DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s reply filed on 04/28/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-13 are pending.
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) of claim 10 has been withdrawn in view of the amendment to the claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “communication control apparatus” in claims 1 and 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini et al. (US 2021/0051558 A1, hereinafter “Abedini”) in view of Chun (US 12,096,346 B2, hereinafter “Chun”).
Regarding claim 1:
Abedini discloses a communication control apparatus (e.g., Fig. 6, 602) concerning a moving station (e.g., [0080]-[0083], a mobile IAB node providing a moving cell, e.g., Fig. 6, 604) capable of communicating with a communication device (e.g., Fig. 6, 608), the communication control apparatus configured to perform:
identifying a communication cell where the moving station passes (e.g., [0096], Fig. 6, 604); and restricting a connection of the moving station with a communication device (e.g., Fig. 6, 608) that does not move with the moving station inside the communication cell, by prohibiting ordeprioritizing access by the communication device (Fig. 6, 608) to a connection of a moving communication cell (Fig. 6, 604) of the moving station ([0102], [0113], hand over UE/MT 608 from a first cell 604 to a second cell 606 based on the first cell 604 and UE/MT 608 are moving in different directions).
Abedini is silent regarding prohibiting or deprioritizing access by the communication device to at least one of a frequency band, a tracking area or a location registration area of a moving communication cell.
Chun teaches prohibiting or deprioritizing access by a communicating device to at least one of a frequency band, a tracking area or a location registration area of a moving communication cell (e.g., Page 31, Lines 1-22, list of “5GS forbidden TA, forbidden Tas or forbidden LAs”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Abedini based on the teaching in Chun to include the feature prohibiting or deprioritizing access by the communication device to at least one of a frequency band, a tracking area or a location registration area of a moving communication cell, because it would prevent service interruption for UE.
Regarding claim 2:
Abedini further discloses the communication control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the moving station is capable of communicating with a base station to expand a communication cell provided by the base station (e.g., [0070], relay IAB nodes).
Regarding claim 3:
Abedini further discloses the communication control apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the moving station comprises a communication-device functional unit (e.g., [0074], MT (mobile termination) of an IAB node) that functions as a communication device to the base station, and a base-station functional unit (e.g., [0074], DU (distributed unit) of an IAB node) that functions as a base station to a communication device with which the moving station can communicate.
Regarding claim 4:
Abedini further discloses the communication control apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the moving station is an IAB (Integrated Access and Backhaul) node, the communication-device functional unit is a MT (Mobile Termination), and the base-station functional unit is a DU (Distributed Unit) (e.g., [0074]).
Regarding claim 5:
Abedini further discloses the communication control apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the moving station is a relay station that relays communication signal between the base station and a communication device (e.g., [0070]).
Regarding claim 6:
Abedini further discloses the communication control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the moving station is a moving base station capable of providing a moving communication cell to a communication device (e.g., [0080]-[0083], mobile IAB nodes).
Regarding claim 7:
Abedini further discloses the communication control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the communication control apparatus is further configured to perform acquiring movement information concerning the movement of the moving station, and identifying a communication cell where the moving station passes based on the movement information (e.g., [0096]-[0097]).
Regarding claim 8:
Abedini further discloses the communication control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the communication control apparatus is further configured to perform estimating whether a communication device inside the communication cell moves with the moving station, and restricting a connection of the moving station with a communication device estimated not to move with the moving station inside the communication cell (e.g., [0096], [0102], [0103], [0113])
Regarding claim 9:
Abedini further discloses the communication control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the communication control apparatus is further configured to perform estimating whether a communication device inside the communication cell moves with the moving station, and causing a communication device estimated to move with the moving station inside the communication cell to connect to the moving station (e.g., [0096], [0102], [0103], [0113]).
Regarding claim 10:
Abedini further discloses the communication control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the communication control apparatus is further configured to exclude the moving communication cell by the moving station from the handover candidates of a communication device from the communication cell (e.g., [0102], a first cell is not suitable for a UE/MT if the first cell and the UE/MT are moving in different directions, [0113], a first wireless device only selects a second wireless device if the second wireless device is moving in a same direction with similar mobility state as the first wireless device).
Regarding claim 11:
Abedini further discloses the communication control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the moving station is installed to a movable object (e.g., [0080]).
Regarding claim 12:
Abedini discloses a communication control apparatus (e.g., Fig. 6, 602) concerning a moving station (e.g., Fig. 6, 604) capable of communicating with a communication device (e.g., Fig. 6, 608), the communication control apparatus configured to perform: restricting a moving communication cell of the moving station from the handover candidates of a communication device from a communication cell where the moving station passes (e.g., [0102], a first cell is not suitable for a UE/MT if the first cell and the UE/MT are moving in different directions, [0113], a first wireless device only selects a second wireless device if the second wireless device is moving in a same direction with similar mobility state as the first wireless device).
Abedini is silent regarding prohibiting or deprioritizing access by the communication device to at least one of a frequency band, a tracking area or a location registration area of a moving communication cell.
Chun teaches prohibiting or deprioritizing access by a communicating device to at least one of a frequency band, a tracking area or a location registration area of a moving communication cell (e.g., Page 31, Lines 1-22, list of “5GS forbidden TA, forbidden Tas or forbidden LAs”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Abedini based on the teaching in Chun to include the feature prohibiting or deprioritizing access by the communication device to at least one of a frequency band, a tracking area or a location registration area of a moving communication cell, because it would prevent service interruption for UE.
Regarding claim 13:
Abedini discloses a communication control method concerning a moving station (e.g., Fig.6, 604) capable of communicating with a communication device (e.g., Fig. 6, 608) comprising: identifying a communication cell where the moving station passes (e.g., [0096], Fig. 6, 604); and restricting a connection of the moving station with a communication device that does not move with the moving station inside the communication cell (e.g., [0102], [0113], hand over UE/MT 608 from first cell 604 to second cell 606 based on first cell 604 and UE/MT 608 moving in different directions).
Abedini is silent regarding prohibiting or deprioritizing access by the communication device to at least one of a frequency band, a tracking area or a location registration area of a moving communication cell.
Chun teaches prohibiting or deprioritizing access by a communicating device to at least one of a frequency band, a tracking area or a location registration area of a moving communication cell (e.g., Page 31, Lines 1-22, list of “5GS forbidden TA, forbidden Tas or forbidden LAs”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Abedini based on the teaching in Chun to include the feature prohibiting or deprioritizing access by the communication device to at least one of a frequency band, a tracking area or a location registration area of a moving communication cell, because it would prevent service interruption for UE.
Response to Arguments
Rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 over Abedini
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claim 1 as amended have been considered but are moot in view of a new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C 103 over Abedini and Chun.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BO HUI A ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465