DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the magnetic member and magnetically attracted member (optional limitation in claim 6), the slot passing through a bottom of the mounting groove (claim 9; shown passing through a middle portion of the mounting groove) and the liquid level detection device (claim 12) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim and Specification Objections
The claims and specification are objected to because the term “recycling bin” used in the title and throughout the entire application is not understood by the examiner to be appropriate terminology, because there is no “recycling” function or structure disclosed for the application as a whole. Further, the term “recycling bin” in the U.S. is commonly understood as a basic bin or container for collecting recyclable materials, whereas the current invention is understood to merely be a waste collection bin or container for collecting dirty fluid and solid debris from a surface. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 7, 11, 14, 17 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claims 4, 7, 17 and 19, each of the limitations “located on a side of the channel outlet close to the outer shell, wherein the support is detachably connected to the filtering portion” (claims 4 and 17), “wherein the sewage channel passes through the mounting hole” (claims 7 and 19) and “wherein the channel outlet is located above the side plate” (claims 7 and 19) are all only accurate when the device is fully assembled, but otherwise would not be accurate. It is suggested that the applicant clarify each of these claim limitations with a statement to define the relative orientations when the respective components are assembled with one another.
Regarding claim 11, the terms “the limiting portion” and “the positioning portion” lack proper antecedent basis, because the terms are previously introduced in claims 5 and 6, but claim 11 does not depend from either.
Regarding claim 14, the term “the recycling bin” in line 3 lacks proper antecedent basis. It is suggested that the applicant amend the limitation to “a recycling bin”.
Regarding claim 11, the terms “the limiting portion” and “the positioning portion” lack proper antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The limitation “the suction port enables a substance to be cleaned to be suctioned under an action of an fluid through the channel inlet” is unclear because there is no disclosed “action of a fluid”. As best understood by the examiner, the limitation is intended to disclose that the suction port is configured for collection of a substance, from a surface to be cleaned, under the action of suction through the channel inlet”, and will be treated as such for the sake of the current Office Action.
Claim limitations “limiting portion” and “positioning portion” have been evaluated under the three-prong test set forth in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, but the result is inconclusive. Thus, it is unclear whether this limitation should be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the specification provides a few possible examples of structure for each term, but also discloses that the terms “may have any other structure that meets the requirements” (paragraph 59; assumed to “meet the requirements” of releasably joining two parts). The boundaries of this claim limitation are ambiguous; therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
In response to this rejection, applicant must clarify whether this limitation should be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Mere assertion regarding applicant’s intent to invoke or not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph is insufficient. Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim to clearly invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, by reciting “means” or a generic placeholder for means, or by reciting “step.” The “means,” generic placeholder, or “step” must be modified by functional language, and must not be modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function;
(b) Present a sufficient showing that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, should apply because the claim limitation recites a function to be performed and does not recite sufficient structure, material, or acts to perform that function;
(c) Amend the claim to clearly avoid invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, by deleting the function or by reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to perform the recited function; or
(d) Present a sufficient showing that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, does not apply because the limitation does not recite a function or does recite a function along with sufficient structure, material or acts to perform that function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (CN 112568834 B) in view of Scholten et al. (2021/0267428).
Regarding claims 1 and 14, Xu discloses a cleaning device and “recycling bin” comprising the device body (not shown but disclosed as a cleaning device for use with the recycling bin, which inherently includes some form of body, to be a physical structure), the bin comprising: an upper cover (40); a filtering portion (20), detachably connected to the upper cover and provided with a plurality of filtering holes, wherein a filtering space is formed between the filtering portion and the upper cover; and a sewage channel (11), passing through the filtering portion and comprising a channel outlet disposed within the filtering space. However, Xu fails to disclose that the channel outlet is located above the filtering portion. Scholten discloses a similar cleaning device, also having a filtering portion (1150) wherein a filtering space is formed between the filtering portion and the upper cover (982), with a sewage channel (923), passing through the filtering portion and comprising a channel outlet (927) disposed within the filtering space substantially above the filtering portion, wherein the solid debris collected in the filtering space will be separated from the collected liquid when the cover and filtering portion are removed from the bin. The space between the filtering portion and the cover of Scholten is substantially larger than the equivalent space for Xu, which will allow for substantially larger capacity for solid debris that is collected by the filtering portion. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to optionally lower the position of the filtering portion of Xu along the sewage channel, as taught by Scholten, to increase collection volume for solid debris, while maintaining the same function as the filtering portion of Xu.
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Xu further discloses a bin body (10), comprising an outer shell and an inner shell (11) enclosed to form an accommodation cavity, wherein the outer shell is detachably connected to the upper cover, the inner shell is provided with the sewage channel, and the filtering portion is within the accommodation cavity; wherein the channel outlet (upper end of 11) is communicated with the accommodation cavity, and the sewage channel further comprises a channel inlet (lower end of 11) outside the accommodation cavity.
Regarding claims 3 and 16, Xu further discloses that the upper cover comprises: a cover body (40) detachably connected to the outer shell, wherein the cover body is provided with a suction port (401), the suction port is communicated with the accommodation cavity, the suction port is configured for collection of a substance, from a surface to be cleaned, under the action of suction through the channel inlet (see rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112 above) to the channel outlet and then to flow through the filtering portion.
Regarding claims 4 and 17, Xu further discloses that the upper cover further comprises: a support (lower lip having seal 46 thereon), provided on a side of the cover body toward the channel outlet and located on a side of the channel outlet close to the outer shell, wherein the support is detachably connected to the filtering portion (via latch 22/46).
Regarding claim 5 and 18, Xu further discloses that the upper cover is provided with a limiting portion (46), and the filtering portion is provided with a positioning portion (22) configured to fit the limiting portion, and contact or separation between the limiting portion and the positioning portion is configured to connect the filtering portion and the upper cover or to separate the filtering portion from the upper cover.
Regarding claim 6, Xu further discloses that the limiting portion comprises a hook, and the positioning portion comprises a slot.
Regarding claims 7 and 19, Xu further discloses that the filtering portion comprises: a bottom plate provided with a mounting hole (shown in Fig. 3 with the sewage channel passing therethrough), wherein the sewage channel passes through the mounting hole; and a side plate (vertical portion of filtering portion) connected to the bottom plate; wherein the channel outlet is located above the side plate (as taught by Scholten, as discussed above for claims 1 and 14). However, Xu fails to disclose that the filtering holes are at least provided on the bottom plate. Scholten also discloses that the filter portion includes a mounting hole (1160), wherein the sewage channel passes through the mounting hole; and a side plate (1154) connected to the bottom plate, and Scholten also teaches that the filtering holes 91156) in the filtering portion are provided in the bottom plate, which would be understood to anyone of ordinary skill in the art to ensure that all liquids entering the filter portion are allowed to pass through the filtering portion to be collected in the bin and separated from the solids in the filtering portion. Therefore, it further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide at least some if the filtering holes in the bottom plate of Xu, as taught by Scholten, to ensure that all liquid can drain from the filtering portion (whereas a lack of holes in the bottom plate of Xu would likely retain at least some liquid, thus failing to fully separate the solids from liquids).
Regarding claims 8 and 20, Xu further discloses that the side plate protrudes in a direction away from the bottom plate to provide a connecting portion (22) connected to the side plate via the access shell 20), and the connecting portion comprises a hook (22 protrudes from the shell 20 to effectively form a hook); and the upper cover protrudes in a direction toward the bottom plate to provide a mounting portion (lower rim of cover 40, including latch 46) configured to mount the connecting portion.
Regarding claim 10, Xu further discloses that the filtering holes are further provided on the side plate.
Regarding claim 11 (interpreted as depending from claim 5 or 6; see objections above), Xu further discloses that the positioning portion is provided on the side plate (via the shell 20), and is detachably connected with the support of the upper cover.
Regarding claim 12, Xu further discloses a liquid level detection device (float 52) provided on the bin body and configured to detect a liquid level in the accommodation cavity.
Regarding claim 13, Xu further discloses that the cleaner includes a controller that receives signals from the liquid level detection device (pg. 7 of English language translation) and may initiate an alert signal in response to a detection result from the liquid level detection device being that a level of a liquid substance in the bin body reaches a preset height. However, Xu fails to discloses that the controller will also control a suction fan to stop working. Scholten also discloses a liquid level detection device for the collection bin of the cleaner, and teaches that detection of liquid reaching a preset height, the controller may also shut down electronic components, including the suction source, to prevent damage thereto, if/when the liquid were to reach the components (paragraph 109). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to also configure the controller of Xu to shut down electronic components, including the suction fan, when the liquid level detection device indicates that the liquid has reached the preset height, as taught by Scholten, to prevent damage thereto, if/when the liquid were to reach the components.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (CN 112568834 B) in view of Scholten et al. (2021/0267428) as applied to claims 1-8, and further in view of JP S603422 Y2 (to be referred to hereinafter as JP422).
Regarding claim 9, Xu further discloses that the mounting portion further comprises a bottom wall (lower edge of cover 40) close (close being a relative term, with all components of the disclosed cleaner being considered to be close to one another) to the bottom plate; and the connecting portion further comprises an abutting portion (upper edge of shell 20) located on a side of the hook close (close being a relative term, with all components of the disclosed cleaner being considered to be close to one another) to the bottom plate, wherein the abutting portion is configured to contact the bottom wall so as to position the hook in the slot. However, Xu fails to disclose that the mounting portion comprises a mounting groove, and the upper cover is provided with a slot passing through a bottom of the mounting groove. While Xu shows a common latch (22/46) known in the art, it also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that other types of latches may be provided to connect the cover to the filtering portion. One very common latch is a resilient hook, formed as a unitary part with one of the components being connected, and being flexible into and out of a corresponding slot in the other component being connected, similar to the latch mechanism disclosed by JP422, which is also provided for connecting a lid (23) to a filtering component (3/21), similar to Xu, the connection defining a mounting portion (cross section of 23 as shown in Fig. 4) comprises a mounting groove (for receiving latch portion 3 as shown in Fig. 4), and the upper cover is provided with a slot (portion receiving protrusion 22 in Fig. 4) passing through a bottom of the mounting groove (bottom being a relative term, wherein if/when the mounting structure of Fig. 4 is inverted, the slot will be considered to pass through the bottom of the mounting groove). Therefore, it further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide an alternative latching mechanism of JP422 in place of the latch taught by Xu, being well known alternatives in the art, and also being simpler than the multi-part latch of Xu, due to formation of the latching parts integrally with the respective components being connected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Each of Luyckx et al. (10,512,383), Li et al. (12,171,394), Kasper et al. (2007/0067945) and Pedlar et al. (2009/0094784) disclose cleaners having similar filtering portions within the collection tanks.
/BRYAN R MULLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723 26 March 2026