DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 14, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams et al. (US PG Pub No. 2016/0048440 A1) in view of Gollub et al. (US PG Pub No. 2009/0300434 A1), further in view of Cherkasova et al. (US PG Pub No. 2006/0200819 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Williams teaches a method, implemented at a computer system that includes one or more processors associated with performance monitoring hardware configured to generate telemetry data related to performance of the one or more processors([0004]), for multiplexing access the performance monitoring hardware in different modes, the computer system having a hypervisor configured to manage a plurality of virtual machines including
providing a first mode at the one or more guest partitions, the first mode enabling each of the one or more guest partitions to access the performance monitoring hardware for monitoring one or more virtual processors of a corresponding partition ([0047], wherein hypervisor program is executed at second privilege level; [0045], wherein performance monitoring circuits monitor performance of the processor); and
providing a second mode at the guest partition, the second mode enabling the guest partition to access the performance monitoring hardware for monitoring one or more virtual processors of another at least one of the one or more guest partitions ([0047], wherein one or more guest operating systems are executed at a first privilege level), wherein:
the first mode has a first priority ([0026]), and
the second mode has a second priority that is lower than the first priority ([0009], wherein the second privilege level is higher than the first privilege level), such that when the first mode at a particular guest partition is enabled ([0026]), the second mode associated with the particular guest partition at the management partition is automatically disabled ([0026-27], wherein a disable control flag is set for the second privilege level which causes performance monitoring circuits configured by the first privilege level to continue operating when in the second privilege level).
Williams does not teach the use of a management partition managed by the hypervisor.
Gollub teaches the use of a hypervisor management partition that provides an operating system executing in a virtualized partition provided by the hypervisor ([0025]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the use of a management partition. One would be motivate by the desire to include a management partition having special privileges such being able to create new guest operating systems and being able to access the hardware directly as taught by Gollub.
Williams and Gollub do not teach when the second mode is enabled, the hypervisor reads telemetry data generated by performance monitoring hardware associated with at least one processor corresponding to one or more virtual processors of the at least one guest partition and provides the telemetry data to the management partition.
Cherkasova teaches a Xen-based virtualization architecture with a privileged management domain (“Dom0”), a VMM/hypervisor and multiple guest VMs (“Dom1…DomK”) ([0030]). Cherkasova teaches the hypervisor reading telemetry generated by performance-monitoring functionality tied to guest virtual processors ([0017], “embodiments provided herein monitor communications between a VM and VMM, and based on such communications determine an amount of CPU utilization of the VMM that is attributable to the VM”; [0045], “CPU utilization monitor 103A observes communication from a VM 31 to device drivers 311 included in the VMM 32… [and] determines, based on the observed communication, CPU utilization of the VMM 32 that is attributable to the VM 31”). Cherkasova teaches the hypervisor providing that telemetry to the management partition ([0027], “This monitoring system can be used, as examples, for assistance in billing and/or for a whole variety of management tasks, such as: a) support of policy-based resource allocation; b) admission control of new VMs; c) support for VMs migration; and d) quality of service ("QoS") provisioning of VMs”; [0028], “The CPU utilization monitor described herein may be advantageously employed for use in management of such a system, for example. Of course, embodiments of the CPU utilization monitor described herein may be employed for various types of applications (e.g., billing, resource utilization management, etc.) in any type of virtualized system that may be implemented”). Cherkasova identifies Dom0 as a privileged management domain which includes control plane software ([0030]). Since Dom0’s control plane software is the consumer of “management tasks” data derived by the VMM’s CPU utilization monitor, Cherkasova teaches the VMM (hypervisor) generating VM telemetry per guest and that data being consumed by the privileged management domain to perform its management functions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that when the second mode is enabled, the hypervisor reads telemetry data generated by performance monitoring hardware associated with at least one processor corresponding to one or more virtual processors of the at least one guest partition and provides the telemetry data to the management partition. One would be motivated by the desire to make available VM performance metrics derived from the hypervisor to privileged, non-guest management entities in order to perform basic virtualization-management function as taught by Cherkasova.
Regarding claim 2, Williams teaches wherein the performance monitoring hardware includes one or more registers, and state of the performance monitoring hardware includes values stored in the one or more registers ([0044]).
Regarding claim 3, Williams teaches wherein the one or more registers include at least one of (1) one or more CPU counter registers, or (2) one or more CPU configuration registers ([0053]).
Regarding claim 4, Williams teaches wherein the one or more registers include one or more model-specific registers (MSRs).
Regarding claim 5, Williams teaches wherein the telemetry data includes at least one of (1) processor pipeline slot utilization, (2) stalls due to last level cache (LLC) misses, (3) shortage in hardware resources, (4) shortage in software dependencies, (5) thermal and power capping throttling events, (6) processor microcode revision, or (7) whether hyper-threading is on or off ([0004]).
Regarding claim 6, Williams teaches further comprising providing a third mode at the management partition, the third mode enabling performance monitoring for processors of the computer system, wherein the third mode has a third priority that is lower than the second priority, such that when the first mode is enabled, the second mode and the third mode are automatically disabled, and when the second mode is enabled, the third mode is automatically disabled ([0043]).
Regarding claims 14, and 16-20, they are the system and storage device claims of claims 1-6 above. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1-6 above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6, 14, and 16-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-13 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Eric C Wai/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2195