DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1 – 16 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/13/2023, 05/29,2024, 02/26/2025 and 08/11/2025 were filed before the first office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 7, 10 – 11 and 14 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kisela et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2004/0134016 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Kisela teaches a cleaning device (cleaning device, 10; Fig. 4), comprising: a main body (housing, 29), a cleaning assembly (cleaning head, 12), and a connection mechanism (universal joint, 16), a cleaning liquid supply system ( fluid delivery system, 90; Fig. 4) comprising a cleaning liquid reservoir (cleaning fluid supply reservoir, 36) and a cleaning liquid output pipeline (fluid supply conduit, 116), wherein the cleaning liquid reservoir (36) is connected to the cleaning liquid output pipeline (Paragraphs [0054] – [0056]); and a dirt recovery system (dirt collection assembly, Fig. 5) comprising a dirt reservoir (32), a dirt suction pipeline (suction nozzle inlet, 162 and working air flow path, 164), and a fan assembly (fam motor assembly, 30), wherein the dirt reservoir (32) is communicated with the dirt suction pipeline (162/164) and further in fluid communication with the fan assembly (30; Paragraphs [0063] – [0065]); wherein the connection mechanism (16) is configured to connect the main body (29) and the cleaning assembly (12; Fig. 4), and comprises at least two rotational connection portions (first clevis, 39 and second clevis, 55; Fig. 5), rotation axes (rotation axis formed at 50 and 66; Fig. 5) of which are not being parallel to each other (Fig. 5); and wherein the at least two rotational connection portions (Fig. 5) are configured to enable the main body (29) to rotate relative to the cleaning assembly (10) about the rotation axis (rotation axis formed at 50 and 66; Fig. 5) of each of the at least two rotational connection portions (52/54 and 56/58; Fig. 5; Paragraph [0048]).
Regarding Claim 2, Kisela teaches the cleaning device (cleaning device, 10; Fig. 4), wherein the at least two rotational connection portions (39 and 55; Fig. 5) comprise a first rotational connection portion (clevis, 39 with arms 40 and 42) configured to enable the main body (29) to rotate relative to the cleaning assembly about a first rotation axis (rotation axis of 50 of the first rotational connection portion (Fig. 5; Paragraph [0048]), and a second rotational connection portion (clevis, 55 with arms 56 and 58) configured to enable the main body (29) to rotate relative to the cleaning assembly about a second rotation axis (rotation axis of 66) of the second rotational connection portion (Fig. 5), the first rotation axis (R1) being perpendicular to the second rotation axis (R2; Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 3, Kisela teaches the cleaning device (cleaning device, 10; Fig. 4) wherein the first rotation axis (R1) extends along a first direction (Fig. 5), which is the first direction being a moving direction of the cleaning device (10) at work (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 4, Kisela teaches the cleaning device (cleaning device, 10; Fig. 4) wherein the first rotational connection portion (clevis, 39 with arms 40 and 42) and the second rotational connection portion (clevis, 55 with arms 56 and 58) are provided sequentially along a length direction of the main body (29; Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 5, Kisela teaches the cleaning device (cleaning device, 10; Fig. 4) wherein the first rotational connection portion (clevis, 39) comprises a first connection member (arm 40; Fig. 5), a second connection member (arm 42; Fig. 5), and at least one first pivoting member (pivot pins, 66), wherein the first connection member (40) is connected to the main body (29), and the second connection member (42) is rotatably connected to the first connection member (40) via the at least one first pivoting member (66; Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 6, Kisela teaches the cleaning device (cleaning device, 10; Fig. 4) wherein the at least one first pivoting member (pin, 66) comprises two first pivoting members (pins, 66; Paragraph [0048]), and the two first pivoting members (66) are disposed on two sides of the first connection member (40) respectively and coaxially provided in a direction perpendicular to the first direction (Paragraph [0048]).
Regarding Claim 7, Kisela teaches the cleaning device (cleaning device, 10; Fig. 4) wherein each of the two first pivoting members (pins, 66) comprises a first pivoting shaft (pins 66 are two shafts) which is rotatably connected to the first connection member (40) and is fixedly connected to the second connection member (42, the pin is fixedly connected in that it does not come unlodged).
Regarding Claim 10, Kisela teaches the cleaning device (cleaning device, 10; Fig. 4) wherein the first rotational connection portion (Fig. 5) further comprises a first passage (passage that allows 116 to pass as shown in Fig. 4) for arrangement of a circuit and the cleaning liquid output pipeline (Paragraph [0056]), and a second passage (large aperture, 68) for arrangement of the dirt suction pipeline (Paragraph [0048]; Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 11, Kisela teaches the cleaning device (cleaning device, 10; Fig. 4) wherein the first connection member (40) and the second connection member (42) are both of hollow structures (Fig. 5), the first passage (Fig. 4) is disposed between the first connection member and the second connection member (Fig. 4), and the second passage (68) passes through the first connection member and the second connection member (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 14, Kisela teaches the cleaning device (cleaning device, 10; Fig. 4) wherein the second rotational connection portion (39) comprises a second pivoting member (50) and a third connection member (52 and 54) that is mounted on the cleaning assembly (12); the second connection member (39) is rotatably connected to the third connection member via the second pivoting member (50; Fig. 5); and a rotation axis of the second pivoting member (50) extends in a direction perpendicular to the first direction (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 15, Kisela teaches the cleaning device (cleaning device, 10; Fig. 4) wherein the third connection member (Fig. 5) comprises a first frame body (flange, 52) and a second frame body (flange, 54), wherein the first frame body (52) is detachably connected to the second frame body (54; via pins, 50), the first frame body (52) is provided with a first recess (51) on each of both sides (recess, 51 passes through a front and back side of body 52), and the second frame body (54) is provided with a second recess (53) on each of both sides (recess, 53 passes through a front and back side of body 54); and when the first frame body (52) is connected to the second frame body (54), the first recess (51) and the second recess (53) are combined to form a through hole for receiving a second pivoting shaft of the second pivoting member (50; Fig. 5), thereby allowing the second pivoting member 50) to be rotatably connected to the third connection member (Fig. 5; flanges 52 and 54).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 – 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kisela et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2004/0134016 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Kisela teaches the cleaning device (cleaning device, 10; Fig. 4) according to claim 7 but does not explicitly teach wherein the first pivoting shaft is fixedly connected to the second connection member via a fastener.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kisela to further include the first pivoting shaft is fixedly connected to the second connection member via a fastener, as claimed, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known connection on the basis of its suitability for the intended use of the device (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding Claim 9, Kisela teaches the cleaning device (cleaning device, 10; Fig. 4) according to claim 7 but does not explicitly teach the first pivoting shaft is integrally formed with the second connection member, and passes through the first connection member to be rotatably connected with the first connection member.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kisela to further include teach the first pivoting shaft is integrally formed with the second connection member, and passes through the first connection member to be rotatably connected with the first connection member, as claimed, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 16, Kisela teaches the cleaning device (cleaning device, 10; Fig. 4) according to claim 16 but does not explicitly teach the second pivoting shaft is integrally formed with the second connection member.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kisela to further include the second pivoting shaft is integrally formed with the second connection member, as claimed, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. (MPEP 2144.04).
Claims 12 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kisela et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2004/0134016 A1) in view of Johnson (U. S. Patent No. 9,521,940 B2).
Regarding Claim 12, Kisela teaches the cleaning device of claim 7 as discussed above.
Kisela does not explicitly teach the first connection member is provided with a depression in a position corresponding to the first pivoting member, and the connection mechanism further comprises a cover detachably covering the depression.
Johnson, however, teaches the first connection member (13o) is provided with a depression (receiver, 134) in a position corresponding to the first pivoting member (128), and the connection mechanism (116) further comprises a cover (cap, 148) detachably covering the depression (Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kisela to further include the first connection member is provided with a depression in a position corresponding to the first pivoting member, and the connection mechanism further comprises a cover detachably covering the depression, as taught by Johnson, to provide a device where the fasteners are secures, thus preventing dislodging and damage to the device.
Regarding Claim 13, Kisela teaches the cleaning device of claim 7 as discussed above.
Kisela does not explicitly teach an outer surface of the cover is flush with an outer surface of the first connection member.
Johnson, however, teaches an outer surface of the cover (148) is flush with an outer surface of the first connection member (130; as shown in Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kisela to further include an outer surface of the cover is flush with an outer surface of the first connection member, as taught by Johnson, to provide a device where the fasteners are secures, thus preventing dislodging and damage to the device.
Conclusion
Art made of record, however, not relied upon for the current rejection is as follows: U. S. Patent Publication 2013/0067673 A1 to Yu teaches a cleaning device, comprising: a main body, a cleaning assembly, and a connection mechanism, wherein the connection mechanism is configured to connect the main body and the cleaning assembly, and comprises at least two rotational connection portions, rotation axes of which are not being parallel to each other; and wherein the at least two rotational connection portions are configured to enable the main body to rotate relative to the cleaning assembly about the rotation axis of each of the at least two rotational connection portions.
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723