DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aragaki et al. (JP 2012-184497-A, hereafter “Aragaki”, see translation of record) in view of Fukushima (WO 2018159370 A1). US 2020/0230673 is taken to be the English-equivalent of the above WO document and portions cited below refer to the US publication.
Regarding claim 1, Aragaki discloses a method of producing a grain-oriented electrical steel sheet (abstract, [0015]), comprising: subjecting a steel material to hot rolling to obtain a hot-rolled steel sheet [0015, 0038]; subjecting the hot-rolled steel sheet to either a single cycle or multiple cycles of cold rolling with intermediate annealing in between [0039-0040], to obtain a cold-rolled sheet having a final sheet thickness [0040]; and then subjecting the cold-rolled sheet to decarburization annealing [0045-0046] followed by secondary recrystallization annealing [0047]. The cold rolling is performed with a biting temperature T (<800°C) and a strain rate e of 150 (s-1) [0040] that satisfies the recited condition: 0.0378e2 + 0.367e + 37.2 > T [Wingdings font/0xE0] 0.0378*(150)2 + 0.367*(150) + 37.2 = 942 > 800°C.
With respect to cold rolling, Aragaki does not disclose heating at the entry side, cooling and thereafter introducing into the first pass of the cold rolling tandem mill. However, such technique is known in the art. Fukushima (also directed to cold rolling of steel sheet) discloses performing cold rolling using a tandem mill (fig. 3, [0035]), wherein an edge heater is arranged at an upstream entry side of the cold rolling mill, followed by a cooling jetting device, and thereafter introducing into the roll bite of the tandem mill (see fig. 3, [0038-0041]. Fukushima teaches heating so that a temperature of the steel sheet at the entry side is above the ductile-brittle transition temperature (DBTT) of 60°C, preferably not lower than 80°C [0041]; in one example the heating temperature is 190 °C [0046]. The heating temperature of above 80°C to 190°C falls within the recited heating range of 70-200°C. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), MPEP 2144.05. In this manner, by controlling the cold rolling entry side condition, the steel sheet breakage generating rate is reduced (rolling condition 3- Table 1, [0059-0060]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply heating followed by jet cooling prior to entry side in the cold rolling tandem mill similar to Fukushima in the method of Aragaki because doing so would reduce steel sheet breakage rate, as suggested by Fukushima. Examiner also notes that Aragaki as modified by Fukushima encompasses cold rolling in a tandem mill, wherein the steel introduced to the entry side into a first pass roll bite of the tandem mill satisfies the recited biting temperature and strain rate condition.
As to claim 2, Aragaki discloses that primary recrystallization & decarburization annealing includes heating at a heating rate of 50 °C/s or higher in a temperature from 500-700°C ([0019], claim 5), which overlaps with recited rate and temperature range from 400-700°C.
As to claims 3-5, Aragaki discloses that the steel material comprises a chemical composition containing, by mass%: C: 0.01 % to 0.10 %, Si: 2.0 % to 4.5 %, Mn: 0.01 % to 0.50 %, Al: 0.0100 % to 0.0400 %, one or both of S and Se: 0.01 % to 0.05 % in total and N: 0.0050 % to 0.0120 %, with the balance being Fe and inevitable impurities [0015, 0020]. The steel composition further contains at least one selected from the group consisting of Sb: 0.005 % to 0.500 %,Cu: 0.01 % to 1.50 %, P: 0.005 % to 0.500 %, Cr: 0.01 % to 1.50 %, Ni: 0.005 % to 1.500 %, Sn: 0.01 % to 0.50 %, Nb: 0.0005 % to 0.0100 % [0022]. The respective amount of each element disclosed by Aragaki falls within the recited range, thereby rendering the claims obvious.
As to claims 8-12, Aragaki discloses that the steel material comprises a chemical composition containing, by mass%: C: 0.01 % to 0.10 %, Si: 2.0 % to 4.5 %, Mn: 0.01 % to 0.50 %, Al: 0.0100 % to 0.0400 %, one or both of S and Se: 0.01 % to 0.05 % in total and N: 0.0050 % to 0.0120 %, with the balance being Fe and inevitable impurities [0015, 0020]. The steel composition further contains at least one selected from the group consisting of Sb: 0.005 % to 0.500 %,Cu: 0.01 % to 1.50 %, P: 0.005 % to 0.500 %, Cr: 0.01 % to 1.50 %, Ni: 0.005 % to 1.500 %, Sn: 0.01 % to 0.50 %, Nb: 0.0005 % to 0.0100 % [0022]. The respective amount of each element disclosed by Aragaki falls within the recited range, thereby rendering the claims obvious.
As to claim 13, Aragaki discloses subjecting the hot-rolled steel sheet to two or more cycles of cold rolling with intermediate annealing in between [0039].
Response to Amendment and Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claim 1 have been considered but are moot in light of new grounds of rejection set forth above. The current 103 rejection now includes new reference of Fukushima, which addresses the matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiry
To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at https://www.uspto.gov/patents/laws/interview-practice. Communications via Internet email are at the discretion of Applicant. If Applicant wishes to communicate via email, a written authorization form must be filed by Applicant: Form PTO/SB/439, available at www.uspto.gov/patent/patents-forms. The form may be filed via the Patent Center and can be found using the document description Internet Communications, see https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/forms. In limited circumstances, the Applicant may make an oral authorization for Internet communication. See MPEP § 502.03.
/DEVANG R PATEL/
Primary Examiner, AU 1735