DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention Group III in the reply filed on February 16, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 23-35 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 16, 2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “container lid handling device, with which the container lid with the mixing device with the mixing element arranged on the container lid” as recited in claim 38 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“filling device,” “mixing device” and “mixing element” in claim 36, where the “device” and “element” are the placeholder and “filling” and “mixing” are the functional language;
“container lid handling device” in claim 38, where the “device” is the placeholder and “container lid handling” is the functional language;
“container handling device” in claim 39, where the “device” is the placeholder and “container handling” is the functional language; and
“container closure device” in claim 42, where the “device” is the placeholder and “container closure” is the functional language.
Same interpretation applies to all pending claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 36-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 36 recites the limitation "the container" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The container recited in line 1 is insufficient because it is not a positively recited element. The term “for" in line 1 indicates that the container is not a positively recited element (an optional element in the claimed invention). However, the container in line 4 is positively recited to provide relative displacement between the container and a mixing device (a must in the claimed invention). Therefore, the claim is indefinite because the claim is ambiguous and fails to define the metes and bounds of the subject matter to be protected by the patent grant. Similar rejection applies to the limitation “the container lid" in line 3 of claim 38.
The limitation “wherein the mixing element, after filling the container, remains in the interior of the container, and wherein the container is closed with a container lid when the container is removed from the apparatus,” in lines 9-12 of claim 36, appears to be a method claim limitation. It is unclear what is the significant of this limitation in an apparatus claim? In other words, what element or combination of elements is needed to meet the claim limitation? Should the limitation be interpreted as functional language of an apparatus claim? Clarification is respectfully requested. Similar issues are noted in the other pending claims. Same or similar rejection applies to the pending claims.
Claim 38 recites the limitation "a container lid handling device, with which the container lid with the mixing device with the mixing element arranged on the container lid" in lines 2-4. It appears to be idiomatically and/or grammatically incorrect.
Claims 41 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The “container” and the “container lid” are not positively recited limitations in claim 36. However, claims 41 and 43 further defined the “container lid”. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
The above are just examples of inconsistencies and problematic issues noted by the Examiner. Applicant is advised to carefully review and amend the application to correct other deficiencies. For the purpose of examination, the claims will be examined as best understood by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 36-43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Krauss et al. (WO1989007294. IDS provided by the Applicant. Krauss hereinafter).
With respect to claim 36, Krauss discloses an apparatus (Figs. 1-9) for (capable of) filling a container (53) with a liquid or paste-like product, comprising: a filling device (Figs. 4 and 6) for filling an interior of the container with the product, wherein the apparatus is designed such that the container and a mixing device (14) can be displaced relative to each other such that a mixing element (55) of the mixing device projects into the interior of the container and the mixing element of the mixing device is displaced (by rotating 50) in the interior of the container, wherein the mixing element, after filling the container, remains in the interior of the container (Fig. 6), and wherein the container is closed with a container lid (page 15, line 26) when the container is removed from the apparatus.
With respect to claim 37, Krauss discloses the apparatus according to claim 36, wherein the filling device has a plurality of product component storage containers (27), from each of which a product component can be filled into the container.
With respect to claim 38, Krauss discloses the apparatus according to claim 36, wherein a product mixing device (14, elements linked to 157 and 53) of the apparatus has a container lid handling device (male thread on the neck of 53), with which the container lid with the mixing device with the mixing element arranged on the container lid can be (manually) gripped and moved towards the container in such a way that the mixing element of the mixing device projects into the interior of the container (by loosening set screw 66), and wherein the mixing element can be displaced with the container lid handling device within the interior of the container.
With respect to claim 39, Krauss discloses the apparatus according to claim 36, wherein the apparatus has a container handling device (Fig. 6), with which the container can be (manually) gripped and moved towards the container lid with the mixing device with the mixing element arranged on the container lid (by loosening set screw 66) in such a way that the mixing element of the mixing device projects into the interior of the container (same configuration as the Applicant’s invention).
With respect to claim 40, Krauss discloses the apparatus according to claim 39, wherein the container can be displaced (removed) with the container handling device such that the mixing element is displaced within the interior of the container (by loosening set screw 66).
With respect to claim 41, Krauss discloses the apparatus according to claim 38, wherein the container lid can be displaced (removed) relative to the container by (via) the container lid handling device in such a way that the mixing element is displaced within the interior of the container (by loosening set screw 66).
With respect to claim 42, Krauss discloses the apparatus according to claim 36, wherein the apparatus has a container closure device (male thread on the neck of 53) with which the container lid can be fastened on the container after the container has been filled with the product and the product has been mixed in the container.
With respect to claim 43, Krauss discloses the apparatus according to claim 36, wherein the apparatus has a container magazine (49) for holding a plurality of containers and a container lid magazine (lid box) for holding a plurality of container lids (page 15, line 26), each with a respective mixing device arranged on the container lid (by loosening set screw 66).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following patents are cited to show the art with respect to an apparatus for filling a container: Howe, Hill, Corbin, Logan, Gugger, Achen, Meyer.
/CHEE-CHONG LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 April 15, 2026