DETAILED ACTION
This Action is in response to the Request for Continued Examination filed 03/09/2026.
The status of the Claims is as follows:
Claims 14-20 are new;
Claims 1-3, and 5-13 have been amended;
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/13/2023. was filed after the mailing date of the Application on 12/13/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 objected to because of the following informalities: The Claim is listed as being dependent on Claim 15. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 8-10, 13-16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Laghi (US 20190002138)
Regarding Claim 1 Laghi discloses an apparatus for automatically wrapping a load with a film comprising:
a guide carriage (2), comprising wheels (3) operable to move said guide carriage (2) around a load to be wrapped;
a column, (6) associated with said guide carriage (2) and capable of holding a reel (60) of said film (50), said reel (60) being rotatable to release, in operation, said film (50) around said load to be wrapped;
a plurality of sensors (11, 12, 13) associated with said guide carriage (2) and/or with said column (6), said plurality of sensors (11, 12, 13) being configured to detect, instant by instant, data relating to the distance of said guide carriage (2) from at least one obstacle (par 46), said at least one obstacle comprising said load to be wrapped (par 46-57); and
a control unit (20) configured to receive at every instant said data from said plurality of sensors (11, 12, 13) and to calculate responsive to the data received at each instant, a predetermined steering angle that said guide carriage (2) must follow. (par 35-43; 49, 57-59, 67)
Regarding Claim 5 Laghi teaches the invention as described above. Laghi further teaches said plurality of sensors (11, 12, 13) is configured to detect data relating to the distance of said guide carriage (2) from said obstacle at least along a first direction (X), which is transverse to said guide carriage (2), and along a second direction (Z), which is substantially orthogonal to said first direction (X), said second direction (Z) being substantially vertical. (par 48-51)
Regarding Claim 8 Laghi teaches the invention as described above. Laghi further teaches said plurality of sensors (12) is mounted at a side surface (Fig. 1) of said guide carriage (2) adapted to face, in operation, said load to be wrapped. (par 48-51)
Regarding Claim 9 Laghi teaches the invention as described above. Laghi further teaches a support device (Fig. 4) associated with a side surface (Fig. 4) of said guide carriage (2), capable of supporting said plurality of sensors (12). (par 48-51)
Regarding Claim 10 Laghi teaches the invention as described above. Laghi further teaches a steering assembly (par 32-33), connected to said wheels (3), said steering assembly (par 32-33) being controlled by said control unit based on said data transmitted by said plurality of sensors (11, 12, 13).
Regarding Claim 13 Laghi discloses a method for automatically wrapping a load with a film comprising:
a. arranging, in a work environment in which there is at least one load to be wrapped, an apparatus for automatically wrapping said load with
a film the apparatus being equipped with plurality of sensors (11, 12, 13);
b. starting to wrap said film of around said load, (par 35) and, at the same time,
c. detecting instant by instant data relating to the distance from at least one obstacle comprising said load to be wrapped, through said plurality of sensors (11, 12, 13); (par 35-36)
d. at every instant transmitting said data to a control unit; (par 39)
e. for each instant controlling, responsive to the data detected in said each instant by plurality of sensors the direction of movement of said apparatus around said load to be wrapped, by means of said control unit; f. repeating said steps c-e until a wrapping cycle is completed. (par 35-39; 46-47).
Regarding Claim 14 Laghi teaches the invention as described above. Laghi further teaches said control unit is configured to command a predetermined steering angle that said apparatus must follow. (par 34-39)
Regarding Claim 15 Laghi teaches the invention as described above. Laghi further teaches the control unit is configured to control the trajectory of the apparatus within a region comprised between a predefined minimum distance value and a maximum distance value from the load to be wrapped (par 46, 50, 55, 57, 71)
Regarding Claim 16 Laghi teaches the invention as described above. Laghi further teaches said plurality of sensors (11, 12, 13) detects data relating to the distance of said guide carriage (2) from said obstacle at least along a first direction (X), which is transverse to said guide carriage, and along a second direction (Z), which is substantially orthogonal to said first direction (X), said second direction (Z) being substantially vertical. (par 48-51)
Regarding Claim 18 Laghi teaches an apparatus for automatically wrapping a load with a film comprising:
a guide carriage (2), comprising wheels (3) to move said guide carriage (2) around a load to be wrapped;
a column (6), associated with said guide carriage (2) and capable of holding a reel (60) of said film (50), said reel (60) being rotatable to release, in operation, said film (50) around said load to be wrapped;
a plurality of sensors (11, 12, 13), said plurality of sensors (11, 12, 13) being configured to detect, instant by instant, data relating to the distance of said guide carriage from at least one obstacle, said at least one obstacle comprising said load to be wrapped; (par 46-57) and
a control unit (20) configured to receive, at every instant, said data from said plurality of sensors (11, 12, 13), and to calculate, responsive to the data received in each instant, a predetermined steering angle that said guide carriage (2) must follow, for maintaining the distance of said guide carriage (2) from said load to be wrapped within a predetermined extent range. (par 34-43, 49, 57-59, 67)
Regarding Claim 20 Laghi teaches the invention as described above. Laghi further teaches at every instant, the control unit (20) is configured for maintaining the distance of said guide carriage (2) from said load to be wrapped within a predetermined extent range. (par 55)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 6, 7, 11, 12, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laghi (US 20190002138) in view of Saylor (US 20180162660).
Regarding Claim 2 Laghi in view of Saylor teaches the invention as described above. Laghi further teaches wherein said plurality of sensors (11, 12, 13) is configured to detect data relating to the distance of said guide carriage (2) from said obstacle at least along a first direction (X), which is transverse to said guide carriage (2), and said plurality of sensors (11, 12, 13) comprises at least a first sensor (11) having a visual field oriented along said first direction (X), towards said load to be wrapped. (par 48; Fig. 1)
Laghi teaches sensor means are ultrasonic sensor however Laghi does not expressly teach sensor means are radar sensor means.
Saylor teaches an apparatus for automatically wrapping a load with film. (par 150-151) Saylor further teaches that ultrasonic sensors are considered art equivalent sensor to radar sensor (par 136).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the ultrasonic sensors of Laghi with the radar sensors of Saylor since par 136 of Saylor suggests that such a modification is an art equivalent and it would be within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to use radar sensors.
Regarding Claim 3 Laghi in view of Saylor teaches the invention as described above. Laghi further teaches said plurality of sensors (11, 12, 13) configured to detect data relating to the distance of said guide carriage (2) from said obstacle along a first direction (X), transversal to said guide carriage (2), comprises at least a first and a second radar sensor (11, 11) arranged side by side and oriented towards said load to be wrapped. (par 48; Fig. 1)
Laghi teaches sensor means are ultrasonic sensor however Laghi does not expressly teach sensor means are radar sensor means.
Saylor teaches an apparatus for automatically wrapping a load with film. (par 150-151) Saylor further teaches that ultrasonic sensors are considered art equivalent sensor to radar sensor (par 136).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the ultrasonic sensors of Laghi with the radar sensors of Saylor since par 136 of Saylor suggests that such a modification is an art equivalent and it would be within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to use radar sensors.
Regarding Claim 4 Laghi in view of Saylor teaches the invention as described above. Laghi further teaches said first and second radar sensors (11, 11) placed side by side and oriented towards said load to be wrapped are arranged at such a height as to detect at least an upper part of a device for supporting the load to be wrapped and/or a lower part of the same load to be wrapped placed on said support device. (par 48; Fig. 1)
Laghi teaches sensor means are ultrasonic sensor however Laghi does not expressly teach sensor means are radar sensor means.
Saylor teaches an apparatus for automatically wrapping a load with film. (par 150-151) Saylor further teaches that ultrasonic sensors are considered art equivalent sensor to radar sensor (par 136).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the ultrasonic sensors of Laghi with the radar sensors of Saylor since par 136 of Saylor suggests that such a modification is an art equivalent and it would be within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to use radar sensors.
Regarding Claim 6 Laghi in view of Saylor teaches the invention as described above. Laghi further teaches said plurality of sensors (11, 12, 13) comprises at least a first ultrasonic sensor (11) having a field of view oriented along said first direction (X), towards said load to be wrapped, and at least a second ultrasonic sensor (12) having a visual field oriented upwards along said second direction (Z). (par 48-51)
Laghi teaches sensor means are ultrasonic sensor however Laghi does not expressly teach sensor means are radar sensor means.
Saylor teaches an apparatus for automatically wrapping a load with film. (par 150-151) Saylor further teaches that ultrasonic sensors are considered art equivalent sensor to radar sensor (par 136).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the ultrasonic sensors of Laghi with the radar sensors of Saylor since par 136 of Saylor suggests that such a modification is an art equivalent and it would be within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to use radar sensors.
Regarding Claim 7 Laghi in view of Saylor teaches the invention as described above. Laghi further teaches said plurality of sensors (11, 12, 13) is configured to detect data relating to the distance of said guide carriage (2) from said obstacle at least along a third direction (Y), said third direction (Y) being substantially orthogonal to said first direction (X) and to said second direction (Z), and said plurality of sensors (11, 12, 13) comprises at least a third radar sensor (13) having a field of view oriented along said third direction (Y). (par 48-51)
Laghi teaches sensor means are ultrasonic sensor however Laghi does not expressly teach sensor means are radar sensor means.
Saylor teaches an apparatus for automatically wrapping a load with film. (par 150-151) Saylor further teaches that ultrasonic sensors are considered art equivalent sensor to radar sensor (par 136).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the ultrasonic sensors of Laghi with the radar sensors of Saylor since par 136 of Saylor suggests that such a modification is an art equivalent and it would be within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to use radar sensors.
Regarding Claim 19 Laghi teaches the invention as described above. Laghi further teaches said plurality of sensors (11, 12, 13)
Laghi teaches said plurality are ultrasonic sensor however Laghi does not expressly teach sensor means are radar sensor means.
Saylor teaches an apparatus for automatically wrapping a load with film. (par 150-151) Saylor further teaches that ultrasonic sensors are considered art equivalent sensor to radar sensor (par 136).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the ultrasonic sensors of Laghi with the radar sensors of Saylor since par 136 of Saylor suggests that such a modification is an art equivalent and it would be within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to use radar sensors.
Regarding Claims 11 and 12 Laghi in view of Saylor teaches the invention as described above. Laghi further teaches plurality of sensors (11, 12, 13)
Laghi teaches sensor means are ultrasonic sensor however Laghi does not expressly teach sensor means are radar sensor means.
Saylor teaches an apparatus for automatically wrapping a load with film. (par 150-151) Saylor further teaches that ultrasonic sensors are considered art equivalent sensor to radar sensor (par 136). Where a continuous wave radar sensor of the FMCW (Frequency Modulated Continuous Wave) type and/or a pulse radar sensor and/or a doppler radar sensor and or 60 GHz pulse type are known types of radar sensors.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the ultrasonic sensors of Laghi with the radar sensors of Saylor since par 136 of Saylor suggests that such a modification is an art equivalent and it would be within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to use radar sensors.
Regarding Claim 17 Laghi teaches the invention as described above. Laghi further teaches said plurality of sensors (11, 12, 13)
Laghi teaches said plurality are ultrasonic sensor however Laghi does not expressly teach sensor means are radar sensor means.
Saylor teaches an apparatus for automatically wrapping a load with film. (par 150-151) Saylor further teaches that ultrasonic sensors are considered art equivalent sensor to radar sensor (par 136).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the ultrasonic sensors of Laghi with the radar sensors of Saylor since par 136 of Saylor suggests that such a modification is an art equivalent and it would be within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to use radar sensors.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s Argument: Laghi does not teach or suggests at least wherein sensors are configured to detect, instant by instant, data relating to the distance of the guide carriage from at least one obstacle.
Examiner’s Response: Laghi discloses at par 56 and 57 while the wrapping machine rotates about the load the sensors (11) detect surfaces S1, S2….Sn and/or external edges E1, E2,….En of the load…during the movement around the load…the control unit (20) reconstructs the different peripheral outlines of the load.
Applicant’s Argument: Laghi does not teach that the steering angle is corrected in real time instant by instant based on the real time detection of the surfaces of the load. Laghi is silent as to a responsiveness and iteration in real time of a steering angle for the guide carriage.
Examiner’s Response: Laghi discloses at par 44 and 81 detecting during operations surfaces and/or edges of the load, eventual obstacles and the control unit stops (corrects the steering angle) the wrapping machine. At par 107 Laghi discloses during the wrapping phase the sensors detect the load so that the wrapping machine does not get too close to or even does not collide with the load, departing from the wrapping path and/or stop the wrapping machine.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kudia US 20150101281 (measuring sensors)
/CHINYERE J RUSHING-TUCKER/Examiner, Art Unit 3731