DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The claims 1-8 are currently pending and have been examined. Applicant amended claims 1 and 3-5.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
The amendment filed September 22, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-8 are currently pending in the Application.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAMASHITA (US 20210002853 A1) in view of BEWLEY (US 20150149049 A1) and SANO (US 20200115882 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, YAMASHITA teaches A construction machine, comprising: a machine body (See at least paragraph [0020], “A first embodiment of the present invention will be described below with reference to FIGS. 1 to 6. FIG. 1 shows a construction machine 1 according to the embodiment. The construction machine 1 is, for example, a hydraulic excavator. The construction machine 1 includes a crawler-type travelling body 2, a slewing body 3 as a machine body mounted on the travelling body 2 so as to be capable of slewing, and a working device 4 attached to the slewing body 3. The travelling motion of the travelling body 2 and the slewing motion of the slewing body 3 are generated by a not-graphically-shown hydraulic motor.”); a work device including a boom supported to the machine body to be capable of being raised and lowered, an arm rotatably supported to the boom, and a bucket supported to the arm, the bucket having a bucket base end portion that is a base end portion rotatably attached to the arm about a horizontal axis, a bucket tip portion that is a tip portion on an opposite side of the bucket base end portion, and an inner surface defining an accommodation space that is a space capable of accommodating earth and sand (See at least paragraph [0022], “The working device 4 includes a boom 10, an arm 20, a bucket 30, and a plurality of hydraulic cylinders. In this embodiment, the boom 10 and the arm 20 constitute a working device body. The boom 10 has a proximal end portion and a distal end portion opposite thereto. The proximal end portion corresponds to the proximal end portion of the working device body, being connected to the slewing body 3 in a posture where the boom 10 extends from an appropriate position of the slewing body 3, for example, a position sideward of the cab 3a. The arm 20 has a proximal end portion connected to the distal end portion of the boom 10 in such a posture that the arm 20 extends beyond the distal end portion of the boom 10 and a distal end portion opposite thereto. The bucket 30 is attached to the distal end of the arm 20 as the distal end of the working device body. The plurality of hydraulic cylinders include a boom cylinder 12, an arm cylinder 22, and a bucket cylinder 32”, paragraph [0025], “The bucket 30 is attached to the distal end portion of the arm 20, which portion corresponds to the distal end portion of the working device body, so as to be capable of performing both of a first rotational motion relative to the arm 20 and a second rotational motion. The first rotational motion is a pitch motion, that is, the rotational motion about a bucket lateral axis parallel to the width direction of the bucket 30. The second rotational motion is a rotational motion about an axis orthogonal to the bucket lateral axis, namely, a yaw motion in the first embodiment as described later in detail”, and paragraph [0026], “As shown in FIG. 2, the bucket 30 includes a plurality of claw portions 30a that constitute a tip portion of the bucket 30, a bottom portion 30b, and a bucket-side attachment member 30c. The plurality of claw portions 30a project in the same direction from the distal edge portion of the open end of the bucket 30, that is, the distal end portion of a bucket body of the bucket 30, the bucket body serving as a portion to accommodate soil. The bucket-side attachment member 30c forms a proximal end portion of the bucket 30, that is, an end portion opposite to the plurality of claw portions 30a, being attached to the arm 20 through an arm-side attachment member 33.”); at least one operation device including an operation lever configured to be operated by an operator, the at least one operation device being configured to cause the work device to perform excavation work so that earth and sand on a ground is excavated by displacing the bucket with respect to the ground while maintaining a state where a portion including at least the bucket tip portion is in contact with the ground at an excavation attitude that is a bucket attitude at which the bucket base end portion is disposed at a position higher than the bucket tip portion and is an attitude at which the earth and sand on the ground is capable of being excavated (See at least paragraph [0050], “Next, the operator applies an ON operation to the automatic operation switch 55, and further applies a predetermined operation to a predetermined operation lever for starting the actual movement of the bucket 30 (for example, an arm operation lever for moving the arm 20). With this operation, the controller 60 determines a target movement path of the bucket 30 based on the current position of the construction machine 1 that is grasped from the GNSS signal input from the GNSS receiver 50, the inclination angle of the slewing body 3 that is grasped from the detection signal input from the inclination sensor 52, and work information stored in advance, that is, information on the actual topography of the work site and information on the target topography by excavation work (information on the position and orientation of the target construction surface St indicated by the two-dot chain line in FIG. 2), and further determine the trajectory of the target posture of the boom 10, the arm 20, and the bucket 30 (time-series pattern) respect to the pitch direction for realizing the target movement”, paragraph [0051], “The target posture of the bucket 30 is determined, for example, so as to make a ground contact wall surface 30f (or the distal end portion of the claw portion 30a) follow the target construction surface St, as shown in FIG. 2, after the claw portion 30a of the bucket 30 bites into the ground, the ground contact wall surface 30f being a wall surface from the bottom portion 30b of the bucket 30 to the claw portion 30a”, paragraph [0075], “Similarly to the first embodiment, the construction machine 1 according to the second embodiment includes a controller 60, a proportional valve group 65, and a control valve unit 70 as shown in FIG. 8, but the control valve unit 70 includes a pilot operated direction selector valves 75 connected to the pair of bucket tilt cylinders 36, respectively, in place of the direction selector valve 74 connected to the bucket rotating motor 35 in the first embodiment, and the proportional valve group 65 includes a proportional valve 66 connected to a pair of pilot ports of the direction selector valve 75 in place of the proportional valve 66 connected to the pair of pilot ports of the direction selector valve 74 in the first embodiment”, and paragraph [0082], “The target movement path and the target posture of the bucket 30 are determined, for example, so that the lowermost one of the plurality of claw portions 30a of the bucket 30 follows the target construction surface St indicated by the chain double-dashed line shown in FIG. 7 when the bucket 30 performs the tilt motion by the maximum angle in each of the forward rotation direction and the reverse rotation direction as shown in FIG. 10 with the amplitude set by the bucket motion setting operation unit 54 (that is, when performing a rotational motion around the tilt axis C2) after the claw portion 30a of the bucket 30 bites into the ground.” The operation device is the proportional valve group and control valve unit.).
YAMASHITA does not explicitly disclose, however, BEWLEY, in the same field of endeavor, teaches and a controller, wherein the controller determines an accommodation state of the earth and sand accommodated in the bucket (See at least paragraph [0050], “In addition to monitoring the status and health of the wear members on the bucket, the monitoring system may monitor the performance of the bucket or other wear members. For example, the monitoring system may determine how full the bucket is loaded during the digging cycle. As the bucket is loaded, the material being excavated has a tendency to fill the bucket with an established profile. Once the bucket 3a has been filled by the operator the electronic sensors 27 measure the distance D1 to the load 91 within the bucket 3a (FIG. 19) and programmable logic uses the distance and a database of established fill profiles to determine the volume of the load within the bucket. The electronic sensors 27 and programmable logic may also determine a percentage that the bucket has been filled. The percentage may be determined by comparing the current fill of the bucket to the rated capacity of the bucket. In an alternative embodiment, the electronic sensors 27 may measure the distance D1 to the load 91 within a truck body 3b (FIG. 20) and programmable logic uses the distance and a database of established fill profiles to determine the volume of the load within the truck body. Similar to the bucket the electronic sensors may be used to determine the percentage that the truck body has been filled. The electronic sensor may be a camera, a laser range finder, an ultrasonic sensor, or another distance measuring sensor. Programmable logic may determine the percentage the bucket is filled based on the distance to the load within the bucket and. The results from the current digging cycle and past digging cycles may be communicated to the equipment operator or to other databases and computer systems. This allows the equipment operator to adapt how the operator digs to optimally fill the bucket and truck body. The monitoring system may, for example, use the same electronic sensors used for monitoring the status and health of the wear parts or may use separate electronic sensors to monitor the fill of the bucket. The electronic sensors may be, for example, a camera, a laser range finder, or an ultrasonic sensor. The camera may be, for example, a 3D camera capable of determining depth or may be a camera coupled with vision recognition software as outlined above. It is also possible for the electronic sensors for determining the fill of the bucket to be separate components from the monitoring system and not be incorporated with the monitoring system. The use of a monitoring system to monitor the filling of a bucket could be used as a stand-alone system, i.e., without a system to monitor the presence and/or health of the wear parts. This type of monitoring system could also be used in non-bucket applications (e.g., such as truck trays) to monitor the efficiency or optimization of the operator.”).
YAMASHITA and BEWLEY do not explicitly disclose, however, SANO, in the same field of endeavor, teaches and outputs a resistance reduction command signal that is a command signal for operating the work device so that the bucket is displaced in a resistance reduction direction that is a direction where excavation resistance acting on the bucket is capable of being reduced, in accordance with a result of determining the accommodation state, the resistance reduction direction being a direction in which a position of the horizontal axis which is a rotation center of the bucket base end portion is displaced upward or obliquely upward. (See at least paragraph [0097], “Examples of the unintended movement include a forward dragging movement in which the shovel 100 is dragged forward by an excavation reaction force, a backward dragging movement in which the shovel 100 is dragged backward by a reaction force from the ground when leveling the ground. The unintended movement occurs without the lower traveling body 1 being operated by the operator. In the following, the term “forward dragging movement” and the term “backward dragging movement” may be correctively referred to as a “dragging movement” without being distinguished. The examples of the unintended movement further include a lifting movement in which the front or the rear of the shovel 100 is lifted by an excavation reaction force. In the following, the lifting movement may be distinguished between a front lifting movement in which the front of the shovel 100 is lifted and a rear lifting movement in which the rear of the shovel 100 is lifted. The examples of the unintended movement further include vibration of the body (the lower traveling body 1, the turning mechanism 2, or the upper turning body 3) of the shovel 100 caused by a change in the moment of inertia during in-air movement of the attachment of the shovel 100 (namely, during the movement of the attachment without the bucket 6 contacting the ground). Details of the unintended movement will be described below”, paragraph [0098], “The controller 30 includes a movement determining unit 301 and a movement correcting unit 302 as functional units implemented by causing the CPU to execute one or more of the programs stored in the ROM and the auxiliary storage device”, paragraph [0099], “The movement determining unit 301 determines the occurrence of an unintended movement, based on sensor information on various states of the shovel 100. The sensor information is input from the pressure sensor 29 and the various types of sensors 32. Details of determination methods will be described below”, and paragraph [0100], “When the movement determining unit 301 determines that an unintended movement has occurred, the movement correcting unit 302 corrects the movement of the attachment to minimize the unintended movement. Details of a correction method will be described below.” The system outputs corrective control commands to the boom and/or arm to counter excavation reaction force and unintended lifting or dragging, which corresponds to displacing the bucket rotation center upward or obliquely upward relative to the ground.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of YAMASHITA with the teachings of BEWLEY and SANO such that the construction machine of YAMASHITA is further configured to utilize the controller determining an accommodation state of the earth and sand accommodated in the bucket, as taught by BEWLEY (See paragraph [0050].), and outputting a resistance reduction command signal that is a command signal for operating the work device so that the bucket is displaced in a resistance reduction direction that is a direction where excavation resistance acting on the bucket is capable of being reduced, in accordance with a result of determining the accommodation state, the resistance reduction direction being a direction in which a position of the horizontal axis which is a rotation center of the bucket base end portion is displaced upward or obliquely upward, as taught by SANO (See paragraph [0097]-[0100].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be increasing monitoring presence and health of wear parts with buckets used for excavating, as taught by BEWLEY (See paragraph [0003].). The motivation for doing so would be minimizing a change in orientation of the body in response to a change in movement caused by aerial movement of the attachment, as taught by SANO (See paragraph [0006].).
Regarding Claim 2, YAMASHITA, BEWLEY, and SANO teach The construction machine according to claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. YAMASHITA teaches and the controller outputs the resistance reduction command signal in accordance with a result of determining the contact state (See at least paragraph [0066], “Also in the ground leveling work, as in the excavation work, the bucket 30 can be yaw-oscillated at a relatively short cycle, which effectively reduces the resistance which the bucket 30 receives when the bucket 30 is moved along the target movement path with pressure contact with the ground, specifically, while the ground contact wall surface 30f is pressed against the ground.”).
YAMASHITA does not explicitly disclose, however, BEWLEY, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the controller determines a contact state between a specific upper region and the earth and sand, the specific upper region being a portion located at an upper portion on the inner surface of the bucket at the excavation attitude (See at least paragraph [0051], “The monitoring system may be equipped with electronic sensors that are capable of determining the cycle time of a digging cycle. For example, the monitoring system may be equipped with an accelerometer and an inclinometer (not shown). The inclinometer provides the orientation of the bucket and the accelerometer registers a spike in force when the bucket is at the appropriate digging orientation and thus indicating that the digging cycle has started. Programmable logic may determine the time from the start of one digging cycle to the start of the second digging cycle (i.e., time between peaks when inclinometer indicates that the bucket is at the appropriate digging orientation). The results from the current cycle time and past cycle times may be communicated to the equipment operator or to a wireless device. This allows the operator to adjust the digging operation for optimal performance. It is also possible for the electronic sensors for determining the cycle time to not be incorporated with the monitoring system. Monitoring the fill of a bucket or truck tray and/or cycle time can help mine operators (or the like) to better optimize its operations. In an alternative embodiment, a pressure sensor may be used instead of an accelerometer to determine when the digging cycle has started. The pressure sensor may be a hydraulic pressure sensor integrated with the boom of the earth working equipment. In another preferred embodiment, a strain gauge or load cell is used to determine when the digging cycle has started. The strain gauge or load cell may be located in the bucket or a wear member on the bucket. In an alternative embodiment, GPS may be used to determine the orientation of the bucket.” The contact state is the presence or absence of load detected by a sensor positioned in a specific region (e.g., upper portion) of the bucket.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of YAMASHITA with the teachings of BEWLEY and SANO such that the construction machine of YAMASHITA is further configured to utilize the controller determining an accommodation state of the earth and sand accommodated in the bucket and determining a contact state between a specific upper region and the earth and sand, the specific upper region being a portion located at an upper portion on the inner surface of the bucket at the excavation attitude, as taught by BEWLEY (See paragraph [0050], [0051].), and outputting a resistance reduction command signal that is a command signal for operating the work device so that the bucket is displaced in a resistance reduction direction that is a direction where excavation resistance acting on the bucket is capable of being reduced, in accordance with a result of determining the accommodation state, the resistance reduction direction being a direction in which a position of the horizontal axis which is a rotation center of the bucket base end portion is displaced upward or obliquely upward, as taught by SANO (See paragraph [0097]-[0100].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be increasing monitoring presence and health of wear parts with buckets used for excavating, as taught by BEWLEY (See paragraph [0003].). The motivation for doing so would be minimizing a change in orientation of the body in response to a change in movement caused by aerial movement of the attachment, as taught by SANO (See paragraph [0006].).
Regarding Claim 3, YAMASHITA, BEWLEY, and SANO teach The construction machine according to claim 2, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. YAMASHITA teaches wherein the controller outputs the resistance reduction command signal (See at least paragraph [0066], “Also in the ground leveling work, as in the excavation work, the bucket 30 can be yaw-oscillated at a relatively short cycle, which effectively reduces the resistance which the bucket 30 receives when the bucket 30 is moved along the target movement path with pressure contact with the ground, specifically, while the ground contact wall surface 30f is pressed against the ground.”), and does not output the resistance reduction command signal (See at least paragraph [0066], “Also in the ground leveling work, as in the excavation work, the bucket 30 can be yaw-oscillated at a relatively short cycle, which effectively reduces the resistance which the bucket 30 receives when the bucket 30 is moved along the target movement path with pressure contact with the ground, specifically, while the ground contact wall surface 30f is pressed against the ground.” The system controller outputs a resistance reduction command by yaw-oscillating the bucket when the bucket is in pressure contact with the ground so as to reduce resistance. Accordingly, when such contact is absent, the resistance reduction command is not output.).
YAMASHITA does not explicitly disclose, however, BEWLEY, in the same field of endeavor, teaches in a case where a determination is made that the earth and sand is in contact with the specific upper region of the bucket (See at least paragraph [0051], “The monitoring system may be equipped with electronic sensors that are capable of determining the cycle time of a digging cycle. For example, the monitoring system may be equipped with an accelerometer and an inclinometer (not shown). The inclinometer provides the orientation of the bucket and the accelerometer registers a spike in force when the bucket is at the appropriate digging orientation and thus indicating that the digging cycle has started. Programmable logic may determine the time from the start of one digging cycle to the start of the second digging cycle (i.e., time between peaks when inclinometer indicates that the bucket is at the appropriate digging orientation). The results from the current cycle time and past cycle times may be communicated to the equipment operator or to a wireless device. This allows the operator to adjust the digging operation for optimal performance. It is also possible for the electronic sensors for determining the cycle time to not be incorporated with the monitoring system. Monitoring the fill of a bucket or truck tray and/or cycle time can help mine operators (or the like) to better optimize its operations. In an alternative embodiment, a pressure sensor may be used instead of an accelerometer to determine when the digging cycle has started. The pressure sensor may be a hydraulic pressure sensor integrated with the boom of the earth working equipment. In another preferred embodiment, a strain gauge or load cell is used to determine when the digging cycle has started. The strain gauge or load cell may be located in the bucket or a wear member on the bucket. In an alternative embodiment, GPS may be used to determine the orientation of the bucket.” The contact state is the presence of load detected by a sensor positioned in a specific region (e.g., upper portion) of the bucket.), in a case where a determination is made that the earth and sand is not in contact with the specific upper region of the bucket (See at least paragraph [0051], “The monitoring system may be equipped with electronic sensors that are capable of determining the cycle time of a digging cycle. For example, the monitoring system may be equipped with an accelerometer and an inclinometer (not shown). The inclinometer provides the orientation of the bucket and the accelerometer registers a spike in force when the bucket is at the appropriate digging orientation and thus indicating that the digging cycle has started. Programmable logic may determine the time from the start of one digging cycle to the start of the second digging cycle (i.e., time between peaks when inclinometer indicates that the bucket is at the appropriate digging orientation). The results from the current cycle time and past cycle times may be communicated to the equipment operator or to a wireless device. This allows the operator to adjust the digging operation for optimal performance. It is also possible for the electronic sensors for determining the cycle time to not be incorporated with the monitoring system. Monitoring the fill of a bucket or truck tray and/or cycle time can help mine operators (or the like) to better optimize its operations. In an alternative embodiment, a pressure sensor may be used instead of an accelerometer to determine when the digging cycle has started. The pressure sensor may be a hydraulic pressure sensor integrated with the boom of the earth working equipment. In another preferred embodiment, a strain gauge or load cell is used to determine when the digging cycle has started. The strain gauge or load cell may be located in the bucket or a wear member on the bucket. In an alternative embodiment, GPS may be used to determine the orientation of the bucket.” The contact state is the presence of load detected by a sensor positioned in a specific region (e.g., upper portion) of the bucket.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of YAMASHITA with the teachings of BEWLEY and SANO such that the construction machine of YAMASHITA is further configured to utilize the controller determining an accommodation state of the earth and sand accommodated in the bucket, determining a contact state between a specific upper region and the earth and sand, the specific upper region being a portion located at an upper portion on the inner surface of the bucket at the excavation attitude, and determining that the earth and sand is or is not in contact with the specific upper region of the bucket, as taught by BEWLEY (See paragraph [0050], [0051].), and outputting a resistance reduction command signal that is a command signal for operating the work device so that the bucket is displaced in a resistance reduction direction that is a direction where excavation resistance acting on the bucket is capable of being reduced, in accordance with a result of determining the accommodation state, the resistance reduction direction being a direction in which a position of the horizontal axis which is a rotation center of the bucket base end portion is displaced upward or obliquely upward, as taught by SANO (See paragraph [0097]-[0100].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be increasing monitoring presence and health of wear parts with buckets used for excavating, as taught by BEWLEY (See paragraph [0003].). The motivation for doing so would be minimizing a change in orientation of the body in response to a change in movement caused by aerial movement of the attachment, as taught by SANO (See paragraph [0006].).
Regarding Claim 4, YAMASHITA, BEWLEY, and SANO teach The construction machine according to claim 2, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. YAMASHITA teaches wherein the controller outputs the resistance reduction command signal and an amount of the earth and sand accommodated in the accommodation space of the bucket is greater than an earth and sand amount threshold that is a predetermined threshold (See at least paragraph [0064], “Besides, as in the case of excavation work, the controller 60 inputs appropriate command signals to the proportional valve 66 corresponding to the direction selector valve 74 to control the operation of the bucket rotating motor 35 so as to change the actual yaw angle θy of the bucket 30 according to the target waveform pattern, thereby making the bucket 30 perform the yaw oscillation corresponding to the target waveform pattern”, paragraph [0066], “Also in the ground leveling work, as in the excavation work, the bucket 30 can be yaw-oscillated at a relatively short cycle, which effectively reduces the resistance which the bucket 30 receives when the bucket 30 is moved along the target movement path with pressure contact with the ground, specifically, while the ground contact wall surface 30f is pressed against the ground”, and paragraph [0088], “The pair of bucket tilt cylinders 36 for tilt-oscillating the bucket 30 are allowed to be relatively small. This makes it possible to make the bucket 30 perform the tilt oscillation at a relatively short cycle, thus allowing the number of times the tilt motion is repeated per unit movement amount of the bucket 30 during excavation work to be increased. This effectively reduces the resistance that the bucket 30 receives during its movement with the claw portion 30a biting into the ground.”), and does not output the resistance reduction command signal (See at least paragraph [0066], “Also in the ground leveling work, as in the excavation work, the bucket 30 can be yaw-oscillated at a relatively short cycle, which effectively reduces the resistance which the bucket 30 receives when the bucket 30 is moved along the target movement path with pressure contact with the ground, specifically, while the ground contact wall surface 30f is pressed against the ground.” The system controller outputs a resistance reduction command by yaw-oscillating the bucket when the bucket is in pressure contact with the ground so as to reduce resistance. Accordingly, when such contact is absent, the resistance reduction command is not output.).
YAMASHITA does not explicitly disclose, however, BEWLEY, in the same field of endeavor, teaches in a case where a determination is made that the earth and sand is not in contact with the specific upper region of the bucket (See at least paragraph [0051], “The monitoring system may be equipped with electronic sensors that are capable of determining the cycle time of a digging cycle. For example, the monitoring system may be equipped with an accelerometer and an inclinometer (not shown). The inclinometer provides the orientation of the bucket and the accelerometer registers a spike in force when the bucket is at the appropriate digging orientation and thus indicating that the digging cycle has started. Programmable logic may determine the time from the start of one digging cycle to the start of the second digging cycle (i.e., time between peaks when inclinometer indicates that the bucket is at the appropriate digging orientation). The results from the current cycle time and past cycle times may be communicated to the equipment operator or to a wireless device. This allows the operator to adjust the digging operation for optimal performance. It is also possible for the electronic sensors for determining the cycle time to not be incorporated with the monitoring system. Monitoring the fill of a bucket or truck tray and/or cycle time can help mine operators (or the like) to better optimize its operations. In an alternative embodiment, a pressure sensor may be used instead of an accelerometer to determine when the digging cycle has started. The pressure sensor may be a hydraulic pressure sensor integrated with the boom of the earth working equipment. In another preferred embodiment, a strain gauge or load cell is used to determine when the digging cycle has started. The strain gauge or load cell may be located in the bucket or a wear member on the bucket. In an alternative embodiment, GPS may be used to determine the orientation of the bucket.” The contact state is the absence of load detected by a sensor positioned in a specific region (e.g., upper portion) of the bucket.), in a case where a determination is made that the earth and sand is not in contact with the specific upper region of the bucket and the amount of the earth and sand accommodated in the accommodation space of the bucket is equal to or lower than the earth and sand amount threshold (See at least paragraph [0050], “In addition to monitoring the status and health of the wear members on the bucket, the monitoring system may monitor the performance of the bucket or other wear members. For example, the monitoring system may determine how full the bucket is loaded during the digging cycle. As the bucket is loaded, the material being excavated has a tendency to fill the bucket with an established profile. Once the bucket 3a has been filled by the operator the electronic sensors 27 measure the distance D1 to the load 91 within the bucket 3a (FIG. 19) and programmable logic uses the distance and a database of established fill profiles to determine the volume of the load within the bucket. The electronic sensors 27 and programmable logic may also determine a percentage that the bucket has been filled. The percentage may be determined by comparing the current fill of the bucket to the rated capacity of the bucket. In an alternative embodiment, the electronic sensors 27 may measure the distance D1 to the load 91 within a truck body 3b (FIG. 20) and programmable logic uses the distance and a database of established fill profiles to determine the volume of the load within the truck body. Similar to the bucket the electronic sensors may be used to determine the percentage that the truck body has been filled. The electronic sensor may be a camera, a laser range finder, an ultrasonic sensor, or another distance measuring sensor. Programmable logic may determine the percentage the bucket is filled based on the distance to the load within the bucket and. The results from the current digging cycle and past digging cycles may be communicated to the equipment operator or to other databases and computer systems. This allows the equipment operator to adapt how the operator digs to optimally fill the bucket and truck body. The monitoring system may, for example, use the same electronic sensors used for monitoring the status and health of the wear parts or may use separate electronic sensors to monitor the fill of the bucket. The electronic sensors may be, for example, a camera, a laser range finder, or an ultrasonic sensor. The camera may be, for example, a 3D camera capable of determining depth or may be a camera coupled with vision recognition software as outlined above. It is also possible for the electronic sensors for determining the fill of the bucket to be separate components from the monitoring system and not be incorporated with the monitoring system. The use of a monitoring system to monitor the filling of a bucket could be used as a stand-alone system, i.e., without a system to monitor the presence and/or health of the wear parts. This type of monitoring system could also be used in non-bucket applications (e.g., such as truck trays) to monitor the efficiency or optimization of the operator” and paragraph [0051], “The monitoring system may be equipped with electronic sensors that are capable of determining the cycle time of a digging cycle. For example, the monitoring system may be equipped with an accelerometer and an inclinometer (not shown). The inclinometer provides the orientation of the bucket and the accelerometer registers a spike in force when the bucket is at the appropriate digging orientation and thus indicating that the digging cycle has started. Programmable logic may determine the time from the start of one digging cycle to the start of the second digging cycle (i.e., time between peaks when inclinometer indicates that the bucket is at the appropriate digging orientation). The results from the current cycle time and past cycle times may be communicated to the equipment operator or to a wireless device. This allows the operator to adjust the digging operation for optimal performance. It is also possible for the electronic sensors for determining the cycle time to not be incorporated with the monitoring system. Monitoring the fill of a bucket or truck tray and/or cycle time can help mine operators (or the like) to better optimize its operations. In an alternative embodiment, a pressure sensor may be used instead of an accelerometer to determine when the digging cycle has started. The pressure sensor may be a hydraulic pressure sensor integrated with the boom of the earth working equipment. In another preferred embodiment, a strain gauge or load cell is used to determine when the digging cycle has started. The strain gauge or load cell may be located in the bucket or a wear member on the bucket. In an alternative embodiment, GPS may be used to determine the orientation of the bucket.” The contact state is the absence of load detected by a sensor positioned in a specific region (e.g., upper portion) of the bucket.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of YAMASHITA with the teachings of BEWLEY and SANO such that the construction machine of YAMASHITA is further configured to utilize the controller determining an accommodation state of the earth and sand accommodated in the bucket and determining a contact state between a specific upper region and the earth and sand, the specific upper region being a portion located at an upper portion on the inner surface of the bucket at the excavation attitude, and in a case where a determination is made that the earth and sand is not in contact with the specific upper region of the bucket and the amount of the earth and sand accommodated in the accommodation space of the bucket is equal to or lower than the earth and sand amount threshold, as taught by BEWLEY (See paragraph [0050], [0051].), and outputting a resistance reduction command signal that is a command signal for operating the work device so that the bucket is displaced in a resistance reduction direction that is a direction where excavation resistance acting on the bucket is capable of being reduced, in accordance with a result of determining the accommodation state, the resistance reduction direction being a direction in which a position of the horizontal axis which is a rotation center of the bucket base end portion is displaced upward or obliquely upward, as taught by SANO (See paragraph [0097]-[0100].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be increasing monitoring presence and health of wear parts with buckets used for excavating, as taught by BEWLEY (See paragraph [0003].). The motivation for doing so would be minimizing a change in orientation of the body in response to a change in movement caused by aerial movement of the attachment, as taught by SANO (See paragraph [0006].).
Regarding Claim 5, YAMASHITA, BEWLEY, and SANO teach The construction machine according to claim 2, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. YAMASHITA teaches wherein the controller outputs the resistance reduction command signal (See at least paragraph [0088], “The pair of bucket tilt cylinders 36 for tilt-oscillating the bucket 30 are allowed to be relatively small. This makes it possible to make the bucket 30 perform the tilt oscillation at a relatively short cycle, thus allowing the number of times the tilt motion is repeated per unit movement amount of the bucket 30 during excavation work to be increased. This effectively reduces the resistance that the bucket 30 receives during its movement with the claw portion 30a biting into the ground.”), and does not output the resistance reduction command signal (See at least paragraph [0088], “The pair of bucket tilt cylinders 36 for tilt-oscillating the bucket 30 are allowed to be relatively small. This makes it possible to make the bucket 30 perform the tilt oscillation at a relatively short cycle, thus allowing the number of times the tilt motion is repeated per unit movement amount of the bucket 30 during excavation work to be increased. This effectively reduces the resistance that the bucket 30 receives during its movement with the claw portion 30a biting into the ground.”).
YAMASHITA does not explicitly disclose, however, BEWLEY, in the same field of endeavor, teaches in a case where a determination is made that the earth and sand is not in contact with the specific upper region of the bucket and an excavation reaction force that is a reaction force received by the bucket from the ground in the excavation work is greater than a reaction force threshold that is a predetermined threshold, in a case where a determination is made that the earth and sand is not in contact with the specific upper region of the bucket and the excavation reaction force is equal to or lower than the reaction force threshold (See at least paragraph [0051], “The monitoring system may be equipped with electronic sensors that are capable of determining the cycle time of a digging cycle. For example, the monitoring system may be equipped with an accelerometer and an inclinometer (not shown). The inclinometer provides the orientation of the bucket and the accelerometer registers a spike in force when the bucket is at the appropriate digging orientation and thus indicating that the digging cycle has started. Programmable logic may determine the time from the start of one digging cycle to the start of the second digging cycle (i.e., time between peaks when inclinometer indicates that the bucket is at the appropriate digging orientation). The results from the current cycle time and past cycle times may be communicated to the equipment operator or to a wireless device. This allows the operator to adjust the digging operation for optimal performance. It is also possible for the electronic sensors for determining the cycle time to not be incorporated with the monitoring system. Monitoring the fill of a bucket or truck tray and/or cycle time can help mine operators (or the like) to better optimize its operations. In an alternative embodiment, a pressure sensor may be used instead of an accelerometer to determine when the digging cycle has started. The pressure sensor may be a hydraulic pressure sensor integrated with the boom of the earth working equipment. In another preferred embodiment, a strain gauge or load cell is used to determine when the digging cycle has started. The strain gauge or load cell may be located in the bucket or a wear member on the bucket. In an alternative embodiment, GPS may be used to determine the orientation of the bucket.” The reaction force threshold is a predetermined force level that the bucket experiences during excavation. A strain gauge or load cell is used to measure the force and the measured force is compared to a threshold to trigger control actions.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of YAMASHITA with the teachings of BEWLEY and SANO such that the construction machine of YAMASHITA is further configured to utilize the controller determining an accommodation state of the earth and sand accommodated in the bucket, determining a contact state between a specific upper region and the earth and sand, the specific upper region being a portion located at an upper portion on the inner surface of the bucket at the excavation attitude, determining that the earth and sand is not in contact with the specific upper region of the bucket and an excavation reaction force that is a reaction force received by the bucket from the ground in the excavation work is greater than a reaction force threshold that is a predetermined threshold, and determining that the excavation reaction force is equal to or lower than the reaction force threshold, as taught by BEWLEY (See paragraph [0050], [0051].), and outputting a resistance reduction command signal that is a command signal for operating the work device so that the bucket is displaced in a resistance reduction direction that is a direction where excavation resistance acting on the bucket is capable of being reduced, in accordance with a result of determining the accommodation state, the resistance reduction direction being a direction in which a position of the horizontal axis which is a rotation center of the bucket base end portion is displaced upward or obliquely upward, as taught by SANO (See paragraph [0097]-[0100].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be increasing monitoring presence and health of wear parts with buckets used for excavating, as taught by BEWLEY (See paragraph [0003].). The motivation for doing so would be minimizing a change in orientation of the body in response to a change in movement caused by aerial movement of the attachment, as taught by SANO (See paragraph [0006].).
Regarding Claim 6, YAMASHITA, BEWLEY, and SANO teach The construction machine according to claim 2, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. YAMASHITA teaches further comprising: a work device attitude information acquisition device that acquires work device attitude information that is information regarding an attitude of the work device (See at least paragraph [0038], “The plurality of posture sensors 51 includes a plurality of angle sensors: for example, an angle sensor that detects a pitch angle that is a rotation angle of the boom 10 relative to the slewing body 3 in the direction of the pitching motion (the direction of the rotation around the axis of the support shaft 11), an angle sensor that detects a pitch angle that is a rotation angle of the arm 20 relative to the boom 10 in the direction of the pitch motion (the direction of the rotation around the axis of the support shaft 21), an angle sensor that detects the pitch angle θp of the bucket 30 to the arm 20, that is, the rotation angle of the bucket 30 in the pitch direction, which is the direction of pitch motion of the bucket 30 (the direction of rotation around the axis of the support shaft 31), and an angle sensor that detects the yaw angle θy of the bucket 30 to the arm 20, that is, the rotation angle of the bucket 30 in a yaw direction, which is the direction of the yaw motion of the bucket 30 (the direction of the first rotation motion around the yaw axis C1). Each of the plurality of angle sensors can be formed of, for example, a rotary encoder, a resolver, or the like.”), wherein the controller calculates a bucket attitude that is the attitude of the bucket using the work device attitude information, and calculates an accumulation state of the earth and sand in the accommodation space of the bucket using the bucket attitude and the earth and sand information (See at least paragraph [0051], “The monitoring system may be equipped with electronic sensors that are capable of determining the cycle time of a digging cycle. For example, the monitoring system may be equipped with an accelerometer and an inclinometer (not shown). The inclinometer provides the orientation of the bucket and the accelerometer registers a spike in force when the bucket is at the appropriate digging orientation and thus indicating that the digging cycle has started. Programmable logic may determine the time from the start of one digging cycle to the start of the second digging cycle (i.e., time between peaks when inclinometer indicates that the bucket is at the appropriate digging orientation). The results from the current cycle time and past cycle times may be communicated to the equipment operator or to a wireless device. This allows the operator to adjust the digging operation for optimal performance. It is also possible for the electronic sensors for determining the cycle time to not be incorporated with the monitoring system. Monitoring the fill of a bucket or truck tray and/or cycle time can help mine operators (or the like) to better optimize its operations. In an alternative embodiment, a pressure sensor may be used instead of an accelerometer to determine when the digging cycle has started. The pressure sensor may be a hydraulic pressure sensor integrated with the boom of the earth working equipment. In another preferred embodiment, a strain gauge or load cell is used to determine when the digging cycle has started. The strain gauge or load cell may be located in the bucket or a wear member on the bucket. In an alternative embodiment, GPS may be used to determine the orientation of the bucket.”).
YAMASHITA does not explicitly disclose, however, BEWLEY, in the same field of endeavor, teaches and an earth and sand information acquisition device that acquires earth and sand information that is information regarding the earth and sand accommodated in the accommodation space of the bucket, and the controller determines the contact state between the specific upper region and the earth and sand based on the accumulation state (See at least paragraph [0051], “The monitoring system may be equipped with electronic sensors that are capable of determining the cycle time of a digging cycle. For example, the monitoring system may be equipped with an accelerometer and an inclinometer (not shown). The inclinometer provides the orientation of the bucket and the accelerometer registers a spike in force when the bucket is at the appropriate digging orientation and thus indicating that the digging cycle has started. Programmable logic may determine the time from the start of one digging cycle to the start of the second digging cycle (i.e., time between peaks when inclinometer indicates that the bucket is at the appropriate digging orientation). The results from the current cycle time and past cycle times may be communicated to the equipment operator or to a wireless device. This allows the operator to adjust the digging operation for optimal performance. It is also possible for the electronic sensors for determining the cycle time to not be incorporated with the monitoring system. Monitoring the fill of a bucket or truck tray and/or cycle time can help mine operators (or the like) to better optimize its operations. In an alternative embodiment, a pressure sensor may be used instead of an accelerometer to determine when the digging cycle has started. The pressure sensor may be a hydraulic pressure sensor integrated with the boom of the earth working equipment. In another preferred embodiment, a strain gauge or load cell is used to determine when the digging cycle has started. The strain gauge or load cell may be located in the bucket or a wear member on the bucket. In an alternative embodiment, GPS may be used to determine the orientation of the bucket.” The earth and sand information acquisition device is a sensor such as a strain gauge or load cell which detects the amount or presence of soil in the bucket. The accumulation state is how the earth and sand is distributed or settled into the ducket and is determined by a combination of the bucket’s orientation (attitude) and material-related information detected by sensors. The contact state is the presence or absence of load detected by a sensor positioned in a specific region (e.g., upper portion) of the bucket.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of YAMASHITA with the teachings of BEWLEY and SANO such that the construction machine of YAMASHITA is further configured to utilize the controller determining an accommodation state of the earth and sand accommodated in the bucket and determining a contact state between a specific upper region and the earth and sand, the specific upper region being a portion located at an upper portion on the inner surface of the bucket at the excavation attitude, and an earth and sand information acquisition device that acquires earth and sand information that is information regarding the earth and sand accommodated in the accommodation space of the bucket, and a controller that determines the contact state between the specific upper region and the earth and sand based on the accumulation state, as taught by BEWLEY (See paragraph [0050], [0051].), and outputting a resistance reduction command signal that is a command signal for operating the work device so that the bucket is displaced in a resistance reduction direction that is a direction where excavation resistance acting on the bucket is capable of being reduced, in accordance with a result of determining the accommodation state, the resistance reduction direction being a direction in which a position of the horizontal axis which is a rotation center of the bucket base end portion is displaced upward or obliquely upward, as taught by SANO (See paragraph [0097]-[0100].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be increasing monitoring presence and health of wear parts with buckets used for excavating, as taught by BEWLEY (See paragraph [0003].). The motivation for doing so would be minimizing a change in orientation of the body in response to a change in movement caused by aerial movement of the attachment, as taught by SANO (See paragraph [0006].).
Regarding Claim 7, YAMASHITA, BEWLEY, and SANO teach The construction machine according to claim 2, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. YAMASHITA does not explicitly disclose, however, BEWLEY, in the same field of endeavor, teaches further comprising a load detector that is disposed in the specific upper region and is configured to detect an earth and sand load that is a load received from the earth and sand accommodated in the accommodation space of the bucket, wherein the controller determines the contact state between the specific upper region and the earth and sand based on the earth and sand load detected by the load detector (See at least paragraph [0051], “The monitoring system may be equipped with electronic sensors that are capable of determining the cycle time of a digging cycle. For example, the monitoring system may be equipped with an accelerometer and an inclinometer (not shown). The inclinometer provides the orientation of the bucket and the accelerometer registers a spike in force when the bucket is at the appropriate digging orientation and thus indicating that the digging cycle has started. Programmable logic may determine the time from the start of one digging cycle to the start of the second digging cycle (i.e., time between peaks when inclinometer indicates that the bucket is at the appropriate digging orientation). The results from the current cycle time and past cycle times may be communicated to the equipment operator or to a wireless device. This allows the operator to adjust the digging operation for optimal performance. It is also possible for the electronic sensors for determining the cycle time to not be incorporated with the monitoring system. Monitoring the fill of a bucket or truck tray and/or cycle time can help mine operators (or the like) to better optimize its operations. In an alternative embodiment, a pressure sensor may be used instead of an accelerometer to determine when the digging cycle has started. The pressure sensor may be a hydraulic pressure sensor integrated with the boom of the earth working equipment. In another preferred embodiment, a strain gauge or load cell is used to determine when the digging cycle has started. The strain gauge or load cell may be located in the bucket or a wear member on the bucket. In an alternative embodiment, GPS may be used to determine the orientation of the bucket.” The load detector is a sensor such as a strain gauge or load cell which detects the amount or presence of soil in the bucket. The contact state is the presence or absence of load detected by a sensor positioned in a specific region (e.g., upper portion) of the bucket.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of YAMASHITA with the teachings of BEWLEY and SANO such that the construction machine of YAMASHITA is further configured to utilize the controller determining an accommodation state of the earth and sand accommodated in the bucket and determining a contact state between a specific upper region and the earth and sand, the specific upper region being a portion located at an upper portion on the inner surface of the bucket at the excavation attitude, and a load detector that is disposed in the specific upper region and is configured to detect an earth and sand load that is a load received from the earth and sand accommodated in the accommodation space of the bucket, and a controller determines the contact state between the specific upper region and the earth and sand based on the earth and sand load detected by the load detector, as taught by BEWLEY (See paragraph [0050], [0051].), and outputting a resistance reduction command signal that is a command signal for operating the work device so that the bucket is displaced in a resistance reduction direction that is a direction where excavation resistance acting on the bucket is capable of being reduced, in accordance with a result of determining the accommodation state, the resistance reduction direction being a direction in which a position of the horizontal axis which is a rotation center of the bucket base end portion is displaced upward or obliquely upward, as taught by SANO (See paragraph [0097]-[0100].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be increasing monitoring presence and health of wear parts with buckets used for excavating, as taught by BEWLEY (See paragraph [0003].). The motivation for doing so would be minimizing a change in orientation of the body in response to a change in movement caused by aerial movement of the attachment, as taught by SANO (See paragraph [0006].).
Regarding Claim 8, YAMASHITA, BEWLEY, and SANO teach The construction machine according to claim 2, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. YAMASHITA teaches wherein the controller calculates a tilt index value that is an index value corresponding to a tilt of the specific upper region with respect to a predetermined reference plane, and the controller does not output the resistance reduction command signal in a case where the tilt index value is greater than a tilt threshold that is a predetermined threshold (See at least paragraph [0076], “Besides, while the construction machine 1 according to the second embodiment includes a plurality of posture sensors 51 similarly to the first embodiment, the plurality of posture sensors 51 includes an angle sensor that detects the tilt angle θt that is the rotation angle of the bucket 30 in the tilt direction, that is, the rotation angle around the tilt axis C2, in place of the angle sensor that detects the yaw angle θy of the bucket 30 in the first embodiment”, paragraph [0077], “While the construction machine 1 according to the second embodiment includes the bucket motion setting operation unit 54 similarly to the first embodiment, the bucket motion setting operation unit 54 is configured to allow an operation to be applied to the bucket motion setting operation unit 54 during the excavation work by the construction machine 1, the operation being an operation for setting necessity of tilt oscillation, which is the oscillation in the tilt direction of the bucket 30 (a cyclically rotational motion by a predetermined angle alternately in the forward rotation direction and the reverse rotation direction around the tilt axis C2, that is, an oscillation based on the second rotational motion), the cycle Tt (or frequency) of a tilt oscillation, and the tilt oscillation amplitude At (maximum rotation angle in the forward rotation direction and the reverse rotation direction). The cycle Tt (or frequency) and the amplitude At of the tilt oscillation can be set within respective predetermined ranges”, paragraph [0083], “Besides, the controller 60 determines a target waveform pattern of the tilt angle (rotation angle around the tilt axis C2) θt of the bucket 30 (a pattern of temporal change in the target value of the tilt angle θt) so as to make the bucket 30 perform the tilt oscillation at the cycle and the amplitude set by an operation applied to the bucket motion setting operation unit 54. The target waveform pattern is set to, for example, a triangular wave pattern illustrated in FIG. 9. The target waveform pattern is not limited to the triangular wave pattern, but may be a smooth curved pattern such as a sine wave pattern”, and paragraph [0086], “Besides, the controller 60 inputs an appropriate command signal to the proportional valve 66 corresponding to the direction selector valve 75 to operate the pilot pressure applied to the direction selector valve 75 so as to cause the actual tilt angle θt of the bucket 30 grasped from respective detection signals of the plurality of posture sensors 51 to change according to a preset target waveform pattern. The actual tilt angle θt of the bucket 30 thereby changes so as to follow the target waveform pattern. Specifically, as shown in FIG. 10, the bucket 30 performs such a second rotational motion (tilt motion) that the actual tilt angle θt of the bucket 30, that is, the rotation angle around the tilt axis C2, changes alternately in the forward rotation direction and the reverse rotation direction with a constant amplitude At and cycle Tt.” The tilt index value is the tilt angle detected by the posture sensor and used by the controller to determine whether to activate tilt oscillation. The controller operates only within preset thresholds therefore withholding command signals when the tilt angle exceeds the allowable limit.).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEWEL A KUNTZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666