DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment filed on 13 May 2026 is entered. Claims 1-2, 5, and 10-11 are amended. Claims 1-12 are pending and under examination.
The provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection over claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 8 and 10 of copending application no. 18/254961 in view of Castiel et al. (US 2011/0014248 A1) is withdrawn in light of the terminal disclaimer filed on 5/13/2026.
The provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection over claims 1, 2, 5, 7, 9 and 11 of copending application no. 17/796433 in view of KR 102019178 B1 is withdrawn in light of the terminal disclaimer filed on 5/13/2026.
It is noted that Yarrowia lipolytica ATCC 20362, Yarrowia lipolytica ATCC 9773, Yarrowia lipolytica DGCC 9975, Yarrowia lipolytica ATCC 18942, Yarrowia lipolytica ATCC 20177, Yarrowia lipolytica CBS2073, and Yarrowia lipolytica Phaff#50-47 are well-known and readily available for purchase.
Claim Interpretation
Page 16 of the instant specification defines “fermentate” as a composition produced by living microorganisms in a nutrient medium. Therefore, it is interpreted that “fermentate” is any product produced by a microorganism.
“Fermentate supernatant” is interpreted to mean a supernatant obtained from a fermentation reaction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
(Maintained) Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a product of nature without significantly more. The claims recite a skin care composition comprising a fermentate of two microorganisms selected from Yarrowia lipolytica and Bacillus velezensis. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because, under BRI, a fermentate is considered any product produced by a microorganism in a nutrient medium, therefore, a fermentate is naturally occurring, as interpreted in the instant disclosure, and the claims do not include any additional elements other than the naturally occurring fermentate.
Prong 1 - Statutory category: Here, the claimed invention is either a composition of matter or a manufacture. Under 35 USC 101, the claimed invention must be “any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.” The invention falls under one of the statutory categories (composition of matter) identified in 35 USC 101.
Prong 2A – Judicial exception: Here, the claimed invention is a composition or a manufactured product but is directed to the judicial exception, specifically a law of nature or a natural phenomenon (product of nature). Even a composition of matter or a manufacture may not be patent eligible if it falls under a judicial exception. The three judicial exception categories are: enumerated abstract idea, law of nature, and natural phenomenon (product of nature). Nature based products include both naturally occurring as well as non-naturally occurring products that have characteristics that are not markedly different from a natural occurring counterpart and fall within the judicial exception.
Here, the composition comprises a naturally occurring fermentate, i.e., product produced by a microorganism, is therefore directed to products of nature and fall within the judicial exception category.
Prong 2B: Judicial Exception/Significantly More: The “significantly more” analysis is a determination whether a claim is eligible if the claims recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Integration requires an additional element in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner than imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. Claims 1-12 are drawn to compositions comprising naturally occurring fermentates with no additional elements. These limitations do not recite any meaningful additional limitations, modifications or transformations that indicate that the composition comprises anything other than a naturally occurring fermentate, and there is no information to suggest that the microorganisms producing said fermentates have been genetically modified by the applicant (i.e., it is interpreted that they are naturally occurring). Therefore, the claims do not recite any limitations significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(Maintained) Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventors, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-12 are drawn to a skin care composition for use in treating a scalp disorder comprising a fermentate, i.e., any product produced by Y. lipolytica or B. velezensis.
MPEP 2163.05 II states “the written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species. A ‘representative number of species’ means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. See AbbVie Deutschland GmbH & Co., KG v. Janssen Biotech, Inc., 759 F.3d 1285, 1300, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (Claims directed to a functionally defined genus of antibodies were not supported by a disclosure that ‘only describe[d] one type of structurally similar antibodies’ that ‘are not representative of the full variety or scope of the genus.’). The disclosure of only one species encompassed within a genus adequately describes a claim directed to that genus only if the disclosure "indicates that the patentee has invented species sufficient to constitute the gen[us].’”
The instant specification describes testing fermentates under very specific growth conditions using specific strains of Y. lipolytica and B. velezensis (Example 1). The specification does not provide adequate written description support for all Y. lipolytica and B. velezensis strains under all growth conditions. The instant specification does not disclose a correlation between the structural properties of the fermentate and the claimed function to be maintained, i.e., treatment of a scalp disorder. Therefore, the disclosed species are not representative of the entire genus of claimed fermentates. One of ordinary skill in the art cannot reasonably predict all possible fermentates produced by all Y. lipolytica and B. velezensis strains under all growth conditions that are capable of treating a condition of the scalp.
Castiel teaches use of an effective amount of at least one probiotic microorganism and/or a metabolite thereof for preventing and/or treating dandruff disorders of the scalp (Abstract). Castiel teaches that a microorganism that may be suitable for the invention may be Yarrowia lipolytica (para. [0156]-[0157]). KR ‘178 teaches a cosmetic composition comprising a Bacillus amyloliquefaciens subsp. plantarum extract, i.e., a fermentate (para. [0010], para. [0019]), which is a taxonomic synonym for Bacillus velezensis. However, neither Castiel nor KR ‘178 disclose structures of all fermentates produced by Y. lipolytica and B. velezensis that are capable of treating a scalp disorder.
In summary, neither the instant specification, nor the prior art, discloses a structure-function relationship between fermentate structure and the claimed function of treating a scalp disorder. One of ordinary skill in the art cannot reasonably predict what cell culture conditions may be modified to generate a functional fermentate capable of treating a scalp disorder. Based on the instant disclosure, those skilled in the art would not conclude that the applicant was in possession of all claimed variants.
(New necessitated by amendment) Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the parenthetical phrases “B. velezensis E04 (SEQ ID NO: 1)”, “B. velezensis H02 (SEQ ID NO: 2)”, and B. velezensis F03 (SEQ ID NO: 3)”. It is unclear whether the contents of these parenthetical phrases are part of the claim limitations and intended to be limiting, or if the contents of the parenthetical phrases are merely exemplary and thus not required.
It is suggested to amend claim 10 as follows to obviate the rejection:
Claim 10. The skin care composition of claim 1, wherein the Bacillus velezensis has a 16S ribosomal RNA sequence displaying at least 97.0% sequence similarity to a 16S ribosomal RNA sequence selected from the group consisting of: B. velezensis E04 of SEQ ID NO: 1, B. velezensis H02 of SEQ ID NO: 2, and B. velezensis F03 of SEQ ID NO: 3,
wherein B. velezensis E04 is deposited at Westerdijk Fungal Biodiversity Institute (WFDB) under number CBS147469, B. velezensis H02 is deposited at Westerdijk Fungal Biodiversity Institute (WFDB) under number CBS 147473, and B. velezensis F03 is deposited at Westerdijk Fungal Biodiversity Institute (WFDB) under number CBS147471.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(New necessitated by amendment) Claims 1-8 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Castiel et al., (US 2011/0014248 A1, published 20 January 2011) in view of KR 102019178 B1, published 18 June 2019, herein after referred to as KR'178, as evidenced by NCBI Taxonomy Browser-Bacillus velezensis (Schoch CL, et al. NCBI Taxonomy: a comprehensive update on curation, resources and tools. Database (Oxford). 2020).
Claim 1 recites: a skin care composition…comprising at least a fermentate of Yarrowia lipolytica and a fermentate of Bacillus velenzensis. Under BRI, it is interpreted that the claim requires any product produced by cells of Y. lipolytica and B. velenzensis.
Regarding claims 1-3, Castiel teaches use of an effective amount of at least one probiotic microorganism and/or a metabolite thereof for preventing and/or treating dandruff disorders of the scalp (Castiel Abstract). Castiel teaches that a microorganism that may be suitable for the invention may be Yarrowia lipolytica (Castiel [0156]-[0157]). Castiel defines metabolite as any substance derived from the metabolism of the microorganisms (Castiel [0141]), therefore, a metabolite is considered a fermentate as defined by the instant disclosure. Castiel teaches that a microorganism that may be suitable for dandruff treatment may be Yarrowia lipolytica (Castiel [0156]-[0157]). Castiel teaches that the microorganism may be in the form of a culture supernatant (Castiel [0185]).
Castiel does not teach a Bacillus velezensis fermentate or fermentate supernatant.
However, KR‘178 teaches a cosmetic composition comprising a Bacillus amyloliquefaciens subsp. plantarum extract, i.e., a fermentate (KR ‘178 [0010] and [0019]) or culture supernatant. Bacillus amyloliquefaciens is a taxonomic synonym for Bacillus velezensis, as evidenced by NCBI Taxonomy browser (p. 1). KR’178 teaches that the Bacillus extract may be a supernatant (KR ‘178 [0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the B. amyloliquefaciens subsp. plantarum fermentate or supernatant of KR ‘178 to Castiel’s composition for the treatment of a dandruff disorder of the scalp comprising a Yarrowia lipolytica supernatant. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because KR ‘178 teaches that B. amyloliquefaciens subsp. plantarum extracts have antimicrobial activity (KR ‘178 [0012]) and Castiel teaches that a microorganism of the Bacillus genus may be added to the cosmetic composition (Castiel [0224]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Castiel and KR ‘178 are in the same field of endeavor of cosmetic composition development. It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted)
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Castiel teaches a skin care composition comprising two microorganisms, each at 5% by weight (Example 5), i.e., a ratio of 1:1, which falls within the ratio and concentration ranges of the instant claims. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add a Bacillus amyloliquefaciens subsp. plantarum supernatant as taught by KR ‘178 to a composition comprising a Y. lipolytica supernatant at the concentrations taught by Castiel.
Regarding claims 6-7, Castiel teaches that the composition may be used for preventing and/or treating skin infections of the scalp by Malassezia sp. (para. [0070]). Castiel teaches that dandruff may be caused by colonization of the skin or hair follicles by Malassezia sp. (para. [0006]). Therefore, it is interpreted that the composition of Castiel reduces Malassezia growth and biofilm formation. It is noted that the limitations of claims 6 and 7 are considered intended use of the composition of claim 1. During examination, statements in the preamble reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention must be evaluated to determine whether or not the recited purpose or intended use results in a structural difference (or, in the case of process claims, manipulative difference) between the claimed invention and the prior art. See MPEP 2111.02 II. Because Castiel and KR ‘178 teach a composition that is structurally identical to the composition of the instant invention, i.e., a product produced by Y. lipolytica and B. velezensis, the composition of Castiel and KR ‘178 meets the limitations of the instant claims.
Regarding claim 8, Castiel teaches that the composition may comprise an additional cosmetic active agent being chosen from antidandruff active agents (Castiel Abstract).
Regarding claim 11, Castiel teaches that the composition may be a hair lotion, a shampoo, a conditioner, a detangler, a hair gel, etc. (Castiel [0300]).
Regarding claim 12, Castiel teaches that the composition may be a topical composition (Castiel [0300]).
(New rejection necessitated by amendment) Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Castiel in view of KR ‘178 as applied to claims 1-8 and 11-12 above, and further in view of Zhang et al., (Three diacylglycerol acyltransferases contribute to oil biosynthesis and normal growth in Yarrowia lipolytica. Yeast. 2012 Jan;29(1):25-38).
Castiel and KR ‘178 do not teach any of the Y. lipolytica strains of instant claim 9.
Zhang teaches Yarrowia lipolytica strain ATCC 20362 (Table 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute Zhang’s Yarrowia lipolytica strain ATCC 20362, for the Yarrowia lipolytica taught by Castiel to treat a dandruff disorder of the scalp. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Zhang teaches that Yarrowia lipolytica strain ATCC 20362 is capable of degrading fatty acids (Zhang Table 3), which cause dandruff as taught by Castiel (Castiel [0012]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because both Castiel and Zhang are in the same field of endeavor of Yarrowia lipolytica culture methods.
(Maintained) Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Castiel in view of KR ‘178 as applied to claims 1-8 and 11-12 above, and further in view of Toledo et al., (US 10596209 B2).
Castiel and KR ‘178 do not teach the use of a B. velezensis strain having a 16S ribosomal RNA sequence with at least 97% sequence identity to the 16S ribosomal RNA sequences of the recited B. velezensis stains SEQ ID NO:1, SEQ ID NO:2, or SEQ ID NO:3.
Toledo teaches a sequence, SEQ ID NO:10, with 100% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO:1 (see alignment attached to previous Office action mailed 19 March 2026).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add B. velezensis, as taught by KR ‘178, with a 16 ribosomal RNA sequence as taught by Toledo, to the composition to treat a dandruff disorder of the scalp, taught by Castiel. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because KR ‘178 teaches that B. amyloliquefaciens subsp. plantarum, i.e., B. velezensis extracts, have antimicrobial activity (KR ‘178 [0012]) and can be used in cosmetic compositions (KR ‘178 [0010]), Toledo teaches that SEQ ID NO:10 is the 16 ribosomal RNA sequence of DP10, which is B. velezensis, (Toledo Table 7), and Castiel teaches that a microorganism of the Bacillus genus may be added to a cosmetic composition for the treatment of dandruff (Castiel [0224]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Castiel, KR ‘178, and Toledo are in the same field of endeavor of probiotic composition development.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 13 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Rejection of Claims 1-12 Under 35 U.S.C. §101
Regarding Applicant’s arguments that the claimed composition is man-made and not products of nature (Remarks pg. 6-7 sec. A), page 16 of the instant specification defines “fermentate” as a composition produced by living microorganisms in a nutrient medium. Therefore, it is interpreted that “fermentate” is any product produced by a microorganism, which includes naturally occurring compounds such as amino acids, nucleic acids, proteins, organic acids, ATP, etc. Applicant argues that the fermentate product is produced by an industrial fermentation process, but this is not the case because fermentations occur naturally, and since the BRI of the term “fermentate” is broad enough to encompass any product produced by the claimed microorganisms, the claimed composition is directed to a product of nature without significantly more. Applicant argues that the composition recites fermentates derived from two distinct microorganisms, Yarrowia lipolytica and Bacillus velezensis, whose combination is entirely artificial. As described above, “fermentate” is interpreted as any product produced by a microorganism, which includes naturally occurring compounds such as amino acids, nucleic acids, proteins, organic acids, ATP, etc. All of those listed compounds, among other microorganism produced compounds, are readily found together in nature.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments that the claims integrate the components into a practical application “for use in the treatment of a scalp disorder” (Remarks pg. 7 sec. B), the claimed phrase “for use in the treatment of a scalp disorder” does not amount to a practical application of the claimed composition because the phrase recites an intended use of the composition, but no active step or method is recited where the composition is used in any practical application. The claims are directed to a composition of matter, not a method of using the composition of matter. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Regarding Applicant’s arguments that the claims recite significantly more than the product of nature where the inventive concept is the specific, nonconventional combination of fermentates from Yarrowia lipolytica and Bacillus velezensis to treat scalp disorders, resulting in an unexpected “additive effect in the growth of Malassezia species” (Remarks pg. 7-8 sec. II), compositions comprising Yarrowia lipolytica fermentates were known to treat scalp disorders caused by Malassezia species (Castiel [0070]). Specification pg. 57 Table 1 shows the Malassezia growth inhibition results of Yarrowia lipolytica ATCC 20362 and B. velezensis, and their combination. The combination of Yarrowia lipolytica ATCC 20362 and B. velezensis did not produce an unexpected effect because it inhibited Malassezia growth at levels comparable to (or even worse than) that of the individual bacteria. Specification pg. 58 Table 2 shows flow cytometry results of Malassezia growth inhibition results of Yarrowia lipolytica ATCC 20362 and B. velezensis, and their combination. The same pattern can be seen here as well, where the combination does not exhibit unexpected results as compared to the two strains individually. In fact, the combination of Yarrowia lipolytica ATCC 20362 and B. velezensis was almost exactly the average of the results from the two strains on their own. Accordingly, there does not appear to be any unexpected additive effects as Applicant argues.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments that the composition is limited to a fermentate supernatant mixture, which is created by processing the culture to remove the microbial cells, thus indicating a concrete processing step that effects a structural change on the composition resulting in a markedly different composition from the unprocessed culture broth (Remarks pg. 8 para. 2), the difference between a fermentate and a fermentate supernatant mixture is not markedly different such that the claims would no longer be directed to a product of nature. As discussed above, “fermentate” is interpreted as any product produced by a microorganism, which includes naturally occurring compounds such as amino acids, nucleic acids, proteins, organic acids, ATP, etc. The claims do not require the presence of the bacteria in the composition, so Applicant’s argument that the processing step of removing microbial cells results in a markedly different composition is not convincing to overcome the rejection.
Rejection of Claims 1-12 Under 35 U.S.C. §112(a)
Regarding Applicant’s arguments that the specification described a representative number of strains, consistent results establish the principle, and one of ordinary skill in the art can practice the full scope of the invention, thus provided adequate written description (Remarks pg. 10), the claim term “fermentate” is interpreted as any product produced by a microorganism. It is important to note that just because Applicant described a few strains of Yarrowia lipolytica and B. velezensis, does not mean that they described an adequate number of species for the entire breadth of the genus of “fermentates”. The size of the genus far exceeds the number of species described. In light of that, consistent results with a few strains of Yarrowia lipolytica and B. velezensis does not establish the principle that any compound produced by those microorganisms is adequately described. Lacking the appropriate description for the full breadth of the claimed “fermentates”, one of ordinary skill in the art would not have concluded that Applicant was in possession of all claimed variants.
Rejection of Claims 1-12 Under 35 U.S.C. §103
Regarding Applicant’s arguments that the inventors discovered an unexpected additive or synergisitic effect of the combination of fermentates from Yarrowia lipolytica and Bacillus velezensis to treat scalp disorders, which the prior art Castiel and KR ‘178 did not recognize (Remarks pg. 12-13), compositions comprising Yarrowia lipolytica fermentates were known to treat scalp disorders caused by Malassezia species (Castiel [0070]). Specification pg. 57 Table 1 shows the Malassezia growth inhibition results of Yarrowia lipolytica ATCC 20362 and B. velezensis, and their combination. The combination of Yarrowia lipolytica ATCC 20362 and B. velezensis did not produce an unexpected effect because it inhibited Malassezia growth at levels comparable to (or even worse than) that of the individual bacteria. Specification pg. 58 Table 2 shows flow cytometry results of Malassezia growth inhibition results of Yarrowia lipolytica ATCC 20362 and B. velezensis, and their combination. The same pattern can be seen here as well, where the combination does not exhibit unexpected results as compared to the two strains individually. In fact, the combination of Yarrowia lipolytica ATCC 20362 and B. velezensis was almost exactly the average of the results from the two strains on their own. Accordingly, there does not appear to be significant unexpected additive effects as Applicant argues.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Alexander M Duryee/Examiner, Art Unit 1657
/LOUISE W HUMPHREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1657