DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The status of the claims upon entry of the present applications are as follows:
Pending claims: 8-14
Canceled claims: 1-7
Claims currently under consideration: 8-14
Currently rejected claims: 8-14
Allowed claims: None
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Keys et al. (US 2017/0020167 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Keys teaches a dry eggless composition comprising a mixture of hydrocolloids and a crosslinking agent that crosslinks the hydrocolloid mixture to form a gelling hydrocolloid when a liquid activator is added (claim 1). Keys also teaches that the gelled hydrocolloid may comprise alginate (claim 13). Keys further teaches that the liquid activator may comprise “a milk” or water, where the milk may be plant-based and/or derived from nuts [0092]. Keys provides an embodiment of a dry hydrocolloid composition that includes spray-dried soy milk that is hydrated with water prior to cooking [0114]. In addition, Keys describes an embodiment of the hydrocolloid composition where the crosslinking agent may contain a salt of a divalent cation (e.g., Ca2+) [0081] that dissociates upon hydration of the dry composition and stabilizes the hydrocolloid crosslinking network. (i.e., forming calcium alginate) [0082].
Regarding claim 9, Keys teaches all the elements of claim 8 as described previously. Keys also teaches embodiments of fluid, liquid or gelatinous egg-less compositions where the crosslinking agent may be present in amounts ranging from approximately 0.05 wt% to 5 wt % based on the total weight of the composition [0087].
Regarding claim 10, Keys teaches all the elements of claim 8, as described above. Keys also teaches embodiments of a gelatinous composition that contain cellulose (i.e., fiber) for use as a dietary supplement and/or viscosity agent. Key further notes that the composition may contain any suitable amount of the viscosity agent needed to achieve the desired bulk or viscosity [0102] – [0104].
Regarding claim 11, Keys teaches all the elements of claim 8 as described above. In addition, Keys teaches a hydrocolloid composition comprising a liquid activator and a lipid source (claims 1 and 6).
Regarding claim 12, Keys teaches all the elements of claim 8 as described above. In addition, Keys provides embodiments of fluid, liquid or gelatinous compositions containing protein that may be in liquid form and sourced from nuts (e.g., almond) or legumes (e.g., soy) [0058]. Keys also provides composition protein concentrations ranging from about 0 wt % – 5 wt%, based on the total weigh of the composition [0060].
Regarding claim 14, Keys teaches all of the elements of claim 8 as described above. Keys also teaches an egg-substitute composition that may be used in cooked food products. More specifically, Keys discloses that the composition may be used to make scrambled eggs and omelets [0113].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keys (US 2017/0020167 A1) in view of Li (US 2013/0052304 A1) and Rodriguez (US 2015/0313269 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Keys teaches all elements of claim 8 as described above. Keys also provides embodiments of fluid, liquid or gelatinous compositions comprising a liquid activator present in concentrations ranging from 60 – 95 wt % based on the total weight of the composition [0093].
Key does not specifically teach composition liquid concentrations ranging from 10% to 50%.
However, Li teaches an egg substitute composition comprising 1-10 wt % moisture (claim 13). Further, Rodriguez teaches that embodiments of a dry egg-substitute composition may be reconstituted with varying amounts of liquid (e.g., water or milk), depending on the desired viscosity and the particular use [0127].
It would have been obvious for one with ordinarily skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to produce a product according to Keys having a fluid content in the range of 10-50%. Both Li and Rodriguez are directed to the same field of endeavor, namely producing egg-substitute food products. Since Keys discloses the egg substitute is suited for use in a variety of cooking/baking applications, including compositions that would encompass other ingredients, such as muffins, cheesecakes, and French toast [0113], one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to consult Li and Rodriguez for additional clarification regarding suitable fluid concentrations for such applications wherein a high liquid concentration may not be optimal. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the amount of liquid in the liquid concentration to achieve a desirable fluid concentration suitable for producing a scrambled egg-like food product or other type of food product. The claimed fluid concentration range of 10-50% would thus be obvious to a practitioner of ordinary skill.
Conclusion
assistance from a USPTO customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MDS/
Examiner, Art Unit 1793
/EMILY M LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1793