This action is responsive to Applicant's amendments/remarks filed 07/07/2026.
Claims 1, 2, 6, 9, and 12-18 are currently pending, of which claims 13-15 are withdrawn.
Claims 1, 2, 6, 9, 12, and 16-18 are currently under examination.
The rejection of claims 1-5, 7, and 8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroaki (WO 2021/131810 A1) is withdrawn in view of the above amendments.
The rejection of claims 1-3, 10, and 11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miki (US 2018/0319726 A1) is withdrawn in view of the above amendments.
The rejection of claims 3 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamoto (JP 2019112507 A) is withdrawn in view of the cancellation of claim 3.
The rejection of claims 1, 2, 6, 9, and 12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamoto (JP 2019112507 A) is withdrawn in view of the above remarks.
The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 17 recites “atmoshperic”. Applicant is suggested to revise it as “atmospheric” for clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 & 103
1. Claims 1, 2, 6, 12, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyaoka (JP 2019065223 A, hereinafter Miyaoka).
Regarding claims 1, 2, and 6, Miyaoka teaches a cleaning agent composition consisting of 10-30 mass % of C4F9OCH3 (NOVEC7100) and 70-90 mass% of (Z)-1-chloro-3,3,3-trifluoropropene (1233Z) ([0056], [0059], Examples 1-4, Table 1-2), which fall within the claimed ranges of “0.1 to 40.5 mass%” and “59.5 to 99.9 mass%”. The C4F9OCH3 in Miyaoka reads on the claimed methyl nonafluorobutyl ether.
The court has held that “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id. See MPEP 2112.01 II. "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established." In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 I.
Therefore, the claimed azeotropic or azeotropic-like property and the claimed property of the composition in which a temperature difference of a temperature indicated by a gas-phase line and a temperature indicated by a liquid-phase line is within 2 °C, would be present in the identical composition (i.e. the composition consisting of 10-30 mass % of C4F9OCH3 and 70-90 mass% of 1233Z in Examples 1-4) as taught by Miyaoka.
In any event, Miyaoka’s teaching does not sufficiently anticipate the claimed properties, the claimed properties are nevertheless obvious over Miyaoka.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reasonably expect that the claimed azeotropic or azeotropic-like property and the claimed property of the composition in which a temperature difference of a temperature indicated by a gas-phase line and a temperature indicated by a liquid-phase line is within 2 °C, would flow naturally from the teaching of Miyaoka, because the teaching of Miyaoka provides substantially the same composition consisting of the same amount of methyl nonafluorobutyl ether and the same amount of 1-chloro-3,3,3-trifluoro-1-propene as claimed. Therefore, the invention as a whole would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claims 1, 2 and 12, Miyaoka teaches a cleaning agent composition consisting of 10-30 mass % of 1,1,2,2-tetrafluoro-1-(2,2,2-trifluoroethoxy)ethane (AE-3000) and 70-90 mass% of (Z)-1-chloro-3,3,3-trifluoropropene (1233Z) ([0056], [0059], Examples 22-25, Table 1-5), which fall within the claimed ranges of “0.1 to 38.0 mass%” and “62.0 to 99.9 mass %”. The 1,1,2,2-tetrafluoro-1-(2,2,2-trifluoroethoxy)ethane in Miyaoka reads on the claimed 2,2,2-trifluoroethyl-1,1,2,2-tetrafluoroethyl ether.
The court has held that “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2112.01. I and II.
Therefore, the claimed azeotropic or azeotropic-like property and the claimed property of the composition in which a temperature difference of a temperature indicated by a gas-phase line and a temperature indicated by a liquid-phase line is within 2 °C, would be present in the identical composition (i.e. the composition consisting of 10-30 mass % of 1,1,2,2-tetrafluoro-1-(2,2,2-trifluoroethoxy)ethane and 70-90 mass% of 1233Z in Examples 22-25) as taught by Miyaoka.
In any event, Miyaoka’s teaching does not sufficiently anticipate the claimed properties, the claimed properties are nevertheless obvious over Miyaoka.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reasonably expect that the claimed azeotropic or azeotropic-like property and the claimed property of the composition in which a temperature difference of a temperature indicated by a gas-phase line and a temperature indicated by a liquid-phase line is within 2 °C, would flow naturally from the teaching of Miyaoka, because the teaching of Miyaoka provides substantially the same composition consisting of the same amount of 2,2,2-trifluoroethyl-1,1,2,2-tetrafluoroethyl ether and the same amount of 1-chloro-3,3,3-trifluoro-1-propene as claimed. Therefore, the invention as a whole would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claims 16 and 17, Miyaoka teaches a cleaning agent composition consisting of 10-20 mass % of C4F9OCH3 (NOVEC7100) and 80-90 mass% of (Z)-1-chloro-3,3,3-trifluoropropene (1233Z) ([0056], [0059], Examples 1-3, Table 1-2), which falls within the claimed range of “at least 80 mass %”.
Miyaoka also teaches a cleaning agent composition consisting of 10-20 mass % of 1,1,2,2-tetrafluoro-1-(2,2,2-trifluoroethoxy)ethane (AE-3000) and 80-90 mass% of (Z)-1-chloro-3,3,3-trifluoropropene (1233Z) ([0056], [0059], Examples 22-24, Table 1-5), which falls with the claimed range of “at least 80 mass %”.
The court has held that “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2112.01. I and II.
Therefore, the claimed property of the composition having an atmospheric boiling point of 38 ᵒC to 46 ᵒC, would be present in the identical composition (i.e. the composition consisting of 10-20 mass % of C4F9OCH3 and 80-90 mass% of 1233Z in Examples 1-3, or the composition consisting of 10-20 mass % of 1,1,2,2-tetrafluoro-1-(2,2,2-trifluoroethoxy)ethane and 80-90 mass% of 1233Z in Examples 22-24) as taught by Miyaoka.
In any event, Miyaoka’s teaching does not sufficiently anticipate the claimed property, the claimed property is nevertheless obvious over Miyaoka.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reasonably expect that the claimed property of the composition having an atmospheric boiling point of 38 ᵒC to 46 ᵒC, would flow naturally from the teaching of Miyaoka, because the teaching of Miyaoka provides substantially the same composition consisting of the same amount of the hydrofluoroether (i.e. methyl nonafluorobutyl ether, or 2,2,2-trifluoroethyl-1,1,2,2-tetrafluoroethyl ether), and the same amount of 1-chloro-3,3,3-trifluoro-1-propene as claimed. Therefore, the invention as a whole would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 18, Miyaoka teaches a cleaning agent composition consisting of 10 mass % of C4F9OCH3 (NOVEC7100) and 90 mass% of (Z)-1-chloro-3,3,3-trifluoropropene (1233Z) ([0056], [0059], Example 1, Table 1-2), which falls within the claimed range of “at least 90 mass %”.
Miyaoka also teaches a cleaning agent composition consisting of 10 mass % of 1,1,2,2-tetrafluoro-1-(2,2,2-trifluoroethoxy)ethane (AE-3000) and 90 mass% of (Z)-1-chloro-3,3,3-trifluoropropene (1233Z) ([0056], [0059], Example 22, Table 1-5), which falls with the claimed range of “at least 90 mass %”.
2. Claims 1, 2, 9, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abbas (US 2012/0329893 A1, hereinafter Abbas).
Regarding claims 1, 2, and 9, Abbas teaches a composition consisting of 90% by weight of 1-chloro-3,3,3-trifluoropropene (HFCO-1233zd) and 10% by weight of nonafluoroethoxybutane (HFE-7200) (Table 1), which falls within the claimed ranges of “89.0 to 99.9 mass %” and “0.1 to 11.0 mass%”. The nonafluoroethoxybutane in Abbas reads on the claimed ethyl nonafluorobutyl ether.
The court has held that “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2112.01. I and II.
Therefore, the claimed azeotropic or azeotropic-like property and the claimed property of the composition in which a temperature difference of a temperature indicated by a gas-phase line and a temperature indicated by a liquid-phase line is within 2 °C, would be present in the identical composition (i.e. the composition consisting of 90% by weight of HFCO-1233zd and 10% by weight of nonafluoroethoxybutane) as taught by Abbas.
In any event, Abbas’s teaching does not sufficiently anticipate the claimed properties, the claimed properties are nevertheless obvious over Abbas.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reasonably expect that the claimed azeotropic or azeotropic-like property and the claimed property of the composition in which a temperature difference of a temperature indicated by a gas-phase line and a temperature indicated by a liquid-phase line is within 2 °C, would flow naturally from the teaching of Abbas, because the teaching of Abbas provides substantially the same composition consisting of the same amount of ethyl nonafluorobutyl ether and the same amount of 1-chloro-3,3,3-trifluoro-1-propene as claimed. Therefore, the invention as a whole would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claims 16-18, Abbas teaches a composition consisting of 90% by weight of 1-chloro-3,3,3-trifluoropropene (HFCO-1233zd) and 10% by weight of nonafluoroethoxybutane (HFE-7200) (Table 1), which falls within the claimed ranges of “at least 80 mass %” and “at least 90 mass %”.
The court has held that “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2112.01. I and II.
Therefore, the claimed property of the composition having an atmospheric boiling point of 38 ᵒC to 46 ᵒC, would be present in the identical composition (i.e. the composition consisting of 90% by weight of HFCO-1233zd and 10% by weight of nonafluoroethoxybutane) as taught by Abbas.
In any event, Abbas’s teaching does not sufficiently anticipate the claimed property, the claimed property is nevertheless obvious over Abbas.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reasonably expect that the claimed property of the composition having an atmospheric boiling point of 38 ᵒC to 46 ᵒC, would flow naturally from the teaching of Abbas, because the teaching of Abbas provides substantially the same composition consisting of the same amount of the hydrofluoroether (i.e. ethyl nonafluorobutyl ether), and the same amount of 1-chloro-3,3,3-trifluoro-1-propene as claimed. Therefore, the invention as a whole would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
3. Claims 1, 2, 6, 9, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitsuoka (WO 2020/175565 A1, see US 20210355405 A1, hereinafter Mitsuoka).
Regarding claims 1, 2, and 6, Mitsuoka teaches a solvent composition comprising (Z)1-chloro-3,3,3-trifluoropropene (HCFO-1233zd (Z)) and solvent (B), wherein the mass ratio of HCFO-1233zd (Z) to solvent (B) is from 99/1 to 70/30, and the proportion of the total amount of HCFO-1233zd (Z) and solvent (B) to the total amount of the solvent composition is at least 80 mass % ([0077]).
Mitsuoka also teaches that the proportion of the total amount of HCFO and solvent (B) to the total amount of the solvent composition is preferably from 95 to 100 mass % ([0076]).
Thus, in Mitsuoka, the proportion of the total amount of HCFO-1233zd (Z) and solvent (B) to the total amount of the solvent composition can be 100 mass%. Thus, the solvent composition of Mitsuoka can consist of HCFO-1233zd (Z) and solvent (B), wherein HCFO-1233zd (Z) is in an amount of 70-99 mass% in the solvent composition, and solvent (B) is in an amount of 1-30 mass% in the solvent composition, which fall within the claimed ranges of “59.5 to 99.9 mass%” and “0.1 to 40.5 mass%”.
Mitsuoka teaches that the solvent (B) can be nonafluorobutyl methyl ether (Novec 7100) ([0056]).
Mitsuoka specifically teaches a solvent composition consisting of 70-75 mass% of HCFO-1233zd(Z), and 25-30 mass% of nonafluorobutyl methyl ether (HFE-7100; Novec 7100) (Examples 22, 26, 31, 34, 38, 42, and 45, Table 2), which fall within the claimed ranges of “59.5 to 99.9 mass%” and “0.1 to 40.5 mass%”.
Mitsuoka does not teach that the solvent composition is an azeotropic or azeotrope-like composition, and has a composition in which a temperature difference of a temperature indicated by a gas-phase line and a temperature indicated by a liquid-phase line is within 2 °C.
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reasonably expect that the claimed azeotropic or azeotropic-like property and the claimed property of the composition in which a temperature difference of a temperature indicated by a gas-phase line and a temperature indicated by a liquid-phase line is within 2 °C, would flow naturally from the teaching of Mitsuoka, because the teaching of Mitsuoka provides substantially the same composition consisting of the same amount of methyl nonafluorobutyl ether and the same amount of 1-chloro-3,3,3-trifluoro-1-propene as claimed. Therefore, the invention as a whole would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claims 1, 2, and 9, Mitsuoka teaches a solvent composition comprising (Z)1-chloro-3,3,3-trifluoropropene (HCFO-1233zd (Z)) and solvent (B), wherein the mass ratio of HCFO-1233zd (Z) to solvent (B) is from 99/1 to 70/30, and the proportion of the total amount of HCFO-1233zd (Z) and solvent (B) to the total amount of the solvent composition is at least 80 mass % ([0077]).
Mitsuoka also teaches that the proportion of the total amount of HCFO and solvent (B) to the total amount of the solvent composition is preferably from 95 to 100 mass % ([0076]).
Thus, in Mitsuoka, the proportion of the total amount of HCFO-1233zd (Z) and solvent (B) to the total amount of the solvent composition can be 100 mass%. Thus, the solvent composition of Mitsuoka can consist of HCFO-1233zd (Z) and solvent (B), wherein HCFO-1233zd (Z) is in an amount of 70-99 mass% in the solvent composition, and solvent (B) is in an amount of 1-30 mass% in the solvent composition, which overlap with the claimed ranges of “89.0 to 99.9 mass %” and “0.1 to 11.0 mass%”.
Mitsuoka also teaches that the solvent (B) can be nonafluorobutyl ethyl ether (Novec 7200) ([0056]). Mitsuoka further teaches that the solvent composition consists of HCFO-1233zd (Z) and nonafluorobutyl ethyl ether (HFE-7200; Novec 7200) (Table 2).
Mitsuoka does not teach the solvent composition is an azeotropic or azeotrope-like composition, and has a composition in which a temperature difference of a temperature indicated by a gas-phase line and a temperature indicated by a liquid-phase line is within 2 °C.
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reasonably expect that the claimed azeotropic or azeotropic-like property and the claimed property of the composition in which a temperature difference of a temperature indicated by a gas-phase line and a temperature indicated by a liquid-phase line is within 2 °C, would flow naturally from the teaching of Mitsuoka, because the teaching of Mitsuoka provides substantially the same composition consisting of the same amount of ethyl nonafluorobutyl ether and the same amount of 1-chloro-3,3,3-trifluoro-1-propene as claimed. Therefore, the invention as a whole would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claims 16-18, as discussed above, the solvent composition of Mitsuoka can consist of HCFO-1233zd (Z) and solvent (B), wherein HCFO-1233zd (Z) is in an amount of 70-99 mass% in the solvent composition, and solvent (B) is in an amount of 1-30 mass% in the solvent composition, which overlap with the claimed ranges of “at least 80 mass %” and “at least 90 mass %”.
Mitsuoka teaches that the solvent (B) can be nonafluorobutyl methyl ether (HFE-7100; Novec 7100), or nonafluorobutyl ethyl ether (HFE-7200; Novec 7200) ([0056], Table 2).
Mitsuoka does not teach that the solvent composition has an atmospheric boiling point of 38 ᵒC to 46 ᵒC.
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reasonably expect that the claimed property of the composition having an atmospheric boiling point of 38 ᵒC to 46 ᵒC, would flow naturally from the teaching of Mitsuoka, because the teaching of Mitsuoka provides substantially the same composition consisting of the same amount of the hydrofluoroether (i.e. methyl nonafluorobutyl ether, or ethyl nonafluorobutyl ether), and the same amount of 1-chloro-3,3,3-trifluoro-1-propene as claimed. Therefore, the invention as a whole would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the prior rejections have been considered but are moot, because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The current rejection utilizes new references, Miyaoka (JP 2019065223 A), Abbas (US 2012/0329893 A1), and Mitsuoka (WO 2020/175565 A1, see US 20210355405 A1).
As stated above, claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyaoka (JP 2019065223 A).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abbas (US 2012/0329893 A1).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitsuoka (WO 2020/175565 A1, see US 20210355405 A1).
Conclusion
/JIAJIA JANIE CAI/Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/MATTHEW R DIAZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761