DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-12 are pending in application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-5 and 12 in the reply filed on 07/31/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as
being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was
made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/31/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hoshi (JP 2004014445A).
Regarding claim 1, Hoshi describes a method of sealing a secondary battery in an exterior member, or pouch (Lines 3-11, page 1). The battery element (Lines 37-38, page 2; ref. 20, Fig. 2) is sealed by a film-shaped exterior member (Line 38, page 2; ref. 30, Fig. 2). The pouch sealing method includes a formation process (Line 50, page 5 through line 31, page 6) in which battery element is charged and vacuum degassed after a sealing process in which a first vertical sealing portion (Line 52, page 5; ref. 31B, Fig. 1), a horizontal sealing portion (Line 52, page 5; ref. 31A, Fig. 1), and preferably, a second temporary vertical sealing portion (Lines 8-11, page 6; ref. 31D, Fig. 9B) are sealed. The temporary vertical seal results in the formation of a gas reservoir which serves as a dead space (Line 17, page 6; ref. 34, Fig. 9B) which is a region of the pouch not configured to receive the electrode assembly. Additionally, Hoshi describes the degassing sealing method as involving an electrode terminal sealing portion, in which the horizontal sealing portion seals the positive electrode lead wire (Line 38, page 2; ref. 11, Fig. 1) and the negative electrode lead wire (ref. 12, Fig. 1), and a horizontal sealing portion which is a full-width sealing portion, extending transversely to the length of the electrode assembly along an edge of the pouch (see annotated image of Fig. 9B below). Hoshi further discloses a folding device (Line 11, page 5; ref. 40, Fig. 7) containing an inclined pressing surface (Line 18, page 5; ref. 42A, Fig. 7) resulting in inclined sealing portions (Lines 18, page 5; ref. 31B and 31C, Fig. 7) which are configured to incline towards the electrode assembly housing portion, or the portion of the exterior member which surrounds the battery element. Furthermore, the inclined sealing portion (ref. 31B, Fig. 16) is disposed between a first electrode terminal (ref. 11, Fig. 6) and a first distal end (see annotated image of Fig. 7 and 9B below) on an opposite side of the pouch to the dead space (ref. 34, Fig. 9B). Hoshi further describes a main sealing process involving a parallel sealing portion (Lines 29-33, page 6; ref. 31E, Fig. 10B) extending parallel to the length direction of the battery element, wherein the parallel sealing portion is disposed between the electrode assembly housing portion and the gas reservoir (ref. 34, Fig. 9B). Additionally, the parallel sealing involves correcting the horizontal sealing portion (ref. 31A, Fig. 9B) by removing the dead space (Lines 23-26, page 6; see Fig. 10B) so that the horizontal sealing portion is symmetrical with the inclined sealing portion (ref. 31B, Fig. 16) across the central longitudinal axis of the battery element (see Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 2, Hoshi describes a method of correcting the horizontal sealing portion (ref. 31A, Fig. 9B) by removing the dead space (Lines 23-26, page 6; see Fig. 10B) so that the horizontal sealing portion is symmetrical with the inclined sealing portion (ref. 31B, Fig. 16) across the central longitudinal axis of the battery element (see Fig. 7), thereby forming a corrected inclined sealing portion to the right of the battery element.
Regarding claim 3, the positive electrode lead wire (Line 38, page 2; ref. 11, Fig. 1) and the negative electrode lead wire (ref. 12, Fig. 1) are disposed on the same side of the pouch.
Regarding claim 4, Hoshi discloses a pouch sealing method in which degassing sealing involves a temporary vertical sealing portion (ref. 31D, Fig. 9B) extends along a second distal end (see annotated image of Fig. 9B above) and wherein the gas reservoir (ref. 34, Fig. 9B) is disposed between the temporary vertical sealing portion and the battery element.
Regarding claim 5, degassing sealing involves sealing the first distal end by means of the vertical sealing portion (ref. 31B, Fig. 9B) on a side of the pouch opposite the gas reservoir.
Claims 1-2, 4-5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sasaki (WO2021157731 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sasaki discloses a bag sealing method for manufacturing a power storage device (Lines 1-4, page 1). The third embodiment disclosed by Sasaki involves a formation process and degassing step involving generating gas from the electrode body (Line 37, page 10; ref. 200, Fig. 16) during an aging step in which the power storage device is temporarily sealed (Lines 34-36, page 10). Sasaki further describes a degassing sealing process which includes winding an exterior member, or pouch (Line 45-49, page 10; ref. 101Y, Fig. 16) around the electrode body and heat sealing the exterior member on a peripheral edge piece (Line 54, page 10; ref. 150, Fig. 16) along a first sealing portion (Line 56, page 10; ref. 154, Fig. 17) to leave a dead space (Line 58, page 10; ref. 152, Fig. 17) which is not configured to receive the electrode body. Sasaki further describes the formation process resulting in the discharge of gas from electrode body 200 (Lines 4-8, page 11) and a degassing sealing process involving a first sealing portion (Line 24, page 11; ref. 154, Fig. 17) and a second sealing portion (Line 31, page 11; ref. 120X, Fig. 17). The second sealing portion includes a full-width sealing portion (see annotated image of Fig. 17 below) which is disposed along an edge of the pouch extending transversely to a longitudinal dimension of the electrode body, and an electrode terminal sealing portion where the second sealing portion covers electrode terminals (Line 1, page 9; ref. 300, Fig. 9). Although omitted from Fig. 17, Sasaki describes the electrode terminals as common to the second embodiment previously presented (Lines 42-43, page 10). In the second embodiment of Sasaki, the electrode terminals extend from a fitted lid body (Line 49-51, page 8; ref. 400, Fig. 10 and 11). Further in the second embodiment, the configuration of the lid body may be changed such that the exterior member (Line 29, page 13; ref. 101, Fig. 24) and the second surface (Lines 29-33, page 13; ref. 500B, Fig. 23 and 24) of the lid body (ref. 500, Fig. 23) are joined by the sealing portion in the form of a crease (Line 31, page 13; ref. 120X, Fig. 24). Therefore, Sasaki also describes an inclined sealing portion (see annotated image of Fig. 24 below) disposed along an edge of the pouch and extends transverse to the longitudinal axis of the electrode body and inclines towards the second surface of the lid body, which is an electrode assembly housing portion.
Additionally, the inclined sealing portion is disposed between a first electrode terminal (ref. 300, Fig. 24) and a first distal end (see annotated image of Fig. 17 below) where the first distal end is disposed on a side of the pouch opposite the dead space (ref. 152, Fig. 17). Sasaki also describes a main sealing which forms a joining region (Line 59, page 10; ref. 151, Fig. 17), or parallel sealing which extends vertically along a longitudinal dimension of the electrode assembly (ref. 200, Fig. 17) and results in the formation of a dead space (ref. 152, Fig. 17) in which the joining region is disposed between the dead space and the electrode body. Additionally, the main sealing involves correcting the second sealing portion (120X, Fig. 24), or horizontal sealing portion, of the full-width sealing portion by cutting off a part of the excess piece (Line 5, page 11; ref. 150, Fig. 17) and heat sealing the portion in the vicinity of the side (Line 11, page 11; ref. 135, Fig. 17) adjacent to the electrode body resulting in a corrected horizontal sealing portion (ref. 120X, Fig. 17) which is symmetrical with the inclined sealing portion across the central longitudinal axis of the pouch (see annotated image of Fig. 24 above).
Regarding claim 2, Sasaki describes the pouch sealing method as involving the removal of a portion of the excess piece (Line 5, page 11; ref. 150, Fig. 17) resulting in the formation of a corrected inclined sealing portion (ref. 120X, Fig. 17) which is symmetrical with the inclined sealing portion across the central longitudinal axis of the pouch (see annotated image of Fig. 24 above).
Regarding claim 4, Sasaki further discloses a degassing sealing process which involves sealing (ref. 154, Fig. 17) a full-length direction in a longitudinal dimension along the second distal end where the dead space is disposed between the second distal end and the electrode body (see annotated image of Fig. 17 above).
Regarding claim 5, the degassing sealing does not involve sealing the first distal end, because the first distal end is formed of the exterior member (ref. 101Y, Fig. 17) being wrapped around electrode body (ref. 200, Fig. 17) and hence in a state of being sealed by the pouch case structure.
Regarding claim 12, Sasaki describes a configuration in which the first and second electrode terminals (Line 1, page 9; ref. 300, Fig. 9) are symmetrically disposed on opposite sides of the pouch.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US Patent No. 9,847,547 B2) in view of Zhang (US PG Pub 2021/0126325 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a pouch sealing method of manufacturing a secondary battery (abstract) which involves a formation and degassing process (Col. 1, Ln. 60-67 through Col. 2, Ln. 1-5). Kim also describes a degassing sealing process in which a dead space (Col. 2, Ln. 66 – Col. 3 Ln. 9; ref. 150, Fig. 4), a region of the pouch not configured to receive the electrode assembly, is formed during a sealing of the outer circumferential surface (Col. 3, Ln. 1; ref. 140, Fig. 4) of the battery case (ref. 130, Fig. 4). The degassing sealing is configured to form a full width sealing portion which seals the electrode terminals (Col. 2, Ln. 58; ref. 112 and 114, Fig. 4) in a horizontal direction relative to the receiving part (Col. 2, Ln. 67; ref. 120, Fig. 4) resulting in an electrode terminal sealing portion and a horizontal sealing portion, which extends over the dead space to the right and is disposed along an edge of the battery case extending transversely to the longitudinal dimension of the receiving part (Col. 2 Ln. 67; ref. 120, Fig. 4) which contains the electrode assembly. Kim also discloses a main sealing process involving a parallel sealing, or the vertical seal to the left of the dead space (see annotated image of Fig. 6 below) which extends parallel to the length of the electrode assembly within the receiving part. Kim also describes the removal of the dead space to correct the horizontal sealing portion so that the remaining horizontal portion to the right of the receiving part is symmetrical with the remaining sealing portion across a central longitudinal axis of the pouch, to the left of the receiving part.
However, Kim fails to teach an inclined sealing portion formed during the pouch sealing method.
Zhang discloses a sealing method for a packaging bag for a secondary battery (abstract) involving a top sealing region (para. [0047], ref. 221, Fig. 1) a side sealing region (para. [0047], ref. 222, Fig. 1) and two top sealing regions (para. [0050], ref. 221b, Fig. 1), or inclined sealing portions, on the top and bottom sides which are formed by cutting along the trimming lines (para. [0062], L4, Fig. 7). Furthermore, Zhang teaches that the side sealing regions are creased and folded at line L1 (para. [0052], Fig. 8) to reduce the size of the side sealing region.
Furthermore, Zhang teaches that it is desirable to bend the side sealing region to reduce the space occupied by the battery as well as obliquely disposing a second top sealing region to avoid interference between the top sealing region and the side sealing regions during the bending process, resulting in increased performance of the packaging bag (para. [0023]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have cut the corners of the top sealing portion of Kim as taught by Zhang to form an inclined sealing portion inclined toward the electrode assembly and disposed between the first distal end, on an opposite side of the pouch as the dead space, and a first electrode of Kim to reduce interference during the bending process of the side sealing surface of Kim thereby reducing the footprint of the battery and improving seal performance. Note that after correction of the horizontal sealing portion by removal of the dead space of Kim, the horizontal sealing portion is symmetrical with the inclined sealing portion across the central longitudinal axis of the pouch.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Kim and Zhang teaches a pouch sealing method in which correcting the horizontal sealing portion involves removal of the dead space (ref. 150, Fig. 6 of Kim) to correct the horizontal sealing portion (see Fig. 7 of Kim) so that it is symmetrical with the remaining sealing portion across a central longitudinal axis of the pouch containing the inclined sealing portion.
Regarding claim 3, Kim further teaches that the first and second electrode terminals (Col. 2, Ln. 58; ref. 112 and 114 respectively, Fig. 4) are disposed on the same side of the pouch.
Regarding claim 4, Kim describes a degassing sealing process involving a full length sealing portion extending in the length direction of the receiving part along a second distal end (see annotated image of Fig. 4 above), where the dead space is disposed between the electrode housing portion, or the portion of the battery case surrounding the receiving part, and the second distal end.
Regarding claim 5, Kim further describes the degassing sealing process involving sealing (ref. 140, Fig. 6) along the first distal end, which is disposed on an opposite side of the pouch to the dead space, along a longitudinal dimension of the electrode assembly housing portion (see annotated image of Fig. 6 above).
Conclusion
/N.A.M./
Nathan A McMullen
Examiner, Art Unit 1788
09/02/2026
/Alicia Chevalier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1788