DETAILED ACTION
This communication responds to the application and amended claim set filed December 13, 2023. Claims 1-15 are currently pending.
Claims 1-9 are REJECTED for the reasons set forth below.
Claims 10-15 are ALLOWED.
Priority
This application is the national stage entry of PCT/IB2022/055424, filed June 10, 2022, which claims priority to US 63/211,299, filed June 16, 2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, it is not clear whether the monomeric unit c) is required, given that it is optional in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dias et al. (WO 02/100935).
Regarding claims 1 and 5-9, Dias teaches an elastomer formed via reaction of BIMS (brominated isobutylene para-methyl styrene) with dimethylaminoethyl methacrylate. (Exs. 1E-4E, Tables 1 and 6.) The resulting copolymer has an isobutylene monomeric unit (corresponding to a)), a functionalized amino para-methyl styrene unit (corresponding to b)), and a para-methyl styrene monomeric unit (corresponding to c)). The functionalized amino para-methyl styrene unit is formed via substitution of the bromine atom on the brominated para-methyl styrene units. (p. 4, line 22 – p. 5, line 3.)
Regarding claim 2, Dias teaches that only some of the para-methyl styrene units are halogenated. (p. 9, lines 1-5.) Thus, unit c) must be present.
Regarding claim 3, Dias teaches that preferred BIMS polymers have from 0.1 to 5 mol% bromomethylstyrene units. (p. 10, lines 17-19.) Assuming complete substitution of the functionalized amine, the resulting unit corresponding to b) will have the same molar amount, which is within the claimed range.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dias et al. (WO 02/100935).
Regarding claim 4, Dias teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. (See paragraph 12 above, which is incorporated by reference herein.) Dias also teaches that preferred BIMS polymers have from 0.1 to 5 mol% bromomethylstyrene units. (p. 10, lines 17-19.) Assuming complete substitution of the functionalized amine, the resulting unit corresponding to b) will have the same molar amount, which overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the range taught by Dias.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-15 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 10-15 are allowed in view of the closest prior art reference (Dias, discussed above.) Dias provides no teaching or suggestion that a monomer is added to the copolymer discussed above to form a polymerizable composition. At most, Dias teaches that the functionalized amines may be crosslinked, but there is no teaching or suggestion that there is further polymerization.
Conclusion
CATHERINE S. BRANCH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1763
/CATHERINE S BRANCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763