DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6-12-2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8-4-2026 have been fully considered. As they are directed towards the claims as amended, please see below.
Examiner’s Note: For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2022/0260671, filed September 24, 2019 in view of Gulati, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2019/0293784, published September 19, 2019.
As per claims 1 and 24, Chen discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE), comprising:
a processor; memory coupled with the processor (Chen, Fig. 15);
and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive a set of radar signals in a set of transmission frames (Chen, ¶56 from the assigner);
detect a hopping pattern associated with the set of radar signals based at least in part on receiving the set of radar signals in the set of transmission frames (Chen, ¶64 using hysteresis where a consistent or changing/hopping pattern is looked for);
and transmit, to a second UE, a sidelink message for interference coordination between the first UE and the second UE based at least in part on detecting the hopping pattern (Chen, ¶58).
Chen fails to explicitly disclose using a sidelink and providing an indication of the hopping pattern.
Gulati teaches sidelink communication to provide indication of hopping pattern for interference avoidance (¶110).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use sidelink and share interference patterns in order to gain the benefit of having the vehicles directly communicate to each other which parameters each vehicle is using.
As per claim 2, Chen as modified by Gulati discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions to detect the hopping pattern are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: detect a variation in a frame start time of the set of radar signals in the set of transmission frames or a variation in frame phase ramp of the set of radar signals in the set of transmission frames, or both, wherein the hopping pattern is associated with a finite duration (Chen, ¶64-65 looking at time fand frequency).
As per claim 3, Chen as modified by Gulati further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: determine that the second UE is associated with the detected hopping pattern based at least in part on a periodicity of the hopping pattern (Chen, ¶64-65).
As per claim 4, Chen as modified by Gulati further discloses the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the instructions to determine that the second UE is associated with the detected hopping pattern are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: determine a UE identifier associated with the hopping pattern based at least in part on a codebook for hopping patterns (Chen, ¶33 and ¶49 having a unit ID).
As per claim 5, Chen as modified by Gulati further discloses the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: apply a decoder to the detected hopping pattern to obtain the UE identifier (Chen, ¶57-58 where analysis of incoming beacon signals acts as decoding).
As per claim 6, Chen as modified by Gulati further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions to transmit the sidelink message are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit the sidelink message to a plurality of UEs in a broadcast or groupcast transmission, the plurality of UEs comprising the second UE (Chen, ¶57 and Gulati, ¶110).
As per claim 7, Chen as modified by Gulati further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive sidelink control information indicating a zone identifier of the second UE; and determine a position of the second UE relative to the first UE based at least in part on the zone identifier, wherein transmitting the sidelink message is based at least in part on the position of the second UE (Chen, Fig. 2 and ¶58 where positions are shared and the lane or position with respect to the other vehicle acts as a zone and Gulati, ¶110).
As per claim 8, Chen as modified by Gulati further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the sidelink message comprises an indication of the detected hopping pattern, an additional hopping pattern associated with the first UE, or both (Chen, ¶65 using multiple patterns and Gulati, ¶110).
As per claims 9 and 30, Chen as modified by Gulati further discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a vehicle user equipment (UE), comprising:
a processor; memory coupled with the processor (Chen, Fig. 15);
and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: select a first hopping pattern for transmitting radar signaling by the vehicle UE, the first hopping pattern indicative of an identity of the vehicle UE and associated with a hopping pattern periodicity; and transmit a set of radar signals in a set of transmission frames according to the first hopping pattern and the hopping pattern periodicity (Chen, ¶32-37).
Chen fails to explicitly disclose the hopping pattern indicating an ID however Chen provides for a unit ID (¶42) and sharing ID and hopping patterns through beacon identification (¶36). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the ID in the pattern in order to gain the obvious benefit of continuously providing it for other UEs to detect.
As per claim 10, Chen as modified by Gulati further discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the instructions to select the first hopping pattern are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: randomly select the first hopping pattern from a set of hopping patterns available for radar signaling by the vehicle UE (Chen, ¶37).
As per claim 11, Chen as modified by Gulati further discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the instructions to select the first hopping pattern are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: select the first hopping pattern from a set of hopping patterns configured for radar signaling by the vehicle UE (Chen, ¶37 and 56).
As per claim 12, Chen as modified by Gulati further discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the instructions to select the first hopping pattern are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: select the first hopping pattern from a codebook based at least in part on a UE identifier corresponding to the vehicle UE, the codebook comprising a plurality of hopping patterns for radar signaling (Chen, ¶32-34).
As per claim 13, Chen as modified by Gulati further discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein: the first hopping pattern is uniquely mapped to the UE identifier, and the codebook comprises a system-wide codebook (Chen, ¶37 allocation map).
As per claim 14, Chen as modified by Gulati further discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein: the codebook comprises a hopping pattern list comprising the first hopping pattern, and the UE identifier comprises a UE group identifier corresponding to the first hopping pattern (Chen, ¶37).
As per claim 15, Chen as modified by Gulati further discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the instructions to select the first hopping pattern are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: generate the first hopping pattern based at least in part on performing an encoding operation on a binary alphabet representation of one or more parameter values corresponding to the vehicle UE, wherein the first hopping pattern is unique to a UE identifier corresponding to the vehicle UE (Chen, ¶56 where each gets an assigned hopping sequence and ¶49, ID).
As per claim 16, Chen as modified by Gulati further discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the one or more parameters comprise the UE identifier, orientation of the radar signaling, a transmit power, or a combination thereof (Chen, ¶49 ID).
As per claim 17, Chen as modified by Gulati further discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, from a second UE, a sidelink message indicating a second hopping pattern, a third hopping pattern corresponding to the second UE, or both; determine at least one of the second hopping pattern or the third hopping pattern satisfies a threshold associated with the first hopping pattern; and perform interference coordination with the second UE based at least in part on determining that the at least one of the second hopping pattern or the third hopping pattern satisfying the threshold (Chen, Fig. 8, ¶58 where a third pattern can be offered when vehicle B does not confirm the scheme).
As per claim 18, Chen as modified by Gulati further discloses the apparatus of claim 17, wherein the threshold is configured at the vehicle UE (Chen, ¶58 and ¶66).
As per claim 19, Chen as modified by Gulati further discloses the apparatus of claim 17, wherein the threshold comprises a first value for the second hopping pattern and a second value for the third hopping pattern (Chen, ¶58 where it is understood that the patterns do not have the same value).
As per claim 20, Chen as modified by Gulati further discloses the apparatus of claim 17, wherein the instructions to determine that the second hopping pattern satisfies the threshold are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: determine a correlation product of the second hopping pattern and the first hopping pattern; and compare the correlation product with the threshold (Chen, ¶58).
As per claim 21, Chen as modified by Gulati further discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: establish a unicast connection with an additional UE based at least in part on the transmitted set of radar signals, the unicast connection for performing interference coordination between the vehicle UE and the additional UE (Chen, ¶57).
As per the limitations of claim 22, please see the rejection and rationale of claim 1 above.
As per claim 23, Chen as modified by Gulati further discloses the apparatus of claim 22, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: determine a correlation between the second hopping pattern and the first hopping pattern, wherein transmitting the sidelink message is based at least in part on the correlation satisfying a threshold (Chen, ¶66).
As per the limitations of claim 25, please see the rejection and rationale of claim 2 above.
As per the limitations of claim 26, please see the rejection and rationale of claim 3 above.
As per the limitations of claim 27, please see the rejection and rationale of claim 6 above.
As per the limitations of claim 28, please see the rejection and rationale of claim 7 above.
As per the limitations of claim 29, please see the rejection and rationale of claim 8 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provided on form PTO-892.
/MARCUS E WINDRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646