DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-7) in the reply filed on 7/28/2026 is acknowledged.
Groups II-IV (claims 8-18) are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/28/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shin et al (“Reduced graphene oxide-GelMA hybrid hydrogels as scaffolds for cardiac tissue engineering”, Small, July 2016, 12(27): 3677–3689), provided on 6/5/2026.
Regarding claim 1, Shin teaches a reduced graphene oxide (rGO)-incorporated gelatin methacrylyol (GelMA) hybrid hydrogel [abstract], which reads on the claimed composite hydrogel comprising gelatin and reduced graphene oxide.
Regarding claim 2, Shin teaches that the gelatin has a concentration of 7% w/v in the rGO-GelMA hydrogel [P10 under “Preparation of rGO-GelMA hydrogel”], falling within the claimed range of 2% to 40% (w/v).
Regarding claim 3, the gelatin methacrylyol (GelMA) reads on the claimed gelatin methacrylate.
Regarding claim 5, Shin teaches prepared samples in which the rGO has concentrations of 0, 1, 3 and 5 mg•mL−1 [P10 under “Preparation of rGO-GelMA hydrogel”], equivalent to 0, 0.1, 0.3, and 0.5 % (w/v). The samples of 0.1, 0.3, and 0.5 % (w/v) meets the claimed range of 0.05% (w/v) or more.
Regarding claim 6, the 7% w/v of gelatin and 0.1% w/v of rGO gives a ratio of 70:1, falling within the claimed range of 2000:1 to 10:1.
Regarding claim 7, the recited “wherein the composite hydrogel has a ratio (ID/IG) of D-band intensity to G-band intensity of 1.0 or more in a Raman spectrum” is a property of the product. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). See MPEP 2112.01. Since the prior art teaches the same product as the current invention, the recited property is inherent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al (“Reduced graphene oxide-GelMA hybrid hydrogels as scaffolds for cardiac tissue engineering”, Small, July 2016, 12(27): 3677–3689), provided on 6/5/2026, alternatively in view of Enrione Caceres et al (US 20190194460 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Shin teaches the composite hydrogel according to claim 1. Shin further teaches that GelMA with high degree of methacryloyl modification was chosen to provide as many methacryloyl groups as possible to promote sufficient UV-induced crosslinking density in these hybrid hydrogels [P5L27-29]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to choose a GelMA with high degree of methacryloyl modification and meet the claimed “the gelatin methacrylate has a degree of substitution of polymer of 10 to 100 based on a methacrylate group peak and an amine group peak of gelatin”.
Alternatively, Enrione Caceres teaches a methacrylated gelatin with 90% degree of methacryloyl functionalization [0075], and teaches that the degree of methacryloyl functionalization could enhance the mechanical properties of photo-crosslinked hydrogels [0290]. Enrione Caceres and Shin are in the same field of endeavor because both teaches using the methacrylated gelatin in tissue engineering (Enrione Caceres [0290], Shin [title]), and both recognized that high degree of methacryloyl functionalization helps photo-induced crosslinking in the hydrogel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select a GelMA having 90% degree of methacryloyl substitution in Shin’s hydrogel, as Enrione Caceres demonstrates this degree of methacryloyl substitution to be suitable for similar hydrogels. This represents the use of a suitable degree of methacryloyl substitution for a GelMA which is compositionally similar to those of Enrione Caceres and which is used in similar application. "The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416-21 (2007). See MPEP 2141.
The GelMA having 90% degree of methacryloyl substitution meets the claimed gelatin methacrylate having a degree of substitution of polymer of 10 to 100 based on a methacrylate group peak and an amine group peak of gelatin.
Conclusion
/JIANGTIAN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762