DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hou et al. (US 20190335348 A1) in view of Harris et al. (US 9031151 B1).
Considering claim 1, Hou teaches a base station-side electronic device for a wireless communication system, comprising a processing circuitry configured to:
determine a distance between the base station-side electronic device (eNB) and a terminal-side electronic device (T-VUE, Fig.3-5, [0074] A distance from the T-VUE to eNB1 is d1, a distance from the T-VUE to eNB2 is d2, [0079]); and
determine, based on the distance (T-VUE, Fig.3-5, [0074] A distance from the T-VUE to eNB1 is d1, a distance from the T-VUE to eNB2 is d2, [0079]), a distance between the base station-side electronic device and the terminal-side electronic device (Fig.3-4, [0074], [0079]), such that waves (signals) can be used for transmission between the base station-side electronic device and the terminal-side electronic device (Fig.7, 18, [0122], [0212]).
Hou do not clearly teach a Rayleigh distance for Orbital Angular Momentum (OAM) wave-based communication; and at least two modes of OAM waves can be used for transmission.
Harris teaches a Rayleigh distance (Rayleigh range R, pg.6, lines 31-50) for Orbital Angular Momentum (OAM) wave-based communication (Fig.3, pg.6, lines 31-50); and at least two modes of OAM waves can be used for transmission (orbital angular momentum (OAM) beam comprising multiple OAM signals each having a different one of a plurality of unique OAM modes, pg.2, lines 2-26).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine or modify of Harris to Hou to provide improvements in receiving and separating the OAM signals of a composite OAM beam.
Considering claims 3, 8, Hou and Harris further teach wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine, based on the Rayleigh distance (Hou: [0074], [0079]; Harris: Rayleigh range R, pg.6, lines 31-50), a transmission frequency for OAM wave communication between the base station-side electronic device and the terminal-side electronic device (Hou: Fig.7, 18, [0122], [0212]; Harris: Rayleigh range R, pg.2, lines 2-26, pg.6, lines 31-50).
Considering claim 4, Hou and Harris further teach wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine, based on the Rayleigh distance and an antenna aperture of an OAM wave antenna (Harris: Fig.7A) of the base station-side electronic device, a transmission frequency of an OAM wave-based downlink for the terminal-side electronic device; and notify the terminal-side electronic device of information indicating the transmission frequency of the downlink (Hou: Fig.7, 18, 20, [0064], [0122], [0212]; Harris: Rayleigh range R, pg.2, lines 2-26, pg.6, lines 31-50).
Considering claim 5, Hou and Harris further teach wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive, from the terminal-side electronic device, information indicating an antenna aperture of an OAM wave antenna of the terminal-side electronic device; determine, based on the Rayleigh distance and the antenna aperture of the OAM wave antenna of the terminal-side electronic device, a transmission frequency of an OAM wave-based uplink for the terminal-side electronic device; and notify the terminal-side electronic device of information indicating the transmission frequency of the uplink (Hou: Fig.7, 18, 20, [0064], [0122], [0212]; Harris: Rayleigh range R, pg.2, lines 2-26, pg.6, lines 31-50).
Considering claim 6, Hou and Harris further teach wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: notify, through plane wave communication, the terminal-side electronic device of the determined transmission frequency for OAM wave communication between the base station-side electronic device and the terminal-side electronic device (Hou: Fig.7, 18, 20, [0064], [0122], [0212]; Harris: Rayleigh range R, pg.2, lines 2-26, pg.6, lines 31-50).
Considering claim 9, Hou and Harris further teach wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive, from the terminal-side electronic device, information indicating a status (conditions) of a communication channel between the base station-side electronic device and the terminal-side electronic device (Hou: [0095]); and determine, according to the status of the communication channel, to use an OAM wave transmission device and/or a plane wave transmission device of the base station-side electronic device to communicate with the terminal-side electronic device (Hou: Fig.7, 18, 20, [0064], [0122], [0212]; Harris: Rayleigh range R, pg.2, lines 2-26, pg.6, lines 31-50).
Considering claim 10, Hou and Harris further teach wherein the status of the communication channel is a multipath status of the communication channel (Hou: [0095]), and the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine, in response to the multipath status of the communication channel indicating that there is a line-of-sight (LOS) path (Hou: [0095] downlink channel quality measurement results reflect information such as a relative position between a user equipment and a base station), to use the OAM wave transmission device to communicate with the terminal-side electronic device; and determine, in response to the multipath status of the communication channel indicating that there is no LOS path while energy of a non-line-of-sight (NLOS) path is greater than a threshold, to use a multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) plane wave transmission device of the base station-side electronic device to communicate with the terminal-side electronic device (Hou: Fig.7, 18, 20, [0095], [0122], [0212]; Harris: Rayleigh range R, pg.2, lines 2-26, pg.6, lines 31-50).
Considering claim 11, Hou and Harris further teach wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: send, to the terminal-side electronic device, information instructing the terminal-side electronic device to measure a communication channel between the terminal-side electronic device and one or more other base stations (Hou: [0074], [0095], [0122], [0212]); determine one or more cooperative base stations from the one or more other base stations according to the measurement result from the terminal-side electronic device (Hou: [0074], [0095], [0122], [0212]); and notify the terminal-side electronic device of information indicating the one or more cooperative base stations (Hou: [0074], [0064], [0095]).
Considering claims 12, 20, Hou and Harris further teach wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: send, to the terminal-side electronic device, information instructing the terminal-side electronic device to measure a communication channel between the terminal-side electronic device and one or more other base stations (Hou: [0074], [0064], [0095]); determine a target base station as a handover target from the one or more other base stations according to the measurement result from the terminal-side electronic device (Hou: [0069]-[0074]); and notify the terminal-side electronic device of information instructing the terminal-side electronic device to be handed over to the target base station (Hou: [0074], [0064], [0095]).
Considering claim 13, Hou teaches a method for a base station-side electronic device for a wireless communication system, comprising:
determining a distance between the base station-side electronic device and a terminal-side electronic device (T-VUE, Fig.3-5, [0074] A distance from the T-VUE to eNB1 is d1, a distance from the T-VUE to eNB2 is d2, [0079]);
determining, based on the distance (Fig.3-5, [0074], [0079]) and an antenna aperture of an wave antenna of the base station-side electronic device, a transmission frequency of an wave-based downlink for the terminal-side electronic device (Fig.7, 18, [0122], [0212]); and
notifying the terminal-side electronic device of information indicating the transmission frequency of the downlink ([0064] measurement configuration information may be notified by the serving base station to the user equipment via for example a measConfig cell carried by a Radio Resource Control Connection Reconfiguration (RRCConnectionReconfiguration) message).
Hou do not clearly teach antenna aperture of an OAM wave antenna of the base station-side electronic device, a transmission frequency.
Harris teaches antenna aperture of an OAM wave antenna of the base station-side electronic device, a transmission frequency (Fig.3, pg.6, lines 31-50, orbital angular momentum (OAM) beam comprising multiple OAM signals each having a different one of a plurality of unique OAM modes, pg.2, lines 2-26).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine or modify of Harris to Hou to provide improvements in receiving and separating the OAM signals of a composite OAM beam.
Considering claim 14, Hou and Harris further teach receiving, from the terminal-side electronic device, information indicating an antenna aperture of an OAM wave antenna of the terminal-side electronic device (Hou: Fig.7, 18, 20, [0064], [0122], [0212]; Harris: Rayleigh range R, pg.2, lines 2-26, pg.6, lines 31-50); determining, based on the distance and the antenna aperture of the OAM wave antenna of the terminal-side electronic device, a transmission frequency of an OAM wave-based uplink for the terminal-side electronic device (Hou: Fig.7, 18, 20, [0064], [0122], [0212]; Harris: Rayleigh range R, pg.2, lines 2-26, pg.6, lines 31-50); and notifying the terminal-side electronic device of information indicating the transmission frequency of the uplink (Hou: Fig.7, 18, 20, [0064], [0122], [0212]; Harris: Rayleigh range R, pg.2, lines 2-26, pg.6, lines 31-50).
Considering claim 15, Hou teaches a terminal-side electronic device for a wireless communication system, comprising a processing circuitry configured to:
receive, from a base station-side electronic device (Fig.3, [0074] data information (which is for example a VX message) is dm, power of eNB1 which is received at the T-VUE), information indicating a transmission frequency downlink (downlink multicast/broadcast Fig.7, [0065], [0170]); and
receive a signal on the downlink based on an antenna of the terminal-side electronic device and the transmission frequency of the downlink (downlink multicast/broadcast Fig.7, 20, [0226] transmit and receive a wireless signal via the antenna 2016).
Hou do not clearly teach an Orbital Angular Momentum (OAM) wave; and an OAM antenna.
Harris teaches an Orbital Angular Momentum (OAM) wave (Fig.3, pg.6, lines 31-50, orbital angular momentum (OAM) beam comprising multiple OAM signals each having a different one of a plurality of unique OAM modes, pg.2, lines 2-26); and an OAM antenna (Fig.7A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine or modify of Harris to Hou to provide improvements in receiving and separating the OAM signals of a composite OAM beam.
Considering claim 16, Hou and Harris further teach wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: send, to the base station-side electronic device, information for determining a distance between the base station-side electronic device and the terminal-side electronic device, before receiving the information indicating the transmission frequency of the downlink from the base station-side electronic device (Hou: Fig.7, 18, 20, [0064], [0122], [0212]; Harris: Rayleigh range R, pg.2, lines 2-26, pg.6, lines 31-50).
Considering claim 17, Hou and Harris further teach wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: send, to the base station-side electronic device, information indicating an antenna aperture of an OAM antenna of the terminal-side electronic device; receive, from the base station-side electronic device, information indicating a transmission frequency of an OAM wave-based uplink; and transmit a signal on the uplink based on an OAM antenna of the terminal-side electronic device and the transmission frequency of the uplink (Hou: Fig.7, 18, 20, [0064], [0122], [0212]; Harris: Rayleigh range R, pg.2, lines 2-26, pg.6, lines 31-50).
Considering claim 18, Hou and Harris further teach wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: send, to the base station-side electronic device, information indicating a status of a communication channel between the base station-side electronic device and the terminal-side electronic device (Hou: Fig.7, 18, 20, [0064], [0122], [0212]; Harris: Rayleigh range R, pg.2, lines 2-26, pg.6, lines 31-50); and receive, from the base station-side electronic device, information indicating the use of an OAM wave transmission device and/or a plane wave transmission device, and communicate with the base station-side electronic device using the indicated OAM wave transmission device and/or plane wave transmission device (Hou: Fig.7, 18, 20, [0064], [0122], [0212]; Harris: Rayleigh range R, pg.2, lines 2-26, pg.6, lines 31-50).
Considering claim 19, Hou and Harris further teach wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive, from the base station-side electronic device, information instructing to measure a communication channel between the terminal-side electronic device and one or more other base stations (Hou: Fig.7, 18, 20, [0064], [0122], [0212]; Harris: Rayleigh range R, pg.2, lines 2-26, pg.6, lines 31-50); send the measurement result to the base station-side electronic device; and receive, from the base station-side electronic device, information indicating one or more cooperative base stations, and communicate with the base station-side electronic device and the one or more cooperative base stations according to indicated content (Hou: Fig.7, 18, 20, [0064], [0095], [0122], [0212]; Harris: Rayleigh range R, pg.2, lines 2-26, pg.6, lines 31-50).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/KHAI M NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641