. In one possible implementation example of the image correction process, the mapping table for the image correction process may be used for all the pixels in the corrected image) of the second image in the fisheye format to corresponding ones of the second input tiles in the rectangular format (Fig. 13-15 and Par. 0149-0151; the encoder, the decoder, and the like according to this embodiment can be used in the encoding and decoding of an image captured with a non rectilinear (e.g., a fisheye) lens camera…a 360-degree image is originally captured by multiple cameras and the images captured from the multiple cameras).
Lim and Khan are combined for the reason set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Lim in view of Khan discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the tile generation circuitry is to generate the first input tiles and the second input tiles based on parameters of the first camera and the second camera (Lim Fig. 14 and Fig. 15).
Lim and Khan are combined for the reason set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Lim in view of Khan discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and further discloses
including at least one memory (Par. 0061; processor and memory), wherein the tile generation circuitry is to:
(i) store ones of the first input tiles in respective first isolated memory blocks (Par. 0087; block memory 118 is storage for storing blocks in a picture to be encoded (hereinafter referred to as a current picture) for reference in intra prediction) of the at least one memory (Par. 0095; Frame memory 122 stores reconstructed blocks filtered by loop filter 120. Par. 0061; processor and memory) and
(ii) store ones of the second input tiles in respective second isolated memory blocks (Par. 0087; block memory 118 is storage for storing blocks in a picture to be encoded (hereinafter referred to as a current picture) for reference in intra prediction) of the at least one memory (Par. 0095; Frame memory 122 stores reconstructed blocks filtered by loop filter 120. Par. 0061; processor and memory) , and the stitching circuitry is to
(i) replace the ones of the first input tiles in the respective first isolated memory blocks with corresponding first ones of the stitched tiles (Par. 176-0181, 0292 and Fig. 23; reconstruct the encoded image to generate a reconstructed image; and store an image obtained by stitching the reconstructed image and with the second image into the memory as a reference frame to be used in an inter prediction process), and
(ii) replace the ones of the second input tiles in the respective second isolated memory blocks with corresponding second ones of the stitched tiles (Par. 176-0181, 0292 and Fig. 23; reconstruct the encoded image to generate a reconstructed image; and store an image obtained by stitching the reconstructed image and with the second image into the memory as a reference frame to be used in an inter prediction process).
Lim and Khan are combined for the reason set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 is the CRM claim (Lim Par. 0006-0007; processing circuitry and memory connected to the processing circuitry…computer-readable recording media) of apparatus claim 1 and is accordingly rejected using substantially similar rationale as to that which is set for with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 has similar limitations as of claim 2, except it is a CRM claim (Lim Par. 0006-0007; processing circuitry and memory connected to the processing circuitry…computer-readable recording media), therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 2.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 has similar limitations as of claim 3, except it is a CRM claim (Lim Par. 0006-0007; processing circuitry and memory connected to the processing circuitry…computer-readable recording media), therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 3.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 has similar limitations as of claim 5, except it is a CRM claim (Lim Par. 0006-0007; processing circuitry and memory connected to the processing circuitry…computer-readable recording media), therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 5.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 has similar limitations as of claim 7, except it is a CRM claim (Lim Par. 0006-0007; processing circuitry and memory connected to the processing circuitry…computer-readable recording media), therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 7.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is the system claim (Lim Par. 0006-0007; processing circuitry and memory connected to the processing circuitry…computer program, computer-readable recording media) of apparatus claim 1 and is accordingly rejected using substantially similar rationale as to that which is set for with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 has similar limitations as of claim 2, except it is a system claim (Lim Par. 0006-0007; processing circuitry and memory connected to the processing circuitry…computer program, computer-readable recording media), therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 2.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 has similar limitations as of claim 3, except it is a system claim (Par. 0006-0007; processing circuitry and memory connected to the processing circuitry…computer program, computer-readable recording media), therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 3.
Regarding claim 41, Lim in view of Khan discloses the apparatus of claim 1, but Lim does not disclose wherein the division information includes at least one of tile location information and tile size information based on (i) the number of processor cores, (ii) bandwidth associated with the second processor cores, and (iii) input size requirements associated with the second processor cores.
In the same art of encoding tiles, Khan discloses wherein the division information includes at least one of tile location information and tile size information (Fig. 2 and Section III.A; Each GOP contains M video frames and there are K tiles (T) in each frame, where K ≥ 1. A frame can also be divided into independent slices. In HEVC, each tile is divided into a Coding Tree Units (CTU) of size 64×64 pixels or smaller. Fig. 7) based on (i) the number of processor cores (Fig. 7; Maximum number of cores K), (ii) bandwidth associated with the second processor cores (Fig. 6), and (iii) input size requirements associated with the second processor cores (Fig. 7; Input: Maximum number of cores K; Maximum frequency of a core fmax; Image dimensions W×H; Quantization Parameter QP; Frame rate in frames per second fp;).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply Khan’s resource-aware division techniques to Lim’s tiled image processing system. The motivation lies in the advantage of improving computational efficiency and load balancing in multi-core encoding systems by adapting task partitioning based on available processor cores and input characteristics, resulting in a predictable design choice aimed at optimization utilization of processor resources.
Regarding claim 42, claim 42 has similar limitations as of claim 41, except it is a CRM claim (Lim Par. 0006-0007; processing circuitry and memory connected to the processing circuitry…computer-readable recording media), therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 41.
Regarding claim 43, claim 43 has similar limitations as of claim 41, except it is a system claim (Par. 0006-0007; processing circuitry and memory connected to the processing circuitry…computer program, computer-readable recording media), therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 41.
Claim(s) 6, 8, 14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (US 20190110076), hereinafter referred to as “Lim’, in view of Khan et al. "Software architecture of high efficiency video coding for many-core systems with power-efficient workload balancing." In 2014 Design, Automation & Test in Europe Conference & Exhibition (DATE), pp. 1-6. IEEE, 2014, hereinafter referred to as “Khan”, and in further view of Phillips et al. (US 20200107003), hereinafter referred to as “Phillips”.
Regarding claim 6, Lim in view of Khan discloses the apparatus of claim 5, but does not disclose wherein the tile generation circuitry is to generate the first input tiles and the second input tiles based on a field of view associated with a client device.
In the same art of stitching and encoding 360° frames, Phillips discloses wherein the tile generation circuitry is to generate the first input tiles and the second input tiles based on a field of view associated with a client device (Par. 0005 and Par. 0085; the video quality of all tiles of the tiled video frame may be equalized to a highest video quality corresponding to the quality of the tiles presented in a viewport of the client device).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the parallel tile-based architecture of Lim in view of Khan with Phillip’s client and field of view-based tile generation. The motivation lies in the advantage of enhancing performance in client devices such as VR, and prioritizing relevant visual content based on a user’s field of view. This modification yields predictable results in reducing bandwidth usage and improving rendering efficiency for an immersive user experience (Phillips Par. 0005; optimized 360° immersive video viewing experiences including, inter alia, providing client-based quality control in 360° immersive video).
Regarding claim 8, Lim in view of Khan discloses the apparatus of claim 7, but does not disclose wherein the encoding circuitry is to operate on the respective first isolated memory blocks and the respective second isolated memory blocks.
In the same art of stitching and encoding 360° frames, Phillips discloses the apparatus of claim 7 and further discloses wherein the encoding circuitry is to operate on the respective first isolated memory blocks and the respective second isolated memory blocks (Phillips Par. 0119-0120 and Fig. 13C; The data of the tiles (either from the BIE streams or from the PE streams) selected based on a tile selection process is copied in a memory (block 1364). Also see Par. 0152 and 0159 on heap memory structure) in parallel (Phillips Par. 0076 and 0084; parallel processing).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Phillip’s isolated memory block processing into the parallel tile-based architecture of Lim in view of Khan. The motivation lies in the advantage of improving parallel execution efficiency when processing independent tiles concurrently. Such architectural isolation is a common technique in high throughput multimedia system and would yield predictable results in enhanced scalability and performance.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 has similar limitations as of claim 6, except it is a CRM claim (Lim Par. 0006-0007; processing circuitry and memory connected to the processing circuitry…computer-readable recording media), therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 6.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 has similar limitations as of claim 8, except it is a CRM claim (Lim Par. 0006-0007; processing circuitry and memory connected to the processing circuitry…computer-readable recording media), therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 8.
Conclusion
/JENNY N TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2615
/ALICIA M HARRINGTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2615