DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered. The same applies to references cited by a foreign office, such as PCT written opinions.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: The phrase “atleast” is repeated through the claim(s) and should be two words. Appropriate correction is required in all instances.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 15, line 2, “the attachment” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 and 17-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hassounah [US 2016/0368464] in view of Corfitsen [US 2013/0104361].
With respect to claim 1, Hassounah discloses a battery swapping system 500 for a vehicle 700 [Fig. 1], comprising: at least a pair of slots 610 on a battery 600 [240]; a position tracker for aligning with the vehicle [930]; a platform 100 having a depth d to receive the battery 600 [260]; at least a pair of arms 50 disposed on the platform 100, wherein each arm 50 has a pin 58 for engaging with the pair of slots 610 of the battery [250]; a lifting mechanism 40 attached to each arm 50 to toggle between an upper configuration 42 and a downward configuration 44 [par. 0016, 0055, 0057-0058; i.e. the platform is raised and lowered when installing the battery into the vehicle]; and a plurality of wheels 30 disposed on an outer surface of the platform 100 [230], wherein the platform 100 detects the chassis of the vehicle 700, allowing alignment with a battery bay 750 for swapping of the battery 500 [par. 0083-0089]; and wherein each pin 58 of at least the pair of arms 50 engages with at least the pair of slots 610 of the battery 600 [240 into battery 210], and at least the pair of arms 50 toggle between the upper configuration 42 and the downward configuration 44 using the lifting mechanism 40 [i.e. via 250], allowing the battery 600 to move either towards or away from a battery bay 750 of a vehicle 700 [par. 0016, 0055, 0057-0058]. However, while Hassounah discloses a position tracker he fails to explicitly disclose a plurality of alignment markers disposed onto a chassis of the vehicle 700.
Corfitsen relates to battery swapping for electric vehicles and teaches a plurality of alignment markers disposed onto the chassis [Fig. 3 items 37-40].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant invention to modify Hassounah to utilize alignment markers for the benefit of ensuring the battery is properly and easily connected to the vehicle.
With respect to claim 2, Hassounah further discloses wherein the pair of slots 610 includes each slot 610 provided along each of longitudinal side 604 of the battery 600 [240 Fig. 2; also in combination with Fig. 1 showing four slots, equating to one on each side].
With respect to claim 3, Corfitsen as applied above further discloses wherein the battery swapping system 500 comprises a plurality of alignment markers 310 (on the battery side) [items 29-31].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant invention to modify Hassounah to utilize alignment markers on the battery side for the benefit of ensuring the battery is properly and easily connected to the vehicle.
With respect to claim 4, Hassounah further discloses wherein the pair of arm 50 includes each arm 50 disposed on a first inner wall 12' and a second inner wall 13', along a length 1 of the platform 100 [Fig. 2 shows arms disposed in multiple location along the length of platform 220].
With respect to claim 5, Hassounah further discloses wherein each arm 50 has a fixed end 52 attached to the lifting mechanism 40 and a free end 54 thereof has the pin 58 [free end at 240 and fixed end where 250 is connected to base 220].
With respect to claim 6, Hassounah further discloses wherein the pair of arms 50 has a fixed gap 56 allowing a free movement of each of the arm 50 [Fig. 2; i.e. the crisscross pattern of the lift 250 creates fixed gaps such that the battery can be raised and lowered].
With respect to claim 7, Hassounah further discloses wherein the lifting mechanism 40 for the at least one arm 50 is selected from any one of a hydraulic cylinder, an electric actuator, a servo motor and a linkage mechanism [250 is comprised at least of linkage however par. 0044 further discloses hydraulic or motor being used].
With respect to claims 8-9, Hassounah further discloses wherein the plurality of wheels 30 is omni-directional for complex maneuvers in limited space and eliminates dedicated pathways and wherein the plurality of wheels 30 are disposed on the outer surface of the platform 100 [wheels 230 in combination with position tacker 930 support complex omni-direction maneuvers].
With respect to claim 10, Hassounah further discloses wherein the platform 100a is automatic and comprises:- a plurality of camera 315 disposed onto the platform 100a to detect the plurality of alignment markers 310 for an alignment of platform 100a along the battery bay 750; - a positioning system 400 provided in the platform 100a connected to a central server 450 located remotely to detect a position of the vehicle 700; - an ultrasonic proximity sensor 320 disposed on the platform 100 to detect hurdles in a path of movement of the platform 100a; - an encoder 51 disposed on each of the pair of arms 50 for detection of weight; - a servo motor connected to each of the plurality of wheels 30; and - a power pack to provide power to the platform 100a [Fig. 9; position tracker 930; par. 0083-0090, details the method of using the battery swapping system including automating the process with the mobile robot carrying the battery and driving to the vehicle with aid of the position tracker (sensors/cameras/LiDAR) in order to swap out the battery of the vehicle, weight detection is described in Fig. 4, and finally motors and battery to power the mobile robot (wheels) are consider at least implicit in the function of an automated mobile robot].
With respect to claim 11, Hassounah further discloses wherein the positioning system 400 in the platform 100a comprises one or more of a global positioning system (GPS) technology, a Bluetooth technology, a Wi-Fi technology, an ultra-wideband (UWB) communication technology, an indoor positioning system, and a RFID technology for navigation of the platform 100a on locating a position of the vehicle 700 [par. 0084].
With respect to claims 12-13, Hassounah discloses using cameras LiDAR but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of camera 315 comprises four cameras 315a - d, disposed on a top surface 102 of the platform 100a. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to select utilize at least four cameras with a 160 degrees field of view since it has been held that selecting an optimum number is within the level of ordinary skill. Applicant’s specification fails to describe any criticality or unexpected results that would occur at four cameras and 160 degrees field of view and therefore it is considered one of a finite number of possibilities. The benefit to having at least four cameras with 160 degrees field of view enables the position tracker to increase the field of view with multiple cameras thereby facilitating movement between the mobile robot and the vehicles.
With respect to claim 17, Hassounah further discloses a method 2000 for replacing a discharged battery 600 with a charged battery 600' in a vehicle 700 using the battery swapping system 500 as claimed in claim 1, comprising the steps of: " identifying the vehicle 700 by the system 500; e navigating the platform 100 to the vehicle 700; e aligning the platform 100 under the vehicle 700; " moving the plurality of arms 50 from the downward configuration 44 to the upward configuration 42 of the platform 100; " removing the battery 600 from the battery bay 750 of the vehicle 700; e identifying the vehicle 700 by a second platform 100' having a battery 600' fully charged using the unique code; e navigating the second platform 100' having the battery 600' fully charged to the vehicle 700; e aligning the second platform 100' with the bottom chassis 760 of the vehicle 700; e lifting the battery 600' fully charged from the second platform 100' towards the battery bay 750 using the plurality of arm 50 of the platform 100'; and " mounting the battery 600' fully charged with the battery bay 750 of the vehicle 700 [Fig. 4-5; the automated mobile battery swapping robot in combination with the position tracker system includes all the structure required to perform all of the steps of the method above during the normal operation of utilizing the mobile robot to go replace a battery on an electric vehicle].
With respect to claim 18, Hassounah further discloses wherein the step of removing the battery 600 from the battery bay 750 of the electric vehicle 700 comprises an engagement of each pin 58 of the plurality of pair of arms 50 with each pair of the plurality of slots 610 on the battery 600 by toggling of each of two pair of arms 50 from the downward configuration 44 to the upward configuration 42 using the lifting mechanism 40 [i.e. battery gets removed and placed into items 240 of the lift].
With respect to claim 19, Hassounah further discloses wherein the step of removing the battery 600 from the battery bay 750 of the electric vehicle 700 comprises removal of a plurality of nuts and a plurality of bolts and further supporting the battery 600 with each of the plurality of arms 50 in the upward configuration 42 [implicitly nuts and bolts are required to hold the battery into place in the electric vehicle or else the battery would fall out while driving do to gravity and therefore removal of such restraints is requirement during removal/swapping of the batteries].
With respect to claim 20, Hassounah further discloses wherein the step of removing the battery 600 from the battery bay 750 of the electric vehicle 700 comprises placing the battery 600 into the depth d of the platform 100 achieved by a movement of each of the pair of arms 50 from the upward configuration 42 to the downward configuration 44 using the lifting mechanism 40 [i.e. as depicted in Fig. 2 the removed or replaced battery is situated on platform 260].
With respect to claim 21, Hassounah further discloses wherein the step of lifting the battery 600' comprises an engagement of a plurality of slot 610 of the battery 600' with each pin 58 of each of the pair of arms 50 of the second platform 100' and a movement of each of the pair of arms 50 from the downward configuration 44 to the upward configuration 42 along with the battery 600 [Fig. 2 as actuated by lift 250, wherein batteries are secured on platform 260 with pins 240].
With respect to claim 22, Hassounah further discloses the method of replacing a discharged battery 600 with a charged battery 600' in a vehicle 700 using the battery swapping system 500 as claimed in claim 10, comprising the steps of:" providing a unique code through a central server 300 of a battery swapping system 500 to the vehicle 700; e navigating the platform 100a using a positioning system 400 and a plurality of ultrasonic proximity sensor 320 to the vehicle 700, wherein the plurality of ultrasonic proximity sensors 320 detects various hurdles in the path during navigation; e aligning the platform 100 using a plurality of camera by detecting the plurality of alignment marker 310 under the vehicle 700; " moving at least one pair of arm 50 using (x) from the downward configuration 44 to the upward configuration 42 of the platform 100, thus engaging each of the pin 58 of at least one pair of arm 50 with the at least one pair of slots 610 of the battery 600; " moving at least one pair of arm 50 along the battery 600 from the upward configuration 42 to the downward configuration 44, thus placing a discharged or a partially discharged battery 600 into the depth d of the platform 100 of the system 500; e navigating the platform 100 with a battery 600' fully charged in the depth d, through the unique identification code using the positioning system and the plurality of ultrasonic proximity sensors 320 to the vehicle 700; e aligning the platform 100 using the plurality of camera by detecting the plurality of alignment marker 310 under the vehicle 700; e lifting the battery 600' fully charged from the depth d of the platform 100 towards the battery bay 750 of the vehicle 700; and " mounting the battery 600' fully charged with the battery bay 750 of the vehicle 700 [Fig. 4-5; the automated mobile battery swapping robot in combination with the position tracker system includes all the structure required to perform all of the steps of the method above during the normal operation of utilizing the mobile robot to go replace a battery on an electric vehicle; further note par. 0038 and 0063 regarding server and scanning of codes to facilitate the battery exchange].
With respect to claim 23, Hassounah further discloses the method of replacing a discharged battery 600 with a charged battery 600' in a vehicle 700 using a battery swapping system 500 as claimed in claim 14, with a semi-automatic platform 100b, comprising the steps of:" providing a unique code to the vehicle 700; e navigating the platform 100b to the vehicle 700 by a user by the handle 120 attached to the rod; e aligning the platform 100b using a plurality of camera by detecting the plurality of alignment marker 310 under the vehicle 700 by the user using the screen 105 with the control panel 110 for adjusting the platform 100b; " moving at least one pair of arms 50 using (x) from the downward configuration 44 to the upward configuration 42 of the platform 100b, thus engaging each of the pin 58 of at least one pair of arms 50 with the at least one pair of slots 610 of the battery 600 by the user; " moving at least a pair of arms 50 along the battery 600 from the upward configuration 42 to the downward configuration 44, thus placing a discharged or a partially discharged battery 600 into the depth d of the platform 100b of the system 500 by the user; e navigating the platform 100b with a battery 600' fully charged in the depth d, by a user using the handle 120 attached to the rod 115; e aligning the platform 100b using the plurality of camera 315 by detecting the plurality of alignment marker 310 under the vehicle 700 by the user using the screen 105with the control panel 110 for adjusting the platform 100b; e lifting the battery 600' fully charged from the depth d of the platform 100b towards the battery bay 750 of the vehicle 700 by the user with the control panel 110; and " mounting the battery 600' fully charged in the battery bay 750 of the vehicle 700 [Fig. 4-5; the automated mobile battery swapping robot in combination with the position tracker system includes all the structure required to perform all of the steps of the method above during the normal operation of utilizing the mobile robot to go replace a battery on an electric vehicle; further note par. 0038 and 0063 regarding server and scanning of codes to facilitate the battery exchange].
With respect to claim 24, Hassounah further discloses wherein the steps of engagement and the step of lifting using the lifting mechanism 40b comprises each of the pair of arms 50 connected to a link through a shaft, each link is further connected to a hydraulic cylinder in turn connected a common pipe and a power pack [Fig. 2 depicts multiple links and shaft ultimately operated and powered by a motor].
With respect to claim 25, Hassounah further discloses wherein the step of navigating the platform 100b comprises pressing a button 111 on the control panel 110 on the platform 100b by the user and further, the user holding the handle 120 towards the vehicle 700 [par. 0045; on-board user interface].
With respect to claim 26, Hassounah further discloses wherein the steps of aligning the platform 100b comprises a visual stream on the screen 105 provided by the plurality of cameras 315a-d allowing the user to adjust and align the platform 100b with respect to the plurality of alignment markers 310 [par. 0045, also note position tracker 930]. Additionally, note the LiDAR captures all the visual information and therefore simply displaying known information already captured is considered obvious in the art. The benefit of displaying the camera information enables a user to monitor the automated battery swapping process being used by the position tracking system.
With respect to claim 27, Hassounah further discloses wherein the steps of engagement and the step of lifting using the lifting mechanism 40c comprises each of the pair of arms 50 connected to a link through a shaft, each link being further connected to a hydraulic cylinder in turn connected to a common pipe and a hand-pump 125 [Fig. 2 depicts multiple links and shaft ultimately operated and powered by a motor].
Claim(s) 14-16 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hassounah [US 2016/0368464] and Corfitsen [US 2013/0104361] as applied above, and further in view of Fry et al. [US 11,495,990] and Georgeson et al. [US 2022/0212638].
With respect to claims 14-15 and 28, Hassounah as applied above further discloses wherein the platform 100b is semi- automatic and comprises:- a plurality of camera 315 disposed on a top surface 102 of the platform 100b; - a servo motor 31 provided to each of the plurality of wheels 30 [i.e. position tracker 930]. Hassounah fails to explicitly disclose a current sensor 53 disposed on each of at least one pair of arms 50, each of the current sensor 53 allows the system 500 to sense engagement and disengagement of the pin 58 with the plurality of slots 610 as a function of change in current. However, it is well-known in the art to use current sensors to detect current flow (circuit connection) and therefore official notice is taken. The benefit to using a current sensor to detect current flow/connection ensure the component is connected in the right direction and placement.
Fry teaches a handle 120 attached to the rod 115 along its length to maneuver a mobile device [46] that is connected via a a rod 115 at its first end, wherein the rod 115 through its other end is attached to the platform 100, wherein the attachment is selected from reversible and permanent attachment [see telescoping rod 38 and 42].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify Hassounah to include the handle and rod for the benefit of incorporating a means for a user to easily maneuver the mobile robot, i.e. during maintenance and/or battery failure.
Furthermore, Georgeson relates to an automated battery swapping robot and teaches having a screen 105 with a control panel 110 [Fig. 24, 90/92]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify Hassounah to include a display on the rod for the benefit of incorporating a means for a user to easily and quickly ascertain relevant information about the mobile robot and associated battery at a height convenient for a user’s viewing.
With respect to claim 16, Hassounah in view of Fry discloses wherein the platform 100c is manual and comprises: a handle 120 attached to the platform 100c as detailed above but fails to disclose a plurality of mirror disposed on a top surface 102 of the platform 100 and e a hand pump 125 attached to the lifting mechanism 40c to toggle at least one pair of arms 50 between the upward configuration 42 and the downward configuration 44. Utilizing mirrors and hand pumps (pneumatics) is well-known in the art (i.e. applicant is not inventing mirrors and hand pumps) and therefore it is considered within the level of ordinary skill in the art to a person having ordinary skill to modify Hassounah to include mirror and hand pump without incurring any undue experimentation. The benefit to include a mirror facilitates the user with positioning of the mobile robot have the handle as modified by Fry and also the benefit of having a hand pump allows the user to raise and lower the battery during manual movement (in the event the battery power has failed).
Conclusion
/NATHANIEL R PELTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859