DETAILED ACTION
The response dated 09/01/2026 was considered but was not found to be persuasive. Therefore, the previous rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa et al. (WO 2020/090346 A1)
In regard to claim 1, Ogawa teaches ultraviolet (UV) curable organosiloxane composition (title). The composition comprises A) an organosiloxane and/or an organopolysiloxane having at least two UV curable functional groups and B) a polysilsesquioxane (abstract). The component A:B are present at ratios of from 50-99 : 1-50, wherein A) can be 70% or more, and B) can be 60% or less and 7% or more, based on the amounts of components A and B [0059].
The organosiloxane can have a formula 4) wherein a is 0 or a positive number, b is 0 to 100, and c + d is a positive number, thus allowing d to be 0, and c to be 1 or more, and wherein each R is a UV curable functional group, or a monovalent hydrocarbyl group and which is analogous to the structure of formula 1 of the claim, and which provides limitations overlapping the claimed range [0040]. The UV functional group includes epoxy groups such as 3,4-epoxycyclohexylethyl and the monovalent hydrocarbyl group can be alkyl or aryl having 1 to 20 carbon atoms such as benzyl etc. [0030, 0031].
The polysilsesquioxane component B comprises polymerizable groups such as acrylic or methacrylic groups [0044]. In addition to components A and B, the composition can comprise a UV polymerization initiator such as photo radical polymerization initiator at amounts of from 0.01 to 5% in the composition such as benzophenone, acetophenone etc., and photocationic polymerization initiator at from 0.1 to 5% in the composition such as sulfonium and iodonium salts which provides the photo acid generator and/or thermal acid generator and the photo radical polymerization initiator and/or thermal radical polymerization initiator of the claim, respectively [0053 – 0057]. The structure and repeat units a, b, c, d are analogous and thus would intrinsically provide siloxane units in the claimed amounts. Also, since the R groups can be hydrocarbyl such as benzyl (i.e., C6 hydrocarbon) or UV curable functional groups such as epoxy-substituted organic groups, either can be present at from 0 to 100% as the R groups or their combinations at amounts of between 0 and 100% which would provide amounts overlapping the claimed ranges.
Thus, the structure provides the component A1 of the claim.
The composition may comprise silicone structures of a formula (3) wherein the groups R1 to R8 are hydrocarbyl such as benzyl (i.e., C6 hydrocarbon) or UV curable functional groups such as epoxy-substituted organic groups such as such as 3,4-epoxycyclohexylethyl, etc., which is analogous to A2 of the claims [0033 – 0035]. Thus, individual structures or combinations of structures providing A1 and/or A2 of the claims are obvious. Thus, the dual curable silicone composition of the claim is provided.
In regard to claim 2, Ogawa teaches the composition which can comprise the components A1 and/or A2 of the claims as organosiloxane and/or an organopolysiloxane having at least two UV curable functional groups, and thus their combinations at equal amounts would be obvious.
In regard to claims 3 – 6, Ogawa teaches the composition having the claimed ingredients as previously discussed.
In regard to claim 7, Ogawa teaches the composition having the claimed ingredients and thus would be expected to have similar properties as claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Ogawa teaches individual silicone compounds of the formula 3 or 4 but does not teach their mixtures. The argument is not persuasive.
On the contrary, paragraph 0014 of Ogawa clearly teaches mixtures of the silicone compounds were suitable.
Applicant argues that Ogawa also does not teach the combination of initiators of the claims. The argument is not persuasive.
Again, Ogawa teaches combinations of photo radical polymerization initiator and thermal radical polymerization initiator as discussed in the rejections above.
Applicant argues that the repeat units a, b, c, and d overlaps the claimed range and are so broad as to encompass many compounds. The argument is not persuasive.
The claimed ranges are overlapped thus providing the claimed compounds.
Applicant argues that the claimed composition demonstrates unexpectedly superior properties over the prior art. The argument is not persuasive.
While the claims allow for much broader amounts of components A, B, C, D, the inventive examples require amounts that are either specific or very narrow which do not support the breadth of the claimed ranges nor demonstrate criticality of the claimed range.
While the claims allow for much broader compounds meeting the limitations of A, B, C, D, the inventive examples require only two kinds of components A and B and only one specific compound for each of the component C or D which do not support the breadth of the claimed range.
The results are not persuasive.
Some of the comparative examples provide similar or equally superior performances as the inventive examples. Thus, the allegation of unexpectedly superior improvement is inconsistent over the prior art.
Thus, applicant fails to provide inventive examples that are commensurate in scope with the claims for demonstrating unexpected results sufficient to rebut the case of obviousness.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAIWO OLADAPO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771