Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shim (KR101149833) in view of Xu et al. (CN112048162).
Regarding claims 1-3, Shim teaches a method for producing a marine material and a marine material (including a twisted yarn) comprising forming a constituent element wherein the constituent element comprises a resin consisting essentially of polylactic acid and polybutylene adipate terephthalate with the weight ratio of polylactic acid to polybutylene adipate terephthalate in the resin forming the constituent element being in the claimed range as 3-80% PLA and 70-20% PBAT [0011-0037]. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Moreover, Shim teaches the range of ratio of PLA:PBAT of 3:8 to 7:2 teaching to vary the amount of PLA:PBAT in order to balance processability, thermal stability, strength, stiffness and physical properties and therefore teaches the ratio as a results effective variable. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the ratio range of Shim and arrive at the claimed narrower range through routine experimentation in order to balance processability, thermal stability, strength, stiffness and physical properties.
Lastly, Examples 3 and 4, which Applicant point to for evidence of unexpected results, is not found to be convincing. While Examples 3 and 4 exemplify the endpoints of the claimed range, the data provided is not commensurate in scope with the claims as it is unclear what happens just outside of the claimed range and further is not clear what happens in between the endpoints.
Shim is silent regarding the claimed end capping agent. However, Xu et al. teach using an end-capping agent (terminator) in a polyester composition comprising PLA and PBAT in order to seal the polymer, preventing the polymer from being over-chained, causing the molecular weight distribution to become wider or cross-linked, thereby improving the uniformity of the polymer molecular chain and making the material performance more stable. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the end capping agent of Xu et al. in Shim in order to seal the polymer, preventing the polymer from being over-chained, causing the molecular weight distribution to become wider or cross-linked, thereby improving the uniformity of the polymer molecular chain and making the material performance more stable and arrive at the claimed invention.
Prior Art Not Used but Relevant
PG Pub. 2019/0359818 teaches the claimed ratio of PLA: PBAT in a marine material
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues unexpected results arguing Examples 3 and 4 of the present specification. Shim teaches a ratio of PLA:PBAT in the claimed range. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Moreover, Shim teaches the range of ratio of PLA:PBAT of 3:8 to 7:2 teaching to vary the amount of PLA:PBAT in order to balance processability, thermal stability, strength, stiffness and physical properties and therefore teaches the ratio as a results effective variable. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the ratio range of Shim and arrive at the claimed narrower range through routine experimentation in order to balance processability, thermal stability, strength, stiffness and physical properties.
Lastly, Examples 3 and 4, which Applicant point to for evidence of unexpected results, is not found to be convincing. While Examples 3 and 4 exemplify the endpoints of the claimed range, the data provided is not commensurate in scope with the claims as it is unclear what happens just outside of the claimed range and further is not clear what happens in between the endpoints.
Applicant is invited to amend the claims over the cited art.
Conclusion
/Shawn Mckinnon/Examiner, Art Unit 1789