DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 05/27/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-15, 18-20, and 23-24 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 11-15, 18, 19, 23, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lin (US 2023/0038582 A1, hereinafter “Lin”).
Regarding claim 1:
Lin discloses a method for adjusting a timing relationship, performed by a network device (e.g., Fig. 7, 110-1) and comprising:
indicating a time offset of at least one service beam to a terminal device (e.g., Fig. 7, 120), wherein the time offset is configured to adjust the timing relationship between the network device and the terminal device (e.g., [0027], [0028], [0031], [0033], “K_offset”, Fig. 2B, 221),
wherein the time offset of the service beam further comprises: an offset between an offset parameter of the service beam and a reference offset parameter, or a reference offset parameter and an offset between an offset parameter of the service beam and the reference offset parameter (e.g., [0033], “K_offset=K_offset1+K_offset2 … K_offset2 is an offset correction value … how close between the reference offset (K_offset1) and the true offset (K_offset)”, [0059]-[0060]).
Regarding claim 2:
Lin further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein indicating the time offset of at least one service beam to the terminal device comprises: explicitly or implicitly indicating the time offset of at least one service beam to the terminal device (e.g., [0033]-[0035], [0051], [0059], [0060]).
Regarding claim 3:
Lin further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein indicating the time offset of at least one service beam to the terminal device comprises: sending a time offset set to the terminal device, wherein the time offset set comprises the time offset of at least one service beam (e.g., [0028], [0029], [0031], [0033], [0051], [0060]).
Regarding claim 4:
Lin further discloses wherein sending the time offset set to the terminal device comprises: sending the time offset set to the terminal device via group sharing downlink control information (e.g., [0028], “the same time domain location offset is applied for the UEs in the same cell (at cell level)”, [0030], [0032], “indicate the K_offset to a group of UEs via … group-common DCI”).
Regarding claim 5:
Lin further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein indicating the time offset of at least one service beam to the terminal device comprises: configuring the time offset of at least one service beam at a first position of a first downlink control signaling (DCI), and sending the time offset of at least one service beam to the terminal device via the first DCI, wherein the first position is a position where the first DCI carries the time offset or a time offset set; and the time offset set comprises the time offset of at least one service beam (e.g., [0032], [0033], [0051], [0054], [0059], [0060]).
Regarding claim 6:
Lin further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein indicating the time offset of at least one service beam to the terminal device comprises: scrambling a second DCI based on a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI); and configuring the time offset of at least one service beam at a second position of the scrambled second DCI, and sending the time offset of at least one service beam to the terminal device via the scrambled second DCI; wherein the second DCI is an existing DCI, and the second position is a position where the second DCI carries the time offset or a time offset set; and the time offset set comprises the time offset of at least one service beam (e.g., [0032], [0033], [0051], [0054], [0059], [0060]).
Regarding claim 7:
Lin further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein indicating the time offset of at least one service beam to the terminal device comprises: indicating a time offset of a target service beam to the terminal device, wherein the target service beam is a beam currently used by the terminal device (e.g., [0028], [0032], [0059], [0060]).
Regarding claim 8:
Lin further discloses wherein indicating the time offset of the target service beam to the terminal device comprises: indicating the time offset of the target service beam to the terminal device via a random access response (e.g., [0028], [0032], [0059], [0060]).
Regarding claim 9:
Lin further disloses the method according to claim 8, wherein a mapping relationship is present between a frequency domain resource where the random access response is located and the time offset of the target service beam (e.g., [0031], K_offset values and BWP configuration).
Regarding claim 11:
Lin further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the time offset of the service beamfurther comprises: an offset parameter of the service beam (e.g., [0028]-[0033]).
Regarding claim 12:
Lin discloses a method for adjusting a timing relationship, performed by a terminal device and comprising: determining a time offset of at least one service beam; and adjusting the timing relationship based on the time offset, wherein the time offset of the service beam further comprises: an offset between an offset parameter of the service beam and a reference offset parameter, or a reference offset parameter and an offset between an offset parameter of the service beam and the reference offset parameter. (See rejection for similar claimed limitations with respect to claim 1.)
Regarding claim 13:
Lin further discloses the method according to claim 12, wherein determining the time offset of at least one service beam comprises: receiving a time offset set sent by a network device, wherein the time offset set comprises the time offset of at least one service beam. (See rejection for similar claimed limitations with respect to claim 1.)
Regarding claim 14:
Lin further discloses the method according to claim 13, wherein receiving the time offset set sent by the network device comprises: receiving group sharing downlink control information sent by the network device, wherein the group sharing downlink control information is configured to carry the time offset set. (See rejection for similar claimed limitations with respect to claim 4.)
Regarding claim 15:
Lin further discloses the method according to claim 12, wherein determining the time offset of at least one service beam comprises one of: receiving a first downlink control signaling (DCI) sent by a network device, and obtaining the time offset of at least one service beam from a first position of the first DCI, wherein the first position is a position where the first DCI carries the time offset or a time offset set; and the time offset set comprises the time offset of at least one service beam; receiving a second DCI sent by the network device, and obtaining the time offset of at least one service beam from scrambling information on a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) of the second DCI, wherein the second DCI is an existing DCI, and the second position is a position where the second DCI carries the time offset or a time offset set; and the time offset set comprises the time offset of at least one service beam; or receiving indication information sent by the network device, and determining a time offset of a target service beam based on the indication information, wherein the target service beam is a beam currently used by the terminal device. (See rejection for similar claimed limitations with respect to claims 5, 6, and 7.)
Regarding claim 18:
Lin further discloses the method according to claim 15, wherein receiving the indication information sent by the network device, and determining the time offset of the target service beam based on the indication information comprise: receiving a random access response carrying the indication information, and obtaining the time offset of the target service beam based on the indication information. (See rejection for similar claimed limitations with respect to claim 8.)
Regarding claim 19:
Lin further discloses the method according to claim 18, wherein obtaining the time offset of the target service beam based on the indication information comprises: obtaining a target frequency domain resource where the random access response is located, wherein the target frequency domain resource is the indication information; and querying a mapping relationship between frequency domain resources and time offsets of service beams according to the target frequency domain resource to obtain a target time offset that matches the target frequency domain resource. (See rejection for similar claimed limitations with respect to claim 9.)
Regarding claim 23:
Lin discloses a network device (e.g., Fig. 4, 1000), comprising: a processor (Fig. 4, 1008); and a memory (Fig. 4, 1006) having stored therein a computer program; wherein the processor is configured to: indicate a time offset of at least one service beam to a terminal device, wherein the time offset is configured to adjust a timing relationship between the network device and the terminal device, wherein the time offset of the service beam further comprises: an offset between an offset parameter of the service beam and a reference offset parameter, or a reference offset parameter and an offset between an offset parameter of the service beam and the reference offset parameter. (See rejection for similar claimed limitations with respect to claim 1.)
Regarding claim 24:
Lin discloses a terminal device (e.g., Fig. 4, 1000), comprising: a processor (Fig. 4, 1008); and a memory (Fig. 4, 1006) having stored therein a computer program; wherein the processor is configured to perform the method according to claim 12. (See rejection for similar claimed limitations with respect to claim 12.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Huang (WO 2015/010227 A1, hereinafter “Huang”).
Regarding claim 10:
Lin is silent regarding wherein a mapping relationship is present between an RNTI carried in the random access response and the time offset of the target service beam.
Huang teaches a mapping relationship between an RNTI in a random access response and a time offset (e.g. Page 4, “Optionally, the random access response further includes a temporary cell radio network temporary identifier (Temporary C-RNTI), the value of the Temporary C-RNTI indicates that the terminal enables the preset Delay time. Further, the value of the Temporary C-RNTI may be OxFFFC to indicate that the terminal enables the preset delay time … It should be noted that the value of the Temporary C-RNTI may be regarded as an index of the time that the terminal needs to be delayed, that is, the value of the Temporary C-RNTI indicates that the terminal needs to delay, which is equivalent to The case where the value of the Temporary C RNTI is OxFFFC is directly regarded as indicating to the terminal that the preset delay time is a certain time.”)
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Lin based on the teaching from Huang to include the feature a mapping relationship is present between an RNTI carried in the random access response and the time offset of the target service beam, because it would reduce signaling overhead and delay for uplink scheduling.
Regarding claim 20:
Lin is silent regarding wherein obtaining the time offset of the target service beam based on the indication information comprises: obtaining a target radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) carried in the random access response, wherein the target RNTI is the indication information; and querying a mapping relationship between RNTIs and time offsets of service beams according to the target RNTI to obtain a target time offset that matches the target RNTI.
Huang teaches obtaining a time offset based on a an RNTI in a random access response and a mapping relationship between an RNTI and a time offset (e.g. Page 4, “Optionally, the random access response further includes a temporary cell radio network temporary identifier (Temporary C-RNTI), the value of the Temporary C-RNTI indicates that the terminal enables the preset Delay time. Further, the value of the Temporary C-RNTI may be OxFFFC to indicate that the terminal enables the preset delay time … It should be noted that the value of the Temporary C-RNTI may be regarded as an index of the time that the terminal needs to be delayed, that is, the value of the Temporary C-RNTI indicates that the terminal needs to delay, which is equivalent to The case where the value of the Temporary C RNTI is OxFFFC is directly regarded as indicating to the terminal that the preset delay time is a certain time.”)
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Lin based on the teaching from Huang to include the features obtaining the time offset of the target service beam based on the indication information comprises: obtaining a target radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) carried in the random access response, wherein the target RNTI is the indication information, and querying a mapping relationship between RNTIs and time offsets of service beams according to the target RNTI to obtain a target time offset that matches the target RNTI, because it would reduce signaling overhead and delay for uplink scheduling.
Response to Arguments
Rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 over Lin
With respect to independent claims 1, 12, and 23 as amended, Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the rejection presented in the Final Office action.
With respect to claim 4, Applicant argues Lin does not teach or suggest “group sharing downlink control information” as claimed. Remarks, page 12. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Lin describes, e.g., in [0028], “the same time domain location offset is applied for the UEs in the same cell (at cell level)”, in [0030], “The configuration is performed here for all UEs within a radio cell with a common offset value,” and in [0032], “the base station may indicate the K_offset to a group of UEs via … group-common DCI.” Based on at least the above cited portions of Lin, and by applying the broadest reasonable interpretation, Lin teaches “group sharing downlink control information”, as recited in claim 4.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BO HUI A ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465