DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Independent claims 1, 9, and 15 recite the limitation that the monolithic continuum morphable hollow shell structure includes a single opening to the internal cavity at the distal end. This is not supported by the specification or drawings. The only opening to the internal cavity is described and shown as opening 108 in the proximal end. There is no disclosure of both an opening in the proximal end and in the distal end as claimed, nor is there any disclosure of an opening in the distal end in any configuration. Therefore claims 1, 9 and 15 contain new matter.
Dependent claims 2-8, 10-14, 16-24 are rejected under 112(a) as they contain all the deficiencies of claims 1, 9 and 15 from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fallin et al. (US Patent No. 10,485,595 B2).
Regarding Claim 1, Fallin discloses a bone fixation device (Fig. 41), comprising: a monolithic (described as integrally formed in [col 9; ln. 1-11]) continuum morphable hollow shell structure (186) including a proximal end and a distal end and a morphable length therebetween (see how length will morph in Fig. 8-10), and defining an internal cavity extending along the length with a single opening to the internal cavity at the proximal end and a single opening to the internal cavity at the distal end; an implantation head at the proximal end including an aperture; and a screw thread (194) positioned external to the shell structure between the implantation head and a screw tip positioned at the distal end (shown below);
wherein the continuum morphable hollow shell structure is configured to retain a castable filler material; wherein the castable filler material is substantially 1contained within the internal cavity and stiffens into a fixed core within the monolithic continuum morphable shell structure, thereby preserving a morphed geometry of the shell structure (The limitations towards the capability of the shell structure to receive a filler are functional. The hollow nature of the device of Fallin would be fully capable of accepting a filler material through the internal cavity which could harden.).
Regarding Claim 2, the implantation head comprises a screw head (head is used to transmit screwing action from the other component to the thread 194, therefore it acts as a screw head, see also col.7; ln. 50-65).
Regarding Claim 3, the shell structure is cylindrical (shown in figure above).
Regarding Claim 4, Fallin discloses the device of claim 1 as described in the rejection above. Fallin discloses that the screw may have a major diameter 114 in the range of 4-6.5 mm, a minor diameter 116 in the range of 2.5-3.5 [mm] and a cannulation 101 with a diameter in the range of 1-2 mm (col. 3; ln. 55-62).
As can be seen in the figure above, the dimension 116 corresponds with the outer diameter of the shell structure, and 2.5-3.5mm is in the range of 2 mm to 20 mm. The dimension of 101 corresponds with an inner diameter and 1-2 mm is in the range of 1.5 mm to 19.5 mm. The difference between dimension 116 and 101 is equivalent to the wall thickness, this difference would be .5-2.5mm which is in the range of 0.1 mm to 2 mm.
Regarding Claim 7, the shell structure comprises at least one of ABS, PLA, biomaterial, polyamide, PEEK, titanium, nitinol, and cobalt-chrome alloys (col. 8: ln. 41-62).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Fallin et al. (US Patent No. 10,485,595 B2) in view of Fallin et al. (US Patent No. 10,492,838 B2, hereon referred to as “Fallin2”).
Regarding Claim 5, Fallin discloses that the screw has a thread pitch (128, Fig. 2) but is silent to the dimensions of the thread pitch being in the range of 1 mm to 2 cm.
Fallin2 teaches a flexible bone implant in the same field of endeavor comprising a flexible shell structure with a thread having a pitch which is most preferably 2.75mm (col. 15; ln. 44-46) for the purpose of securing to a particular bone for repair.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the dimension of the thread pitch of Fallin to be 2.75mm as taught by Fallin2 in order to be suitable to secure to the bone.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Fallin et al. (US Patent No. 10,485,595 B2).
Regarding Claim 6, Fallin discloses that the screw has a length but is silent to the dimensions of the length being in the range of 1 cm to 50 cm. However, Fallin does show the screw within the anatomical region of the clavicle in Fig. 33. In relation to the bone, it can be seen that the length of the threaded section of the screw (shell structure) is at least 1 cm and less than 50 cm because the average length of a clavicle is 5-6 inches (~13-16cm). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to create the length of the shell structure to be more than 1cm and less than 50 cm in order to appropriately size the implant to the bone.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Fallin et al. (US Patent No. 10,485,595 B2).
Regarding Claim 8, Fallin discloses that the shell structure is preferably made from polymer (col. 8; ln. 34-63) however is silent to the process by which the shell is made being 3D printing. The structure of Fallin appears to be the same as the product set forth in a product-by-process claim although produced by a different process, therefore the claim is anticipated by Fallin. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to make the polymer shell structure with a 3D printing manufacturing process since this is one of a limited number of known manufacturing methods to create products which would produce predictable results of creating desired structure of the components (other methods including casting/molding, or subtractive manufacturing/machining). See In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 799, 218 USPQ 289 (Fed. Cir. 1983) and In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 227 USPQ 964(Fed. Cir. 1985). See also MPEP § 2113.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACQUELINE T JOHANAS/ Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3773
1 The examiner has understood “substantially” to mean all but a negligible amount. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand “substantially contained within” to mean all or all but a negligible amount is contained within [the internal cavity].