DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Remark filed on 4/27/26.
Claim(s) 7-9 was/were amended.
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are presented for examination.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are unclear to the examiner; what does it mean by stating “a control section that determines a starting position of bit selection in a first bit sequence based on a redundancy version and determines a starting position of bit selection in an n-th bit sequence based on a last bit of an n-1-th bit sequence, the first bit sequence being transmitted in a first slot within N slots allocated for a transmission method of transmitting a transmission block over a plurality of slots, the n-th bit sequence being transmitted in an n-th slot except for the first slot within the N slots, the n-1-th bit sequence being transmitted in an n-1-th slot within the N slots, n being an integer of two or more and N or less”? The claim languages are not entirely sure what exactly does it mean by stating “determines a starting position of bit selection in a first bit sequence based on a redundancy version”? What exactly is a correlation between a redundancy and the starting position? What about n-th bit sequence being transmitted in an n-th slot except for the first slot? What is the claimed invention? Is the claimed invention about transmit the first bit sequence in the first slot or n-th bit sequence in the n-th slot? What does it have anything to do with “transmitted in an n-th slot except for the first slot”? Please clarify
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2020/0083912 A1 in view of Gao, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2021/0160855 A1.
As to claim 9, Chen teaches a radio communication system, comprising:
a terminal including:
a processor that determines a starting position of bit selection in a first bit sequence based on a redundancy version (Chen, page 1, paragraph 3; page 2, paragraph 18-21 & 42-43; i.e., [0003] cyclic redundancy check encoding; [0018] A starting bit position of the bit sequence in the circular buffer is taken as the predefined starting position. [0020] A position of P0=N-M in the circular buffer is taken as the predefined starting position, where PO represents the position index of the bit sequence, and N is a length of the initial bit sequence) and wherein the processor further determines a starting position of bit selection in an n-th bit sequence based on a last bit of an n-1-th bit sequence (Chen, page 1, paragraph 3; page 2, paragraph 18-21 & 42-43; i.e., [0018] A starting bit position of the bit sequence in the circular buffer is taken as the predefined starting position. [0020] A position of P0=N-M in the circular buffer is taken as the predefined starting position, where PO represents the position index of the bit sequence, and N is a length of the initial bit sequence. [0042] the initial bit sequence {S0 , S1 , ..., SN_1}, and a bit Sn with a bit position index n in the initial bit sequence is mapped onto a position with a position index), wherein the first bit sequence is transmitted in a first slot within N slots allocated for a transmission method of the n-1-th bit sequence being transmitted in an n-1-th slot within the N slots, wherein n is an integer of two or more and N or less (Chen, page 1, paragraph 3; page 2, paragraph 18-21 & 42-43; i.e., [0020] A position of P0=N-M in the circular buffer is taken as the predefined starting position, where PO represents the position index of the bit sequence, and N is a length of the initial bit sequence. [0021] An ending bit position of the bit sequence in the circular buffer is taken as the predefined starting position. [0042] the initial bit sequence {S0 , S1 , ..., SN_1}, and a bit Sn with a bit position index n in the initial bit sequence is mapped onto a position with a position index).
But Chen failed to teach the claim limitation wherein transmitting a transmission block over a plurality of slots, wherein the n-th bit sequence is transmitted in an n-th slot except for the first slot within the N slots; a transmitter that transmits the first bit sequence in the first slot and transmits the n-th bit sequence in the n-th slot; and a base station including a receiver, the receiver receiving the first bit sequence in the first slot and receiving the n-th bit sequence in the n-th slot.
However, Gao teaches the limitation wherein transmitting a transmission block over a plurality of slots, wherein the n-th bit sequence is transmitted in an n-th slot except for the first slot within the N slots (Gao, page 8, paragraph 127 & 129; i.e., [0127] In slots n+4, n+5 and n+6, since there is only PUCCH, the UCI is transmitted on the PUCCH. The UCI is transmitted in accordance with the encoded bit sequence obtained from the UCI in slot n+3. since the encoded UCI bit sequence in slot n+3 is obtained by encoding the UCI transmitted on the PUCCH, and the PUCCH transmission resources in slot n+3 and the subsequent slots are the same, the transmission of the encoded UCI bit sequence in slot n+3 on the PUCCH in the subsequent slots is the same as that in slot n+3); a transmitter that transmits the first bit sequence in the first slot and transmits the n-th bit sequence in the n-th slot (Gao, page 8, paragraph 127 & 129; i.e., [0127] In slots n+4, n+5 and n+6. The UCI is transmitted in accordance with the encoded bit sequence obtained from the UCI in slot n+3. the transmission of the encoded UCI bit sequence in slot n+3 on the PUCCH in the subsequent slots is the same as that in slot n+3; [0129] When receiving the last repeated transmission of UCI and after merging the bit sequences of the encoded UCI in the last slot); and a base station including a receiver, the receiver receiving the first bit sequence in the first slot and receiving the n-th bit sequence in the n-th slot (Gao, page 8, paragraph 127 & 129; i.e., [0127] In slots n+4, n+5 and n+6, since there is only PUCCH, the UCI is transmitted on the PUCCH. the encoded bit sequence obtained from the UCI in slot n+3. the UCI transmitted on the PUCCH, and the PUCCH transmission resources in slot n+3 and the subsequent slots are the same, the transmission of the encoded UCI bit sequence in slot n+3 on the PUCCH in the subsequent slots is the same as that in slot n+3; [0129] When receiving the last repeated transmission of UCI and after merging the bit sequences of the encoded UCI in the last slot).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Chen to substitute logical block diagram from Gao for transport block from Chen to ensure that the network-side device merges the repetition transmission of the UCI correctly and improve the UCI transmission performance (Gao, page 1, paragraph 10).
Claim(s) 7 & 8 is/are directed to a system and method claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 9. Therefore, claim(s) 7 & 8 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 9.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument(s) filed 4/27/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues in substance that: A) with respect to claims 7-9; Chen does not teach "determining a starting position of bit selection based on a redundancy version," as required by the above-mentioned limitation. Paragraph [0003] of Chen describes that the check bits may be generated through cyclic redundancy check encoding and paragraph [0018] of Chen describes that a starting bit position of the bit sequence in the circular buffer is taken as the predefined starting position. Further, paragraph [0020] of Chen describes that a position of P0 = N - M in the circular buffer is taken as the predefined starting position and paragraph [0021] of Chen describes that an ending bit position of the bit sequence in the circular buffer is taken as the predefined starting position. As such, Chen describes fixed or preselected positions in a circular buffer determined by buffer length parameters (N and M), not by a redundancy version. Chen does not relate the starting position to a redundancy version (page 15-16); B) with respect to claims 6-9; Chen also fails to teach "determining a starting position of bit selection in an n-th bit sequence based on a last bit of an n-1-th bit sequence" as required by the above-mentioned limitation. Specifically, paragraph [0042] of Chen describes that a bit Sₙ with a bit position index n in the initial bit sequence is mapped onto a position with a position index in the circular buffer by means of a bit reversal order (BRO) interleaver. As such, Chen describes static bit-to-position mapping during interleaving, not basing the starting position of bit selection in the n-th bit sequence on the last bit of an n-1-th bit sequence (page 16-17); C) with respect to claims 6-9; Gao is also silent with respect to "determining a starting position of bit selection based on a redundancy version" and "determining a starting position of bit selection in an n-th bit sequence based on a last bit of an n-1-th bit sequence," as required by the above-mentioned limitation. Further, the Examiner relies on Gao to supply the slot-based transmission. Specifically, paragraph [0127] of Gao describes that the transmission of the encoded UCI bit sequence in slot n+3 on the PUCCH in the subsequent slots is the same as that in slot n+3. As such, Gao teaches repeated transmission of the encoded UCI bit sequence across multiple slots. However, Gao does not teach transmitting different bit sequences in different slots (page 16-17).
In response to A); Chen does teach the claimed limitation of “determines a starting position of bit selection in a first bit sequence based on a redundancy version” (Chen, page 1, paragraph 3; page 2, paragraph 18-21 & 42-43; i.e., [0003] cyclic redundancy check encoding; [0018] A starting bit position of the bit sequence in the circular buffer is taken as the predefined starting position. [0020] A position of P0=N-M in the circular buffer is taken as the predefined starting position, where PO represents the position index of the bit sequence in the circular buffer, M is the length of the sequence to be transmitted, and N is a length of the initial bit sequence). Moreover, the claim limitation does not define the correlation between the “starting position” and the “redundancy version” and how is the “redundancy version” define the “starting position”.
Clearly, the starting bit position of the bit sequence is predefined by the system. Therefore, Chen meets the claim limitation.
In response to B); Chen does teach the claimed limitation of “determines a starting position of bit selection in an n-th bit sequence based on a last bit of an n-1-th bit sequence” (Chen, page 1, paragraph 3; page 2, paragraph 18-21 & 42-43; i.e., [0018] A starting bit position of the bit sequence in the circular buffer is taken as the predefined starting position. [0020] A position of P0=N-M in the circular buffer is taken as the predefined starting position, where PO represents the position index of the bit sequence in the circular buffer, M is the length of the sequence to be transmitted, and N is a length of the initial bit sequence. [0021] An ending bit position of the bit sequence in the circular buffer is taken as the predefined starting position. [0042] In some embodiments, the bit sequence in the circular buffer is obtained by performing bit reversal order (BRO) interleaving on the initial bit sequence {S0 , S1 , ..., SN_1}, and a bit Sn with a bit position index n in the initial bit sequence is mapped onto a position with a position index; [0042] the initial bit sequence {S0 , S1 , ..., SN_1}, and a bit Sn with a bit position index n in the initial bit sequence is mapped onto a position with a position index). Clearly, the starting bit position of the bit sequence is taken as the predefined starting position and ending bit position is equating to “1st bit of an n-1-th bit sequence”. Therefore, Chen meets the claim limitation.
In response to C); Gao does teach the claimed limitation of “transmitting a transmission block over a plurality of slots, wherein the n-th bit sequence is transmitted in an n-th slot except for the first slot within the N slots” (Gao, page 8, paragraph 127 & 129; i.e., [0127] In slots n+4, n+5 and n+6, since there is only PUCCH, the UCI is transmitted on the PUCCH. The UCI is transmitted in accordance with the encoded bit sequence obtained from the UCI in slot n+3. That is, the UCI is not re-encoded for the current PUCCH resources; since the encoded UCI bit sequence in slot n+3 is obtained by encoding the UCI transmitted on the PUCCH, and the PUCCH transmission resources in slot n+3 and the subsequent slots are the same, the transmission of the encoded UCI bit sequence in slot n+3 on the PUCCH in the subsequent slots is the same as that in slot n+3). Clearly, transmission resources in slot n+3 and subsequent slots are equating to “transmitting a transmission block over a plurality of slots, wherein the n-th bit sequence is transmitted in an n-th slot except for the first slot within the N slots”.
Therefore, Gao meets the claim limitation.
In response to applicant's argument that there is no suggestion to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness can only be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988) and In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Chen to substitute logical block diagram from Gao for transport block from Chen to ensure that the network-side device merges the repetition transmission of the UCI correctly and improve the UCI transmission performance (Gao, page 1, paragraph 10).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Listing of Relevant Arts
Chen, U.S. Patent/Pub. No US 20210014824 A1 discloses transmitting slot except the starting position.
JI, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20180097607 A1 discloses transmitted slot without being transmitted in a first time slot.
Contact Information
THUONG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-3864. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9:00-6:00.
/THUONG NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416