DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xingxing (CN 11280710) in view of Hu (CN 203597904).
Xingxing teaches a spin mop with visible spin-drying/cleaning state, comprising: a mop bucket (1) and a spin mop body, the mop bucket being provided with a support seat for supporting the spin mop body to spin, the spin mop body comprising a mop rod (21) and a mop head (20) for installing a mop cloth, there is a wherein the mop head is provided with a movable block (23) that slides outwardly based on centrifugal force.
Xingxing teaches all the essential elements of the claimed invention however fails to teach that the sliding member has a visible color block.
Hu teaches a spin mop that when in use, the faster the rotational speed, the greater the centrifugal force and thus, an indicator lamp (6) lights up under a transparent window (8). There are several lamps that light up based on the rotational speed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xingxing so that the mop body additionally comprises indicator lights on the movable block that are activated by centrifugal force as taught by Hu so that a user can determine the dryness based on the different indicator lamps.
With regards to claim 2, Xingxing teaches the mop head (2) is provided with a sliding groove (figure 3) for installing the movable block (23), and the movable block is slidably installed inside the sliding groove (figure 3).
With regards to claim 3, Hu teaches that the transparent window (8) is arranged on the surface of the mop head facing away from the mop cloth. The combination of Xingxing and Hu teaches that the movable block comprises an indicator lamp (6) that corresponding to the window, and the indicator lamp would be fixedly installed on the movable block.
With regards to claim 4, Xingxing and Hu teaches that the indicator lamp is arranged on one side under the window; when the mop head is stationary or spins slowly, no light is on under the window; and when the mop head spins at high speed, the movable block drives the lamp to be lit and visible under the window.
With regards to claim 5, Xingxing and Hu teaches all the essential elements of the claimed invention however fail to teach that the opposite function could occur for the indicator lamp and the movable block. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the references so that the indicator light could be light while the mop head is stationary or spins slowly and when the mop head spins at a high speed, the indicator light could turn off. This is a simple modification that is an alternative version or a reversal of parts and would have been considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
With regards to claim 6, Xingxing teaches the movable block is provided with a damping mechanism (24); and when the mop head spins slowly, the damping mechanism prevents the indicator lamp of Hu from activating.
With regards to claim 7, Xingxing teaches that the damping mechanism comprises an elastic member (spring), one end of the elastic member is connected to a first installing portion (231) of the movable block, the other end of the elastic member is connected to a second installing portion (271) of the mop head, and the elastic member is a tension spring.
With regards to claim 8, Xingxing teaches that the damping mechanism comprises a balance weight (27), and one end of the movable block is provided with an installing groove (figure 3, shows how 27 fits within 20).
With regards to claim 9, Xingxing teaches that the movable block is provided with a protrusion (26), the protrusion is provided with a bevel (cutout), the mop head is provided with a clamping portion (28); when the mop head spins slowly to perform cleaning, the mop head is clamped to a rotary water- spraying device (3) of the external mop bucket via the clamping portion and makes the rotary water-spraying device rotate for spraying water; and when the mop head spins at high speed to perform spin-drying, the protrusion lifts the mop head up via the bevel and makes the clamping portion detach from the rotary water-spraying device (figure 11).
With regards to claim 10, the window is fixedly provided with a transparent cover (8).
Conclusion
/SHAY KARLS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723